Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Henfold Lakes Fishery And Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Surrey > Dorking > Henfold Lakes Fishery And Caravan Park Reviews

Henfold Lakes Fishery And Caravan Park
Henfold Lane
Beare Green
Dorking
Surrey   (Browse area)
RH5 4RW
Tel: 01306 883346
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 100
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 21 Reviews
                8/10 from 21 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  21 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Horse33 2 reviews from this member

Great site very clean with a lovely pub and cafe on lakeside. Kids loved playing in the woodland area.

Toilets and shower was always clean all in all a very good weekend away.
via mobile

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mav617 2 reviews from this member

Great site, plenty of room when we visited. Not much to do if you don't like fishing but if you do then you'll love it.

Easy to find but small roads to the venue so might struggle with a big van. Grass could do with a cut, toilets are portaloos with porcelain toilets and actually pretty good, but only one shower.

Onsite tackle shop. Staff are brilliant, as are bacon butties!

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Twixthecat 41 reviews from this member

We visited on a sunny weekend in July with our tent, two adults and a toddler for a cheap local camping trip. It's not far from home and easy to get to for us.

The site is basic - no 'toilet block' but there are a handful of portaloos (with proper plumbed in toilets inside) and one shower for the site (again in a little shed, but free and hot). They seemed clean and toilets had soap and paper.

I like that if you don't need hookup you can pitch anywhere you like so can choose to be as close or far from stuff as you want. The field is slightly undulating so takes a bit of exploring to find a good flat spot, but there is plenty of space. Also watch out for the goose poo. It is prolific! Obviously not much the site can do about that, but be aware. The caravans seem a bit haphazardly scattered around the field. There are no marked out pitches, but I guess they need to be in reach of electric points.

There is also a fair bit of aircraft noise. Enough to be noticeable, but not enough to really be an issue during the day - apart from first thing in the morning getting woken up by it first thing! There were also a couple of big groups, one of which was a bit noisy - but they had pitched in a far corner so not too disruptive.

We didn't really explore the rest of the site. There seemed to be a van selling teas, coffees and sandwiches (as the café is currently closed).

We went out and explored Leith Hill which is about 20mins drive away. A lovely walk up from the campsite, view from the tower and delicious ice creams! The website says there is a play area but didn't get that far.

A site I might go back to as part of a group looking for a cheap relaxed place to camp. But probably not return to as just a family wanting a quiet weekend away.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kempsons 13 reviews from this member

We stayed here for one night to meet up with family on our way home from a music festival. The owners are very friendly and helpful and we were shown to an area were we could pitch up in whatever direction we liked which was great as we could make the most of the views. Having been at a music festival with portaloos all weekend I would have loved a proper toilet block. However the portaloos did have proper flushing toilets & sinks and they were very clean.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Deano66 1 review from this member

Fantastic camp site, great amenities & owners very helpful.

Would recommend this site to every one. Had an excellent time in the tranquil peaceful settings.

5 stars to its owners, will be visiting again in the near future.

Great for all ages ;-) this was our first time camping & we loved every second of it. Showers were hot & luckily the sun did play its part for a memorable stay

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Denisehayes 1 review from this member

Myself and my partner have just spent the bank holiday weekend at this campsite. In our opinion the campsite was not well enough equipped for the size of the site, there was 1 shower that was build like a portaloo, for all genders to share, there were not many toilets around either that I could see, I never saw any washing up sinks for campers in tents. Fishing lakes setting was very nice, but the fishing itself was a bit hit and miss ( possible restocking of the lakes would help). The overall site itself is lovely, with beautiful wildlife. There wasn't enough electric hook ups, when you drove into the site it was cramped to get your car and caravan through entrance/exit especially if something was coming the other way. Marking out pitching would of made things a lot easier. Thought it could of been more organized. Shame that the clubhouse had been burnt down, that looked a really nice feature. Please take this as constructive criticism and not just a moan.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Red7 1 review from this member

I found that Henfold Lakes fishery and caravan park site to be very good place to go all the staff are very nice and helpful I am a newbie to caravanning and they help me set things up northing was too much trouble for them. Site is great for fishing and seeing the ducks.

The toilets and sinks and showers and floors all very clean and paper towels and toilet rolls always topped up too. Grass and edges kept short all very tidy.

Did have a club house and place where you could get a drink and place to have dinner too had a bad fire fours weeks ago awaiting insurence will be another new place later. Site has five lakes and woods too.

As you come off site turn right go down the road to royal oak for dinner and drink or turn left ask office for details there is a spar shop not too far away too. Also not far from Dorking Town centre

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fpoole 1 review from this member

We had only one night to spare but it was lovely to stay here and we will be back. Enjoyed a meal in the cafe, a little walk in the woods and fishing. Fish were caught! we won, t bother with electrics next time. Too difficult to work out what to use when, without tripping out! best for shortish stays. Did nt seem to be anywhere to walk to easily. Loos fine. Didn't try shower. Loved the wildlife, saw a woodpecker in first ten min, herons and so many goose families

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Eclipse7 2 reviews from this member

We've just returned from a 2-night stay here. Although it's local for us we're not sure why we haven't found it sooner! We'll certainly be returning. As mentioned by others, staff are very friendly and helpful. The CL area next to the lake suffers from much duck poo (can't help that) so glad we were pitched on the large meadow. EHU points can be some distance from pitches but free loan of extension cords is available.

Campers are asked to leave a reasonable distance between units (20ft I think) which we appreciate as we prefer not to be too cosy with neighbours!

Loos adequate and clean, didn't use the shower, didn't eat in the restaurant but it looked very nice with a small terrace and other extra tables on grass.

All in all a very pleasant site for a relaxing break, particularly if you're an angler. If you're from outside the area you'd find plenty of places to visit locally.

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: PDSURREY 11 reviews from this member

The site looks nice upon arrival. We had a grass pitch in the CL area by reception, right next to the lake. Downside that there was lots of dogs poo around and on the pitch, so some better housekeeping between departures/arrivals would be good.

The electric (wattage) supply is awful and kept cutting out, so we had to turn everything off, including the fridge to get one item to work!

The toilets are mini portacabins with one loo inside each one. One for the ladies, one for the gents. They look quite new and are kept clean.

The one shower (which has to be shared by both sexes) is in a similar telephone box sized portacabin with a power shower.

It would be better if they could have a proper shower and toilet block and if need be, provide passwords to the campers if the owners want to keep the anglers away from using them.

The campsite is large enough to erect a playground area for kids as it does not have one, which is a shame.

All in all some improvements could definitely be made to make this a real gem of a site as it has the potential there.

Previous     21 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Dorking      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Surrey

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 16/01 to 19/01, Event City
Over 200 exhibitors with all the new 2020 models and biggest ever selection of accessories. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1946 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020