Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Nantes Camping Le Petit Port

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Pays de la Loire > Nantes > Nantes Camping Le Petit Port Reviews

Nantes Camping Le Petit Port
21 Boulevard Du Petit Port
Nantes
Pays de la Loire   (Browse area)
44300
Tel: 0033 02 40 74 47 94
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 16 Reviews
                8/10 from 16 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: R083rt0 4 reviews from this member

I stayed here in June whilst motorcycle touring. This is a lovely wooded site, beautifully laid out, close to the city. The reception is helpful and the restaurant staff were charming. I would definitely stay here again if I was visiting Nantes.

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

Would agree with previous reviews, a well placed site that very clean and tidy with excellent staff.

Very easy to access from the ring-road - one road all the way in with a few roundabouts. We did miss the entrance as someone had parked a van in front of the sign but straight past to a roundabout and back to site no problems.

On the rubbish bin front you are given two sacks on arrival - one for recycling and one for not. These are collected at the end of the stay, most people hung them in bushes around the pitches.

We did find it quite noisy whilst we were there, the noise came from people walking along the river-path next to the site (other site of river and behind a fence) two nights running there was shout and screaming late into the night.

We purchased our tram ticket from reception €9 for 24 hours unlimited use for up to 4 people. There is plenty to see in the city, the Chateau Du Ducs is free to enter and beautiful. Tower Bretagne seemed to us to be a very tall office block - you can go to the top but only after 3pm.

We love the Ile de Machines - something a little different and well worth seeing. The Grand Elephant is incredible.

Overall, it's a perfect city site, well kept and secure. We would use again to visit the city.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Big Brian 56 31 reviews from this member

Well, only reinforcing previous reviews, was reasonably quiet when we were there, tourers mixed with cabins, very pleasant and helpful staff, tram over road to town, bar prices not out of order, bread picked up from bar in morning, only thing was no refuse bins actually on the site, it all had to be carried out to the beat waste at the entrance.

Showers clean, loo paper, never busy, though time visited may have helped.

Go again ?

Deffo

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Joolb 33 reviews from this member

Unfortunately our experience here was tainted by our pitch not having any water despite paying 2euros for the adapter at reception when we first arrived having read previous reviews. The tap and drain were there but problems with the water system that half the staff in reception didn't know about-it's taught us to check the wAter connection in future before we set up and level the van! Unsympathetic at reception-couldn't understand why we were so cross as there was water available 100 yds away. Other than that we had a great time.

Dinner cruise on the bateau nantaise excellent despite only understanding a tenth of the commentary !

Tram system works beautifully-no need to drive anywhere-we did a supermarket shop at the biggest leclerc ive ever see at grand val-tram terminus right outside.

I agree machines de lisle a bit overrated- more about future development of their new project. The elephant is certainly impressive but didn't get to ride on it unfortunately.

Very easily accessible from the peripherique but constant traffic noise could upset some. Excellent security with multiples codes used at the barrier. Restaurant/ bar hours very odd but it was the end of the main season.

San facs always clean-staff constantly around the site.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kensingtongreen 49 reviews from this member

Agree with all prior comments. Lovely site in a canyon - well shaded - poor satellite reception. Reception closed 12. 30 to 15. 00. Normal price 35 Euros pn - ACSI rate 18 - both with electricity. Free wifi. Trip into town is easy on the tram. Reception staff are very helpful. At this time of year restaurant only provided take away pizzas - but they were very tasty! Town is interesting with river trips available in season. The Japanese garden on the Isle de Versailles was worth a quick visit and the views from the Tour Brittanique (entry 1 Euro) were good. We thought the Isle de Machines was a bit over rated but teh elephant made the trip worthwhile.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Addle12 10 reviews from this member

As we were visiting Nantes we stayed here after leaving another site (La Pindiere) early as we were not happy with it. Petit port was much better. The site was in a great location, a tram stop was just outside the entrance for trips into the city. Even cycling into town was ok, taking about 15 mins and mostly on cycle paths. It took longer on the way back being a bit uphill (NB we are in our fifties and NOT very fit!). The site is off a fairly main road but there is very little noise and you do not feel as if you are in the city. A small river runs alongside.

The whole site was very well maintained, good security, the staff helpful. A busy but fairly pricey restaurant on site serves good food. Very nearby there are lots of supermarkets, shops and cafes including burger bars. Although there is no pool there is free access to the municipal indoor pool literally just over the road. Our grassy pitch was a bit muddy after recent rain so we put some cardboard down. We arrived on spec so if booking ahead maybe best to get a hardstanding pitch. Some pitches have mains water for which you can get an adapter at the office. Toilet blocks were great with 24 hour access, very large cubicled unisex showers, proper toilets with paper, soap for handwashing and even a free wall mounted hairdryer. Nantes has a lot to offer. We got a lot of help from the tourist office and enjoyed following the green line on the pavement which takes you to hundreds of interesting artworks. Cycling round the city was very easy. Do not miss a ride on the mechanical elephant at Les Machines de L'iles!

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Chrisandsandra 32 reviews from this member

Excellent site with great access to the city. The site is very park like and it is hard to believe that you are in a city.

Reception was very friendly and efficient with loads of local information.

Pitches were a good size with electric and water. The water needed a special connection which we were able to borrow from reception.

The washrooms/showers cubicles were huge with a shower and washbasin in the same cubicle with lashings of hot water. Washing up, laundry and chemical toilet emptying all in the same block. We had no problem with queues etc for the facilities.

The restaurant had very limited opening hours (restaurant was only open on a couple of nights a week) but take away pizzas were available every night. However it's very easy to get a tram into the city where there was a vast choice of places to eat or drink.

There is a tram stop across the road to get a tram into the city. We asked about getting tickets at reception but were told that as we only wanted to travel on the tram and not a 'freedom pass' for the boats and attractions a 24 hour ticket was available at the machine at the tram stop for 5 euros so we used this.

No on site pool but there is an indoor swimming pool complex across the road.

The city was fabulous and the Isle de Machines a 'must visit'.

There is a motorhome aire on site for those not wanting full facilities.

We heartily recommend this site for anyone wanting to visit the city and will definitely return again.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: MrWez 15 reviews from this member

Reading the previous positive reviews I'm glad to say standards haven't slipped.

The site is well signposted and easily found.

Reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

The pitches are spacious and clean with 16 Amp electric, as others have stated water is available on the pitches but there is a motorhome service point nearby for those that haven't got the right adaptors (although these are available from reception).

The amenities block was very clean although they could do with a few more cubicles.

The staff at the restaurant were extremely helpful too.

The tram into town is easily accessed from the site, the city is well worth a visit especially Les Machines de L'Ile (make sure you go on the elephant).

The aire is situated on the same site but was full, fortunately we'd booked onto the campsite because we'd planned to go to Les Machines de L'Ile, which was just as well as the site was full (but didn't seem busy).

This municipal site was easily as good as, if not better than many commercial sites.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sunnygunny 13 reviews from this member

Very positive experience staying at this site. Staff friendly and the gentleman who booked us in spoke excellent English so even though I'd polished up my 'O' level French it wasn't required in this instance.

We were holidaying with friends and when making our email bookings we had requested nearby pitches. The site was able to do this for us and kindly allocated adjacent pitches on arrival which were hard standing with a sandy surface.

Power (16amp) and water availability good. As per a previous review; you need an adapter for the water points on the pitch however you don't need an adapter if you fill up at the motor home service point and push button taps were scattered around the site for small containers.

Toilet and shower facilities very clean and well maintained. The shower cubicles were huge and included a washbasin.

Limited offering of food in the restaurant but well presented. The menu wasn't in English but was easily understood with only basic French knowledge.

You can order fresh bread in the restaurant for collection the following morning. There is a small convenience store nearby but it was closed for the holidays during our stay.

As per previous reviews, the tram into Nantes in just outside the entrance and is easy to use. I believe you can buy tickets at site reception but they had run out so we used the machine at the tram stop.

Sightseeing in Nantes - as well as 'Machines of the Isle des Nantes', we visited the beautiful cathedral (Cathédrale Saint-Pierre-et-Saint-Paul) and Chateau Des Ducs De Bretagne. All very worthwhile attractions. The old part of town is also good just to wander around and enjoy the atmosphere. Tourist information available at site reception.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kittiwake 13 reviews from this member

We used this site for an overnight stay as our friends were there.

Reception was friendly and efficient.

Large, private, shaded hard standings.

Difficult to believe you are in a city - the site is very green and quiet. Smart, clean sanitary blocks. On site restaurant was pleasant enough, nice pizzas if a little overpriced. We sat on the terrasse and so could watch the kids play mini golf (free) and on the park.

We used the free swimming pool across the road. Indoor but wave pool, couple of slides and very clean.

We would definitely return for 2 or 3 nights and 'do Nantes' although be warned our friends cycled into the city centre and had one of their bikes stolen whilst they were sightseeing.

Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Pays de la Loire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6299 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019