Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Campsite Les Erables

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Escalles > Campsite Les Erables Reviews

Campsite Les Erables
17 Rue De Chateau D Eau
Escalles
Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais   (Browse area)
62179
Tel: 0033 (0)3 21 85 25 36


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/04/2022 to 30/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 10 Reviews
                8/10 from 10 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Livewires 11 reviews from this member

 This campsite was a great find! The staff are a very welcoming and pleasant couple who are happy to help. Its location around 7m from the Tunnel and within walking distance from the dog friendly beach make it ideal. The facilities are basic but absolutely clean and functional and the site represents good value at around 12 euros a night. On our first visit our 3 units travelling together were placed on one large pitch, which was fine. The site fills up quickly and we have always made a reservation a few days prior to our visit. Bread can be ordered the day before and Wi-Fi is free.

Worth staying an extra night to enjoy the beach and cliff walks. Would definitely recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Woodrow137 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a 3 night stop here with our 2 sons aged 3 & 5 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

The site is clean and well run with very friendly helpful owners.

We found the price to be very reasonable too.

Toilets and showers were kept clean all of the time and although there are not many we never had to wait long to use them.

The site has lovely views over to England on a clear day and is close to nice sandy beaches and the village.

You can order fresh bread etc from the reception on site daily until 10pm and collect it the following morning.

Electric hook up connections are French but you can borrow an adadtor from reception with no charge.

Booking is certainly necessary as the site is very close for Calais and the Euro Tunnel as overnight stop off or longer periods and the complet sign was at the gate for the duration of our stay.

We will certainly return here again. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mgre2310 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here on our way to Normandy and again on the way back. Cracking little site clean and very friendly. It doesn't have much very basic but so is the price. 15 minutes drive from Calais. You do need a French electric hook up adapter though. Mind we were able to borrow one. As every one else says you need to book in advance. It gets full early. Its ten minutes to village by legs. We had food in the second restaurant down but as its one of our favourite place to eat anyway its a bonus to be so close. Like I said basic but good. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: David Klyne 236 reviews from this member

 To Find Site:- Leave A16 at junction 40 and follow signs for Peuplingues, go through village and continue to Escalles. Site on left at sign although not easy to see, site about 200 mts down lane on left.

Les Erables is situated not from the coast just the west of Calais and is therefore handy as a stopover site to and from the ferries, especially as it opens longer than some better known sites in the area. (1st April-11th November) It’s seven miles from the Tunnel and a little further from the ferries. On a clear day you can see the English coast. However it is likely to be less well sheltered in windy weather than those sites a bit further inland. Some French might be required on booking in. Given the nature of its use this campsite is fairly basic although for the price it is very good value. The site is terraced down to the entrance and pitches are reasonably level. The 50 or so pitches are on all grass but some have have chipped stone runways which make them more all-weather particularly useful for motorhomes. Electric points are rated at 10amps and use CEE17 blue connectors although best to check for reverse polarity. The only water taps are either at the motorhome service point or at the toilet block. Likewise grey water and chemical disposal is also at the motorhome point. The toilet block has been created out of an old barn and whilst not luxurious is perfectly acceptable with seated toilets with paper provided in the cubicles. Bread can be ordered from reception. The site also offers free WiFi, just ask for the log-in details. Coming to this campsite I think you have to be prepared for it to appear quite crowded at busy times.

Most will use this site prior to their crossing. It would be handy as a place to do any final shopping before going home and you have the choice of a couple of very large supermarkets within a few miles. It could even be suitable for a slightly longer stay if you wished to explore the coast here abouts. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ina 25 reviews from this member

 Time for an update on my review of 2008.

As I said in that review, the site is becoming ever more popular, and now is often full before 3 pm, with the 'Complet' sign put up at the gate.

The last time we stayed there was early October 2011, and even then it was quite full, though not 100%.

When returning from holiday this time, on 7 July, we went again, and arrived around 1pm. There were some empty pitches and we were allocated one of them at the top. When we got there, there were 2 motorhomes already there, we were the 3rd, and there was 1 more pitch free in that section. There are gravel tracks for the tyres, and 4 sets have been put in there, just for motorhomes. A few years ago this took just 2 units, and, as with quite a few other pitches now, they put 4 units on there. On inspection, we did not feel that the spacing between units was sufficient, very little space between, so asked for a different pitch. The answer was that that was the only free pitch, all others were reserved. Given that a few of the pitches had reserved on it, but by no means all, I'm not sure I believed that. After some discussion, we decided to leave and asked for our money back, which we got.

We have been coming to this site since it opened in 2004, but the last few years it is apparent that units are being squeezed on, confirmed by the fact that there are now pitch numbers ending in 'b', 'c' and 'd'. At the entrance it states there are 25 pitches, but that was a long time ago, I'd say at times there must be double that on there.

If you don't mind being squeezed on for 1 night, then it's a good stopover, but personally I'm disappointed that this site seems to be a victim of its own success. Also, for the number of people on there at times, the WC/showers are not sufficient. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bethan.flowers 13 reviews from this member

 Brilliant, scenic little site, such an easy, short drive to/from Calais. Forgot to order our morning bread, so walked 10 mins downhill into village, bought croissants from the other campsite shop and breakfasted on a beautiful sunny beach, overlooking the white cliffs of Dover - a perfect start to our holiday.

Didn't really enjoy our first evening meal (1st restaurant on left in village) but found a great restaurant with good food & stunning almost 360 views for our second night - Le Thomé de Gamond, not far from the WW2 monument on top of Cap Blanc Nez. By road, go down into village, right at the crossroads onto D940 and turn right in approx 0. 7km. It's actually walkable in sturdy shoes up the hill from the carpark that you pass on the way down to the village - footpath signposted (but we can't remember what to!) but you can see the restaurant atop the hill from campsite and carpark. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Adrian06 32 reviews from this member

 We've used this site as a stopover on our way to the Eurotunnel and we took a longer holiday here at the end of a season last year. It is a well run site, BUT do not expect spacious pitches! The emphasis here is on best utilisation of space.

We have noted that it fills up very early in the day. Where do these people come from? The owner (Bernard) and his wife (Marie-Claude) are very helpful, but be prepared to use French only, as neither has any English. The site gets very busy and I would always advise an advance booking - use e-mail or phone.

They will and do reserve pitches. Facilities are good, but can be stretched when site is full. Quiet after about22.00, but often people move out early in the morning. The views are spectacular, walking is good and the site is 10 mins from the the tunnel terminal and 15 mins from Coquelles with all the shops.

We'll use again and accept it for what it is. Very handy for the vet in Marquise and much cheaper than those in Calais! 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: HarryB 18 reviews from this member

 Got this site from the Caravan Club handbook. We used it solely as an overnight stop on the way to the docks. A very pleasant site of about 30 pitches on sloping ground which has been levelled into terraces. All the pitches appear to be large with a ehu for two units. Two pitches have been made for the handicapped and are near the toilets, these ar also level. Because of the size of the pitches they can put extra units on these pitches which gives the appearance of haphazard pitching but I certainly didn't see anyone squashed together. I was on a 2 van pitch that had 3 units on it and they was room for another.

The views, especially from the top of the site are good, looking to the headland and out to sea.

This is a basic site with no facilities other than shower/toilet block. The showers and toilets have been built into a converted barn and were absolutely spotless and freshly painted. There are also washing machines in here. The local town of Escalles is only a short walk where there are three restaurants and a little further on you come to the beach and the headland. This is not an area I've ever considered for a holiday but if I did I wouldn't hesitate to use this site. Just one word of warning though and that is the entrance. It's a steep lefthand swing up hill into the site and the surface road is of dolomite so traction isn't good. Just don't stop to look on the way in, just drive straight to reception on the right an there should be no problem.

Prices were vey reasonable at 11 euros a night plus 3 for electric. There is also a pump out station for passing motor homes at £3.50 euros 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hippos 3 reviews from this member

 We used this site as an overnight stop on the way home - fortunately booked well in advance as we had a reserved pitch and people were being turned away. Very friendly greeting from Madame, who showed us to our pitch which was large and spacious, with hookup, but there were others who were very squashed together. I felt sorry for the family in 2 tiny tents pitched next to the group of caravan with awning, painted camper, three large tents, a million children with footballs and a dog not on a lead! Still - they were quiet, as was everyone else, after about 10pm.

Facilities are good; nowhere to eat on site but fresh bread could be ordered for the morning. Couldn't catch the views as we were surrounded by sea mist all the time we were there but the villages we drove through looked nice - not like the bits of Calais we see when whizzing past!

Would we use again - yes, probably for the ease of finding and convenience of being so close to the port. 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ina 25 reviews from this member

 We stayed here most recently in September 2008 on our way home from France. However, this site was opened in 2004, and we have stayed here at least twice a year since it opened. It is becoming ever more popular. It is only about 10 minutes drive (2 junctions on the motorway) from Eurotunnel's terminal in France, making it an ideal overnight stop either coming or going back.

The site is also popular with German and Dutch people, who use it as a base for a holiday, rather than an overnighter.

It is set on a hill, and on clear days there are lovely views across the Channel to the cliffs of Dover.

Pitches are terraced, on grass, but the owner has recently added gravel tracks as the ground is rather soft in times of rain, so it is now better for motorhomes.

There is a toilet block, with WC's, showers, sinks for washing and washing-up, all inside the building. This is heated in low season. There are 2 pitches for disabled people, right by the toilet block, unfortunately they don't have any views.

If you need to catch an early ferry or train, let the owner know when you arrive and he will open the gate for you. Otherwise the gate is locked until 8am. It closes at 10 pm. I don't know how early he will get up though, we have never had to leave before 6 am, and that time is not a problem.

From the site it is possible to walk (downhill) to the village and on to the beach, and Cap Gris Nez. From there you can walk all along the coast in either direction.

As the site is now very popular I would advise booking in advance to ensure a pitch. We were there at the beginning of July 2008, and by about 5 pm people were being turned away as the site was full. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Campsite Les Erables child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Campsite Les Erables?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Campsite Les Erables dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Escalles      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2740 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement