Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Church Farm Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth > Church Farm Camping Park Reviews

CLOSED: Church Farm Camping Park
Church Road
Burgh Castle
Great Yarmouth
Norfolk   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: Site Closed 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 7 Reviews
                8/10 from 7 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Edickturpin 2 reviews from this member

 Just had six days at this site, it did what it said on the tin. Plenty of space, nice and quiet and cheap £13 a night for 4 in 7mt tent. Toilet /showers were basic but very clean.

If you want four star high price dont come here, if you want good honest value for money peace quite and very friendly ower then this is the place.

Kids had great time plenty of room for games.

Site is far enough from yarmouth, but close enough for the odd day out, lovely views over breydon water and plenty of wildlife. Walks in every direction.

All in all a great week. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Joycedarn 3 reviews from this member

 Had a great five night stay, the view from our pitch was stunning. We were made to feel welcome from the very start. The facilities were basic but very clean, all your basic needs are catered for, Great value for money. Walked for miles in the beautiful countryside. Frequent buses run from quite close by to get to Yarmouth. The pub next door serves excellent food and a short walk takes you to the riverside 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nickb500 11 reviews from this member

 If you are looking for a small, quiet, clean, well-run site virtually at the heart of the Norfolk Broads then this site is for you.

For us finding the site was the hard bit. But we did arrive in torrential rain! It is off a track leading to the Church Farm pub at the end of a narrow cul-de-sac in the village of Burgh Castle. We almost made the mistake of heading down a track which would have taken us to the water's edge and involved a tricky up-hill reverse to get out again (that sort of thing has happened to us before with disastrous results for the clutch!). The actual entrance is on the right hand side just before you reach the lower pub car park.

A quick phone call to the site owner got us access to the field and instructions for pitching were waiting for us a the small reception area. There was only 1 caravan on site so we had a choice of pitches and opted for the best view of Breydon Water through the large gap in the trees.

Despite that heavy rain the field dried out quickly being very sandy in nature. Picnic tables were located around the site - ideal for sitting out watching the boats and of course the sunsets for which the site is ideally positioned. During our week's stay there was a maximum of 4 pitches taken so the demand for the loos and washing/ shower facilities (although compact) was never a problem. The only time I was followed into the toilet was by the tame peacocks!

We didn't sample the food, but the pub next door was handy and also had great views from the dining room or patio, and access to the riverside path allowed walks in both directions, turning left to the Marina with its riverside pub (good grub) and a chance to look at the impressive ruins of Burgh Castle Roman fort. There are also fish and chip shops, Tesco express and a choice of more pubs/restaurants within a couple of miles of this lovely site. It is a shame that opening times are currently limited to July & August but perhaps with a little more custom this could change? 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: GillH 15 reviews from this member

 Large field fairly level with glorious sunset views and good security as another reviewer has mentioned. Two female loos and one male loo and two shared showers. Not a great deal of room in the showers for changing and the shower curtain was one of those that tend to stick to you. Also 50p for 15 minutes is expensive when you only need 3 minutes! Never found the washing up area.

The ground was quite damp and when the wind got up some normal pegs were ripped from the ground. Fortunately I had some deltas so the tent stayed secure during two of the worst weather days this Summer with rain and very strong winds. In fact it was always windy - probably because of the situation - the down side to those sunset views.

Rainbow Co-op a drive away for supplies. Nice walks to Burgh Castle and along broads.

Had to pay £12 for one person so because of this and constant wind have no intention of returning. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Mr2allotments 5 reviews from this member

 We have just come back from a short 'tour of Norfolk' and spent one night at this quiet, attractive certified site.

The site itself is in a spectacular location overlooking Breydon water and giving you tremendous views across many miles of the Broads. I enjoy birdwatching so the site was ideal for me - we could sit in our campervan and watch marsh harriers and little egrets fly by and there is a fantastic waterside / reedbed footpath just a short distance away. We took an evening walk and saw many water / coastal birds. In fact you can walk for many miles either around Breydon Water or into Great Yarmouth itself (should the fancy take you!).

Burgh castle is well worth a visit and is only a few minutes walk from the campsite.

Despite it being a Monday night in mid-August there was only one other unit on the site so we had plenty of space and spent a lovely quiet night. There was a small flock of Peacocks on the site which entertained us while we sat out with a glass of wine, birdwatching and watching the world go by.

The facilities, in two timber 'sheds' are pretty good - the toilet block was a good size, was very clean and looked quite new. However my girlfriend wasn't too happy about the toilet block being unisex and would have preferred separate ladies / gents facilities. The utility room had hot water, a fridge, a microwave and was a really useful facility.

We ate in the pub next door - the selection of beers was excellent but we found the food rather average, especially for its price. Apparently there are another 2 pubs very close by (walking distance) but we didn't try these.

We almost had the place to ourselves and had electric hook-up, showers were 50p for 15 mins but at £17 we thought it was a tad expensive for a CS.

We are likely to return to this site if we are in the area again - mainly for the fantastic views and birdwatching. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Peskypie 1 review from this member

 The positives:

- Booking a pitch on this site was easy with easy with quick responses to emails, which is always a bonus. We were welcomed onto the site by the owner.

- We had an 8 berth Vango and there was no problem for us taking a large tent.

- The site has a digi-locked gate so we felt secure enough to let our 5 year old go to the toilet block by herself.

- We could pitch where we wanted and there was plenty of room for our daughter to run about.

- The communal toilet and shower block was functional and immaculately kept. The showers had adjustable heat and heads. It also had a disabled toilet.

- The washing up area is small but has a sink, microwave and small fridge for camper's use.

- The views are spectacular.

- The site leads directly to some lovely riverside walks and it's easy to access seaside resorts and the broads.

- The local pub is a stone's throw away. The food and service is superb, as are the estuary & sunset views from the beer garden.

- There are plenty of Shops / Petrol stations, and several large caravan parks with shops, on the return run to the campsite so even on Sunday evening it wasn't too tricky to get that evening bottle of wine or essential forgotten items, although it did involve a car journey!

- The peacocks were friendly!

Little niggles:

- There was only one sink in the toilet block so if you were having a wash and someone came out of the loo, you'd have to step aside so they could wash their hands (trivial perhaps but annoying).

- The toilet block has unisex showers and a toilet each for men and women which some people may not be comfortable with.

- We took our 6 month old baby and the sinks weren't big enough to wash her in and the shower was too strong for her, thus washing her was tricky.

- Whilst the beautifully hot sunshine was a bonus there was very little shade for our baby so you'd need to take some sort of shelter (loads of room for awnings/pergolas too).

- Be warned that the ground was potentially marshy & really easy to pitch in. But therefore we worried that if there was a real summer storm with strong winds then the tent would be vulnerable.

- At £18 per night plus a 50p shower x4 it makes it quite pricey.

On the whole we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and I would strongly recommend the site. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Johnjory 123 reviews from this member

 A Camping & Caravanning Club CS; new for 2010.

Set in a quiet location at the end of a long cul-de-sac next to the ruins of Burgh Castle Roman fort.

Pitching area is a very spacious, virtually level, partially sheltered field with uninterrupted views across Breydon Water. There is a steep bank going down perhaps 20 feet on two sides if the pitching area, it is unfenced but clearly marked, so I suggest that families with children will have to exercise the obvious precautions. Part of the field has been roped off and looks like it is used for exercising horses. Weather permitting, you will enjoy wonderful sunsets; not many places in Norfolk can offer you that!

Conveniently positioned next to the pitching area is a toilet / shower block. Interior is brand new and in CS / CL terms, this facility is excellent. It is laid out as a unisex arrangement with one sink, one ladies wc, one gent’s wc, one disabled wc and two showers. Showers cost 50p for 15 minutes, the cash mechanism is located in the communal / unisex area, directly next to the showers.

Within a stone’s throw is Church Farm pub / restaurant. At the time of our visit it was undergoing complete refurbishment and is due to re-open late May / early June 2010. Within ½ mile is the Queens Head which is an old established eats & drinks pub. However, if you enjoy real, real ale, The Mariners in Howard Street, Great Yarmouth has just been voted CAMRA Norwich & Norfolk Pub of the Year for 2010. Also, there is the Mariners Compass in Middleton Road, Gorleston which serves excellent real ales / ciders and also does a great all day breakfast on Fridays and Saturdays.

Nearest shops are Rainbow / Co-op Supermarket and chippy. This is 2½ miles away, and you will pass it on your way to and from Gorleston / Great Yarmouth.

Parking in Great Yarmouth, especially the summer, is very tedious unless you have a disabled ‘Blue Badge’. But if the kids want to paddle, Gorleston beach is excellent and has all the traditional facilities you would expect without being tacky.

To sum up, Church Farm is a comfortable, quiet site with a nice view and well located for both Great Yarmouth and Gorleston. It cost us £15 / night for 2 adults, van and EHU, it is at the top end of the CS / CL price range, prices may vary depending on season, type of pitch and outfit. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6019 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement