Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Tent Showcase: Outwell Utah 6

Current model?
Max berths:
Tent weight:
Tent RRP on date added:
Bedroom inners:
Living area groundsheet:
Pitching Style:
Category:
Compare Tent Price:
Discontinued
6
39.20 KG

2
Bathtub
Fly first
Tent
Search


Average User Rating:
9.67/10 from 15 reviews

Viewed: 37353 times

Back to index

Manufacturer Images


Member Uploaded Images - click to enlarge

If you have a photo of this tent click here to upload it

User Reviews of the Utah 6

By: Ed Basher  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2009   Rating:   Date: 10/02/2014

We have finally found in my opinion the best all round tent.

We’ve been campers for over 46 years and had numerous Outwell tents including a Montana 6 and Vermont.

After much painstaking research I purchased a Utah 6 Tent plus the Front Extension and Utah 6 Fitted Carpet brand new.

I love the spacious layout of the floor plan and the wide panoramic windows let in so much light and are fitted with fly screens and full length height adjustable blinds.

The Utah 6 has 2 entry options but unlike our previous Outwell tents we’ve owned it has double width entry/exit.

It has a massive central area with a very pale canopy which helps the daylight flood in till sundown (saving power) and it is illuminated by adjustable clear roof sky lights. The whole tent sits very sturdily with a self supporting criss-cross pole system over the main living area which also increases the useable space. The tent material also has the highest specification water proofing Outwell do at 5000mm Hydrostatic Head so no worries about leaks. It also has a simple well thought out ventilation system allowing genuine 3 season comfort.

It has a bath tub style ground sheet which attaché’s around the perimeter of the tent thus allowing removal for cleaning or packing up separately in bad weather. One or two people have commented about this system (probably without trying it out) but in my opinion it beats a fitted ground sheet hands down by the fact you aren’t wrapping a muddy wet ground sheet together with the main tent. We haven’t had any problems with bugs and insects or anything untoward so for us this feature is a definite plus point.

If Outwell are listening and they decide to reissue the Utah 6 I will buy another new one as a spare.

If you can find one in good condition - snap it up - you won’t be disappointed.
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Mat74  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2008   Rating:   Date: 13/12/2011

Bought my Utah 6 of a friend who bought it on a whim then discovered she couldn't put it up on her own.

I love the shear size of it. I managed to put it up on my own whilst the wife entertained the baby after our long drive to Beddgelert.

The bathtub style groundsheet helped keep out the wind and rain.

Very light in the day with windows all around yet private at night with the curtains all up.

We had the double bedroom as one big room with more than enough space for our queen size airbed and the babies travel cot.

We'll be keeping this tent for a long time to come and I think our family will grow into it with ease!

If you can find one of these on ebay (or similar, other sites are available) I suggest you get it!
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Zeelees  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2008   Rating:   Date: 16/04/2011

What can I say. Bought this tent from a colleague who had never used it. Amazing,we love it, have had a few tents over the years but this one outshines them all. The porch is great to cook in, flyscreens on doors give great ventilation. We have the bedrooms as one large one and have loads of room for us, our luggage and the dogbed. The bathtub groundsheet makes it so much easier to dry out, we have the carpet too which is a luxury we have never had before. It is solid and built to last.
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Sally sharp  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2009   Rating:   Date: 04/06/2010

Great tent - very spacious, we quite often have 3 adults and 3 children sitting inside when its raining and you don't feel cramped ! It also stood up to 40mph wind in Isle of Wight last summer so it must be very sturdy. Only problem is the ground sheet blows up in the wind but I have now treated myself to a carpet and this solves the problem. All in all very happy with this tent.
1 from 1 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Owlbird  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2008   Rating:   Date: 07/09/2009

We bought this tent after much painstaking research and bargain hunting and have been delighted with it; we've used it for three trips this spring/summer including a week in Cornwall and feel we made the right decision in choosing this tent, we also bought the front extension for longer trips away which is brilliant for cooking and keeping the main tent tidy.

We made the decision to buy a large, good quality tent following a disastrous (wet) holiday on Exmoor last summer in a Eurohike cheapie which was a truly miserable experience. The most important things to us were quality/durability, standing height, fully waterproof groundsheet and a good living space where we could hang out and invite friends if/when it rains and the Utah 6 ticks all of these boxes with enormous living and sleeping areas with the added benefit of large windows so it is very light and the bathtub groundsheet has kept the tent dry in some very wet conditions it has also stood up to practically gale force winds on the Lizard Penisula in Cornwall and didn't even need to be re-pegged the following morning.

I have marked it down slightly as although my husband and I are pretty experienced campers we don't find it as simple to pitch as Outwell would have you believe and it does take some tweaking get it straight and takes best part of an hour (including front extension) which is a bit galling when camping buddies have pitched dome tents, blown up beds and are drinking beers while we are still puffing and panting over our monster, we are very proud of it once set up though and have had numerous compliments from other campers.(will try to upload some photos)

Outwell have now discontinued this tent but on close inspection the Dakota that's in their current range is identical except for the colour and the sewn in groundsheet which I must admit is an improvement on the Utah's detachable bathtub which can be draughty. All in all a great tent with loads of space which I would recommend to families or couples looking for that bit of extra comfort, however we have decided to keep it for longer holidays only and are currently in the market for a smaller tent that we can pitch quickly for one night trips and are looking at the Outwell Oregan 3 and the Vango Tigris 400.
1 from 1 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Wossername  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2008   Rating:   Date: 31/08/2009

What a cracking tent, we use this for the four of us, 2 adults and 2 children and it has buckets of space in both sleeping and living quarters. At 6'5' tall I can stand up with ease in the living space and only have to bend slightly to go in and out of the tent. We also bought the extension which serves as an excellent cooking space when the weather is not so good.

Only one criticism and it is a small one, it would have been better with a sewn in ground sheet.

Shame that Outwell have stopped making this tent, it is a winner.
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: KEITH BLACKETT  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2008   Rating:   Date: 17/08/2009

Have just returned from our first full week in our Utah 6 from Barnard castle. Tent is fairly easy to erect, this was our third attempt (getting easier!) the video online is a bit basic but does help. The tent itself stood up to torrential rain 60mph gusts of wind no problem, we have got the carpet, would recommend it without a doubt. Problems with drying the tent out back home as too big for the garden, have got it laid out in the loft! Overall a great big family tent would recommend if you don't mind no built in groundsheet, bathtub one is fine though.
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Basket Boy  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2008   Rating:   Date: 13/06/2009

This is our second family tent (2 adults and 1 teenager) and it's a cracker! We've just had our first week using it in Cornwall.

We had some strong wind which resulted in 2 small tears in the mud valance - possibly caused by us pegging down a bit 'too' firmly, but they've repaired easily with Tenacious Tape.

I second the feelings of light & space in the tent and the sleeping areas are very roomy. As others have mentioned having the carpet is a real bonus, as is the extension which was great for cooking under when the rain set in for the night! No problems with any leaks or water pooling either.

The 2 large entrances let a good flow of air through the tent on the warm days too. And it felt very private at night even with EHU lights inside.

We've resorted to having a second bag to pack the bathtub ground sheet into, trying to get it all back into the 1 Outwell bag just isn't worth the effort!

Overall, highly recommended, good value and we can't wait for our next trip!
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Mickeyboyc  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2008   Rating:   Date: 09/06/2009

Just been away for our first week in the Utah. It’s a terrific tent, everything about it feels sturdy and well made. Having watched the Outwell video a few times we had no problems at all with putting it up – loads of space in both living area and bedroom pods, the many options with the windows are great. Didn’t experience any winds greater than a stiff breeze, but did have a lot of rain on the last night; tent stayed dry and leak-free.

It could possibly be an issue for some that it is a tunnel tent with pods and porches and therefore behaves a little more like a dome tent, so the sides do slope rather more than some ‘straight’ tunnels and some space is wasted behind tables etc, but personally we found the tent felt more stable because of this.

We also got the carpet, which was lovely and cosy of an evening (and brushes easily with a dustpan and brush when time to pack away), and the extension. We will have to check the extension instruction video as we seemed to have extra fastenings nowhere near a pole, and it pulled down on the tent entrance and could have trapped water underneath, but this could be our error. It did however keep weather off the tent entrance and was nice to sit under in the sunshine.

The only downside we have found with the tent is its size (our fault for getting a 6 man tent for two people) – having packed it wet it is hard finding somewhere big enough to dry it properly. We have also been unable to fit everything back in the bag it came in, though it was wet and we were in a hurry to leave the site by the noon deadline. All in all though, a great tent and highly recommended.
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Bogratncookie  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2008   Rating:   Date: 07/06/2009

Our first owned family tent - and what an excellent choice we made! Perfect for a family, with a really roomy, light and airy living area. We even had room to put a double airbed in the living area for the kids to sit on. Lots of handy touches like the storage pockets and the diddy little windows in the bedrooms so you can check out the weather without having to get out of your sleeping bag! Our first ever pitch was in pouring rain and 40mph gusts - not easy, but we still managed it ok, and the tent withstood everything thrown at it. We also invested in the carpet which made a big difference to the warmth in the evening, and made it a lot quieter to walk on. Would highly recommend it :)
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Sirparton  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2008   Rating:   Date: 01/06/2009

I brought this tent this year and what a bargain.Me and the wife have been camping 3 times this year so far. Weathers been good twice and bad the once. The tent takes about half an hour to put up the living area is big and airy. The bedroom area divides in the middle to sleep six or three in each room. But with just the two of us its plenty big enough. Curtains all round the living area for being nosy or sitting looking at the scenery. Carpet makes it very cosy so invest in one keeps feet very warm. All in all a excellent family tent very recommended.
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Ldawes6  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2008   Rating:   Date: 30/09/2008

First tent we've ever owned and we love it. Took about 45 mins to put up which we thought was quite good for the first time. Also bought the footprint groundsheet and the carpet. The carpet was brilliant, made it really cosy when it was cold at night. The weather was very kind to us with lots of sunshine and no wind but it does feel really sturdy. The windows with the curtains down make it feel so spacious & light. Can't wait now for next spring!
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Robalfie  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2008   Rating:   Date: 22/08/2008

This is the best tent we have owned, its our 5th and I see no reason to change to any other. Summer 08 has been terrible weather but the tent stood up to prolonged torrential rain and gales and I have never had such faith in a tent. There is so much room and lots of options on how to use it. It is very heavy and as I am just 5 foot I need my partner to help put it up as I can't reach the top of the tent inside (that proves its height)the poles across the inside of the main living area add extra strength and rigidity. It is light with great viewing windows and every element can be pegged down in stormy weather so no need to worry when returning in the dark and wet. Only downside is if having to pack when wet finding space big enough back home to dry it out. We got the groundsheet and the carpet which is such luxury and added to the warmth. Considering the size of the tent it felt cosy and there were no drafts. I would highly recommend it if you have the space.
1 from 1 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Maggieb52  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2008   Rating:   Date: 14/08/2008

Love this tent. We are novice campers but this was so easy to put up. We put the ground sheet on upside down and did not peg it very well for the first trip and even though it was really stormy and absolutely bucketed down, the tent did not leak. Great for kids too. No carpet for us but we did get the kids room as an addition and the children had a ball!
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: LLOYDY02  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2008   Rating:   Date: 02/07/2008

Used this tent for our first family weekend camping trip,(2 adults, 2 boys(4years and 18 months), oh! and the dog! Only put it up once before. But it was very easy to put up on site and there was a bit of wind as well. Nice big living area and light even with the window covers closed. We used the front extension with it and that was brilliant too and the carpet as well. I fully recommend this tent for a family.
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

Add your comments on the Utah 6 for a chance to win a prize!

If you have used this tent please leave a review, or your comments for other visitors, and have a chance to win If you have experience of any tent please leave a review or your comments for other visitors. Many thanks!

You will need to be logged in as a member of the UKCampsite.co.uk Please log in or register here.


Manufacturer's Description

The manufacturer has advised that this model has been discontinued.

Featuring the ingenious Outwell Space Frame System (OSF System), the superbly spacious Utah 6
redefines the tunnel tent by creating a unit with a wider and more attractive porch. Outwell has designed the bottom-up curtains in the panorama windows to extend upwards to half or full height, allowing full benefit of the windows at eye level inside the tent, yet ensuring the degree of privacy occupants want.
Ease of use and pitching is ensured by the detachable bathtub groundsheet in the porch, pre-attached inner tents, and the Outwell Guyline Retainer System (OGR System). Carefully designed for camping pleasure, the Utah 6 is sure to score with families who are looking for comfort and convenience in their camping experience.

Specifications:
Flysheet: Outtex® 5000 with taped seams
Hydrostatic Head: 5000 mm
Floor: Double-coated polyethylenee
Inner tent: Breathable polyester
Pack size: Tent: 78 x 40 x 42 cm/Poles: 20 x 79 cm
Weight: Tent: 23.7 kg / Poles: 15.5 kg
Poles: Steel poles 19 mm, Durawrap fibreglass 12.7 mm, 2 upright steel poles

Features:
• Large panorama windows all with roll-up curtains
• Mud valance
• Pre-attached and adjustable inner tents
• Organiser pockets
• Mesh pockets in the inner tents
• Lamp holder and light cable tidies
• Fully seam-sealed flysheet for maximum protection
• Reinforcement patch on all stress points
• Adjustable pegging points
• Pre-attached guy ropes
• Luminous guy ropes
• Heavy duty Outwell zips
• Outwell doormat included
• Repair kit included

Optional Extras:
• Kids Room
• Carpet
• Footprint

... there may be more info on their website

Back to main tent index



Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

2365 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014