Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Barlow Tent And Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Dronfield > Barlow Tent And Caravan Site Reviews

Barlow Tent And Caravan Site
Mill Farm
Crowhole
Barlow
Dronfield
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
S18 7TJ
Tel: 0114 289 9167
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 24 Reviews
                7/10 from 24 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  24 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: February 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Iain and kay 5 reviews from this member

The pitches here are hard standing and huge, and fully enclosed with 7-8 foot hedges so feel very secluded. But it does mean there’s no view from your pitch. Nice friendly people with a decent shop on site.

But.

In 30 odd years of camping/caravanning this is the scruffiest site I’ve ever visited. There’s derelict caravans and trailers, old fridges and farming junk along the road through the site. The new toilet/shower block mentioned on the website is an unfinished project with no roof. Our pitch area had old abandoned furniture on one side and had dozens of old cigarette butts, bits of broken kids toys and broken glass littering it. The hard standing had a load of old 2” nails, hopefully none got into my tyres.

Such a shame.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Antelle 4 reviews from this member

Arrived here for a weekend as it was the nearby lakes that sold it to us and the generous size of the pitches on the photos.

Luckily, we researched on forehand how to access the site as there are no signs indicating the entrance to the site. Once you're past the small farmshop it's quite a disappointing view: rusty cars, rusty metal strewn around, rubbish and run-down buildings. Our pitch was generous in size, with hardstanding, but very uneven. Unfortunately, at the back of the pitch there was rubbish left (half a chair, glass and signs of things having been burned). Across the pitch there were small bits of rubbish everywhere, such as bits of plastic and q-tips. The good thing was that the conifers surrounding the pitch provided lots of privacy and as we were at the end of the run, we had no walkers-by.

The toilet facilities they're building are already in use, but either run out of toilet paper or the door wouldn't close and none too clean. The toilet/shower block near the farm shop had loose flooring and is operated using £1 coins. The issue however is that the coin machine is outside of the shower, which means you have to lean out of the shower cubicle, half naked, to put your coin in, push a button and then you have 6 minutes of hot water.

All in all, this could be a great site, with quite some money thrown at it. Until then, it's a bit of a rubbish tip here and there, very neglected. Such a shame.

Walking around the lakes is indeed lovely, and you can continue on from there for miles, something our dog loved of course.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Julian Dearson 58 reviews from this member

We have been to Mill Farm and reviewed it previously; this time round we had a bigger RV that was still easily accommodated.

The pitches are a really good size and offer some protection against the elements; they also provide a nice level of privacy.

Facilities are quite basic and in the winter will be cold; that said, they are very functional and that's the most important thing! If you like your site pristine with heated toilet and shower blocks then this probably isn't for you, but if you like a bit of back to basics then you'll love this site.

Clive, the owner, is very friendly and helpful and will always try and help. The work he has done is noticeable and the shop is a great addition since we were last here.

We will definitely go back.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Claiire1212 1 review from this member

It took us a couple of attempts to find the campsite as we missed the fishery sign.

The field we camped is was good, the ground was very hard so we wished we had brought a duvet for underneath us!

Unfortunately when we arrived there was dog poo where we decided to camp, so we had to clear that away. The field was good, with no laid out pitching, you just pick your spot and can park next to your tent which was great.

Unfortunately on the first night there were some people partying until about 11pm, playing music and drinking.

The lakes are fantastic and lovely to walk around and are very close to the campsite. The shop is AMAZING! And sells tasty sausage rolls and breakfast cobs, delicious cakes etc. The toilet was nice and clean. The showers were good, but sadly had no temperature adjustment and mine for 2 days was very very hot which made showering a challenge.

During the day one dog came and pooped on the grass again, no owner was around to clear this up. There are several dogs just running around, which is lovely besides the mess.

The owners were lovely and friendly and very accommodating, they were approachable if there was extra help needed.

The campsite overall was very good and relaxing despite the few mishaps.

The shop in particular was pleasantly surprising, they had a variety of stuff and offered instant BBQs, fresh meat, watermelon etc all at a reasonable price.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pau1wi11iams 2 reviews from this member

If you are the type of person who likes everything neat and tidy with plenty of rules this site is not for you! However, if you like open space, rolling countryside, country walks, fishing, community spirit, friendly staff and a bit of the 'old fashioned' sort of caravanning, this is your site!

Yes, the facilities are minimal but clean and adequate. No, there isn't a dedicated play area for the kids but hey, the kids we saw were playing football in an open field and by the sounds of them they were thoroughly enjoying themselves. OK, so there's no WI-FI, back to family chatting, fun board games and I-Spy.

We loved it here. Chesterfield on the doorstep, Sheffield just up the road and Matlock, Buxton, and Bakewell a short drive away. The dales are breathtaking and the local people are as friendly a bunch as you'll find anywhere. There's a bus stop right outside the site with buses to Chesterfield and Sheffield. We found a 'proper' pub which served real ale and no food just 15 minutes walk away, (the Hare and Hounds), and the cafe by the fishing pools does a cracking breakfast and dinnertime specials 7 days a week.

Seven or eight hard standing, hedge-lined pitches are the pick of the site but, a couple of large grassy fields with plenty of EHU's are also available. There's also a large tent-only field. It's a 'don't judge a book by it's cover' sort of site.

We'll definitely be back.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dogvan 1 review from this member

It depends what you want for a site. There is plenty of space for everyone, a large number of EHU giving choice of pitch, a gently slopping field, dogs welcome and warm (£1) showers. A total of 5 fields were open to campers the weekend we were there which made for a busy one toilet.

It is a relaxed site but so much so that large groups are welcome, any noise is not prohibited. There were a number of different radios going all day and one - complete with disco lights went on beyond 1 am. Grey water disposal had very obviously been used for toilet waste disposal and not sure if the toilets had been cleaned over the weekend.

However the setting is nice and £15 a night with no extras for this that and the other was refreshing.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Blinxter 11 reviews from this member

Great value down to earth little gem of a site.

The fields are spacious and plentiful. The site is part of a working farm which reflects in some of the surroundings but this having been said, they are developing it well and have sown the seeds of what will blossom into a stunning site in years to come. I would best describe it as a small band that you watch in your local pub who then become superstars and you can say 'I was there at the beginning'

Landscaping has been carried out and once the tree's are established the fields will be enclosed nicely.

Lots of wildlife around the fishing lakes and some good geocaching stashes too. I could hear but never actually found a woodpecker over the three days.

The hook ups are run on massive extension cables which allow flexibility when pitching which I liked a lot, and they even offered me an adaptor which would have been great if I didn't have my own.

A few nice little pubs within easy walking reach, unfortunately the one just outside the site was closed for refurb but is open again in the summer with some funky looking improvements.

Would I go back, heck yes, when I'm not going further afield this is the site for me for a weekend escape.

Note: satnav may take you into the site via the back entrance. Just keep driving past the caravans until you reach the cluster of buildings.

Date of Visit: February 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Julian Dearson 58 reviews from this member

We have visited this site several times since buying our RV last summer.

It is a little 'wild' but we really like that element of it. The pitches we have had are secluded, separated by hedges and of a good size.

The facilities are basic and definitely a torch in the loo is a must!

My daughter loves the owners dogs and we have regularly taken them for walks around the fishing lakes.

We will definitely visit again.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hemlin 3 reviews from this member

I read the reviews and knew what to expect. I met a fellow caravanner who has a van here and loves it because he cant sleep at home when he is on nights with kids shouting and mowers going so he comes here as it is so peaceful. the toilet block is a portacabin that is falling down and take a torch its not the dark field but the light sensor in the toilet goes off after maybe 5 minutes so if your not done your in the semi darkness, I did hear that this toilet is going to be rebuilt soon its just a planning permission hiccup. with hindsight I wish I had set my sat nav for the tickling trout over the road and turn left when you are a few feet from it because coming in from the sheffield direction is a nightmare on the road in for instance you have to swing out more when pulling a caravan when the road is winding to the left then you meet a big 4x4 coming up the lane and there is a junction just outside the gate with a nasty blind spot, avoid this if your coming in. no frills site but its ok and its near Chesterfield, Sheffield, and expensive but worth it Chatsworth House

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Red-ish 1 review from this member

Visited this site a couple of times with friends, a great little getaway where you can just relax and enjoy yourself and not have to worry about anything, the owner is a lovely person and I will be back again very soon.

The only thing I would say is possibly to have more toilets as with only having 1 for ladies and 1 for the gents it sometimes can get rather busy when the site is full and it does get very full at times.

Previous     24 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2654 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019