Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Tyn Y Coed Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Pwllheli > Tyn Y Coed Touring Park Reviews

Tyn Y Coed Touring Park
Lon Groes
Morfa Nefyn
Pwllheli
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL53 6BP
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 41
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 44 Reviews
                9/10 from 44 Reviews

Photos (23)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  44 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Casey56 1 review from this member

 Found this site on google and after reading the reviews booked it straight away. We were lucky as Lorraine and Scott only had one pitch available. Greeted on arriving on site and shown around the facilities and our pitch. Lovely and quiet with a shower block and utility room and facilities for disabled and family room. All facilities were spotlessly clean and tidy. Our dog was with us and there are plenty of walks with the best being across the road from the entrance and right down a lane called Lon Pwll William which takes you down to the coastal path. Lovely walk with some eye opening properties hidden away. The Ty Coch inn on the beach is always worth the visit as is the iconic 7th tee off and green on the golf course. Plenty to see and do and if walking is on the agenda as we did then Yr Eifl, the old quarry and Hill fort are a must to do. Fantastic views over the Llyn and across to Ireland on a clear day. Will definitely be revisiting this site again 


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jusbluey 25 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from this lovely site, beautifully kept & considering how foul the weather was the site drained quite quickly. A bonus was the use of a freezer as our fridge had decided not to work the day before departure. There is no dog walk on site but there is a narrow lane alongside the site & there is a lovely lane across the road which leads to the coastal path, takes 15mins. There are 2 ladies toilets & one shower (50p which provided a good hot shower), however, it was quite chilly inside. It was fairly busy during our visit & yet we didn't have a problem using these facilities. We visited the Nanhoran Arms in Nefyn but were not allowed to take our dogs in, another pub was boarded up. The nearest pub would probably be the Bryn Cynan at Morfa Nefyn which is on a main rd with no pavement part of the way, and as traffic drives faster than the 40mph limit it is not advisable to walk there (which is what we did). We had a meal there & the steaks were gorgeous. Another pub The Cliffs, down nr the beach is closed for refurbishment, which we were told has been going on for a long time. The Ty Coch Inn (which is tiny) on the beach is lovely & is extremely popular & serves food during day time. It is a lovely site run well by very friendly people & we would highly recommend 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mrskeating 17 reviews from this member

 I almost didn't leave a review, because its going to be fantastic, and I don't want this wonderful campsite to be fully booked next time we want to visit!

Anyway, our first time in wales, and so glad we chose Tyn Y Coed for the first 4 days of it, perfectly situated in Morfa Nefyn, easily walking distance to 2 beautiful beaches at Nefyn & Morfa Nefyn. Beautifully kept site, with massive serviced pitches. New modern shower block, with PROPER SHOWERS! (yes folks, no push button showers here) I would rather pay 50p for the luxury of a clean hot power shower any day of the week.

This site has lots of little extra's that make it home from home, fridge freezer, washer & dryer in the pot wash building, was a pleasure to use, not in a cobweb cold shelter like normal!

Lots of local information on display, including maps of local walks. This site is a dog walkers paradise.

There is a grassed area for camping, and some children's park things. Although we had no children with us, so didn't take too much notice.

The village has a few shops and 3 pubs, we visited all 3 :) and found the cliff Inn and Ty Coch Inn (right on the beach at Morfa Nefyn) to be easiest to walk to, although the Y Bryncynan served lovely meals.

I would highly recommend this site, and we will definitely return again next year. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gandgb 1 review from this member

 A good site, toilets are spotless the grounds well kept, good location for exploring the area, fantastic walks around the coast, close to small well stocked shops and short distance to local pubs. Small site with that comfortable feel. Whistling sands Aberdaron, Hells Mouth and Abersoch are within easy reach. We had a fully serviced pitch with plenty of room for an awning and car. On arrival the manageress was very pleasant and helpful, we will be back. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Pozzle 14 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 8 nights in June. It is a lovely quiet, friendly campsite. Not a lot of pitches. A mile or so walk to the famous Nefyn golf course and there is public access through it to the beach and coastal paths. Across road is footpath down to the main Morgan nefyn beach (dogs not allowed in high season on beach). Fantastic coastal path walks from campsite & also an off road path walk to popular pub (Lorraine very helpful with info) there is also a little bus that does a circuit of the local towns that stops just outside campsite

Very clean showers, toilets etc 50p for shower but you get a lot of time so good value

Has a little rotary dryer for everyone's use by toilet block

There's a few little places for coffee or meals, nothing fancy but adequate

Dogs allowed on leads

Little shop/post office about 1/4 mile from site, also petrol station same distance which has shop with own local butcher and baker inside with great value goods. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Suzanne C 1 review from this member

 I booked a family weekend away at this campsite last weekend, we stayed for three nights.

What a cracking little campsite, a real gem. Immaculate facilities, spotlessly clean, with lost of extras touches on site to make sure you have everything that you may need for your stay, ie:- Large Fridge & separate Large Freezer available to use free of charge, also a washing line provided next to the toilet block, lovely little touches.

We stayed on the camping field as there were a few of us and all wanted to be pitched together, even the camping field is mowed to perfection, nothing is done half-heartedly at this campsite which is what makes it so special.

The owners are really friendly and went out of their way to accommodate us. Great beaches near by, with stunning views and coastal walks.

Would definitely stay at this campsite again, and would recommend it to anyone looking to stay in this area. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Wildvoice 20 reviews from this member

 Stayed on this site for 3 nights, it's a lovely little site that we did not know existed. We booked on to a hard standing pitch with water waste and electric, the pitch was a generous size with plenty of space for a awning, and all this for 20 a night. The site has a small modern shower block although they do charge 50p for the shower also a spacious indoor area for washing your pots and pans. Also here you will find a variety of walks and leaflets of local attractions. The site was nice and quiet also was kept in pristine condition, a credit to the owners, we would certainly stay here again and with great beaches and pubs both in nefyn and morfa nefyn it's a gem that won't stay a secret to long. 


Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: WalkingWales 1 review from this member

 I have never before been inclined to write a review, but on this occasion I really want to sing the praises of the owners of this lovely, well-maintained site.

We are walking the Wales Coast Path, all 870 miles of it, We have just returned from a week's stay in our touring caravan at Tyn y Coed, which was our base for walking the Llyn peninsula. Our needs are pretty basic in what we hope for from a site. Yes the toilet/shower block was clean and well maintained, the washing and fridge freezer facilities are all very good. One facility though that rarely gets a mention is the chemical waste disposal! This was the cleanest and most functional example I have ever encountered.

But it's not the facilities on the site that has inspired me to write a review. The logistics involved in walking successive sections of the coast path can be quite problematic, especially when you are walking from one point to another and you only have one car.

The site owners went out of their way to help out: we were able to drop our car off at our finishing point of the day's walk and the owners drove us to our start point, this would have taken well over an hour of their day, on each of the days they did this for us. They showed a genuine interest in what we were doing and were clearly very proud of the 'Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty' that is the Llyn Peninsula.

As an aside, we have walked the 630 mile South West Coast Path and other paths including Hadrian's Wall, Offa's Dyke and The Cotswold Way and so far, 300 miles of the Wales Coast Path but few places can compare to the coastline of the Llyn peninsula, 'dramatic' doesn't do justice!

I hasten to add that this was the first week of the season and there were few others on the site. However, the customer service was exemplary. It was more like a friend helping out. Diolch! 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Asjp 5 reviews from this member

 We've just returned home from a lovely few nights stay at Tyn Y Coed. A lovely small site, really well run and looked after.

The field with the tent pitches was quite busy, and when a large caravan plus awning and large 4x4 car pitches up it is quite close together, but not to detract from the standard of this site.

As other reviews have said, there are only 2 toilets and one shower in each M / F bathroom, plus a family/disabled room. Again, as others have said, the 50p/7 mins charge means that there is rarely a queue for the facilities, which is great.

The washing up room is a proper indoor room with a fridge, freezer, washer and tumble dryer, as well as lots of information about local attractions and walking routes.

With so many families in a fairly small space it was a bit noisy, but the 10pm quite time was fairly well obeyed so we didn't have a problem here.

Just two things to bear in mind - firstly, it was very dry when we arrived and the ground was very hard. Bent quite a few tent pegs! Also the field is a bit sloping in parts and also a little uneven, which could be an issue if you were unlucky or pitched your tent in a particular spot on the pitch. The pitches are generously sized and clearly marked, however, so I don't think this is a major issue.

Locally, lovely little shops and a nice playground for the kids. Pubs etc we didn't get chance to sample, sadly! Overall, a really enjoyable stay. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alphonso De Lard 23 reviews from this member

 First time we've stayed at this site, and this will be a very positive review. It's a gem of a little site, well looked after, spacious pitches and clean facilities. We were booked onto a fully serviced pitch, plenty of room for awning and car. A great price too, 20 for two adults, fully serviced, peak season, only 2 a night extra for the junior Delard too. Great location, local shops in Morfa Nefyn within walking distance - recommend the shop behind the petrol station - great instore bakery with daily freshly made croissants and bara brith. Croissants were still warm when we bought them - great breakfast!

Locally, the beaches are stunning, Llanbedrog probably our favourite. The sea stays shallow for a long distance, and was actually warm, (we were lucky with the weather for most of the week we stayed here). Locally, we visited Pwllheli, Aberdaron, Abersoch, Portmadog and Criccieth. There's plenty of places of interest to visit, all within thirty minutes or so. Stunning scenery surrounds the site. Most of the beaches close by were National Trust owned, which for us is a bonus, as parking is free for members.

Had a great meal in the Y Bryncynan, two courses each, with plenty of drinks, came to 70. But, the mixed grill, wow! Well worth the hefty 18. 95 price tag - top of the money for a mixed grill - but what a meal! The rest of the family also chose well. Always had a busy car park whenever we passed, always a positive sign for a pub.

I was slightly concerned about the amount of showers, one in the gents/ladies. But, to be fair, in a week, I only queued once for a shower. Putting this into perspective, I've stayed on large five star sites, with multiple blocks, each containing multiple showers, and had to queue for longer, and for multiple times during a weeks stay. I never once found the facilities to be less than clean. The 50p meter for the shower did 'eat' a 50p for both myself and the OH, but we reported this to the site owner, (not for the refund necessarily - just to let him know it had a fault, but he refunded the money anyway and seemed a little disgruntled as he'd spent good money on replacing the box in order to try and provide better service to the customers. It only happened once for me, and luckily I had a spare 50p in my washbag - recommended tip. 7 minutes proved plenty of time for a shower, and I for one don't begrudge the cheaper pitch price and paying for a shower - comes under the pay for what you use rule.

There were a few seasonals, who one night were a little noisy, but generally they were all a pretty friendly bunch. The only negative for us, was a lack of a park for the kids to play ball in - our car was hit twice by a group of kids who decided to play cricket next to our van, rather than there own - but they moved on when they realised themselves that they perhaps chose the wrong place to play cricket. No harm done, just the lack of playing field. I would definitely be returning to this site if we visit this part of Wales again, all positive, from the welcome, booking in process, cost, and the site itself. 


Previous     44 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Tyn Y Coed Touring Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Tyn Y Coed Touring Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Tyn Y Coed Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Pwllheli      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4543 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement