Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Bowfield Farm Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Co Durham > Barnard Castle > Bowfield Farm Certificated Site Reviews

Bowfield Farm Certificated Site
Boldron
Barnard Castle
Co Durham   (Browse area)
DL12 9SU
Tel: 01833 695245
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 15
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 22 Reviews
                9/10 from 22 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Varaderoxlv1000 29 reviews from this member

 We have just spent 10 nights on this lovely site on the edge of the Yorkshire Dales, and without question, our pitch provided us with fantastic views (the best ever on any site we've used) of the Dales which can be accessed by turning right out of site entrance and keeping right at the first fork on the road and 2 miles further on you have the most fantastic views as you travel towards Reeth (good facilities for tourism here). The site facilities were excellent on this working farm, and it was a pleasure chatting with the owner Mark. We will definitely stay here again when in the area. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nickson71 1 review from this member

 Fantastic campsite! this was just what we were looking for. Small friendly site, very amenable with children. The owner was amazing. Went beyond the call of duty to make both ours and another family's holiday really special. Toilets and showers were great (large, hot/cold water and limitless supply of toilet roll) they also had a freezer so we managed to keep our cool box running all week.

Would go again?. Definitely 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gpiesw3 1 review from this member

 This campsite is a little gem, it's only a field on a working farm but it is ace. Flat pitches the whole field, fantastic views, brilliant star gazing, campfires permitted if raised off the ground. The showers could put many a hotel to shame. Easy reach of Barney & North Yorkshire, very tranquil location. Football posts in field, treehouse and friendly farm dog & owners. Excellent for kite flying. Loved it and will return very soon-Fiona 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kev_mach 3 reviews from this member

 Had a really enjoyable weekend here. The family who run the farm and site are really friendly. The pitches are really big, we have a huge family tent and there was still room to spare. All the pitches are on flat land and the electric hook ups if you are using them are close by. The ground is pretty stone free, so pitching your tent isn't a problem.

The toilet facilities and shower was spot on. No complaints at all here. There are also plenty of leaflets available ranging from things to do in the area as well as a number of takeaway menus.

If there's enough water in the river there's a couple of nice spots where you can relax there, as well as a couple of footpaths you can walk from straight from the campsite. Take a map though! The kids enjoyed feeding the animals, playing football on the footie pitch and watching the farm tractor at work.

The only issue we had was with the midges, but I guess at this time of year you'd be very lucky to find a campsite that doesn't have this issue! We had no problems with the site been located next to a (very quiet) country lane.

All in all a great campsite and we'll definitely be going back again! 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Broomfield House 1 review from this member

 This is a small quiet site with excellent facilities and great views. There are plenty of birds across the fields which you can see flying about. The road that passes the site is quiet and also provides good access from the A66. The owners are very friendly and we intend to stay again in the near future.

Only comment is some people may prefer the facilities to be cleaner.

There is a good walk beside the river down the road from the site which takes just over an hour. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Oneblackleg 1 review from this member

 This was our first trip away this year. Site is lovely, field is nice and flat with amazing views over the hills. Toilets and showers were really lovely. We rarely use on site facilities unless exceptional and we used them here. Unfortunately weather was against us (as is often the way) and it started to snow and snow and snow. We ended up having to leave the van and return 3 weeks later to collect. The family were amazing, nothing was too much trouble and they helped tow the van of the field (still too much snow for our car). This site is our ideal, nice and quiet and peaceful, even though it's a working farm, and not too many people. We intend to use this site again and again even in bad weather - this is Britain so we should be used to it by now. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Culligan68 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a 4 night stay at this farm which we stumbled across by accident after a nightmare on another site. What a find ! Very friendly people. Excellent views. Excellent facilities. We can't rate this place highly enough. Whilst we were there the cows escaped which we helped round up, which we really enjoyed. A very relaxing and enjoyable stay which we shall be repeating as soon as we can. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Coll26 10 reviews from this member

 We booked a 2 night stay on this Certificated Site with friends. Site itself is easy to find as literally off A66 then follow road for a few mile. Beautiful scenery, very peaceful.

However, after a day of heavy rain showers a fair bit of surface water was evident and even by end of stay some still hadn't drained. We had EHU pitches and were camped at the top end of field (furthest away from farm buildings). 15 per night, no extra for the dog or little one so very reasonable.

The owners were away for our stay (which we knew as we were told when we booked) but his family were on hand to make us a cuppa while pitching in the wind and rain which was really nice.

Facilities comprised of 2 outbuildings, one housed 2 loos, dishwash sink/area plus an area with local info leaflets and the other contained again a dishwashing area and 2 bathrooms with loo, sink, large shower cubicle (just like at home!). At the time of our visit handwash wasn't available in every loo and as mentioned before no hand drier but a towel for use. I would like to see a mop and bucket in each of the outbuildings as the floor was pretty dirty as was the board that you step out of the shower onto.

There are 2 goals on the field for children to play football etc.

I should also mention the amount of midges and flies (as its a working farm) we encountered, there were also quite a lot in the bathrooms too as doors etc were left open.

As far as things to do in the area there isnt a huge amount for kids. There is Thorpe Farm approx 5-10 min drive away, another farm/play area/coffee shop off A66, although we didn't visit either during our short stay. Had a nice walk around centre of Barnard Castle and down by river and kids had a play in the park there also.

Overall, nice site with good facilities. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Elliottsmam 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a two night stay at Bowfield farm. Although we pitched our tent in the rain we thought the ground would soon dry out the next day as the forecast was for warm sunshine. However after a full day of sun and a dry night we found the ground was still pretty soggy, the fact that the grass was quite long probably didn't help.

The toilets, shower and washing up area were clean and modern although there was no handwash in one of the toilets. And as the lights were motion sensor operated they kept going out whilst I was in the shower leaving me in darkness.

On a brighter note it was good value for money at only 15 per night with ehu. And although the owner was away their relatives looking after the place were really helpful and friendly even making us a cup of tea while we were pitching in the rain.

It is a small site on a working farm and our son enjoyed visiting the sheep. There is also a little football pitch where he played with his little friend.

Not far from Barnard Castle but as only there for two nights didn't really explore much further than that.

Would we go back? Yes but only if we knew it was going to be dry as the field drainage did let it down a bit. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rugbyace 5 reviews from this member

 One of the best little sites we have stopped on in 30 years of caravanning. The site is set among a working farm and was great.

The toilets / showers would not be out of place in a 4 star hotel. A review left previous said the field is small! I don't know which field they were in but the one we had was extra large, stacks of room for the 5 units and still room for the kids football pitch, which was a good distance from the units.

Mark and his wife were there if needed and always happy to stop and chat. As we live close by we will be back. 


Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Bowfield Farm Certificated Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bowfield Farm Certificated Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Bowfield Farm Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Barnard Castle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Co Durham

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2562 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement