Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Barlow Country Club Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Peak District & Derbyshire > Dronfield > Barlow Country Club Caravan Site > Reviews

Barlow Country Club Caravan Site
Mill Farm
Dronfield
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
S18 7TJ
Tel: 0114 289 1946
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 10
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 28 Reviews
                7/10 from 28 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  28 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jackfield 8 reviews from this member

 Lovely quiet site with a large grass area and hedges around the pitch which made it nice and private.

The pitches were really large with plenty of space, and being adult only it was lovely and quiet.

The Tickled Trout is a 10 minute walk up the road which is an excellent pub/restaurant with a renowned chef. Lovely food and drink served there.

Also you can walk to the Peacock which is a bit further about 1 mile the other way.

We picked our own pitch and there were a few to pick from.

The only disadvantage which we were made aware of, was no toilet facilities. We have our own facilities so didn't matter. 


Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Clarej 1 review from this member

 Booked on the day, the lady on the phone was really accommodating.

Lovely little site. Huge, very private pitches.

No toilets or showers at the moment until they rebuild them but that didn't matter for a night or two, but it should have been reflected in the price.

Couple of nice pubs and cafes in the village, if a little pricey. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Vangelina 42 reviews from this member

 Likes

Very large private pitches.

Dislikes

Check in was by a long text message - very impersonal. We never saw anyone during our stay.

We knew that the facilities would not be open but wonder why when all the covid restrictions have been lifted. The shower/toilet block appeared to be an old truck with wooden log cladding.

Itís a totally soulless and unloved site. There is zero security and we felt extremely vulnerable.

We canít for the life of us think why there is a charge of £30 per night. The cost is extortionate for such a basic site.

Probably one of the worst sites weíve ever stayed on. Whoever runs this business is clearly only interested in making a profit for very little effort.

Obviously we will not be returning. 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site is now under new management for 2020 and once again offers motorhome and caravanning pitches - no tents now though. 


Date of Visit: February 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Iain and kay 5 reviews from this member

 The pitches here are hard standing and huge, and fully enclosed with 7-8 foot hedges so feel very secluded. But it does mean thereís no view from your pitch. Nice friendly people with a decent shop on site.

But. In 30 odd years of camping/caravanning this is the scruffiest site Iíve ever visited. Thereís derelict caravans and trailers, old fridges and farming junk along the road through the site. The new toilet/shower block mentioned on the website is an unfinished project with no roof. Our pitch area had old abandoned furniture on one side and had dozens of old cigarette butts, bits of broken kids toys and broken glass littering it.

Such a shame. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Antelle 4 reviews from this member

 Arrived here for a weekend as it was the nearby lakes that sold it to us and the generous size of the pitches on the photos.

Luckily, we researched on forehand how to access the site as there are no signs indicating the entrance to the site. Once you're past the small farmshop it's quite a disappointing view: rusty cars, rusty metal strewn around, rubbish and run-down buildings. Our pitch was generous in size, with hardstanding, but very uneven. Unfortunately, at the back of the pitch there was rubbish left (half a chair, glass and signs of things having been burned). Across the pitch there were small bits of rubbish everywhere, such as bits of plastic and q-tips. The good thing was that the conifers surrounding the pitch provided lots of privacy and as we were at the end of the run, we had no walkers-by.

The toilet facilities they're building are already in use, but either run out of toilet paper or the door wouldn't close and none too clean. The toilet/shower block near the farm shop had loose flooring and is operated using £1 coins. The issue however is that the coin machine is outside of the shower, which means you have to lean out of the shower cubicle, half naked, to put your coin in, push a button and then you have 6 minutes of hot water.

All in all, this could be a great site, with quite some money thrown at it. Until then, it's a bit of a rubbish tip here and there, very neglected. Such a shame.

Walking around the lakes is indeed lovely, and you can continue on from there for miles, something our dog loved of course. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Julian Dearson 58 reviews from this member

 We have been to Mill Farm and reviewed it previously; this time round we had a bigger RV that was still easily accommodated.

The pitches are a really good size and offer some protection against the elements; they also provide a nice level of privacy.

Facilities are quite basic and in the winter will be cold; that said, they are very functional and that's the most important thing! If you like your site pristine with heated toilet and shower blocks then this probably isn't for you, but if you like a bit of back to basics then you'll love this site.

Clive, the owner, is very friendly and helpful and will always try and help. The work he has done is noticeable and the shop is a great addition since we were last here.

We will definitely go back. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Claiire1212 1 review from this member

 It took us a couple of attempts to find the campsite as we missed the fishery sign.

The field we camped is was good, the ground was very hard so we wished we had brought a duvet for underneath us!

Unfortunately when we arrived there was dog poo where we decided to camp, so we had to clear that away. The field was good, with no laid out pitching, you just pick your spot and can park next to your tent which was great.

Unfortunately on the first night there were some people partying until about 11pm, playing music and drinking.

The lakes are fantastic and lovely to walk around and are very close to the campsite. The shop is AMAZING! And sells tasty sausage rolls and breakfast cobs, delicious cakes etc. The toilet was nice and clean. The showers were good, but sadly had no temperature adjustment and mine for 2 days was very very hot which made showering a challenge.

During the day one dog came and pooped on the grass again, no owner was around to clear this up. There are several dogs just running around, which is lovely besides the mess.

The owners were lovely and friendly and very accommodating, they were approachable if there was extra help needed.

The campsite overall was very good and relaxing despite the few mishaps.

The shop in particular was pleasantly surprising, they had a variety of stuff and offered instant BBQs, fresh meat, watermelon etc all at a reasonable price. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pau1wi11iams 2 reviews from this member

 If you are the type of person who likes everything neat and tidy with plenty of rules this site is not for you! However, if you like open space, rolling countryside, country walks, fishing, community spirit, friendly staff and a bit of the 'old fashioned' sort of caravanning, this is your site!

Yes, the facilities are minimal but clean and adequate. No, there isn't a dedicated play area for the kids but hey, the kids we saw were playing football in an open field and by the sounds of them they were thoroughly enjoying themselves. OK, so there's no WI-FI, back to family chatting, fun board games and I-Spy.

We loved it here. Chesterfield on the doorstep, Sheffield just up the road and Matlock, Buxton, and Bakewell a short drive away. The dales are breathtaking and the local people are as friendly a bunch as you'll find anywhere. There's a bus stop right outside the site with buses to Chesterfield and Sheffield. We found a 'proper' pub which served real ale and no food just 15 minutes walk away, (the Hare and Hounds), and the cafe by the fishing pools does a cracking breakfast and dinnertime specials 7 days a week.

Seven or eight hard standing, hedge-lined pitches are the pick of the site but, a couple of large grassy fields with plenty of EHU's are also available. There's also a large tent-only field. It's a 'don't judge a book by it's cover' sort of site.

We'll definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dogvan 1 review from this member

 It depends what you want for a site. There is plenty of space for everyone, a large number of EHU giving choice of pitch, a gently slopping field, dogs welcome and warm (£1) showers. A total of 5 fields were open to campers the weekend we were there which made for a busy one toilet.

It is a relaxed site but so much so that large groups are welcome, any noise is not prohibited. There were a number of different radios going all day and one - complete with disco lights went on beyond 1 am. Grey water disposal had very obviously been used for toilet waste disposal and not sure if the toilets had been cleaned over the weekend.

However the setting is nice and £15 a night with no extras for this that and the other was refreshing. 


Previous     28 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Barlow Country Club Caravan Site child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Barlow Country Club Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Barlow Country Club Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Dronfield      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2419 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement