Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Sunelia La Ribeyre

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Auvergne > Murol > Sunelia La Ribeyre Reviews

Sunelia La Ribeyre
Rue De Jassat
Murol
Auvergne   (Browse area)
63790
Tel: 0033 04 73 88 64 29
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 29/04 To 15/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 11 Reviews
                7/10 from 11 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Silver Plated Spork 14 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 10 nights. The site was very busy, and there were few pitches left most nights. We wanted a pitch nearer the lake, most of these are slightly smaller and felt more cramped than the pitches away from the lake.

There are 5 sanitary buildings, some larger than others dotted about the site. Toilets had no seats but did have paper, some showers were better than others for hot water and powerfulness. Fresh bread and pastries are available in the morning, no orders needed, and there was a fast food menu for take out and restaurant. We got pizzas a couple of nights which were lovely, but we felt the food was quite expensive in comparison to other sites.

The pool was fantastic and our children enjoyed going there nearly every day. We always got a sunlounger, and heading up there at about 2pm usually meant the pool was emptier. We also swam and paddle-boarded in the lake, which was also pleasant for a walk around. There's also a football field, other play areas (both structures and spaces), tennis courts, games room, tv room.

We didn't partake much in the entertainment as that's not really our bag, but there was a lot on offer, moreso of a sporting nature. We did enjoy some of the evening shows, which finished by 11pm. I was really surprised at how quiet the site was at night, given the amount of people there. The other campers were mainly French, with a few Dutch and British campers.

They don't have a shop on site, as they want you to use the 2 shops in Murol and make use of the markets there. It's possible to walk, it is along the road but there is a guided pedestrian path. This took about 10 minutes and there is a little cut through by the football field which cuts a big corner off. We found the further away Spar slightly better value, but prices overall in the area are much higher than other parts of France, because it's such a touristy area. With hindsight, we'd have bought more (i. E. Wine) before we came.

It's such a great area to visit though, and a real mixture of activities. You can drive along the back roads and stop off easily at viewpoints (we saw lots of motorhomes doing this). The Murol castle is excellent value, the caves at St Nectaire, not so much. The railway up Puy du Dome was amazing, the old village of Besse, a walk around Lac Chambon, Orcival, La Bourboule, all lovely days out.

We want to return to the area, we would be happy to return to the site although we might also base ourselves elsewhere too, as there is simply so much to see. We felt that the site was also quite expensive, especially if you just want to use it as a base. If you're staying on site and making full use of the activities, then it's better value.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kitchensinkcampers 11 reviews from this member

Generally we enjoyed our stay at this site ( reasons we didn't were nothing to do with the site but our car letting us down)

Pitches were ample. We were able to get 2 adjoining pitches so we had plenty of room.

Showers were good and clean- block nearest to plage had showers that gave an unintentional power massage! - pretty fierce but fine for me.

Toilets ok - no seats but easily remedied if needed by carefully arranging toilet roll.

Takeaway and bar great.

Arcade machines had plenty of our money.

Pool and slide were good, busy around pool but always able to get a sunbed when I wanted.

Great market on site on Tuesday's. Recommend the cantal cheese sold by the cheese lady. Butchers van was very good too.

NO SHOP! You can get bread croissants uht milk eggs and a couple of random tins of veg from next to the takeaway hatch. But really surely a shop would be worth their while?

Loads of great days out. Mural castle good but pretty pricey.

Walk up roc de cuzeau from top of col de Robert- fab views.

Zip wire at super besse was amazing- well worth the money and collywobbles.

Puy du Dome- a must.

Mont Dore great.

Petrified fountain place in St Nectaire a bit tedious.

Walk up the volcano from St Nectaire au haut ( by the church) and find the prehistoric caves. Very clan of the cave bear!

We did loads of days out never travelling more than 1/2 hour by car except for Puy du Dome.

And there is enough to do for another holiday.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Devon Tourers 12 reviews from this member

A '5 star' site that struggles to match the qualities of some of the 2/3 star sites in France.

Toilets - no loo seats, [toilet paper was supplied] but cubicles cleaned by hosing out leaving toilet wet, floors awash and bird droppings on inside of door as well as other matter on walls behind one door for days.

Showers - Only adequately warm even after pointing out that the water was too cold, showers again cleaned by hosing down, cubical drains had hair clogging for days, small floor tiles prevented the effective use of a squeegee.

Dish Washing facilities - Floors hosed down but sinks and outlets not cleaned out.

Waste/recycling - available but only outside main gate, lots of flies.

Pitch - Reasonable size, but grass far too long especially when wet! Nice 'parkland' tree setting but flies were a nuisance.

Site told you which pitch you were having even though the site was far from busy [we demanded a change] also 'instructed' that we had to wear a wrist band at all times, and told not remove them! We had to pay 'up front' upon arrival!

This was the most expensive site of our two month tour, and it failed to meet our 5 star expectations, and we will not be returning.

Local castle in Murol very good and value for money, Puy du Sancy great views and well worth the trek.

No large supermarkets with fuel locally.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Susanj 18 reviews from this member

Pros:

Very attractive camp, good sized and well laid out pitches. Great pool complex and indoor pool.

Cons: - and in total enough to stop me from visiting again,

Expensive- caravan club book said 23 max price in high season, but we had to pay this, the second week in September, in higher season the cost was appreciably more.

At this time of year nothing was open except the pool, but I expected all that.

The outdoor pool was freezing, and I am a hardy soul who swims in an outdoor pool in the UK whatever the weather. It was really too cold too use, despite brilliant hot sunny weather.

I stupidly thought the site was situated on Lac Chambon, but is not, all it has is a rather small, not very attractive man made lake.

The worst thing for me as woman, was the fact that there are no toilet seats anywhere! I hated this and it made me dread using the toilets. This is a five star site, and no toilet seats, yuck! And yes, I am used to camping In France.

Also no shop was a pain.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bwebster 2 reviews from this member

The site is in a beautiful area - great walking (hilly) direct from the site. We dragged the kids on a wonderful 12 mile round trip hike to the pretty town of Besse, which has an interesting skiing museum run by an enthusiastic and very helpful elderly man with good English. Murol is easily walkable from the site and has a great market on Wednesday mornings.

We enjoyed our stay here but were a bit disappointed by some of the facilities. The pool is great for young kids but the two fields are just big patches of grass with a couple of net less goals and a volleyball net. No basketball court and the tennis court was in a very poor condition. The manmade lake is ok but the water was very murky. Toilets have no seats, sinks no plugs, showers no temperature control. Pitches near the lake were reasonably spacious with good shade from attractive trees. Excellent bread from camp bakery - as you'd expect from a site dominated by French campers. We might return but only for a couple of nights and only because the area is beautiful.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: The High and Lo 24 reviews from this member

A four star site with a super swimming pool nestled in the mountains of the Auvergne. We revisited this site for a week's stay to relax and let the kids have fun. Our visit in August was sunny but be aware that you are at 840 metres so it quickly chills when the sun goes in.

The big draw of the site is the pool, which is boasted to be 2500m2, the leisure pool has a current channel and water jets. The kids of any age are drawn to the four slides, there is also a large sliding covered rectangular pool that offers an opportunity for a proper swim. There are plenty of other activities going on as well, but the main language is French so ensure you brush up on your parlez vous.

It is a large site with at least 400 well ordered pitches, interspersed with spaces for petanque and play parks. At one end is the pool, office, snack bar and entertainment hall at the other end is a lake with a plage and large grass area.

In the evening huge flocks of swifts (I say swifts my knowledge of ornithology is not strong enough to know what they were for sure) swapped around the lake before roosting in the trees around the lake.

The pitches are adequate in size with trees to mark the pitch boundaries and offer shade from the sun. The pitches take a caravan, awning, car and tent, which seemed to be a popular utilisation, although that filled it completely and gave the pitched area a busy crowded feel.

Water and electricity is reliable and readily available and the toilet/shower blocks are clean and modern. The site has no shop but there are reasonable sized supermarkets in Murol, Wifi is offered though 'Osmzis' at a cost.

The area offers excellent walking and cycling in the low mountain landscape of the Auvergne. The walk to Murol or Lac du Chambon is a healthy stroll but not too excessive and can be made easily by bike. There are some further attractions by road such as Puy de Dome.

The site is Four Star priced which we are not regular visitors of so cannot really comment on value for money. The site is popular with the French and Brits are a very small minority but there is enough English notices for even the most weak French speakers like myself.

This is a place we will return to for some sun and fun.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Penny21 3 reviews from this member

We stayed here for a week on a grand comfort site. We asked for a quiet pitch which we got and we liked being escorted to the site by one of the staff on a bike as its a big site. The lake and pools are excellent, bar and takeaway fine and fair value. No shop but 2 good supermarkets in nearby Murol. Lots of toilet blocks, very clean. Masses to do in the area -we loved taking the cable car up the mountain at Super Besse where there is also a great summer toboggan run. It gets cold at night so bring warm layers but it can also be very hot in the day in August!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Sphil 2 reviews from this member

A beautifully situated site, with lots to visit in the surrounding area. We particularly enjoyed Lac Pavin and La Bourboule. We had booked for four nights on a pitch 'grand confort' - huge and quiet, with lots of space around. Decided to extend our stay for a further three nights, but the pitch we were allocated (though the same price) wasn't as good - much more crammed in and far noisier.

While we were there the temperature varied from 29 to 13 degrees - you definitely need to pack the warm layers! And as a previous reviewer said, it does rain a lot - very hard! But I guess you can't camp in the mountains and expect wall to wall sunshine.

The swimming pool and the lake were favourites with our sons (9 and 7) - the pool has water jets, bridges, slides and waterfalls. When it's 28 degrees it's bliss. When it's 13.Not so blissful.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bridie 99 reviews from this member

Spent 2 nights here on our way back up through France. Found it ok but not as friendly as where we'd been previously. Had good sized pitch near to wash block. Wash blocks clean but no toilet paper. The showers were not good, stopped every few seconds!

Murol was a pretty little town but we really loved Besse. The Lac de Chambon was a bit underwhelming and a bit too touristy. The scenery was lovely with splendid views.

Pool was cold (outside one) but indoor pool was warmer though had a lot of chlorine. Not many people here, mostly Dutch. Don't think we'd come back.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: TonyS99 8 reviews from this member

Big site, but tidy, level and well laid out. About 200 pitches. Mostly French with maybe 20% Dutch and 5% Brits. Bit dear, but plenty of facilities (except a shop).

Big man-made lake on-site with beach. Good for swimming and paddling an inflatable. Canoes for hire, too.

Big water park with 3 slides & pool with 'river'. Large indoor pool was lovely and warm, with a sort of jacuzzi at one end.

Pizza/snack bar & bar with entertainment, which looked pretty average.

Loos etc fine, for a French site. No paper or seats, but clean enough, despite what I'd read on a Dutch review site.

Great area. Very touristy, but with good reason. Huge mountains, river valleys, forests. The very heart of the Auvergne.

The site's a couple of miles from the Murol, where there are supermarkets etc, and there's no on site shop, so bikes would be useful.

Only had 3 nights here and spent the 2 full days at Vulcania (hot & crowded) and the cable car at Super-Besse (excellent). Wish we'd had longer to explore the surroundings. Didn't even get to see Lac Chambon, except from the van window.

My daughter(10)'s fave site of the 5 we visited in 2009.

Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Murol      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Auvergne

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...





Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 16/01 to 19/01, Event City
Over 200 exhibitors with all the new 2020 models and biggest ever selection of accessories. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4317 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar
Christmas Giveaway


Advent Calendar

A new prize every day til Christmas PLUS a grand Christmas Day Star Prize

Click to Play!