Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Godwins Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Oxfordshire > Bicester > Godwins Caravan And Camping Site > Reviews

Godwins Caravan And Camping Site
Manor Farm
Northampton Road
Weston On The Green
Bicester
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)
OX25 3QL
Tel: 01869 351647  or  07854 980532
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 20
Open: Mar-oct

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 13 Reviews
                8/10 from 13 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: TheMonkeys 4 reviews from this member

 Booked Godwins last minute to get the new tent up before our holidays so just has the one night, absolutely gutted we didnít stop longer complete little gem. Lovely toilet block, flat pitch and very welcoming.

Yes as other reviews there is the hum from the nearby motorway or A34 but this didnít stop us from having a lovely evening and a great sleep the view across the field is beautiful and loved watching the local sheep and cows.

We didnít have children with us but it is a lovely clean site and the kids there looked like they was enjoying the big open space to play their own games, itís the kinda site we spent time on when we were kids. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: T5 tourist 7 reviews from this member

 Stopped for one night en route home. Really convenient for the A34/M40. The grass area was not in use as so much rain, but we parked up on the edge of grass/gravel area, so no danger of getting stuck. The toilet block/showers are new and very good. Two ladies toilets and two showers. Good ehu. Milk Shed was closed, but looked good. We weren't bothered by any traffic noise.

Went to The Chequers for dinner, only a 5min walk and really good food.

Perhaps a recycling bin. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Manicminer 3 reviews from this member

 A very reasonable site- we stayed for 4 nights. The location is excellent for touring caravans, large field with excellent views of the countryside. Very near to m40 and main trunk roads north and south

The facilities- toilets, greywaste and sewage were ok. Site owner very friendly and is in the process of building new toilet and shower

Facilities

The site is behind an ice-cream parlour/ cafe that serve excellent value for money food (milk shakes were 1st class)but check opening times.

Not far from Bicester with a good Sainsubury's

overall highly recommended for touring around the Oxford area. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Elainemcd 15 reviews from this member

 Just stayed with another motorhome for 2 nights, greeted by owner who showed us around and told us that there weren't actually any showers - just toilets in a portakabin. Several of the electric hook up points weren't working but we managed park next to each other where 3 out of 4 points were working.

Basic site, convenient for A34 but really needs the facilities updating - both doors on the portakabin had 'male' signs on them, as the single toilet and sink had no urinals in it we assumed this was actually the ladies toilet (though men were using it also) There was no hand dryer or paper towels in either unit. My husband said there was no soap, the hot water wasn't hot and one of the toilets was leaking in the 'mens' toilet.

Also the Milk Shed cafe and ice cream parlour is closed on Monday's so avoid this if you want to taste the ice cream. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JohnB600 16 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for one night on our way home and found it just what we wanted, easy to access from the M40, flat level ground some hard standings, the toilets are a portakabin but are really clean and pleasant to use, the owner is very friendly and at £15 a night with EHU, very reasonable. The road noise is audible but not too intrusive, I tend to be able to tune it out anyway, so no problems. We will definitely be staying there again as it is about halfway from our home to the Channel ports. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Suebdoo 3 reviews from this member

 Basic, large grounds so plenty of space between units even though it was a bank holiday weekend. No shower block but we were told that when booking. Flat level ground. Friendly easy going owner. There is a tea room and home made icecream! A few animals in field next door, horses and lambs, great for kids. Would stay again. People have said about the noise from the A34, personally I can't understand the complaint. If you don't like road noise, perhaps it's best not to stay there then? It didn't bother me at all. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: A kirk 8 reviews from this member

 Great little site, hm well I say site more of a field behind the ice cream cafe, but perfect for the money and location.

The owners were friendly and helpful.

The field was well kept and had some lovely views, loads of wildlife. Cost was £17. 50 for our camper with EHU, which these days I don't think is to bad.

The cafe opens between 9-5 and serves all kinds of things from ice cream to Jam.

Facilities are fine, but do show signs of ageing, but were always clean and tidy. In the mens you had 1 urinal, 2 toilets and 1 shower, which was more than enough when we stayed as there were only 10-12 units on the site. There is a washing up area with plenty of hot water, and a chemical toilet point.

As mentioned before, you can hear the road noise, but its more of just a background noise and in no way does it cause any problems.

A good site in a great location only a few miles from Oxford, definitely one to remember in the future while on our travels. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jimmy.endicott 1 review from this member

 Good site. Loved the ice cream. Nice clean facilities, toilet, shower, wash-up area. Quiet when we were there, we went down one corner of the field and there were only a couple of other people on site.

Nice bit of wildlife to keep the kids entertained, including a resident red kite which was flying low over the site throughout - cows, rabbits, sparrow hawk.

Went for a walk to the Ben Johnson pub nearby which had a pleasant family garden, Weston on the Green has little more than a village shop which opens infrequently.

The traffic noise is constant - didn't really bother us though and the motorway isn't particularly in view. There's not a great deal of shelter though and it was quite exposed to wind, so be careful if your tent isn't pretty low/robust, and definitely pack a windbreak if you have one.

All said - we liked it and would go back. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cyclefamily 3 reviews from this member

 We were cycle touring with the family and the 'Ice Cream Farm' sign appeared at about 3pm on a very hot day when we were just about ready to collapse! We were very pleased to find we could stay after scoffing the delicious ice cream from the shop. As we were passing through, the location was ideal (right on the NCN route 54 near Walton on the Green), but as it sits next to an A road and has constant traffic noise, this would not be a 'destination' camping spot for us. The field was large and flat, and not crowded.

Showers and toilets were OK: not pristine, but really good hot water, which was all we really wanted.

A small village shop about 5 mins walk away provided the basic food we needed. The owner indicated that the farm shop/cafe would be open and serving food from 9am, so we considered buying a cooked breakfast before we took off the next morning. Luckily we didn't wait for it, as we left at 9:20am and it was still not open. At £14.50 for 2 small tents with no electric, and on a busy road, it was a little more expensive than some sites, but it served our purposes well and we felt lucky to have found just the right thing when we really needed it. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Miss jackie 3 reviews from this member

 Nice site very basic just a field behind some barns and a lovely ice cream shop. The showers were good lots of hot water. Nice walk up the road to a very pretty village with thatched cottages and a paper shop, for anything else you need a car as the nearest tesco is about 4 miles away.

Down side was the noise from the A34 it was a constant annoying noise but for £12.50 a night it was a good 2 days of sitting in a field doing nothing with the dog ! 


Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Godwins Caravan And Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Godwins Caravan And Camping Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Godwins Caravan And Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bicester      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Oxfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4161 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement