Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Message Forums

Welcome Guest Register Login Search The Forum Posts Since Last Visit
 Reception - All Forums
  Caravans and Caravanning
Share   Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email  Printer Friendly Version Print
Subject Topic: UBC- Ultimatum remove poor review Post Reply Post New Topic
Message posted by Car126/9/2016 at 11:37pm
Outfit:  None Entered     Location:  None Entered
Joined: 23/9/2016
View Car1's Profile View Profile   Reply to Car1 Reply   Quote Car1 Quote  
Car1
Avatar
Standard Member
Standard Member

Forum Posts:   3

Site Reviews Total: 0
Site Reviews 2022: 0  
Site Reviews 2021: 0  
Site Reviews 2020: 0  
Site Reviews 2019: 0  
Site Reviews 2018: 0  
Site Nights 2022: 0
Site Nights 2021: 0
Site Nights 2020: 0
Site Nights 2019: 0
Site Nights 2018: 0

I am new to the forum and wish to share my experiences of UBC sandy Lane Ncle. Where i bought my new 2016 Elddis crusader. I have tried to condense the post as to not sound like i am droning on 0:)

I have had a few issues with my Van i have named a few here (ic controller not set up, shelving pack missing, trims loose and fallen off, alloy wheels lacquer come off, internal water pump flickering on/off)

I must say I am understanding to the fact small issues may arise with any new van. I have even fixed trims back on my self. But the bits that require new parts or further investigation i would hope My selling dealer would help. And this is where the fault lies.

I have had nothing but disappointing and poor service from UBC, They had my caravan for 5 weeks this time and its still not fixed. No one returns your calls, no one seems to know what is happening when i called in.
I been told its ready to collect twice, turned up to find half the items have not even been looked at.

I even made an appointment with the service manager to sit and go though the issues i have for clarity.

As we were going away for the bank holi weekend, I needed my van back I went to collect the van to find they had lost my new caravan step, When i asked about it, the reply was, "are you sure it was there, we will need to check the CCTV footage" (5 weeks worth?)
I was so disappointed by the way i was treated I decided to put a review on Google.

My phone rang, Craig the service manger had been asked to call me. I was been asked to remove the review or told that my appointment to return for the reminder of the warranty work would be canceled and no further work would be done on my caravan.

Needless to say the review is still on for all to view. You can also view other customers negative reviews before and after mine with responses from UBC. Which i feel are (in my case) untrue, unprofessional and rude.

I did offer to add to my review after they had finished the work needed, I explained to Craig in service. I believe your destiny is in your own hands, I hope you can fix my van and show what sterling service you can give and i will write about it & that the poor service received to date was just a glitch.

But he declined to honor my forthcoming appointment unless my review was removed.

After given it some thought, I felt it more important to leave my review for others to veiw on and find alternative dealer.

My Hope by doing so is UBC stop slagging off their customers and stop trying to label them all as rogue individual. It seems to me that there is simply too many people saying the old things about the same old UBC dealer at sandy lane.
I hope they mend there ways and serve the the caravaning & camping community as Dealer should.















Message posted by Opensauce27/9/2016 at 8:03am
Outfit:       Location:  
Joined: 25/1/2010
View Opensauce's Profile View Profile   Reply to Opensauce Reply   Quote Opensauce Quote  
Opensauce
Avatar
Diamond Member
Diamond Member

Forum Posts:   4531

Site Reviews Total: 13
Site Reviews 2022: 0  
Site Reviews 2021: 0  
Site Reviews 2020: 0  
Site Reviews 2019: 0  
Site Reviews 2018: 0  
Site Nights 2022: 0
Site Nights 2021: 0
Site Nights 2020: 0
Site Nights 2019: 0
Site Nights 2018: 0

Rock & a hard place, methinks. Would another main dealer take on the warranty work? What is Elddis relationship with their main dealers. Can they require any main dealer to do warranty work? It is possible they cannot. You need to find out.

If no main dealer will do warranty work on your caravan then I suppose legally you might have an argument that it is not fit for purpose because you have no means of maintaining it in a roadworthy state. So you would be entitled to refund although from what you say, unlikely this side of a court case. That route also leaves you with no caravan.

My guess is that they are snowed under with disgruntled customer's warranty work & cannot cope. I doubt they can find staff with sufficient skill to do the work anyway.

A large Swift dealer near me is chucking in their franchise because there is no profit in selling new caravans for a franchise that cares about it's customers.

I guess the way forward for now would be to withdraw the review & then try to mend fences with your dealer. If you fail then go for not fit for purpose.

Discounted Insurance Quotes for UKCampsite.co.uk visitors! Up to 12.5% off!
UKCampsite.co.uk users are rewarded with up to 12.5% off Caravan Guard touring caravan insurance, folding camper and trailer tent insurance, and 5% off motorhome and campervan insurance. Static caravan insurance is also available. Get an online quote now

Message posted by iank0127/9/2016 at 11:21am
Outfit:  Buccaneer Cruiser     Location:  Worcestershire
Joined: 30/6/2004
View iank01's Profile View Profile   Reply to iank01 Reply   Quote iank01 Quote  
iank01
Avatar
Diamond Member
Diamond Member

Forum Posts:   3497

Site Reviews Total: 4
Site Reviews 2022: 0  
Site Reviews 2021: 1  
Site Reviews 2020: 0  
Site Reviews 2019: 0  
Site Reviews 2018: 0  
Site Nights 2022: 0
Site Nights 2021: 10
Site Nights 2020: 0
Site Nights 2019: 0
Site Nights 2018: 0

If your caravan is on HP approach the finance company with your concerns. If bought after October 2015 the Consumer Rights Act 2015 kicks in to protect you and it clearly states reasonable time and also gives you the right to reject the caravan. Worth think about and then finding another dealer.

Message posted by Car130/9/2016 at 7:18pm
Outfit:  None Entered     Location:  None Entered
Joined: 23/9/2016
View Car1's Profile View Profile   Reply to Car1 Reply   Quote Car1 Quote  
Car1
Avatar
Standard Member
Standard Member

Forum Posts:   3

Site Reviews Total: 0
Site Reviews 2022: 0  
Site Reviews 2021: 0  
Site Reviews 2020: 0  
Site Reviews 2019: 0  
Site Reviews 2018: 0  
Site Nights 2022: 0
Site Nights 2021: 0
Site Nights 2020: 0
Site Nights 2019: 0
Site Nights 2018: 0

Thanks for all the advice. I have spoken with Elddis and a number of dealers and it's very easy to get my warranty work done elsewhere. I just need to choose where to go.

In my enquirys and chatting with others it seems I am not alone in having problems with Uinted British caravans Newcastle.

It's such a shame that they seem more interested in labelling customer as rogue individuals or difficult customers who have genuine concern and have been driven to putting what would seem honest reviews online. I even see that they have now so many poor reviews they are attempting to have them removed (ie yell it is now no longer possible to rate them) this speaks volumes.

Surely it's just easier to give better service then go to war with customers??

Message posted by GCMS201230/9/2016 at 8:38pm
Outfit:  Knaus Sudwind 550 TK     Location:  Northumberland
Joined: 06/1/2013
View GCMS2012's Profile View Profile   Reply to GCMS2012 Reply   Quote GCMS2012 Quote  
GCMS2012
Avatar
Diamond Member
Diamond Member

Forum Posts:   2130

Site Reviews Total: 7
Site Reviews 2022: 0  
Site Reviews 2021: 0  
Site Reviews 2020: 0  
Site Reviews 2019: 1  
Site Reviews 2018: 0  
Site Nights 2022: 0
Site Nights 2021: 0
Site Nights 2020: 0
Site Nights 2019: 7
Site Nights 2018: 0


You say they rang and asked to remove the review from Google??

How much time passed between the review posting and then them ringing...??

(As if they knew the review was coming...)

So they've got time to sit in a office (coffee / feet up??)and read reviews, than to deal with people..?

Not keen on the place either, don't feel welcome unless we're parting with thousands of and not just a few quid for parts accessories etc...

-------------
Damned if I do...

Damned if I don't!!!!

Advertisement


Message posted by Car101/10/2016 at 10:16am
Outfit:  None Entered     Location:  None Entered
Joined: 23/9/2016
View Car1's Profile View Profile   Reply to Car1 Reply   Quote Car1 Quote  
Car1
Avatar
Standard Member
Standard Member

Forum Posts:   3

Site Reviews Total: 0
Site Reviews 2022: 0  
Site Reviews 2021: 0  
Site Reviews 2020: 0  
Site Reviews 2019: 0  
Site Reviews 2018: 0  
Site Nights 2022: 0
Site Nights 2021: 0
Site Nights 2020: 0
Site Nights 2019: 0
Site Nights 2018: 0

Put review on Google one night and next day I got a call. ( I know that when a review is put on your site, Google send you email to inform you of such)

I wished they had been so proactive in returning my dozens of calls into them about the problems !

My review is still on Google ( to find it, Google UBC caravans Newcastle, and select reviews on their Google page)

I see many others have left negative reviews before and after mine, all relating to the same issues with the same members of staff.

I only wish to share my experience with others and help people who may be considering buying from UBC.






Message posted by GCMS201201/10/2016 at 10:42am
Outfit:  Knaus Sudwind 550 TK     Location:  Northumberland
Joined: 06/1/2013
View GCMS2012's Profile View Profile   Reply to GCMS2012 Reply   Quote GCMS2012 Quote  
GCMS2012
Avatar
Diamond Member
Diamond Member

Forum Posts:   2130

Site Reviews Total: 7
Site Reviews 2022: 0  
Site Reviews 2021: 0  
Site Reviews 2020: 0  
Site Reviews 2019: 1  
Site Reviews 2018: 0  
Site Nights 2022: 0
Site Nights 2021: 0
Site Nights 2020: 0
Site Nights 2019: 7
Site Nights 2018: 0


Id's say stand your ground then, because of what they've said / done since posting your review...

And also because of other places are willing to 'pick up' where they've failed...

And so, if they're not going to back down as such, maybe it's worth you contacting the manufacturers of the caravans themselves and let them know how they're treating customers??

OK, they can fob off the little guy, but what if someone above them told them to pull their socks up or they'll be pulling the plug on them and finding another outlet franchise for their vans!?

You're going to have time of head and heart ache, but in time it WILL pass, so stay strong as I bet they're hoping you just 'give up and go away'....



-------------
Damned if I do...

Damned if I don't!!!!

Message posted by Wendyhouse01/10/2016 at 10:44am
Outfit:       Location:  
Joined: 12/5/2013
View Wendyhouse's Profile View Profile   Reply to Wendyhouse Reply   Quote Wendyhouse Quote  
Wendyhouse
Avatar
Gold Member
Gold Member

Forum Posts:   448

Site Reviews Total: 0
Site Reviews 2022: 0  
Site Reviews 2021: 0  
Site Reviews 2020: 0  
Site Reviews 2019: 0  
Site Reviews 2018: 0  
Site Nights 2022: 0
Site Nights 2021: 0
Site Nights 2020: 0
Site Nights 2019: 0
Site Nights 2018: 0

Looked at reviews.
Not sure the whole exchange has been recorded here

Message posted by Webmaster01/10/2016 at 11:53am
Outfit:  VW Campers and Tents     Location:  Buckinghamshire
Joined: 09/6/1999
View Webmaster's Profile View Profile  Visit homepage My Homepage   Reply to Webmaster Reply   Quote Webmaster Quote  
Webmaster
Avatar
Forum Admin
Forum Moderator

Forum Posts:   7549
Tent Reviews:   3

Site Reviews Total: 82
Site Reviews 2022: 0  
Site Reviews 2021: 18 
Site Reviews 2020: 13 
Site Reviews 2019: 21 
Site Reviews 2018: 6  
Site Nights 2022: 0
Site Nights 2021: 33
Site Nights 2020: 24
Site Nights 2019: 44
Site Nights 2018: 9

Just in case some of you cannot find it or read the actual review the response from UBC, here it below is from Google; I make no comment, merely post it for your consideration:

Review

First of all i would like to say I have never reviewed a place online before and I have thought long and hard about putting a negative review on here. But feel I must to help others who may be a potential customer of UBC. I wish I had listened to advice given to me and NOT gone there myself.

I bought a brand new caravan from UBC and its been a disaster from the start. I have a number of small issues with my new van, which i am ok with. All i have asked is that they are put right.
Following their failed attempts to fix trims that had fallen off, I have now done it myself. I spoke with Alde & Whale customer services (which are great) to set up the caravans heating & water systems correctly as UBC failed to do this on Pre delivery inspection "PDI"
(But they have tick a boxes on the form to say its was done. They also ticked boxes on the form for items not even related to my model?)

My problem lies solely with the absolutely poor customer service and incompetence of the staff and mangers. They have had my caravan for 5 weeks now and still not fixed it.The last straw for me and the reason I decided to put a review on is that, they lost my caravan step and blamed me for it.   
My advice would be not to purchase anything from UBC and try other dealers in the area, which have more positive reviews. I hope this helps other thanks.

PART 2 UPDATE:
further to my review left. I wish to update following response from UBC.

Since my review was left I was contacted by Service manager Craig Campbell. I was given an Ultimatum, as follows.

Remove your review or we will cancel your appointment to come back and have your warranty work finished off and UBC will not carry out any further work on my caravan.

Needless to say, i have NOT cancelled my review. I thought it was more important that others see the way they treat their customers.

I can see that other customers before and after me have also experienced problems & left negative reviews and the response given by UBC is shocking, rude and unprofessional, for me this speaks for its self.




Response from the owner (business owner)

Using Google reviews as a way of stamping your feet to get your own way is not really the way forward. The reason we had your caravan for 5 weeks was because you would not come and pick it up, despite it working correctly. Thankfully you have now collected your caravan and agree that it all works as it should. You fail to mention that it is not your first caravan from us and that you were over the moon previously, but we do not condone any sort of bullying and therefore wish you all the best for the future in any subsequent purchases you make elsewhere. Please listen to the instructions given on handover next time as modern caravans can be quite complex and just flipping switches does not guarantee results.

-------------

Message posted by Henryfox01/10/2016 at 2:58pm
Outfit:  Bailey verona     Location:  Grove
Joined: 29/11/2015
View Henryfox's Profile View Profile   Reply to Henryfox Reply   Quote Henryfox Quote  
Henryfox
Avatar
Standard Member
Standard Member

Forum Posts:   4

Site Reviews Total: 12
Site Reviews 2022: 0  
Site Reviews 2021: 0  
Site Reviews 2020: 0  
Site Reviews 2019: 1  
Site Reviews 2018: 0  
Site Nights 2022: 0
Site Nights 2021: 0
Site Nights 2020: 0
Site Nights 2019: 3
Site Nights 2018: 0

Good for you standing your ground, we had a similar issue with a different supplier and as they could not confirm they were able to fix all the problems with our brand new van we rejected it! We gave them 30 days to agree to repairing all the problems and they didn't bother , we chased them weekly for answers, sent emails and photos and still nothing. That van was rejected and a second van was collected and also rejected for the same reasons. Seems to me like once they have your money they are just not interested in you to your van!
We are picking up a new van in 2 weeks, fingers crossed it's perfect!!!

Advertisement


Message posted by GCMS201201/10/2016 at 9:12pm
Outfit:  Knaus Sudwind 550 TK     Location:  Northumberland
Joined: 06/1/2013
View GCMS2012's Profile View Profile   Reply to GCMS2012 Reply   Quote GCMS2012 Quote  
GCMS2012
Avatar
Diamond Member
Diamond Member

Forum Posts:   2130

Site Reviews Total: 7
Site Reviews 2022: 0  
Site Reviews 2021: 0  
Site Reviews 2020: 0  
Site Reviews 2019: 1  
Site Reviews 2018: 0  
Site Nights 2022: 0
Site Nights 2021: 0
Site Nights 2020: 0
Site Nights 2019: 7
Site Nights 2018: 0


Did the 'business owner' do some RESEARCH on how to respond in a 'try to shoot you down' way...?

Failed miserably...!

-------------
Damned if I do...

Damned if I don't!!!!


In order to post a reply you will need to register, or if already registered please log in here

Prev       Next
Quick Links - All Forums - Caravans and Caravanning - Top of Page

Printer Friendly Version Printable version      Share   Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





2816 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement