Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Cherry Tree Cottage Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > York > Cherry Tree Cottage Caravan Site Reviews

Cherry Tree Cottage Caravan Site
Millfield Lane
Nether Poppleton
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO26 6NX
Tel: 01904 784306  or  07717754648
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 15
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 41 Reviews
                10/10 from 41 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (15)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  41 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is opening in line with government guidance and we are taking bookings for arrivals from 04/07/2020 onwards , please be assured you can book with confidence. Some communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: March 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Brianm47293lxj 1 review from this member

 Cut stay short due to covid but friendly owner offered full refund of nights not used.

We decided as we will definitely be back to leave payment as credits.

This site is the quality we search for in licensed club sites.

Site and pitches well cared for and plenty of room between.

We always use on board facilities and therefore another plus.

Local transport excellent, bus stop few yards from entrance to York and beyond, we didn't get to try local pubs but many to choose from in York with half hourly bus service.

Access to site easy just off York ring road. 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: David Klyne 227 reviews from this member

 To Find Site:- From A1(M) onto A64 towards York take A1237 Western Bypass. Continue past A59 roundabout and turn right at next roundabout, third exit. Almost immediately watch out for a right turn onto Millfield Road (under bridge) towards Nether Poppleton.

The site is only a short distance along this road immediately past the red brick house but difficult to see so approach slowly as sign is set back out of view. For guidance there is a 40mph sign just beyond the entrance. Turn into entrance and collect information pack from the small shelter on the left and then open gate and proceed to pitch.

Cherry Tree Cottage is a small campsite on the north western edge of York which is open all year and accepts caravans and motorhomes but not tents. There are fifteen pitches all but one on gravel hardstandings.

The pitches are generously spaced but the hardstandings are only wide enough for the main unit and awnings have to be erected on the grass area of the pitch. There is an extra area of hardstanding at the front of the pitches for car parking.

There are no toilets or showers on this site. There are a couple of water points and a chemical disposal point near the entrance to the site. There are no waste water points but the advice is to deposit grey water into the hedges that surround the site.

Electric points are convenient to pitches and use CEE17 blue connectors and are rated at 16 amps. There is a small summer house which acts as the information room and also contains a DVD library and a book swap. There are no facilities for children on site, being a small site there is also no room for bike riding or ball games.

WiFi is provided free and is of a reasonable quality. The 4G signal is also good. The site fees are reasonable and are further discounted the longer you stay. When booking there was no deposit required although the site do ask that you inform them immediately if you have to cancel.

Payment is by cash or cheque but a bank transfer is also possible. During our stay we had no contact with the site owners so there is a degree of trust required in terms of payment.

If you prefer a smaller, quieter campsite in order to visit York this might well suit you. There is a regular half hourly bus service from near the entrance into the centre of York Monday to Saturday with a reduced frequency service on a Sunday.

Just a tip, a day ticket is cheaper than two singles. For the railway enthusiast the bus stops outside the Railway Museum. There are also a couple of Park and Ride facilities nearby.

For shopping all the major supermarkets will be represented in and around York. There is a pub in the village which offers a small discount to campers, see site for details.

There are cycle routes running directly along the road outside the site entrance. 


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jimbobaroonee 2 reviews from this member

 Really nice site, close to the main road but we really didn't notice any traffic noise.

Handy for bus or park and ride into York. Pubs within walking distance.

Note, no showers or toilets. Will definitely stay here again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Camel campers 26 reviews from this member

 Stayed here in the October half term, great little site no facilities other than water, chemical disposal, and electric hook up, but on a main bus route into York City centre.

No hassle booking in and pitches well maintained. Owner very pleasant and came over to chat about our quad which we use for transport while on site.

The great thing about this site is the ease in which you can get public transport to visit all over as the bus goes into York via the train station.

Perhaps a little pricey but given its position is worth it. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Gibb n moe 1 review from this member

 Superb little site.

Really handy for cycling or walking into York along cycle path and also three pubs within about 10 minutes walk.

Owners couldn’t be more friendly and helpful.

We will definitely be returning. 


Date of Visit: January 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fidibury 38 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a 2 night break with 3 other families at this site. What a lovely little site. It's a very well laid out site, very well kept with a lovely information shed.

Our pitch details were left on the entrance gate with our welcome pack in the information shed. Owners are a lovely couple who just told us to drop payment in whenever we had time.

It is very close to the York Ring Road, within walking distance to the next village. There is a regular bus service to the city centre that stops just along from the site.

There are a couple of pubs and eating places in the village but there is also a lovely Fish and Chip shop / restaurant a 5 minute car journey away.

We were able to walk the dogs along the pavement outside of the site - grass verge, path and cycle path - around the village and down to the river.

There are no showers or toilets on site but there are 2 water taps, chemical waste and recycling.

This is a site which we can highly recommend for visiting York and will certainly be returning. 


Date of Visit: November 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lady of the lakes 31 reviews from this member

 We were very pleasantly surprised to find a welcome sheet in a plastic wallet on the entry gate directing us to our pitch, and a further welcome pack in the information hut.

The site is beautifully tended and the hardstanding pitches were trim and tidy - just what we needed, given the weather. Outside the site there is a good long footpath/ cyclepath which runs along the road.

There is a decent size grassed verge all the way along which the dog really appreciated - plenty of dog bins along the way too - and a bus stop nearby for those who don't wish to drive their vans into the narrow streets of York.

We can recommend both the food and the service at Luigi's about a mile away but better book up as it was very busy. 


Date of Visit: November 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Autotruckman 6 reviews from this member

 Stayed four night at this super site, excellent transport links with two Park and Ride and Railway Station very close for transport to York and Harrogate.

The pitches are a good size and 16 amp Hook Up is enough for for anyone,

Enjoyed our stay and will return. 


Date of Visit: November 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lynndilooloo 7 reviews from this member

 Just got back from Cherry Tree Cottage. What lovely site. Our booking details were posted on the site gate when we arrived. So easy.

You can choose your pitch which we like. Not long after pitching up the owner came over to make sure everything was okay and he was very knowledgeable about the area.

He told us about the cycle route in to York which was lovely and very safe and only took us 20 minutes. No hassle with parking etc.

However, if you don't cycle then there is a park and ride which is only a few minutes away which we used when it was raining. Again so easy and convenient.

There is a Tesco Extra a few minutes away along with lots of other retail outlets. We will be back for sure. One of the best sites we've stayed at.

Please note as stated on the website there are no facilities but that's why the rates are so good. Wish there were more sites like this. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: GillianM 4 reviews from this member

 Excellent site!

Well laid out - all pitches had a good sized area of hardstanding and then a grassed area. Plenty of space between pitches

Easy to find and easy access to the site

Information hut really handy. Owners also very helpful on advice on where to visit/what to do

Close to two park and rides if you have a car. If, like us, you are in a motorhome then there is a cycle/walking path straight from outside the gate into York

Also a train station in the village from which you can get to Harrogate

Village nice - had 3 pubs, 2 shops and a Indian restaurant (in one of the pubs) which would even deliver to the site! Other restaurants nearby on the main road

Water and toilet emptying easy to access. Bins and recycling bins provided on site

Paid £14. 50 per night (including electric). The longer you stay the cheaper it is per night

Best site we have visited this year! Already booked a stay next year! 


Previous     41 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Cherry Tree Cottage Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cherry Tree Cottage Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Cherry Tree Cottage Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 28/06
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2246 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020