Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Talybont Farm Caravan & Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Talybont On Usk > Talybont Farm Caravan & Camping Reviews

Talybont Farm Caravan & Camping
Talybont Farm
Talybont On Usk
Powys   (Browse area)
LD3 7YJ
Tel: 01874 676674
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 30
Open: Easter To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 60 Reviews
                9/10 from 60 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  60 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Catarinabod 41 reviews from this member

Stayed 3 nights at start of May Spring Bank Holiday week. Perfect site in fantastic location - canal (boats and walks), village pubs, village store and walks galore on the doorstep.

Level pitches of great size. Good shower facilities. We were in the bottom field which was furthest from the facilities but quietest.

Would like to return as still want to walk Pen y Fan.

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Vtrjames 4 reviews from this member

We are a family of three who have a four berth touring caravan. When we arrived on site we were met by Lydia who was very pleasant and welcoming.

The cost for the two nights was £40 (this is a set price for a family of 2 adults and 2 children). The pitches are massive (genuinely massive). The field is very well kept (it was a shame to drive across it) with nice short grass (lovely to walk on bare foot); there wasn't a spot of litter in sight.

The shower blocks were well kept as were the washing up areas.

Neither us nor another camper could get any TV reception but please don't let this put you off staying here.

The canal is only across the road and affords you a nice easy walk into Brecon. There are plenty of pubs serving good beer (I'm a beer snob) where you can refresh yourself after the days walk or even during.

The farm is a working farm so expect animal noises and smells, our little one loved the cows and sheep.

We'll undoubtedly be back especially when the cold months and clear skies return.
via mobile

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: RoamfromHome 22 reviews from this member

Quiet, peaceful well maintained site.

Spacious pitch with lovely views. Adequate facilities but why shut for cleaning so early?

Beautiful surrounding countryside with lovely walks and adjacent canal.

Shop and pubs a few minutes away in the village.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: HyPR 2 reviews from this member

Similar to previous reviews. Liked it enough to stay a second week.

Relaxed and friendly staff. It is a working farm but largely invisible from sites

Large pitches for vans. There were a couple of large groups passing through during stay but didn’t have a problem with shower or toilets.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: JMurphy 6 reviews from this member

It's a lovely site in a wonderful location, ideal for cycling or walking straight from the site. There is a local bus along the Usk valley so you can easily explore further afield.

The pitches are huge and the site is maintained to a very high standard. The toilet facilities are quite small for such a large site but they are kept clean and well looked after.

The pubs in the village are all very friendly and The White Hart does nice food.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Snoopysmum 24 reviews from this member

What a super friendly site!

I can only repeat the other reviews that the pitches are huge, Lydia and her friendly team keep everything spotless and tidy and are always there to help out!

The village is 5 minutes walk away, 3 pubs - we ate at the White Hart and the Star - both good food but the Star is cosier and has more atmosphere.

The village shop has all the basics and does a super breakfast deal for £3!

Loads of walks - along the canal, up Pen y Fan and others, Talybont orchard trail to name a few.

We came for 2 nights and stayed 6!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Torquemaster 10 reviews from this member

There have been many previous reports on this site, but having just returned from Talybont Farm having enjoyed 5 days of excellent camping weather, I thought I would add our recent experiences.

I have, on a few previous years attempted to book this site for a long weekend to be told it was fully booked, an indication of its popularity. This year I was determined to visit so booked in February for June, Mon-Fri. That worked!

Upon arrival we were advised of our pre-allocated pitch in the Tent Field. This was a very well maintained, near level, pitch with recently cut short grass, so not cuttings in the tent! This grass even had mowing stripes on it. The ground was firm but not stony. The pegs needed a few blows from our rarely used mallet.

We I didn’t experience any wait for the “facilities” which were clean and well maintained.

Several groups of youths were staying in their separate fields. It is good to see them experiencing the outdoor adventure life. It has to be said that from what I saw they were well behaved, although I understand the “Ladies” was a bit of a “war zone” on occasions.

The canal opposite the campsite offered interesting easy walks and leads to two nearby pubs that are in the village. It was very pleasant to sit by the canal after a busy day with drinks exchanging pleasantries with the passing boats. That said, everyone at the campsite too seemed friendly and conversations easy.

Nearby Brecon is an interesting town with many independent shops and cafes. It even has Banks! It is a credit to what a town centre can be like as it still co-exists with several larger supermarket chains.

We climbed Pen y Fan and Corn Du and enjoyed the spectacular views from the top of these at about 3000 ft.

To get to the Tent Field you need to go through the larger main field which is equipped with EHU’s. The pitches seem well spaced and have open views. The disadvantage in being in the Tent Field, is that it is a three and a half minute “trudge” to the “facilities”. This needs to be borne in mind if the weather is inclement or the call urgent.

This is a very peaceful place with no road noise, but is a working farm so there are occasional noises.

Overall though from our experience I don’t think camping can get better than our stay at Talybont Farm.

We will return….

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Celtic1 13 reviews from this member

What a fantastic site! The pitches are huge and the site is very flat. The location is superb. With fantastic walking and cycling opportunities. You can walk/cycle along the canal to the quaint town of Brecon, where there is a superb Ghurka restaurant, along with the usual, array of supermarkets.

You can walk on to the Brecons or to Talybont reservoir from the site and I am sure there are a multitude of places you can reach without ever having to use your vehicle.

There is a basic pitch fee and then you pay for anything over and above that, so it is extra for children, dogs, day visitors etc.

There are 2 male and 2 female showers and toilets, as well as a unisex one at the farm house, All showers are free.

The owner keeps a fairly high but unobtrusive profile on the site and this is reassuring.

Even though the site was full, it is very clean, quiet and laid back, attracting families, pensioners. DoE participants and groups of friends. Yet not once was there any disruption or thoughtless behaviour, everyone was incredibly friendly.

There were a lot of dogs on site, but all were under control and there was no dog mess. There is however no dedicated dog walking area, within the site.

I would 100% visit this site again.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Helen_scott 2 reviews from this member

A great site in a great location. Pitches are level and spacious and the toilets and showers clean and tidy. Fabulous views of the beacons.

Great location for walking/cycling the canal tow path and Taff trails as well as the brecon beacons.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ratty 196 reviews from this member

Booking was easy on email and they responded quickly and answered all my questions. We paid £11 per person and £2 for the dog.

The facilities are spotless and showers are free, although they are the push button type and you cannot adjust the temperature.

Walking from the site is amazing and you can reach Pen Y Fan and the other peaks from the site.

We visited the White Hart and this is a smashing pub next to the canal path and is relaxing watching the boats go by.

There is a small store two minutes walk from the site that sells pretty much everything you will need.

I will be back when next walking the Beacons and recommend this site to all.

Previous     60 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3919 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019