Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Message Forums

Welcome Guest Register Login Search The Forum Posts Since Last Visit
 Reception - All Forums
  Camping and Caravanning Equipment
Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Printer Friendly Version Print
Subject Topic: Awful service from Obelink! Post Reply Post New Topic
Message posted by lidds0 on 27/9/2018 at 10:41am
View lidds0's Profile View Profile   Reply to lidds0 Reply   Quote lidds0 Quote    E-mail Topic to a Friend Tell a friend
lidds0
Avatar
Diamond Member
Diamond Member

Outfit:
Cabanon Tents

Location:
Yorkshire

Joined: 24/8/2009
Posts:   2950
Site Reviews:   34
Gallery Images:   0
With Obelink receiving glowing reviews on these boards, I decided to place an order with them. My experience has been nothing short of appalling:

On 20th August, I placed an online order for 2 chairs, 2 footrests and a small table, total cost including carriage 217.18.

On 23rd August, the chairs and footrests arrived. The metal parts were badly scratched - they looked like seconds quality, or items they'd had in stock for a very long time. I emailed them, with photos.

On 24th August, the small table arrived. The underside of the table was damaged by a packaging staple! Again, I emailed them and sent photos of the damage.

Obelink agreed to collect the order entire and asked me to confirm collection date of 03 September. I confirmed via email. The collection did not happen and nor was there any communication from Obelink.

On 04 September I again contacted Obelink, who now suggested collection date of 6th September. I agreed and the order was indeed collected.

On hearing nothing further, I contacted Obelink regarding the pending refund. On 19th September - 13 days after collection - they emailed to confirm they had received the order back on 10th September.

Despite contacting Obelink several times since, they still have not refunded me. When asked to either refund or explain why they will not do so, I receive this emailed response:

'Thank you for your email. Your case number is 33****.

We are sorry but we are very busy, we do our best.
We hope we have informed you sufficiently. If you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best regards,

Obelink Distribution'

They have now been in possession of the returned order for 17 days. Their website terms and conditions state they 'will do their best to check returns within 2 days'.

So, the goods I received were not in a new, undamaged condition, Obelink failed to meet the first specified collection date and have consistently fobbed me off with their 'we are very busy' email response for the 17 days they have had the returned order in their possession.

I have now referred this to my bank, since luckily I purchased on credit card.

Their customer service has to be the worst I've ever encountered! I'll never use Obelink again.

Message posted by Pickled Onion on 27/9/2018 at 11:02am
View Pickled Onion's Profile View Profile   Reply to Pickled Onion Reply   Quote Pickled Onion Quote    E-mail Topic to a Friend Tell a friend
Pickled Onion
Avatar
Diamond Member
Diamond Member

Outfit:
Bailey Burgundy S7 Honda CR-V IV

Location:
Near Alton Towers N. Staffs.

Joined: 23/2/2006
Posts:   2111
Site Reviews:   4
Gallery Images:   3
I'm sorry to hear of your ordeal, in my experience I have had nothing but praise for them.

Personally I would ring them and speak with a manager and voice my concerns, being Dutch they will speak good English. I'm sure they will want to make amends, the quality of a company is reflected in what they do when things go wrong.

Let us know how you go on.

Dave.

-------------
Give a man a fish and he will eat for a day,
Teach a man to fish and he will sit in a boat and drink beer all day.

Touring Caravan Insurance - 20% Discount for UKCampsite.co.uk members
Caravan Guard 20% Discount for UKCampsite.co.uk members on Touring Caravan Insurance. Get 5 star rated cover and big savings - for a quote simply click Online Quotation

Message posted by RainMagnet on 27/9/2018 at 12:31pm
View RainMagnet's Profile View Profile   Reply to RainMagnet Reply   Quote RainMagnet Quote    E-mail Topic to a Friend Tell a friend
RainMagnet
Avatar
Silver Member
Silver Member

Outfit:
Karsten 350

Location:
Hull

Joined: 28/6/2017
Posts:   102
Site Reviews:   5
Tent Reviews:   2
Gallery Images:   0
My wife have had a similar experience with Argos. As a rule I avoid this company like the plague but the offer they had on a sofa bed was too good to turn down. Ordered the sofa bed it arrived promptly in kit form but had two left arms and we didn't like the look of it anyway so had them come pick it up for a refund. It took over a month of phone calls before my wife received her money back with no explanation or even an apology, truly terrible service.

Message posted by lidds0 on 29/9/2018 at 12:47pm
View lidds0's Profile View Profile   Reply to lidds0 Reply   Quote lidds0 Quote    E-mail Topic to a Friend Tell a friend
lidds0
Avatar
Diamond Member
Diamond Member

Outfit:
Cabanon Tents

Location:
Yorkshire

Joined: 24/8/2009
Posts:   2950
Site Reviews:   34
Gallery Images:   0
After having the order back in their possession for 19 days, Obelink have now emailed to say they've examined the goods and will be making refund in the next few days.

I suspect the involvement of my bank is not insignificant.

It would have been bad enough if I'd just had a change of heart, but to receive goods which are marked and damaged, then have refund withheld for so long with no proper explanation, is just unacceptable from an online seller. What does anyone else think? What rules apply to EU sellers?

Personally, I think any seller demonstrates their worth when things go wrong. In this case, Obelink have acted as if they couldn't give a stuff!

Message posted by marramc48 on 29/9/2018 at 6:42pm
View marramc48's Profile View Profile   Reply to marramc48 Reply   Quote marramc48 Quote    E-mail Topic to a Friend Tell a friend
marramc48
Avatar
Gold Member
Gold Member

Outfit:
 

Location:
Sottish Highlands (Far North)

Joined: 21/7/2015
Posts:   293
Site Reviews:   15
Gallery Images:   0
Quote: Originally posted by lidds0 on 29/9/2018
After having the order back in their possession for 19 days, Obelink have now emailed to say they've examined the goods and will be making refund in the next few days.

I suspect the involvement of my bank is not insignificant.

It would have been bad enough if I'd just had a change of heart, but to receive goods which are marked and damaged, then have refund withheld for so long with no proper explanation, is just unacceptable from an online seller. What does anyone else think? What rules apply to EU sellers?

Personally, I think any seller demonstrates their worth when things go wrong. In this case, Obelink have acted as if they couldn't give a stuff!



Not the best of experiences but at least you are not going to be out of pocket and you know who not to deal with in the future.


-------------
mm48j

Message posted by DeborahTurner on 30/9/2018 at 3:26pm
View DeborahTurner's Profile View Profile   Reply to DeborahTurner Reply   Quote DeborahTurner Quote    E-mail Topic to a Friend Tell a friend
DeborahTurner
Avatar
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Outfit:
Vango Kalu Hypercamp Eldorado

Location:
London

Joined: 11/8/2011
Posts:   620
Site Reviews:   12
Tent Reviews:   3
Gallery Images:   1
Very disappointing.
And surprising. My own experience matched their reputation here: extremely swift delivery of a well protected package and all at an incredibly good value price.

I hope your refund now arrives quickly.

Message posted by lidds0 on 01/10/2018 at 9:22pm
View lidds0's Profile View Profile   Reply to lidds0 Reply   Quote lidds0 Quote    E-mail Topic to a Friend Tell a friend
lidds0
Avatar
Diamond Member
Diamond Member

Outfit:
Cabanon Tents

Location:
Yorkshire

Joined: 24/8/2009
Posts:   2950
Site Reviews:   34
Gallery Images:   0
I've received another email stating my refund will be done shortly. I emailed by return to ask for confirmation it would be for the full amount, including carriage since the goods were all marked or damaged on receipt. Response was they couldn't tell me how much was being refunded but to check with my bank in the next few days!

Message posted by lidds0 on 01/10/2018 at 9:28pm
View lidds0's Profile View Profile   Reply to lidds0 Reply   Quote lidds0 Quote    E-mail Topic to a Friend Tell a friend
lidds0
Avatar
Diamond Member
Diamond Member

Outfit:
Cabanon Tents

Location:
Yorkshire

Joined: 24/8/2009
Posts:   2950
Site Reviews:   34
Gallery Images:   0
Quote: Originally posted by DeborahTurner on 30/9/2018
Very disappointing.
And surprising. My own experience matched their reputation here: extremely swift delivery of a well protected package and all at an incredibly good value price.

I hope your refund now arrives quickly.



And that's just what I was hoping for, too. What I actually received didn't even look new and the small table had been pierced and chipped by a packaging staple (looked like it had actually been stapled when packaged). Not quite what I was expecting.

Why can't a big company like Obelink organise a refund within 21 days of order return? And why can't they let me know how much they'll be refunding shortly? It's a crazy way to run a business!

Message posted by Frazzle- on 02/10/2018 at 8:45pm
View Frazzle-'s Profile View Profile   Reply to Frazzle- Reply   Quote Frazzle- Quote    E-mail Topic to a Friend Tell a friend
Frazzle-
Avatar
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Outfit:
Outwell Montana 6p

Location:
Hampshire

Joined: 25/6/2013
Posts:   836
Site Reviews:   4
Gallery Images:   0
If you came to package up the order and found the goods to be bad quality you could.... contact the customer and ask if they would wish to obtain these goods at a reduced price of XX followed by many apologies
OR
you could phone/e-mail and explain that you do not have any quality products in stock that they have been damaged and explain that you could ship to customer directly from the manufacturer/factory to save un-necessary time and many apologies
OR
you could just ship out any old rubbish and not care.

I am guessing that a manager is on holiday or maternity leave and said staff cannot manage to do anything

Message posted by Epowell59 on 11/10/2018 at 2:58am
View Epowell59's Profile View Profile   Reply to Epowell59 Reply   Quote Epowell59 Quote    E-mail Topic to a Friend Tell a friend
Epowell59
Avatar
Standard Member
Standard Member

Outfit:
 

Location:
Whaddon

Joined: 10/10/2018
Posts:   7
Site Reviews:   1
Gallery Images:   0
That's not great, I was considering using them too for our awning so thanks for the heads up. Hope you got it resolved in the end. Ed

Message posted by Robbie on 11/10/2018 at 10:20am
View Robbie's Profile View Profile   Reply to Robbie Reply   Quote Robbie Quote    E-mail Topic to a Friend Tell a friend
Robbie
Avatar
Gold Member
Gold Member

Outfit:
Challenger Sport 2014 Honda CR-V EX

Location:
Lancashire

Joined: 30/3/2003
Posts:   200
Site Reviews:   2
Gallery Images:   0
I bought a new sun canopy from Obelink a few years ago. I didn't use it for twelve months and when I went to France the following year I found that a mistake had been made with the poles and one was the wrong size. I sent an e'mail to Obelink who replied almost immediately and sent the correct pole to me at the French campsite where I was staying.
I'm sure there was a blip in their service with the OP's order.

Message posted by Cross Camping on 12/10/2018 at 10:41am
View Cross Camping's Profile View Profile  Visit homepage My Homepage   Reply to Cross Camping Reply   Quote Cross Camping Quote    E-mail Topic to a Friend Tell a friend
Cross Camping
Avatar
Diamond Member
Diamond Member

Outfit:
Anything I like !!!

Location:
Hertfordshire

Joined: 20/6/2007
Posts:   3021
Site Reviews:   4
Gallery Images:   2
Shop local

-------------
Gary Cross - The masked camping guru.

Message posted by Mucker1884 on 12/10/2018 at 11:33am
View Mucker1884's Profile View Profile   Reply to Mucker1884 Reply   Quote Mucker1884 Quote    E-mail Topic to a Friend Tell a friend
Mucker1884
Avatar
Diamond Member
Diamond Member

Outfit:
Karsten 350+Awnings &2x Kampa Classics

Location:
Derby.

Joined: 01/7/2012
Posts:   8342
Site Reviews:   40
Tent Reviews:   5
Gallery Images:   3
Quote: Originally posted by Cross Camping on 12/10/2018
Shop local



Agreed.
I can highly recommend unsubtletentsonline, based in Melbourn, Herts.



-------------
Dedicating my 2019 camping nights to the friend I never met... RIP Bailey. xxx


2019: 2 nights so far...
2018: Just the 30 nights
2017: 34 nights/8 camps
2016: 32 nights/8 camps
2015: 38 nights/11 camps
2014: 34 nights/10 camps
2013: 36 nights
From July 2012: 23 nights

Message posted by lidds0 on 13/10/2018 at 6:01pm
View lidds0's Profile View Profile   Reply to lidds0 Reply   Quote lidds0 Quote    E-mail Topic to a Friend Tell a friend
lidds0
Avatar
Diamond Member
Diamond Member

Outfit:
Cabanon Tents

Location:
Yorkshire

Joined: 24/8/2009
Posts:   2950
Site Reviews:   34
Gallery Images:   0
Gary, get some Dukdalf stuff in and I'll happily buy from you.

I was after the Dukdalf Stabilic 1 Luxe table but can't find one in the UK. The one I received had a ruddy packaging staple stuck in it!


In order to post a reply you will need to register, or if already registered please log in here

Quick Links - All Forums - Camping and Caravanning Equipment - Top of Page

Printer Friendly Version Printable version Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook


1191 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019