Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Grace Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Lincolnshire > Gainsborough > Grace Park Reviews

Grace Park
Laughton Road
Blyton
Gainsborough
Lincolnshire   (Browse area)
DN21 3LQ
Tel: 07503 471947  or  07769 174890
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 15
Open: 14/02 To 14/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 23 Reviews
                9/10 from 23 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <10 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  23 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alfmeo 1 review from this member

 Stayed just one night as new to touring caravans and wanted to practice our setting up procedure again following a successful 3 night maiden outing recently. We store our van here and find the wardens to be friendly and very helpful. The facilities are clean, warm and the site represents good value, particularly if 7 nights are booked for 100. Enjoyed a lovely lunch and ice cream at Blyton ice cream parlour (50 flavours) 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: A33272 1 review from this member

 Stayed at Grace Park recently for the weekend.

Firstly trying to make contact with someone to check for free pitches isnt easy. Rang the contact number several times and it just goes straight to answerphone, left a message asking to be rang back but this never happened. I then emailed which toke 2 days to get a reply, replied back asking for a pitch with hook up which I then had to email aagin to get a confirmation.

On arrival the roadside signs could do with a repaint and over hanging bushes cleared.

Check in at reception, well that didn't happen. Reception building looks more like a storage shed now, only people I could see were caampers who pointed out a man cleaning the bins as site warden.

Wasnt very helpful didn't know of the booking and the hook up request so assume he wasn't the person I made email contact with. Didnt seem to intrested in showing us a pitch and just said down there somewhere.

After this everything was fine, warden seemed like a differant person next day nice and friendly (maybe because he wanted my money). Nice shower/toilet block, maybe tiles and toilets could do with a wipe down daily when the floors are mopped.

Over all if your just after a no thrills site to pitch where you have activities planned in the area its fine.

A trip to the ice cream factory IS A MUST 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mjjones17 19 reviews from this member

 Bit of a strange one this one, fitted our needs great but first impressions not best. Grass all over grown no one at reception and big ISO container one of first things you see.

Negatives:-

First impressions

Whilst not dirty facilities were only cleaned every other day and not everyone as clean as each other etc

Lots of dead spiders/flies in all light shades

Not the site you could just chill around the van for a day

Hot water bit hit n miss at times

Positives:

Great location for us personally

Nice size pitches

Lovely quite site even though it on main road

Great little village of Blyton, pub take away, ice cream parlour

Seemed child friendly lots of open space 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: VickyReader 1 review from this member

 We recently did a charity walk from Sheffield children's hospital and Grace campsite, Gainsborough was the half way point.

All of the walkers stayed over in tents which the managers kindly gave us discount for and a donation towards the charity.

The managers were very kind and helpful, our stay was perfect.

We all said we would definitely visit again. The facility's were great and very clean.

Big thank you to Grace Campsite.

We will definitely recommend to friends/family.

Vicky Reader & Mark Meanwell 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lolocamper 1 review from this member

 Pitched at this site for 1 night to try out new tent with partner & 2 children. We paid 15 for pitch & 3 for 2nd car, no electric hook up.

The site is easy to find & on the main road from Gainsborough to Scunthorpe.

Site clean & well kept, we arrived early so reception closed but notices outside the reception advised who to call etc. No one came to collect payment & on the morning we packed up we had to find out where the warden was to pay which we managed through the power of deduction.

Toilet/shower block clean & supplied with plenty of toiletries. There is a area to wash pots which also supplies liquid for those little emergencies.

Only fault is that the site is located on a busy road, the only place to pitch tent is close to the road. During the day we didn't really hear the noise but at night it made it difficult to sleep.

Would recommend this site for a short stay. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tel and mand 7 reviews from this member

 Just had a great weekend at this site weather was perfect, three caravans and six of us in party had a great relaxing weekend. Facilities here are reasonably good could just do with a bit more detail in the cleaning but nothing serious. Would definitely return. Site could do with a play area for children to give it a more family friendly atmosphere, plenty of grass area for kids to run around shop and ice cream parlour about a mile away. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JackieAJ 21 reviews from this member

 Just returned home after a short stay. Hard standing pitches were fine. Plenty of parking space along side your unit. Some noise from the road which was quite close by. In the other direction was open countryside with pleasant walks.

Facilities were new last year and of a very high standard, but in our 3 days there did not seem to have been cleaned. The 'warden' lived on site in a static but we rarely saw him. On our last night some young teenagers turned up in a tent, and flooded the gents shower room and took over the kitchen as it was cold outside overnight. The warden had left the site early morning and had not bothered checking the state of the facilities.

Highly recommended was a walk to the local pub (Ingram Arms). We had a lovely Sunday lunch (served 12 till 8pm) all homecooked and very tasty for the price of 7. 50. Very busy, so booking may be advisable?

The bus to Lincoln from the local village took just over one hour and cost 7. 20 per adult return which was an excellent day out.

The site was very good value for money, as if you stayed for 2 nights you got one night free (if booked through UKCampsite.co.uk website). 


Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Kaandbr 3 reviews from this member

 First time in our camper van so we went local just 20 mins away and where I was brought up.

the campsite is quiet, tidy and spacious, just 4 other caravans, toilet block was very clean and tidy, showers hot and free, the rooms we're warm too.

Next day we went to Gainsborough and Blyton for ice cream, then wonderful meal at 3 horse shoes Scotton.

There is not much for kids to do but we didn't bring ours.

I would recommend this site and area to anyone and the only thing spoiling it was the weather as it rained and snowed all weekend 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gary01 6 reviews from this member

 Very pleased to have found this newly opened site which provided just what what the doctor would have ordered (not literally) and what we both needed - a peaceful break in nice surroundings.

The Park:

Tree boundaries, small and mostly peaceful site half a mile past the little village of Blyton and 4-5 miles from Gainsborough.

Has Ten EHU's available - some of those taken up by resident caravan owners.

There is a new toilet / shower / wash block in which there is also a washing machine and tumble dryer - nice touch. The toilets and showers are new as stated but need more regular and thorough cleaning or I feel the new look won't last too long - a few more shower hooks would be a positive consideration too, I think.

The showers are powered with decent hot water. The water from the hand-washing taps becomes extremely hot and caution needs to be taken - especially with young ones.

There is no play area or shop on the site

On arrival;

I drove on to the site and sought out the site warden; a helpful chap who welcomed me, indicated where best to set the tent up advised me where to park my vehicle when set up, took payment - bish-bash-bosh, done!

The Area:

We found Blyton to be a lovely wee village - well, the 2 pubs to be more precise - which are a ten minute walk away as is the famous Blyton Ice Cream factory/shop. Also we tried the local chinese take-away on two occasions which serves great food - worth trying for sure.

A few miles down the road is Gainsborough which has a large Tesco's and shopping area with ample parking - while these are very handy you can notice the high street shops that have closed and make parts of the town look run down.

Our experience:

Now then, who would expect to be the sole inhabitants of a camping site (barring the warden)for four days in August - well that is what we got. The weather forecast promised poor weather - rain every day of the week with Thunderstorms, but in fact it was Sunny most of the time - Glorious, we experienced one hour of rain throughout the holiday (in the daytime).

We liked the fact that we could travel to some nice places - including Cleethorpes without hours of travelling involved.

There is some noise from the main road but not overly noticeable really - there is a biker who travels past 3-4 times a day, and whose exhaust is not silenced - but again, not really annoying.

This said, two low-flying propeller aircraft didn't half make us jump out of bed about 7am one morning - but this never happened again

There are no rules, or I just couldn't find them, especially regarding noise levels and shut-off times - which is great for some, but can be very difficult for others - especially when kept awake or woken well into the wee hours (around 3am) which we experienced on our final night (although a group member politely apologised the following morning, it has to be said and they did turn the music down to a low audible level, when asked)

Overall:

We would visit this great wee site again and recommend it as we thoroughly benefited from the peace and sense of isolation for a few days.

This site will mature and become more popular over the next few years I'm sure. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Quinny 3 reviews from this member

 As I frequent motor sports events at the nearby airfield regularly throughout the year, and have only just got into caravanning, I didn't want to stay at the airfield on this occasion, as it was my clubs biggest event of the calendar, and the noise at night from people who do stay can be a bit much when you are an official that is on his feet for around 12 hours in the day, so this site opening up is a godsend for me, my mate and his son who officiate with me.

Firstly, I made an enquiry online about a week before, and it was answered within minutes at 10pm at night! Good start. Further communications were answered just as quick, even when I phoned to book, and left an answer machine message, it was answered with an email confirmation instead to my phone very quickly. Using technology quickly like this is the way forward.

Booked for 2 days, and turned up to find nobody initially to greet me, and didn't realise that Chris was in the large static that is on the site as you drive around the track, so I parked myself on the pitch nearest the toilet block, and then like the shopkeeper in Mr. Benn, Chris appeared and introduced himself, and I asked him if were I parked was ok, and he didn't have a problem with it.

Now bearing in mind for me the site was only a sleeping base as I was on the airfield, I can only give you a review based on what I used/needed, so it reflects my stay.

The toilet block was absolutely immaculate, and while there was only 2 sinks, it was ample for our use, as were the 2 showers and 2 toilets. In busy times it may pose a problem. Hooks in the toilet area would have been helpful as there is nowhere to hang anything, and I'm sure if Chris reads this he will install a small rack with say, half a dozen on in time, and as has been said a soap dispenser for after toilet use. The hot air hand dryer appeared not to be working as well. These were the only things that let it down in my opinion, but were not the be all and end all. The utility room had a new washer and dryer, and while we didn't use them, they were free to use.

The pitches are hard standing, and the electric points are virtually next to the caravan, however these are limited in number so if you plan to stay, book early to guarantee.

Children are not catered for insofar as there is nothing for them to do, but as my kids are nearly adults and won't be with me when I stop in the area again, it isn't a problem to me.

So would I stay again? Absolutely. I'm a fussy person when it comes to facilities and that is probably due to over 25 years in transport, and washing/showering in some grubby places, so this is a breath of fresh air, and if other sites in my 'new hobby' of caravanning are like this, then I can't wait. Sure the A159 is nearby but is hardly a problem really, and to be honest at night it is so quiet you can hear owls hooting, so if you want peace on a night, then you can't go wrong.

Chris is a really nice guy and likes his fishing, so if your into that, then I'm sure he will be a wealth of information as to where is best in the locale. 


Previous     23 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Grace Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Grace Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Grace Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Gainsborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lincolnshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1452 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement