Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Jungfrau

Campsite Search > Europe > Switzerland > Lauterbrunnen > Camping Jungfrau > Reviews

Camping Jungfrau
Ch 3822
Weid 406
Lauterbrunnen
Switzerland   (Browse area)

Tel: +41 33 856 20 10
Visit their website    

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 14 Reviews
                10/10 from 14 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: October 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kad1310 15 reviews from this member

 This was our fourth visit to Camping Jungfrau and it was still as good as ever and didnít disappoint.

This time we had a pitch right next to the river with complete privacy (506) which was around 80m from the nearest toilet block by reception. Since our last visit these facilities have been refurbished and were fantastically clean all the time we used them.

The only real difference we seemed to see was the shop, which did not have as much choice as previous but still all the basics are to be had.

Reception staff as helpful as always.

Restaurant was still serving great food. Closed Mon and Tue in the off season.

Site was constantly being cleaned.

All in all still a great site and is still our top pick of any site weíve been to.

The Jungfrau region is fantastic and there is always plenty to do, will be going back again next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Joolb 50 reviews from this member

 Our second time here. The site has been taken over by a small chain so is no longer family owned. Itís difficult to say if it has changed due to this but there are

Certainly more pitches turned over to little camping huts with a decked area and chairs and umbrellas for sitting out.

There also seemed to be more staff around tidying, mowing, moving duck boards etc. The main block showers are dirty with mud and grass constantly adorning the floors.

The family showers are spacious and clean. The block by reception has only3 showers so always a queue.

Tent pitches on the main field are packed tight but further spaced as you get further from the facilities.

There is a new bar area which seemed to be rarely open and no cover so shut if it rained.

Lauterbrunnen itself has an ideal location- well served by public transport.

We tried a cruise on Lake Brienz this time-stunning scenery with beautiful turquoise waters.

Prices seem to have increased enormously but you just have to grin and bear it-a spectacular part of the world. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Doylesmith 4 reviews from this member

 We visited Jungfrau the end of August on our bike trip around Europe. We stopped for one night but wished we could have stayed longer

The facilities on this site is outstanding with heated toilet and washing/shower areas throughout the day and night.

The campsite was always kept clean with outstanding views of the mountains around you and large waterfall coming down the mountain.

It I was a bit expensive in the area to eat out but no different to the rest of Switzerland.

Top campsite will visit again 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Doylesmith 4 reviews from this member

 This was a lovely campsite with excellent facilities in a fantastic location,

You will want to spend more than just a night at this location there is loads to do in the local area with discounts available if you buy on site.

Only discovered this site for the first time but will definitely be going back again 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Joolb 50 reviews from this member

 2 mature adults in 7. 5 m caravan with awning.

Fantastically helpful and knowledgable staff -made sure we got the best options for the tickets we needed.

Mistake in the restaurant on our first night put us off returning for a second night-didn't find the food exceptional, so we only ate out 3 times in 9 days which is unusual for us. Best meal in a little restaurant in wengen on Sunday at lunchtime.

Apart from visiting the Jungfrau and schilthorn with their amazing views, we also took the cable car to manlichen and then the 30 minute gondola ride down to grund-views of the valley far reaching and spectacular.

Lots of easy hikes to do-my favourite was along the valley to the end and back-about 3 hours with a break at a hotel for refreshments

We were given a smallish pitch with a water elecand drainage only just fitted our outfit and we were between one of the seasonal units and a large motorhome and felt slightly hemmed in-we would not usually have stayed so long in such a site but spent most of our days out anyway. This is not really a site for sitting in front of your awning chillaxing-it's extremely busy and can be noisy until 10 pm then you can hear a pin drop! If we went again we would ask to be in the second field where it seemed to be a bit quieter. Unfortunately we didn't find that the San facs were especially clean-the showers had no way of being cleaned after the previous user so were all muddy and grassy. I used the family shower rooms which also contained a loo and sink -much cleaner and each contained a squeegee. We used the drying room to dry our towels-a great addition and one of the other sanitaires had a spinner which was great for after hand washing a few items.

The two lakes Thun and Brienz are worth a day trip on the train stopping at Interlaken Ost

We never used our car as the public transport system is so well integrated.

Everything is extremely expensive so you just have to bite the bullet and get used to it. The country is astonishingly beautiful/the people friendly and multilingual/the food a bit stodgy and I would return tomorrow if I could ! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Hevseys 7 reviews from this member

 The two of us stayed here after reading good reviews and certainly were not disappointed. We haven't travelled in Switzerland before and it was a first outing with a new motorhome, we are over 3. 5 tonne and knew about the Swiss vignette motorway pass but at the border they just waved us through with a normal pass. Later at another border control they realised we were heavier and changed to the annual pass with 10 days availability it was cheaper. I would recommend insisting on this at the first border however busy they are to save this hassle. They were however very helpful and pleasant which is what we found all over Switzerland.

So onto the site - we were unsure of the approach road as it didn't seem possible that it was going to be down the narrow looking street with shops and cafes spilling onto the pavement, but it was that way so don't be put off.

We arrived when the reception was shut for lunch but a smiley chap appeared on his bike and showed us two pitches to choose from pointing out the advantages of each. We chose the one nearest to the toilet block, there is only one block which is immaculate at all times, music playing and heated.

We were pitched right next to a fast flowing river which was spectacular, I probably would have worried if I had little ones with me but there was a secure fence ( I'm just a worrier) we had electric and water on our pitch and it was a reasonable size.

The river was very noisy which after 3 days I was pleased to leave behind it was like a ' white' noise constantly, my husband wasn't troubled by it at all. It was worth the noise for the setting.

We visited the Trummelbach waterfalls, an easy stroll from the site although we walked a bit too far as we missed a sign for them. Discounts are given if you stay on this site for this attraction and others.

We didn't go up any mountains as my husband doesn't do heights! We will definitely return with others so that I can can do them as the opportunities as endless for days out.

The weather alternated between scorchingly hot and pouring with rain which I believe is usual, some of the tents on the lower field looked a bit washed out as the rain was very heavy for a while.

There was evening entertainment Swiss folk style which was worth going to and gave a feeling of authenticity. Food was served which was optional.

The campsite shop was well stocked, we didn't try the restaurant which looked very nice. There are interesting shops in the village. The swimming pool is in the village, we didn't use it.

Everything is expensive in Switzerland but don't let that stop you going, just accept it and have a great time in a country which is very different and exceptionally clean and well maintained.

If you are travelling on to Italy check your route as we went over the highest mountain pass ever. It was scary but taken slowly we felt we had achieved something, don't do it in the rain!

We would without a doubt stay at this site again. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: SamandRose 27 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 6 nights in early June 2016 (it should have been 7, but we were delayed for a day in France)!

It's impossible to review this site without waxing lyrical about its location. Lauterbrunnen is stunningly beautiful. It's situated in a wide valley within which waterfalls (which result from the melting of Alpine glaciers) cascade down the sides into the river below. There are fabulous mountain views in every direction including the Jungfrau peak on a clear day.

Lauterbrunnen is also the starting point for the cogwheel railway to Kleine Scheidegg and Jungfraujoch (home of the highest railway station in Europe). The views from there - on a clear day - are spectacularly beautiful, including the Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau peaks in one direction and across as far as Germany's Black Forest in another. Sit on the right-hand side of the train out of Lauterbrunnen for wonderful views into the valley on the ascent.

I could go on at length but am aware that I haven't even mentioned the site yet, so suffice to say that Switzerland's Jungfrau region is a place you must visit before you die. And you must stay in Lauterbrunnen.

The only question is: should you stay at Camping Jungfrau?

For a lot of reasons, yes. The reception staff - as well as speaking excellent English - are incredibly friendly, knowledgeable and helpful, and were able to sell us rail passes (we didn't need to use our car at all during our stay) and offer discounted entry to some other attractions. The facilities include heated toilets, showers, a laundry, drying room, separate family showers and even a pet shower. We never saw any of these in anything less than a spotless condition. The site also includes a children's play area, a shop which is well-stocked, and a bar and restaurant that serves delicious food.

There is a separate block of dormitories that is popular with coach tours, but we never felt that that intruded on the camp site.

There is just one area where things get a little more subjective. The pitches.

In essence there are two roughly level fields, one of which has some further terraces in a slope upwards from it. We had a terraced pitch that included electricity, water and waste water drainage and it was lovely. However, some of the tents and motorhomes parked in the fields below were very close together. Had we had to pitch among them, I'm not sure that we'd have felt comfortable. That's the only reason for our overall 9/10 rating.

The other problem is something the owners can do nothing about. Because the site is in a valley and the sides consist of impermeable rock, drainage isn't brilliant and the ground can get waterlogged on wet days. This wasn't a problem for us in our caravan, particularly as the staff gave us free duckboards to put outside our awning. I really wouldn't have fancied being in a tent though, even though some people were.

So, if you have a caravan or motorhome and the site is not full, you should definitely stay at Camping Jungfrau and love it. If you have a tent, maybe check the weather forecast first. And see if they have any room in a dormitory if it really rains hard. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Soapbox 1 review from this member

 I can only really echo what all the other reviews have said about this glorious site.

We stayed here for 5 nights during a family tour of Europe with three kids.

We didn't know much about the site and weren't overly optimistic. How wrong we were, the setting is STUNNING, the pitch we had was large, the reception staff were hugely friendly and knowledgeable and we bought our mountain passes etc on arrival, which proved to be a cheaper option.

The kids played in the park with the other children and everyone was very friendly. The shower block / toilets were immaculate and the drying room was brilliant for wet shoes etc. We had a meal in the on site restaurant and it was great and the traditional evening entertainment was really good also.

Special mention must go to our 'neighbour', Welsh Peter who was a real star.

We were really sorry to leave this site and will definitely return as soon as possible, however while staying here make sure you get out into the mountains as much as possible because the scenery is truly stunning. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Kad1310 15 reviews from this member

 All the previous review are spot on.

Valley of the 72 waterfalls. Stunning is an understatement.

The campsite;

Fantastic little shop.

Reception and check in is second to none, all the information you require and more, you can also buy your train and cable car tickets here.

Great restaurant with quality food and drink, good service. Book early for evening meal. Take away service available.

We have no kids so cannot comment on the facilities and events for them.

The shower and toilet block were always immaculate when we were there, they look brand new, well heated and loads of hot water. Dish washing area includes dish washers if you're that lazy, good sized washing machines and dryers, there is also a large drying room.

Motorhome service area includes a hose to wash your van.

When we arrived we were met by a man with a cracking moustache and a bicycle and he led us to our proposed pitch, here is my only gripe, he showed us a pitch that had other campers on it and the space left was not suitable, we asked for a different pitch and this was fine. I understand getting as many people on your Site as possible, but the week we were there was not all that busy.

He then issues you a ticket which you take to reception to check in, good way of doing it. We then set up and grabbed a couple of duck boards for the awning. Well worth getting them as did it rain for a couple of days, the pitch never flooded though.

The site is within walking distance of the Trummelbech falls and also the local village where you can catch a train or cable car. There is lots to do in the area even if it's wet.

All in all a fantastic campsite in a stunning location. I know everyone says that they will return, we have actually booked for next year already. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ZigiT 4 reviews from this member

 I can only agree with the other reviews already posted for this site. The location is stunning, the facilities second to none and the staff helpful.

Do get the 6 day Jungfrau rail pass, it seems a lot of money but you will not need to use your car and through the cable car routes you can access places that you would not be able to with the car.

It rained heavily everyday around 5/6pm, but this was a relief as the days were very hot and it cleared the air. However because the site is located in a steep gorge you do not get sun on the tent very early in the morning, that may be a consideration for packing up in the morning. There are enough duck boards for 2 per pitch and they were really useful for putting at the entrance to the tent, sadly some campers were rather greedy, and they so often seemed to be British!

Switzerland is very expensive, apparently to do with them levying taxes through purchased goods rather than income tax. We mostly cooked for ourselves as eating out was extortionate. Food in the supermarkets (each town/large village seems to have a Co-op) was not much more expensive than at home. 


Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Camping Jungfrau child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Jungfrau?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping Jungfrau dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lauterbrunnen      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Switzerland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


41869 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Play our
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win an amazing 12V and 240V 21.5" Full HD Smart WiFi TV with Satellite Decoder worth £399 provided by outdoor superstore Towsure!

Play Here


Advertisement