Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Loch Ness Highland Resort

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Site Reviews

Loch Ness Highland Resort
Glendoe Road
Fort Augustus
Highlands   (Browse area)
PH32 4BG
Tel: 01320 366257
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches:
Open: June To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 48 Reviews
                8/10 from 48 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  48 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jimagallan 10 reviews from this member

Site is still in progress of redevelopment and has changed quite a bit in layout. The advertised “all day” restaurant appears to be well behind on completion. Generally the site has a good feel to it and neat and tidy. I would say though at £30 a night it needs a little more to justify the price tag. Toilets as before a little small for the size of site and far too warm.
via mobile

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Stokewalker 15 reviews from this member

This site was previously called Cumberlands and only became the current name in early July 2018.

It seems to have had quite an upgrade - the facilities seem very new and it's set out very spaciously. I was there when it was quite quiet and although the facilities are new, I agree with previous reviewers that you may have to queue in busy times.

The site's trump card is it's location right on the edge of Ft Augustus which is one of the prettiest villages in Scotland - yes it's very touristy but I like that buzz. And there's quite a bit to do there

£30 a night was a bit eye watering - more than twice what I paid for other sites along the NC500 route - but you're paying for an excellent location.

You're also in midge country so remember your Deet spray.

I'd definitely go back to this one

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: AlnMo 4 reviews from this member

Stopped here for one night on our way down Loch Ness. Nice welcome on arrival, told to pick a pitch which we did, once set up we checked out the facilities - which were nice and clean but only three showers, three wash hand basins and four toilets (in the ladies), not sure if this would be adequate if the park was even half full also quite a walk if you were at the far end of the park.

Park is very handy for the village of Fort Augustus together with shops, eateries and the locks on the canal.

Larger motorhome drivers be aware that the service point could be awkward to get in and out of - may be easier to reverse out of - with assistance.

Only down side, no views of the Loch and that is what the tourists are looking for.

The charge of £35 per night (for 2 people) was maybe a bit steep, not sure the charges for families - some young families camp because they are on a budget.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

Please note we have been advised that this site is under new ownership, and is being redeveloped under the new name Loch Ness Highland Resort (previously known as Cumberlands Campsite). It is due to reopen towards the end of June 2018.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 562 reviews from this member

First and foremost this site is right in Fort Augustus, just a couple of minutes walk to the beautiful flight of locks and Loch Ness itself.

Hard-standing pitches are set in a circle around the edge of the site - it is massive, when we stayed only a couple of vans and tents but it could hold an army and still have loads of room.

The hard-standing pitches around the edge have ehu - didn't see any of the grass field for tents. Water taps on every other hard-standing, drive over motorhome waste near the facilities. There are a few notices, common sense i. E. Don't put disposal bbq on the grass, clean up after dogs - it didn't feel at all regimented, to be fair the opposite everyone quite laid back and very amiable.

Loos and showers look quite new, 3 showers and 4 loos in ladies. Water piping hot with brilliant pressure. There are signs saying floor slippery when wet - it very much is a bit lethal. Whilst there are signs they don't stop you slipping - needs matting or a new covering.

There is wifi on site, included in price which worked well. The cafe / bar wasn't open and we were told by reception it hadn't been open at all this year.

We found this a fabulous place to stop to visit the locks and lochs. We did intend to stay another night and cycle on the Great Glen Way but were told by reception the campsite was closing the next morning as it had been very quiet over the last week or so.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lord MacLeod 1 review from this member

I took my 10 year old granddaughter to Scotland for a week. We decided to make it a camping trip and found Cumberland campsite online.

What a great place, we did not need to book a pitch and that was no problem. They have showers and toilets that were always clean. There was also a washing area to do the dishes with hot running water. The whole campsite was tidy and seemed well run. It was very close to the village and we went there several times as well as driving up to the castle and other places of interest. She had a great time and wants to go back again. This is an excellent place for a family to stop over.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: PeterFritz 2 reviews from this member

Not bad, easy to reach restaurants near the locks. Just 3 toilets and 3 showers. All combined in one room. When showers were used, wet air produced a kind of fog. On the other side high prizes. Not too much shelter in a windy area.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Julietyran 11 reviews from this member

As we always take our dogs with us when travelling in our motorhome, I am always double checking that the campsites accept dogs before booking. One of our dogs is quite old and can't walk very far. I had seen the Cumberlands Campsite website and it stated that dogs were permitted. We had not pre-booked a pitch when we arrived in Fort Augustus and on finding the site which is only a 5 minute walk to Neptunes Staircase and the main street of restaurants and shops I almost turned and drove back out. The first 3 signs I was faced with was a 'No Dogs' sign and a 'No dog walking' sign. When I went to go into the Reception which was closed at the time, there was also a 'No dogs' sign which made me think that they did not accept dogs. Rather than drive back out and find another campsite, I decided to walk through to the campsite and found more signs, this time saying 'Please keep your dogs on a lead'. So assumed then that they accepted dogs. This is very confusing and I can only imagine that they will lose a lot of customers who first enter the site. I met the gentleman who owned the site and he told me to pick a pitch. They were lovely pitches with electricity at each pitch and a water tap every 2nd pitch. Toilets and Showers well spotlessly clean as was the whole campsite. They have a covered shelter for people with motorbikes who were camping which I thought was great and there is also a hostel on the site. As well as the dog confusion other issue was that you could not exercise your dog on the site but there was nowhere off site to actually do this. There seems to be 'No' signs everywhere and fines if you disobey these signs.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Weedaftie 3 reviews from this member

My husband often stays here when out for a wee motorbike road trip. Having a covered shelter for his bike is a real bonus and the camping areas are both nice and flat. This was the first time we brought our tourer and are very impressed. Very big well spaced pitches with water supplies every couple of pitches. The toilets and showers are spotlessly clean and there is constant hot water in the shower at no extra charge of need for tokens. The site was quiet in the tourers area with some campers coming and going. The staff were very friendly and helpful - recommending good walks nearby. The weather was glorious so walking along the canal side was brilliant! restaurant wasn’t open yet so unable to comment but we had a very nice meal at the Richmond House Hotel (doggie friendly!) and very nice chips at the chippy beside the locks.

Fort Augustus is a 5 min walk from the site and is a lovely village in a fantastic setting. Little gift shops with some of the expected touristy items but Iceberg Glass had some really nice things and it was great to see them working with glass making things in the shop.

The Caledonian canal runs through Fort Augustus into Loch Ness and very easy to stop and spend time watching the boats come through the ladder of 7 locks, especially when the sun is shining.

A bonus was how dog friendly this site and some of the restaurants and shops are in Fort Augustus. We will be back!

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tubby2 19 reviews from this member

This modern campsite near town. There are rules about dogs, which we actually real like, so dog owners responsible, you will enjoy, not responsible, not welcome. Nice flat tent area with covered area. Restaurant and bar open high season. Very close to town. Also has a lodge accommodation attached to site. Showers very warm and also really nice size

as most campsites' these are small.

Previous     48 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1262 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019