Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Loch Ness Highland Resort

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Site Reviews

Loch Ness Highland Resort
Glendoe Road
Fort Augustus
Highlands   (Browse area)
PH32 4BG
Tel: 01320 366257
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches:
Open: June To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 47 Reviews
                8/10 from 47 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  47 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Stokewalker 15 reviews from this member

This site was previously called Cumberlands and only became the current name in early July 2018.

It seems to have had quite an upgrade - the facilities seem very new and it's set out very spaciously. I was there when it was quite quiet and although the facilities are new, I agree with previous reviewers that you may have to queue in busy times.

The site's trump card is it's location right on the edge of Ft Augustus which is one of the prettiest villages in Scotland - yes it's very touristy but I like that buzz. And there's quite a bit to do there

30 a night was a bit eye watering - more than twice what I paid for other sites along the NC500 route - but you're paying for an excellent location.

You're also in midge country so remember your Deet spray.

I'd definitely go back to this one

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: AlnMo 4 reviews from this member

Stopped here for one night on our way down Loch Ness. Nice welcome on arrival, told to pick a pitch which we did, once set up we checked out the facilities - which were nice and clean but only three showers, three wash hand basins and four toilets (in the ladies), not sure if this would be adequate if the park was even half full also quite a walk if you were at the far end of the park.

Park is very handy for the village of Fort Augustus together with shops, eateries and the locks on the canal.

Larger motorhome drivers be aware that the service point could be awkward to get in and out of - may be easier to reverse out of - with assistance.

Only down side, no views of the Loch and that is what the tourists are looking for.

The charge of 35 per night (for 2 people) was maybe a bit steep, not sure the charges for families - some young families camp because they are on a budget.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

Please note we have been advised that this site is under new ownership, and is being redeveloped under the new name Loch Ness Highland Resort (previously known as Cumberlands Campsite). It is due to reopen towards the end of June 2018.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dot P 538 reviews from this member

First and foremost this site is right in Fort Augustus, just a couple of minutes walk to the beautiful flight of locks and Loch Ness itself.

Hard-standing pitches are set in a circle around the edge of the site - it is massive, when we stayed only a couple of vans and tents but it could hold an army and still have loads of room.

The hard-standing pitches around the edge have ehu - didn't see any of the grass field for tents. Water taps on every other hard-standing, drive over motorhome waste near the facilities. There are a few notices, common sense i. E. Don't put disposal bbq on the grass, clean up after dogs - it didn't feel at all regimented, to be fair the opposite everyone quite laid back and very amiable.

Loos and showers look quite new, 3 showers and 4 loos in ladies. Water piping hot with brilliant pressure. There are signs saying floor slippery when wet - it very much is a bit lethal. Whilst there are signs they don't stop you slipping - needs matting or a new covering.

There is wifi on site, included in price which worked well. The cafe / bar wasn't open and we were told by reception it hadn't been open at all this year.

We found this a fabulous place to stop to visit the locks and lochs. We did intend to stay another night and cycle on the Great Glen Way but were told by reception the campsite was closing the next morning as it had been very quiet over the last week or so.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lord MacLeod 1 review from this member

I took my 10 year old granddaughter to Scotland for a week. We decided to make it a camping trip and found Cumberland campsite online.

What a great place, we did not need to book a pitch and that was no problem. They have showers and toilets that were always clean. There was also a washing area to do the dishes with hot running water. The whole campsite was tidy and seemed well run. It was very close to the village and we went there several times as well as driving up to the castle and other places of interest. She had a great time and wants to go back again. This is an excellent place for a family to stop over.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: PeterFritz 2 reviews from this member

Not bad, easy to reach restaurants near the locks. Just 3 toilets and 3 showers. All combined in one room. When showers were used, wet air produced a kind of fog. On the other side high prizes. Not too much shelter in a windy area.

Previous     47 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Highlands   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win Duvulay Luxury Sleeping Bags worth 560!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1706 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 369 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 780

Open Today's Window to reveal Today's Prize





0.0898