Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Le Vaugrat Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Channel Islands > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Le Vaugrat Campsite > Reviews

Le Vaugrat Campsite
Route De Vaugrat
St Sampsons
Guernsey
Channel Islands   (Browse area)
GY2 4TA
Tel: 01481 257468
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: 01/05/2024 to 15/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 12 Reviews
                10/10 from 12 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2024  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Degsai 2 reviews from this member

 A lovely site in a sunny and peaceful location. The facilities were clean and sufficient for a site of this size.

The site is near bus stops which will take you into St Peter Port or Vazon Bay to the south.

Getting around from the site was very easy with the Puffin card.

The site host (Tony) was very knowledgeable about the area and places to visit during our stay. He also provided instructions on the best way to get to the campsite.

All in all, an enjoyable stay with good transport links. 


Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Waynem41 1 review from this member

 Just got back from a stay here.

The site is well kept and very clean with good facilities, washing machine / driers, ironing available, plenty of hot water for washing dishes, showering etc. And we even managed to connect to the free wifi from our pitch.

It's just a short walk to a pub/ restaurant and the nearest beach, there's many other beaches within a short drive.

There's plenty of supermarkets not too far away.

The only issue we had, and a few others in the field we were in, is there's a cockerel kept in the next field and it woke us up around 5am "cock-a-doodle-dooing", it is on a farm after all though, I used earplugs over the next few days and woke when I wanted to.

If we return to Guernsey we would book here again. 


Date of Visit: July 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 20 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Davean 1 review from this member

 This is an amazing campsite. We love the fact there are no restrictions as to where you camp and how much space you use (thereís lots of it).

The facilities are very clean and there is always lots of hot water. There are ironing facilities, free hairdryer. Up in the TV room there are plenty of power points and comfortable seating.

We were situated on the bottom field and weíre able to pick up the internet.

Our family have been coming for 40 years and now our sons bring their families.

The site is 200m from the beach, quiet and beautifully clean. And very accessible if you donít have a car. Also, there I are 2 decent food shops in the vicinity (Morrisons local and M&S).

The campsite is great for children as it is safe and thereís plenty of space to run around.

There isnít a playground or pool but they are not needed as children make their own entertainment.

We will be back next year with our sons, partners and grandchildren.

The proprietors are very friendly and helpful. 


Date of Visit: August 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 12 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Richar 1 review from this member

 Lovely relaxed campsite with plenty of space. Quiet. Well positioned for northern beaches, cycling and enjoying the clean blue waters.

We opted for electricity - you may need to bring a long extension lead, although we were loaned one by the owners. The majority of pitches are free of electrons.

Showers and toilets adequate. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Berty Bedford 1 review from this member

 I really like this campsite, I'm actually local to Guernsey and just use it for the odd weekend here and there with my little lad.

Lovely relaxed place with really friendly staff. Nice little shop and facilities.

Very welcoming and always seem to meet nice people on their holidays. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Janewaypurple 15 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 10 nights. Only 3 sites to choose from in Guernesy, so you have to accept paying a bit more than you usually would. This is also true of buying food, as it is all Waitrose and M&S (a few Icelands).

We were able to choose where to pitch and went for the quieter field. As our 14 year old son was with us, we weren't given the option of the adult only one.

Yes the showers were timed but that was fine. We just saved up our 20p coins.

You can pay (50p I think) for ice packs.

Small shop on site. The owner obsessed with getting orders for baguettes and croissants. He is lovely but be warned, on your arrival, he will talk for ages. This is not good if you have just had a bad catarmaran crossing, as we did.

The TV room was really useful. As well as the TV, you can charge up your electronic devices for free and borrow books.

Good location with a beach just a few minutes away. Nothing is of course far away on Guernsey.

Had a lovely holiday visiting all the WW2 sites. If you are into military history, you will love Guernsey. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Spooley 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed for 8 nights at Le Vaugrat in the middle of June 2016. The site was quiet and we had the 'couples only' field at the top of the site to ourselves for the whole stay. We had a free choice of pitch - the site owner encouraged us to look around before deciding where to pitch - and showed us the location of the gate into the relevant field so we could drive in to park next to our tent.

At this time of year the field has plenty of sun throughout the day, with trees to the South-West and South-East providing shade if required. Views through the trees and over the top of the reception block to the North are of Baie de Port Grat - you can check the state of the tide by seeing how much of the rocky reefs is exposed!

There is a drinking water tap and washing-up sink with copious hot and cold running water on the outside wall of the building at the bottom of our 'top field'.

The site office and small shop is in this building, as is a pleasant recreation room with tv, comfy chairs and several sets of tables and chairs. There's also mains available for phone recharging etc. We made no use of these facilities.

The toilet/shower/laundry facilities are in the next block along: modern, bright, clean and well-appointed.

The only (mild) downside is the 20p metered showers - we'd rather pay £1 more per day and have unmetered showers, than have to ensure a ready supply of 20p pieces to feed the machines. One of the timers we used was set to 6 minutes (for 20p) which I found fine. But other timers had the advertised 3 minutes, although it could take more than a minute for the water to actually run hot. We got into the habit of wasting 'free' hot water from the basin taps before starting the shower, to ensure the pipework was up to temperature -- thus rather defeating at least some of the point of the timers!

The closest pub, the Houmet Tavern, is a 0. 5mile walk from the top of the campsite, down either Route de Vaugrat then along the coast road, or down Rue de Houmet from the gate into the top field.

0. 25mile further on, the kiosk out on the peninsular near the Rousse tower serves fine crab baguettes, with pleasant views from its benches over the many small boats moored in the bay.

Buses no. 31 and 32 pass the top and lower entrances to the campsite and run into St Peter Port on an approx. Hourly service.

In summary, a fine site with excellent facilities that was well-suited to our quiet, comfortable camping requirements. I'd happily re-visit it. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kashar 2 reviews from this member

 This was our first stay on this site and it certainly won't be the last. Excellent facilities which are spotlessly clean, although showers could do with 4 minute timer rather than 3.

The owners cannot do enough for you and the fresh baguettes every morning were amazing. It was lovely to be able to choose were we wanted to pitch our tent. With the beach close by this site is ideal for those wanting a relaxing peaceful holiday. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Deano46 1 review from this member

 I have just spend a week tenting at this campsite with my family and we had a great time. The place is family owned and they are very friendly and can't do enough to help you out.

The campsite is quiet and relaxed. The pitches aren't formally laid out but spread over 5 fields(though 2 fields are set out for couples in a quieter area with superb views over the coastline). But this allows the tents to be spread out.

The beach is about 5 minutes walk, with a bus stop just outside the campsite which will take you around the island.

There are a couple of toilet blocks (always clean) washrooms, hot showers(20p for 3 mins), washing machine, TV room, with phone charging facilities and WIFI. There is also a site shop for food and general supplies opened at specific times in morning and evening.

There is no formal playground for children but there was plenty of space for children and families to play on the site.

We had a very enjoyable stay and would we will definitely be returning. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jaynus 21 reviews from this member

 3rd visit to this site and still as good as previous years.

Run by a very friendly family and nothing is ever too much trouble.

Several large flat, neatly mowed fields to pitch on where you like. On the lower fields are a toilet block, with the showers and laundry and further toilets up near reception.

Showers are 20p for 3 mins and there is a coin operated hairdrier along with washing machine and tumble drier.

Great location with a bus stop right outside the gates to St Peter Port. We always take our bikes as everywhere is close by on Guernsey so the car is just a means of getting there.

A pub about 15 mins walk away and a beach even closer.

Would certainly revisit again. 


Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Le Vaugrat Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Le Vaugrat Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Le Vaugrat Campsite dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Guernsey      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Channel Islands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2017 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement