Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Camping Le Port De Limeuil

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Aquitaine > Alles Sur Dordogne > Camping Le Port De Limeuil Reviews

Camping Le Port De Limeuil
Rue Du Port
Alles Sur Dordogne
Aquitaine   (Browse area)
24480
Tel: 0033 0553632976
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 99
Open: 01/05 To 24/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 20 Reviews
                9/10 from 20 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TTurtle 2 reviews from this member

 This for us is pretty much the perfect campsite and we have been twice but many have returned year after year after year.

This is why:

* Site's location is ideal. It is at the confluence of the Dordogne and Vezere rivers with pebble beach at the edge of campsite. We spent many an afternoon getting into the river by the bridge and gently floating a couple of hundred metres downstream. Safe enough to do this with our 4 and 7 year olds who loved it.

* Site is also on the other side of the river from the village of Limeuil (categorised as one of Les Plus Beaux Villages de France'). It has a couple of nice restaurants and a cafe bar where you can sit in their terrace while gazing at an amazing view down the Dordogne. One of the restaurants is up at the top end of the village and has a great little patio to sit out and dine.

* Lots to do nearby. Great markets. Limeuil and Boussin du Cadoin have great night ones with live bands. Lots of caves to visit dating back to prehistoric times. You can canoe down the river. Canoes can be hired from next to the campsite. They drop you off upstream and it's up to you how long you take to get back, stopping off for drinks or picnics along the way. Lots of other beautiful gardens and villages to visit nearby too. Also great waterpark built in the middle of a lake near Le Bugue.

* The site has a a decent pool, although it does get very busy. It's not heated but is great to cool down in on sunny days. The bar is nice - built in the old farm building next to the house - with a good terrace overlooking play area and swimming pool. Also takeaway next to there to, where you can sit and eat in the bar/terrace.

All in all a great site. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: David Klyne 227 reviews from this member

 To find site:- From the D25 at Le Buisson de Cadouin take the D51 towards Le Bugue (Perigueux). Turn left onto D51 to Limeuil, signed to campsite. On approach to Limeuil turn left over Dordogne River bridge and site on right in about 300 metres. Its best not to approach the site from the Alles sur Dordogne direction as you have to tow a longer distance along narrow roads.

Camping Le Port de Limeuil has a lovely situation right on the Dordogne River opposite the village of Limeuil and where the Vézère joins the Dordogne. The site has some magnificent mature trees, almost park like in character, which provides a lot of shade but could make getting a satellite signal difficult. Later in the year you might want to select a pitch with a more open aspect to appreciate the warmth of any sunshine. There are around 100 pitches which in the main are on low terraces facing towards the river. They are mainly of a good size and some generous. Electrics around the site vary with a mix of Continental 2 pin sockets and the more modern CEE17 standard blue Euro connector. Ampage also varies between 5 and 10 amps. Even on the same bollard there can be 6 and 10 amp rated connectors. Water points are provided in good numbers. There are some statics and tour operators on site. At Reception is a small shop selling essentials and bread, there is also a bar, both open throughout the season, and in the main season there is a takeaway. Across from Reception is a nice swimming pool complex. Children are well catered for with a playground and games room. The site has a free WiFi point near the bar, although I managed to pick up a good signal at the caravan some 100 metres away. This campsite accepts the ACSI Card in the low season which offers particularly good value. Date of visit late September 2010.

From the site you are not more than 25 miles away from most of the Dordogne tourist attractions and many are nearer. There is a canoe hire station adjacent to the campsite. The nearest shopping and fuel is at the Intermarche in La Bugue about 4 miles away. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Susiejane 22 reviews from this member

 A beautiful site and unlike one of the previous reviewers, we did not find it dusty or dirty at all. The pitches were large and grassy. The medieval town of Limeuil is opposite and well worth the short walk across the two bridges over the Vezere and Dordogne rivers

The river appeared to be flowing fast but a kayak trip proved this was not so! We did have to paddle! The trip was made easy as we went from the beach at the site and were picked up 2 hours later at Tremolat.

We also visited the night market at Cadouin. This is not really a market but a huge open air eating market! We were advised to take our own plates, cutlery and glasses etc as you only get paper plates there. There was live music and a wide choice of food and wine, a very enjoyable evening.

We also visited Sarlat for a guided tour in English.

We were very lucky to have very hot weather so the matter of heated swimming pools did not matter! I would agree that there were a lot of Dutch people but they were all very friendly, as were the reception staff who phoned to make a booking for us on the steam train at Martell.

The only thing I had reservations about, was that there were not very many toilets or showers, having said that we never had to queue for either. We would definitely consider caravanning here again. All of the Dordogne region is within easy reach. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gill64c 5 reviews from this member

 I concur with the comments made by other reviewers about facilities, canoeing etc. The location of the site is second-to-none. However, there are 'negatives' that will stop us from returning, as follows:-

1. The terrain is rather dusty/dirty and as a result our caravan became v dirty inside. The toilet/shower blocks almost always had dirt on the floor so clean feet were virtually impossible. The showers themselves were variable in their water pressure, one inparticular was hopeless!

2. The other campers were predominantly dutch or english. One night we played in a Petanque/Boules competition. There were 14 dutch teams, 1 english team and 1 french team. It didn't feel like France to us!

3. Customer care was rather lacking at times.

We enjoyed our stay but feel that there are other sites that suit us better. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JJEE 2 reviews from this member

 This is a beautiful site, it is located on the banks of the dordogne(where the vezere and dordogne join)and over looks the picturesque village of limeuil.

Limeuil has 3 restaurants, a little market which holds night markets.

Our good sized pitch overlooked the river and grassy play area which was a very good size for playing frisby,football though there was a separate football filed away from the main camping area.

The site is mainly dutch and british(more dutch when we were there).

It has daily activities including canoeing from site,bikes etc.

The pitches are spacious with shade, 2 play areas.

Quiet time at 11pm(I think) well observed.

3 pools, all quite cold but popular.My children preferred swimming in the river though.

My 2 negatives would be

1. 50% of mine and my children's showers were cold.

2. One of the 2 toilet blocks need upgrading.It was clean but communal and quite tired with only 3 ladies toilets so occasionally had to queue for the toilet.

Overall it is a site I would definitely return to as there are lots of places close by we didn't get to visit. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Bridie 99 reviews from this member

 A lovely site in wonderful position at confluence of Dordogne and Vezere rivers. We were given a warm welcome and invited to choose our pitch. We chose one with lovely view across river to the hill village of Limeuil. Cycled to Limeuil easily and enjoyed citron presse at bar by river after exploring village, which is beautiful.Wash blocks clean and lots of hot water for showers.Swimming pools very pleasant.Shop had all you need.Would stop off there again. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Firstclass67 38 reviews from this member

 I liked this site very much and will happily return here. It is very well maintained and friendly. There were a lot of different nationalities here. The owners are French but there was an English Eurocamp rep here who was very willing to help people out.

The pools are unheated but nice to sit by and swim in when the weather is hot.

The shop is well stocked and reasonably priced. The snack bar is reasonable although we didnt like the chips. Too hard.

Limeuil is a short and very enjoyable walk over 2 bridges. They have a nice little market on Sunday mornings, and there was a night market with music and entertainment on Thursday when we were there. The village is beautiful and well worth walking up. I say up because it is situated on the side of hill. If you do go, be sure to visit the lovely gardens at the top of the hill where the chateau once stood.

We had a very nice meal in the bar beside the river, and on two Sunday mornings had coffee at a little cafe up the hill in the town.

The highlight for me was canoeing down the Dordogne. You are taken from the site to one of three drop offs, and then you just have to canoe back to the campsite. We went twice - a long trip in 2 canoes, then a shorter one so my kids could have a go on their own in kayaks. We picnicked and swam at La Buisson before taking our time idling down the river, chasing kingfishers and just having a wonderful relaxing paddle. Can't wait to go again next year! 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Karende 7 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from this lovely site after spending 12 nights here for the last two weeks in August. We found it ideal for our family, clean facilities, well drained pitches and boy did we have some rain the first week.
Site is on the banks of the Dordogne and has its own river beach where they allow beach BBQ's but after so much rain in our first week the river was too high and most of the beach had disappeared. River is great for paddling, messing about in dinghy's and canoeing. Local area is lovely we enjoyed a Firework display in La Bugue and a night market in Le Boussion (sp).
Would definatley be going back in the near future. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Thumper67 3 reviews from this member

 We went with our 3 kids & our friends & their 3 kids, pitched at the edge of a playing field and spent the first two weeks in August weeks having a great time. Highlights were canoeing down the Dordogne & Vezere & swimming in the river. Great small friendly site, but with so many Dutch you could be camping in Holland! If you dont need to hook up you can camp right down by the river. Facilities do get a bit overcrowded, and if its raining also a bit muddy. The pools aren't heated which could be a bit chilly, but they were nicely laid out. The shop was well stocked. The bar was busy in the evenings. Takeaway food was good but pricey. We like this site because its small and quiet and right by the river and the beautiful little village of Limeuil. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jonellis 7 reviews from this member

 Lovely spot, great for families.
fishing, canoe & Kayak hire available very nearby.
 
Lots of activities on site. Spent 1 week there and it should have been 2.
Not saying too much as its a small site and I want to get back in next year! - so don't go! 


Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping Le Port De Limeuil child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping Le Port De Limeuil have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Le Port De Limeuil?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping Le Port De Limeuil dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Alles Sur Dordogne      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Aquitaine

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5315 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020