Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - West Moss Side Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Annan > West Moss Side Certificated Site Reviews

West Moss Side Certificated Site
Cummertrees
Annan
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG125PU
Tel: 01461 700485


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 5
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 9 Reviews
                9/10 from 9 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach On Site   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bicko207 4 reviews from this member

Excellent site. Gary is an excellent host. Free range eggs were excellent. Me and my better half stayed for 3 days before tackling ben nevis. We had 4 days at another site glen nevis then returned for another night to break up a 400 mile journey. The site is peaceful and relaxing. Good walks for our two spaniels and close to shops pubs, etc. We will definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Johnt780 9 reviews from this member

Excellent well kept site with very friendly owner. Everything that has been said is right. Very peaceful. The road from Cummertrees is a single track road but is very quiet. I will certainly be returning again.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bestyman 46 reviews from this member

Location was right next to the beach. We choose not to use EHU so could park almost next to the gate to the beach.

Flat cycling on quiet roads nearby, we went to the pub and the TSB museum.

Yes there is a pub, its more of a hotel but will happily serve you drinks, we sat outside with the dog watching the sea. Out of the site to the beach, I guess about a mile walk with the sea on your right but ask friendly owner for exact directions or you can walk longer than necessary.

Owner is a nice friendly man who will help any way he can. His dogs do visit but we saw that as a plus point.

Toilets and showers work, they won't win any awards but will do.

We would happily return.

Price was a very reasonable £12 per night.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sjf167 6 reviews from this member

What a fantastic little site, operating from a working farm and livery stables. The Owner, Gary, is an absolute mine of information about the local area. Always a cheerful greeting and happy to stop for a chat without being intrusive.

Access:

From cummertrees the road gets a bit narrow and you have to make sure you don't turn into the wrong site (CMC site called moss side) but I managed to get the 8mtr twin axle turned round ok :) ), the entrance to West moss side is plenty wide enough when you get there and the camp site field is very well kept.

Site:

There are good hard standings, level with water points shared between every two pitches or, as we did, there is a pitch on the grass. Despite a week of fantastic weather we did find that when it rained the site was very quick to dry out with pretty good drainage but bare in mind that this is the west coast of Scotland and we went in Sept/Oct - take yer wellies!

From the site there is a 200mtr walk across a well mown field to a gate that leads to the beach and miles of walks (when the tide is out).

The views are stunning and the sunsets are amazing.

This is a CL site so don't expect 5* luxury. It's clean and kept that way. The showers/toilets are in a steel shipping container that looks as though it was designed for the job not just converted.

Males have 2 showers, 2 loos, 2 urinals and 2 sinks to choose from whilst the girls have an all-in-one. Basic but clean and plenty of hot water.

Locally:

Solway Solstice in Cummertrees is a fantastic cottage industry Gin distillery and Andrew (Owner) is a fantastic host and really helpful.

Annan has the full range of shops including a largeish Tesco's.

I can recommend the Solway Cafe Chip shop - the Haggis suppers were so good we went back the next night for 2 more.

There is also a lovely walk alongside the river.

There is a nice little drive to Carsthorne where you can walk along the beach and lunch at the Steam Boat Inn.

Overall:

We had 8 nights here and came away totally relaxed - which is the whole point of our holidays. It's quiet, it's beautiful, it's friendly, it's clean, did I mention it's quiet (apart from birdsong, the odd cow mooing and the occasional horse having a chat!) and the night sky is wonderful, not a totally 'dark skies' environment as the is a little bit of light pollution from the other side of the solway firth but it is very minor.

We will be going there again which is the best recommendation I can give.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Carmelsdad26 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here for our second time and were equally impressed with the friendliness and helpfulness of the owners. The wind was blowing in from the Solway Firth and we were allowed to park longways to use the camper as a windbreak. The facilities are excellent for a CL site and the dogs enjoyed running along the beach of the Solway. All dogs on site were tethered and we would have no hesitation going back, in fact we would go out of our way to stay there as it is such a peaceful, picturesque site. Our two dogs love this site as much as us.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kels 5 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 2 nights on our way down to the Lake District and were very impressed.

It is a CL so we didn't expect 5* facilities but were very happy with what was provided.

The owners were very friendly and helpful and always had time to stop for a chat, they had our youngest son out feeding lambs twice a day which absolutely made his holiday

Shower room/toilet is perfectly clean with the shower in a lovely freestanding corner unit and although in an older building there is an electric heater to take the chill off.

Decent shops are only a short drive away at Gretna Retail Village and there are a couple of hotels within walking distance along the beach.

We will definitely use this site again when in the area.

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Little Bella 6 reviews from this member

Used this CL site while touring Scotland in March. It's very handy for an overnight stop and appeared to be part of a working farm. Lovely views of the Solway Firth and hard standing for the motorhome. It was very breezy when we stayed and cold. The shower was fine but chilly. The water was hot though. It is a CL at the end of the day. A nice little walk on the beach with nice views. We only stopped overnight so don't know much about the locality. Very pleasant site owner.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fullerton 4 reviews from this member

Lovely quiet site down a quite narrow road (but easily accessed). You need to be careful you don't go down the wrong farm road ( CC CL site next farm). Very clean toilet and (free) shower facility available. Very friendy informative owner. All the facilities you could ask for in a CL. Not too far from Dumfries or Annan for shopping. Not much of a beach accessible from the site but nice views. Will definitely visit again. Did not find any problem with 'roaming' dogs.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

This site is a C&CC CL and we booked based on a good review in a motorhome magazine.

On arrival owner told us to pitch up and come and sort out money later. Field faces the Solway Firth and you can see the sea from the pitches.

Hardstanding for pitching with grass immediately in front. The site is a little way from the house and the toilet which is part of the livery facilities – not too far to walk but a couple of minutes up a short drive to get to the toilet which has a sink but there isn't a shower.

All pitches have ehu – a water supply on each pitch and a chemical disposal on the far side of the pitches.

From the site you can walk through a gate and be on the beach in under 2 minutes. Lovely walks in both directions along the shore. The site is a short drive up a country lane from the B road. Approx 20 minutes from Gretna Green and around 10 minutes from Annan. A large Tesco at Annan for all your needs.

Overall this is a really good CL that we would use again – the only minor negative for us was dogs running free (both the owners and other campers).

We paid £12 with ehu / 2 adults – would recommend this site if you want peace and quiet – its lovely.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6306 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019