Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Huttopia Noirmoutier

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Pays de la Loire > Noirmoutier En Lile > Camping Huttopia Noirmoutier Reviews

Camping Huttopia Noirmoutier
23 Allee Des Sableaux
Bois De La Chaize
Noirmoutier En Lile
Pays de la Loire   (Browse area)
85330
Tel: +33 2 51 39 06 24
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 530
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 20 Reviews
                7/10 from 20 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: SoggySteve 4 reviews from this member

We had just come from Huttopia's Lac De Sille' near north west of Le Mans and had decided on this site due to its proximity to the ocean as well as the fact that the little pokey out island it is situated on looked like it may be quite quirky.

The site itself seemed very nice and friendly and the staff were very professional and positive which was the same as we had experienced previously at Huttopia's Lac De Sille' site. Checking in was simple and we were given a pitch number (as we booked online) to head towards.

To be honest, the pitch wasn't very impressive and quickly got less impressive when we realised that the pitch was only half of what it looked like when you managed to figure out their rather clumsy pitch numbering system. There was no shade on this pitch and only really enough to space to squeeze the van on to it and to leave some room for the awning to come out. We went back and were told that we could find a pitch that we liked and head back and they would see if it was available for our stay.

At this stage we realised that finding a suitable flat pitch wasn't going to be easy, especially as you have to negotiate your vehicle on to it where much of the area is littered with tall trees. We did however find one that suited and stayed there for a number of days very happily. The pitches are ramshackle in their size and shape which isn't really a bad thing as no two are the same. The electricity was close enough so we didn't need an extension at all.

The toilets are clean and the showers good. They can be a little dark in some of them though as either some of the bulbs in the shower spaces weren't working or they simply don't turn them on in some cases. It's not impossible to shower in there but it just seems a bit like something was broken so you had to shower in a light challenged space. Their showers do have a temperature adjustment which so many other campsites don't, relying on a preset temperature which is never quite right. If you want a hot shower you can have one. A cooling shower after being in the sun, no problem. Not once did I have to queue for shower.

The site is on the edge of the ocean and although the beach is land facing (almost east) due to the position of the campsite on the island. There are therefore no waves to interest body boarders or surfers (the west coast was generally quite flat during the time we stayed so I don't know if the beach does actually get waves from time to time). The low tide is very low and the beach expands out for a long way. We could see masses of people collecting what I suspect were muscles and maybe crabs. When the sea is partially in then you can walk out quite a way without the water appearing to deepen so I suspect that would be good for people with small children.

The is an old Airstream (big silver caravan) serving food and drinks although it feels a little over priced to me. Trying to sell a simple hamburger to people that are camping for Ä15. 90 seems a little odd to me. Burgers are so overpriced these days. There simply isn't any justification for charging what is an average price for a balanced plate of food in a restaurant for a mince beef sandwich. The beer is expensive as well as the coffee. These are things you can provide for yourself on your pitch so I would question whether it's worth spending Ä40 for two small beers and a couple of beef sandwiches when you could be cooking something nice on your pitch.

If you do want to eat out though and don't want to head off site, there is an existing bar/restaurant halfway across the site which actually connects to the road and mainly serves the general passing public. We had pizza here one night as a treat and it was very good and relatively inexpensive (cheaper than a burger put it that way). They have a couple of beers and some affordable wine so if you don't fancy cooking then head over there and watch the world go by. The house wine wasnít expensive.

I went here during the day for a couple of Affligem beers and the last time I went there the owner poured me a free beer which was very nice of him. The only slight downside is the girls that serve you donít appear that happy with life and table service isnít something that seems to be important to them. I usually had to get up, walk inside and head to the bar to ask for another beer which did get tiresome. They donít seem to walk around to check if someone wants to order anything more and usually are found standing inside chatting amongst themselves. The older lady (and maybe the other owner) was smiley and friendly and you had more chance of getting a further beer from her.

The main town of Noirmoutier is about a 20-30min walk away and I did this first in the midday sun when it was around 30 degrees. I wouldn't recommend it unless you have a barrel of water with you or are not bothered by the heat and the sun's intensity. I got there and home but it was a struggle as there was little to no shade. The town has a large pop up market on which surrounds a central building which once inside, had a load of fish sellers, meat sellers, cheese and all those sorts of fresh produce.

The outside was everything from quite often overpriced cheap clothing to some great fresh vegetable and fresh produce sellers. If you're heading to the site and want to pick up some supplies then you'd do worse than parking up across the bridge in the big car park (which I think is free) and heading in here. The market was not on every day though so check the dates to avoid disappointment.

There is a large Super you on the way in to town so you can pretty much stock up with everything you need before you get there. The shops in the town are generally tourist shops although there are a few staples and a number of coffee shops and little bars with some locals in them.

The campsite shop is pretty dire to be honest. There is wine but more expensive options are the only ones available. They had some bottles beers but it looked like you had to buy 5-6 of them (I think for around Ä29 ?!) which wasn't going to happen. You can't order bread and croissants for the following morning though. You have to head up there and grab them before they are all gone though they did have a massive piles of everything so unless you're having a massive lie-in then you're probably going to be in luck.

They have bike hire here which was Ä11 for a normal bike or Ä30-37 for an electric assisted but be prepared for a massive deposit. I do have an electric assisted bike at home but it's in Bristol where hills and slopes are everywhere.

Noirmoutier is pretty much flat as a pancake. I can't remember seeing anything that resembles a hill at all so unless you're just intrigued about electric bikes (which are great fun!) then you'd probably be fine with a normal bike. They are not light bikes and don't have proper road tyres but they serve the purpose well and are affordable for a days ride around. Gears and brakes worked perfectly.

We did the Blue trail which is a north part of the island bike route which is on a free map hand out in reception and is recommended for seeing beaches and the marina across to the north and west of the island. We did around 15miles on that route which I would describe as easy.

All in all this was a great site with a nice town nearby. Chilling out under the tall pine trees after a walk in the heat or a swim in the ocean was a pleasure and meeting people from all over Europe is always a pleasure. Itís a great social site and everyone seems engaging and friendly. Definitely one we would head back to.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ianandgilly 21 reviews from this member

We have been to this site at the same time of year for 3 years but this time we were so disappointed.

The first issue is at reception - the most miserable gaggle of girls you can imagine; surly and rude with no attempt at manners.

They give you 2 options for pitches and tell you the site is full; we were not particularly happy with the pitch but settled in anyway. Then you realise there are plenty of pitches but to speed-up getting people onto site AND to squeeze in as many vans as they can this ploy works ( but to the detriment of campers).

The facilities got grubby quickly as so many people are here and they are only cleaned twice daily - they need more when the site is so full.

Sadly we will go somewhere else next year as profit seems to be more important to Huttopia than customer satisfaction.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ianandgilly 21 reviews from this member

This is our favourite campsite - we have been 3 times and the place is so well sited, right next to the sea. Also the proximity to the wildlife reserve is a great attraction. You get the noise of the waves plus the sound of curlews and egrets during the night.

The beach is a fine stretch and swimming is shallow and safe.

The facilities are perfectly adequate and the availability of wifi around the bar area is welcome.

Everyone visiting the site seems to be friendly (although the site reception feels a bit like a doctor's surgery as the 'meet and greet' is more like an inquisition.

Easy cycling in the area and some fabulous mansions by the coast; also some easy cycle trails across the marshes make this a great place to visit.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fiftysomething 18 reviews from this member

The campsite review books love this site, but we didn't! Even in the second week of September it was PACKED. Almost no children of course as they were back at school but this place is a victim of its own success.

The main central road on Noirmoutier is much better than the one on Re but it's nose to tail traffic coming in. As we left the campsite dozens and dozens of people were walking, cycling or driving down to the campsite - not campers - to the beach to fish for shell fish. Can there be any shell fish left, I wonder?

Even the shops in the town of Noirmoutier seem to be mainly the same tourist junk as elsewhere.

We paid for two nights at the campsite and left after just one. We won't be going back but they won't miss us! They don't need us!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nik or Caroline 1 review from this member

24th to 4th August 2014 - this is the second visit to this camp site (previous visit was 2010) and we thoroughly enjoyed it all over again. We took the Tunnel and drove down and it's definitiely worth the drive. The site is comfortable and relaxed and has excellent beach-side pitches for tents. I'd recommend the beach pitches every time as the view over the mussel beds is beautiful. The main block that we used has laundry, toilets, showers, wash basin, pot washing, freezer (for ice packs) was well maintained and cleaned regularly in all areas. I recommend picking your pitch yourself from the map on the website in case you don't like being next to fences/roads etc. , even though the roads are very quiet.

A bike is a boon on the island especially when it's busy. The cycling is 99% flat terrain and even the cycleways between the towns across the centre of the island are mostly segregated from the motor traffic. The site itself has rental bikes and there are several other outlets too. We took our own plus a trailer to lug beach gear around in. Cycling here is by far the best way to recce the island and visit places generally, in fact if it wasn't for the bikes I don't think the place could sustain as many visitors as it does. The weather was very good during our stay and in the high 20s most days, peaking in the early afternoon. Things to do in Noirmoutier - relax, eat mussels, drink, read, swim, shop and bike. It's a small place so pace yourself and don't be tempted to get round everything too quickly. Plenty of really good beaches too, Plage des Dames is our favourite, closely followed by le Petit Vieile. The mid to northern end of the beach at the camp site is also good if you don't want to move around too much.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jobsa 1 review from this member

This site is very popular with good facilities. Beach side pitch is very advisable as the pitches are not always that big and there doesn't seam to be the normal keep 4m gap between tents. It is camping on sand and it does get everywhere, a long handle broom would be useful.

The view from the tent is brilliant, and it took us under a minute to be on the beach. The rows behind the sea view pitches had season long pitches which we found a bit unusual.

All in all a great holiday we didn't leave the island and wish we explored more than we did.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Landrob 1 review from this member

Was really excited about visiting this campsite on our cycle touring hols this year, we booked it on the back of having spent an enjoyable couple of days at the excellent indigo site in the Loire Valley last year. Really disappointed! We were stuck opposite a non-indigo snackbar (which I've noticed doesn't appear on the map on their website), right on the corner of the main public walkway to the beach on a pitch that was nothing more than a dirty square of sand/scrub, which rather amusingly was termed the 'nature' area and obviously designed for us smaller tent users. Really noisy all night from a couple of neighbouring campers and folks going back and forth from town/late night parties on the beach, and felt like we'd pitched our tent in the middle of a car park, with cars continually reversing/moving around, 1m away from our tent. I found toilets pretty grim, wash basins etc ok, but to be fair, it was really packed. I did ask to be moved, but it was fairly obvious that there were no other pitches available, apart from (funnily enough) the one to the right and left of our pitch. Several people arrived, and promptly left having surveyed the pitches, which in hindsight is what we should have done. We'd booked 5 nights, but left after 2. All in all, not what you want after cycling 240 miles to get there for a week's relaxation, particularly as I'd booked the pitch many months ago! It just seems as though they try and cram in as many people as they can, which seems to go against the whole 'back to nature' branding they have, although the pitches for big tents seemed to be in better settings. Noirmoutier itself if lovely (again though, probably much nicer out of school hols) and the beach is great.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jaggerdon 5 reviews from this member

Having stayed at a couple of other Camping Indigo sites, I found this via their website, I really like the ethos of the Indigo company, very family orientated with activities for everyone etc. I'm not sure this one is fully into the swing of all that just yet -possibly because its quite a large site. We had a beachside pitch and I don't think I would recommend any of the other pitches, at least in high season. It is on a nice beach but there are other nicer beaches so if you are stuck at the back squished in with everyone else I'm not sure how lovely it would be. Our beach pitch was glorious, waking up to the sun rising on the sea, beautiful. The beach never really got that busy, although the site was full. The showers are good, clean, efficient, and yes the toilets have loo roll! the bar was ok, but closed very early and not too many seats. The park was fun for the kids. We loved renting bikes, Noirmoutier is perfect for cycling but you may see most of it well within a week! Fantastic seafood. We had a lovely meal on Moules night with some fellow french campers and there was live music from a local band who were really quite good. Children's entertainment was lovely too- a french mime act, my kids love all that! A real mixture of campers, so good chance of ending up next to a bus-load of teenagers, but on the other hand you may also end up making friends with a lovely french family like we did.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Carvalier owner 4 reviews from this member

Camping Indigo Noirmoutier La Vendette this is our second visit to this campsite, stayed 13th June to 20th June 2011 and now back again in June 2013. This time because we are familiar with the campsite and Noirmoutier we are more clinical in our study of both. There has been some positive changes in Indigo campsite with a room in front of reception building to sit down and access your wifi which is free and you can use your own computer. New on site canvas tents look impressive also. The kids playground has new slides and swings and sea-saws which we as adults even had a go.

June is a nice time to stay here campsite is not crowded and showers are included in price and they have their own toilet paper. This time we explored the beach better as now our daughter is 2 yrs older ++ and it is lovely to see people picking cockles and mussels and clams every time the tide is out and gives a feel of a very natural down to earth holiday. It is not your Benidorm pardon the pun

The beach is lovely as usual and we walked all along the sea front with its coves and sandy beaches and had a drink in one of the cafť bars at the end of the caravan park. Facilities excellent and could not fault them and you order your fresh bread and collect in reception each morning

Caravaning among the trees is romantic, it is nature at its finest and weather on this island is brilliant so early in holiday season.

The municipal site next door looked very busy this June and glad we stayed in Indigo Campsite even with the pine tree prickles. The market in Noirmoutier for fruit and fresh prawns and mussels is excellent. There is a fish restaurant which has its own fish farm processing unit a short distance out of the town and mussels and chips or oysters there are to die for. You can even buy mussels 1 KG for 2. 80Ä to take home to your campsite and cook later if your a fish lover.

This year we discovered Indigo campsite is not the only well placed campsite on the Ile Nourmoutier as others are also direct beach access which we will explore on our next visit as we discovered one or two other campsites are backing onto better beaches on this not so big island. The French caravan and campsites you have to admit they cater for all the types of tourists and our countries, could take note of how there tourists return year on year. We noticed in Indigo some retired French are there for the whole summer season, and seem to have a great little camping community going there. The French camper has a selection of old or new caravan or camper vans and make the most of the natural resources around them and their off spring visit them on the weekends and the old retired look very much alive and enjoying themselves even with a vino over their dinner.

Indigo Noirmoutier is definitely worth a visit and we go back again next year for sure, but we will explore other campsites on this heavenly island

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Aldbury 1 review from this member

This was out first trip to Noirmoutier and we loved both the island and the camp site. We stayed in one if the site's own pre-erected tents, which were similar to large safari tents, are enormous and come fully equipped. We only needed to bring towels and bed linen. It coped with the four of us and all our clutter.

The campsite was busy in late July and became very full on the 1st of August. The shower, WC and washing facilities are all shared. The staff were friendly and helpful throughout the stay.

We had paid a small supplement for a beach side pitch which did not disappoint, other than the beach itself directly outside our tent which consisted of very coarse, crushed shells. However only 200 metres north the sand improved markedly.

It is worth hiring bikes to be able to cycle into the main town (about 10 mins along a causeway) for the restaurants, shops and food or to explore the rest of the northern section of this pretty island.

The weather was pretty good, although not without the odd spot of rain now and again. The best beaches would seem to be the west facing ones, which are a short drive to the other side of the island. We only really scratched the surface of the island in our week, but would come back again (although probably not in August).

Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Noirmoutier En Lile      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Pays de la Loire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


8164 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019