Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Wasdale Head Inn Campsite ( Was Barn Door)

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Seascale > The Wasdale Head Inn Campsite ( Was Barn Door) > Reviews

The Wasdale Head Inn Campsite ( Was Barn Door)
Gosforth
Seascale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA20 1EX
Tel: 019467 26229
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 24 Reviews
                9/10 from 24 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <10 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  24 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: February 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Spiritburner 21 reviews from this member

 If you have a big tent please use the NT site down the road & leave this for those of us with small one/two person tents.

Sublime views, excellent pub who run the site. Toilets are excellent & much improved over past years when the the toilets behind the pub were the public loos. Now for the site only on a door code & clean, modern & way above the standard expected for a small, casual visit, hiker orientated site. Site is small & doesn't take bookings. 


Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bikerphil 16 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a night at the Wasdale Inn site. Brilliant! Sublime views, very reasonable prices at £5 per person and the toilets and shower facilities were spotless and very good. The food at the Inn (Ritson's Bar) is good and plentiful and there is a great selection of beer and spirits on offer. Our only drawback was that we had chosen to camp on a bitterly cold night! But having always camped down the road at the large camp site we found this one great, and nearer to the pub! Availability on a first come basis, and limited amount of tents. Highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Keaton01 2 reviews from this member

 This site is probably one of the best we have used. The views are spectacular, and the staff friendly and helpful. At £5 per person per night, you will be hard pushed to find better value. The reception in the hotel opposite the small camping field will take your payment, and deal with any questions or issues you may have in a friendly and helpful manner. They were happy to freeze our coolbox blocks and charge our camera batteries at no charge. As others have said, the facilities are clean and tidy, one men's toilet, one ladies and one disabled toilet which is in the shower room. The shower is £1 for 6 minutes - long enough to do what you need, hot and clean. The bar offers good food at a reasonable price, and decent beer (according to my husband!). Our dogs were welcomed both on the site and in the bar. Access to the field is over a small stile, and we had to carry our equipment from the car park but once it was there, it was there - no problem. We will definitely be going again. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Taxis Kendal 29 reviews from this member

 We stayed on a Monday night after checking out the views from this site and the National Trust site just down the road. The views from this site were much better thanks to less trees obscuring the wonderful mountain scenery.

There was very little road noise, and very little noise from other campers, despite the small site being quite busy. Most of the other campers were keen walkers.

The grass had been cut recently, the small field was very flat, drainage was good, pegs quite hard to put in (but gripped well). You have to carry your camping equipment from the car over a small stile into the field.

Payment was £10 for the two of us, at the hotel next door, which was open at 2pm, unlike the National Trust site. The attached pub served great real ale and Westons cider on draft, with friendly staff.

There were three toilets serving the whole site, including the disabled toilet which also enclosed the one shower (£1 to use). I washed the pans in one of two outside covered sinks, and had a body wash. The sinks in the toilets were too tiny for a wash. However, hot and cold water was plentiful, there was liquid soap and toilet paper in the toilets, and the facilities were clean. 


Date of Visit: January 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: PipeBloke 1 review from this member

 This campsite is an ideal jumping off point for Scafell Pike, as well as many iconic Lakeland mountains. The views are outstanding

This is my second stay at this site and I can thoroughly recommend it as a walker friendly site.

The tent field is across from the inn. Be aware that you will need to carry your kit from the inn car park to the field crossing a narrow stile. The tariff is £5/head/night.

The shower and dedicated camping toilet facilities are very modern and clean. There is a covered pot-wash area which in the lee of the inn which is generally clean and tidy.

The shop adjacent to the inn has pretty much everything you might need or have forgotten to bring with you, from basic foodstuffs to ice axes.

The night of my stay, there were gales and heavy rain. The weather comes straight off the Irish Sea and straight up Wasdale. As I arrived a couple of guys were packing up their tent having decided to transfer to the inn after their friends tent had blown away. The site was waterlogged but it has been a very wet autumn and winter in the lakes so it's not surprising.

The inn is warm and welcoming with a log burning stove in the bar. The bar food is ample, tasty, and reasonably priced

A note about the generator mentioned in a previous review - this was in place due to the mains supply cable which was laid along the lake bed having failed and the generator was installed as a temporary measure. The mains have been relaid and the generator has now gone. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: W4ndering-willy 1 review from this member

 My wife and I visited the Wasdale Head Inn campsite immediately after a Bank Holiday weekend, and despite being unable to book a pitch in advance, a quick phone call to the site indicated that there were plenty of pitches available.

Upon arrival, the hotel receptionist was very helpful in taking our booking. The camping field is quite small (about 50m²), but gratifyingly level, with pedestrian-only access via a narrow stile. There was limited car parking in the hotel forecourt, but with a little patience we secured a spot. However, the access restrictions to the field meant having to carry all our gear about 100m to our selected pitch.

The location is idyllic, situated at the top of the Wasdale valley, nestled between some spectacularly craggy hills. This suited us perfectly, as our intention was to walk Scafell Pike, which is very close by.

As our arrival was at the end of a very busy Bank Holiday, it was no surprise to find the single dumpster in the field filled to overflowing, which was drawing the attention of the local wasp population.

The toilet facilities were basic, with one small toilet for men and another for women, a single unisex shower / toilet (£1 for 6 mins hot water), and two under-cover sinks for washing up. The shower was adequate, although the floor was muddy and the toilet was prone to blockages. However, the limited facilities were strained by even the 15 or so campers there during our brief stay, so I'd question how they would cope with larger numbers. The lack of toilets and showers did appear to be a bit of a talking point with fellow campers.

Following a long day's walking, we decided to dine at the Wasdale Head Inn. The food was excellent, and much appreciated! The cost of a main course for two was an acceptable £25, with drinks in addition. It was a bustling little bar/restaurant that kept its staff very busy early evening and although the waiting staff were friendly, the bar staff did seem a little brusque at times.

There is a small shop on site selling walking gear and a limited range of foodstuffs. Although perfectly adequate, it opened after many people had departed for a day's walking and had closed prior to their return. This would be a better facility perhaps if they adjusted their opening hours to align more with demand. It is the only shop for miles after all!

With regard to child friendliness, children do not appear to be specifically catered for, other than a limited children's menu in the restaurant. We cannot comment on the Inn itself. However, there are no play areas or other entertainment but this wouldn't be expected on a site like this.

All in all, this was a happy, fun-filled trip, not spoiled by the basic facilities. I wouldn't hurry back just because of the paucity of the showers and toilets available on the campsite, but its greatest asset is undoubtedly its location. If you care about walking more than luxury, this place is ideal! 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Folkie 1 review from this member

 We stayed here right at the end of June, arriving on Thursday morning and leaving on Monday. It rained on and off for all of our stay, but we still had a really great time and did loads of walking.

The camping field was good and level, with hardly any stones and with fairly soft soil. When we arrived there were only a couple of other tents so we chose a spot near the hedge on the NE side. The prevailing wind, when it got up later, was up the valley from the SW but didn’t cause us any problems. Getting our kit over the stile wasn’t a problem but as it was raining there was a fair puddle just at that exact spot so we ended up with wet feet until we found our wellies. From Friday onwards there was a wheelchair user staying on site so the gate next to the stile was unlocked, which was a bonus!

There are male and female toilets (one of each) and a disabled toilet, so three in total. These are all new and only accessible to campers. The shower (£1 for six minutes) is in the disabled toilet cubicle/wet room. Note – there are no shaver or power points in any of them.

For our first two days and our last day there were only a few people staying and the facilities were easily sufficient. However over the weekend the site was packed and the single shower wasn’t enough. I felt sorry for the wheelchair user, who always had to queue because the shower was in permanent use. Another shower wouldn’t go amiss.

The Barn Door shop is great for camping bits and pieces, outdoor clothing, small gifts and emergency food supplies, but don’t expect any fresh food apart from milk.

The hotel bar (Ritson’s Bar) is large and has a stove in one room - great for drying off wet clothes and boots – I speak from experience! Very good food served until 8. 30pm, large portions, particularly huge ones of sticky toffee pudding. Great choice of beer. People who have visited previously will be pleased to know that there are now new toilets in Ritson’s Bar as well as outside. It also has payphones and free WiFi, particularly useful as there’s no phone reception for quite a few miles around. They serve breakfast for campers 8-10am at weekends. Well behaved dogs are welcome on the site and in the bar – they even keep a tin of dog treats on the bar.

The location is great for walking - most of the Wasdale walks seem to start from the hotel. We could have stayed twice as long and not done all we wanted to do. A bargain at £5 a night, less than half what the NT site would have cost. You can arrive at any time of the day or night, and if the hotel reception is closed (after 11pm) just go and pay them in the morning. Most people who arrived after dark were very considerate while we were there – only one party had to be told in no uncertain terms to be quiet!

No facilities at all for children, so they'd have to make their own entertainment.

All in all, a great little site and one we’ll gladly stay at again, although we’ll try to avoid summer weekends next time. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Danimarson 1 review from this member

 Stayed in late September after a couple of days of heavy rain, which meant that the ground was soft and being only a small level field, it didn't really matter where we placed our tent as every position was the same as the other! We used heavy duty winter ground pegs and were fine even in the strong gusts we encountered.

The site is open to the elements from the NE through to the S with the northern border being a high hedge and western being a dry stone wall bordering the road- we opted for a pitch next to the wall to help with the strong westerly winds which worked well but when it did rain, the runoff from the road drained straight into the field onto our pitch. Access to the field is via a stile, and approx 10yards from the car park.

The new facilities are located behind Ritsons Bar and are to a very high standard, all basins are stainless with hot & cold taps, hand dryers and a continual supply of anti-bacterial hand wash & tissue. You have access to one male & one female toilet, a single shower room (£1 for 6 mins all digitally locked only available to campers who pay at reception and receive the passcode) and covered sinks & drainers for pot washing. Around the back is also the breakfast bar area selling butties sat & sun 8-10 am. The website mentions 'no BBQs' but there is a hard standing area next to the entrance stile with a BBQ, which was used during our stay-you would have to enquire further to confirm.

The site doesn't cater for children and there are no amenities for little ones.

The Ritsons Bar is a friendly, cosy pub serving traditional and local beers and food, prices are very reasonable and I can say that all meals we tried were great and others that we didn't get to try looked fantastic! Don't expect a lock in or late bell tho-11pm is kicking out time!

Don't worry if you forget any gear-the BarnDoor shop next to the Inn is extremely well stocked, with everything from a size 3 Cam to milk!

All in all for £5 per person per night, extremely good value for such good facilities and some of the best scenery/walking/climbing to be had in the UK. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Riponrobertsons 8 reviews from this member

 As a last minute decision due to a good weather forecast on the Sunday of the bank holiday we decided to climb Scafell Pike and after reading previous reviews decided to stay at the Wasdale Head Inn for 1 night.

The campsite is excellent value for money and is a perfect location for climbing Scafell Pike, Pillar, Great Gable and many more. You pitch your tents in a field, leave your car in the carpark and climb over a stile to get to the camping field so I would recommend travelling light!

There is just 1 shower and 1 toilet for the sole use of campers but we never had an issue with queueing and they were very clean.

The pub is a welcome site after a days walking and the food is fantastic.

All the staff both in the hotel and the pub were extremely nice and friendly.

We had a great stay and will definitely be back to do more walking if the rain ever stops! 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kelvine 3 reviews from this member

 Having seen the forecast we decided to travel to the site on the Friday afternoon to stay for 2 nights rather than the usual one night that we stay when walking the fells. A good job we did, the camp site had the 'full' sign up by the time we got there at 7pm, a little bit of pleading and confirmation that our tents were small (2 x 2 man tents) and we were given the nod to try and squeeze our tents onto the field, which we successfully did. £3 per tent per night - bargain

Anyone who knows the area, the site and the pub will know how beautiful a place Wasdale and Wastwater are. Yes the site is as basic as it can be but the shower and the toilets at the pub (50 yards across the road) are fine and despite being very busy we didn't queue once.

The pub is as good as it's always been, the trek towards the Scafell masif was as busy as always. A little hint for the more experienced walker, take the corridor route up and back down, the scenery is simply stunning.

We will back late in the year for a further stay. 


Previous     24 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is The Wasdale Head Inn Campsite ( Was Barn Door) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Wasdale Head Inn Campsite ( Was Barn Door)?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is The Wasdale Head Inn Campsite ( Was Barn Door) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Seascale      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3749 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement