Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Troutbeck Head Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Penrith > Troutbeck Head Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Troutbeck Head Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Trout Beck Caravan Club Site
Penrith
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0SS
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 156
Open: 14/08/2021 to 03/01/2022
           14/08/2022 to 03/01/2023

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 73 Reviews
                8/10 from 73 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  73 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andyokeeffe 36 reviews from this member

 Mum, Dad, our 2 Children and our dog made an overnight stop at Troutbeck Head Caravan Club site during the Easter Weekend and came away with mixed feelings although overall we do wish to go back again.

We arrived and directions and check-in being straight forward and easy. We arrived late in the weekend and were forced onto one of the pitches that really were only included there to make money rather than be left as a grassed area.

I say this as levelling our van would have rendered the van door frame / step being to high from the steps so we had to settle on an uneven van for the night.

The site on the whole was lovely and the 2 playgrounds with the indoor games room adding to this wonderful site but the dog walk was a let down.

Upon arrival we were under the impression that there was a proper dog walking area but it turned out to be the grass verge alongside the approach road. However, a good walk can be found following club site directions to a forest not too far away.

I would agree with another report here that mentions the noise level at times. We had shotguns being fired and can only hope it was clay pigeon shooting at the adventure / activity centre next door which the site shares its approach road with.

The site offers discounts on the boats on the nearby Derwent Water and is great for Keswick.

Overall, we will being going back, but on a less busy weekend. 


Date of Visit: December 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Smithbern 18 reviews from this member

 Beautiful site well kept lovely wardens the views are fantastic, loads of birds so take some hanging bird feeders as we always do.

Some lovely walks just a very short drive away or you could walk straight from site and make it a little longer!

All the usual CC facilities and spotless wardens really nice and friendly loved the Christmas lights they put up.We never used the pool tables etc but looked in and it looked ideal if you have children, couple of nice play areas also

We will be back and cant wait to come back again at this time of year with the frost! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Slimseydy 33 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for bank holiday, got late booking from CC website. Wardens very helpful, lovely site, we pitched next to the stream at the back so was nice to watch. Unfortunatly we had that much rain it become a river by Monday. Did not overflow though ,was just rapid flowing.

Toilets were spotless, pitch was excellent, no wifi signal so could not use laptop. Tv was also useless, but they sold TV Cable on site for anyone not equipped that just plugs into the elec bollard. Only thing I can fault is the exit ,I don't have a heavy van but I pull it with a family saloon car, you have to stop at the bollard to leave, then its a sharp left turn & up a steep hill, got up but wheel spun all the way as the rain was heavy. Will go again,very happy. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pattison 2 reviews from this member

 Well what can I say - as usual the Caravan Club sites are always really good facilities and very friendly. There is even a games room for big and little kids

Lovely site very clean facilities and very helpful staff.

The weather was dreadful - torrential rain and winds above 22mph. I was so worried about the wind and rain taking the awning away I was up all night checking it. The next day I asked if the storm straps that were sold on site would be long enough for my awning explaining about the night before and it was decided that they may be a bit short. However one of the wardens came down with his own storm straps and fixed them across my awning. Fantastic and so helpful 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cheshire Cat 3 reviews from this member

 This is one of our favourites. This was our 3rd visit. Always managed to get on a serviced pitch at top of site. Very clean, neat and tidy. Good playgrounds and great dog walks up into the forests. Alarmed to find lot of forest had been felled since last visit making it look bleak. Rookin House next door offers some great activities but best to book before you come. We tried archery, quad biking, go-karts and the argocat. Convenient for M6 and for Keswick with Booths supermarket a must! Facilities are some of the best we have seen with large, well equipped shower cubicles. Staff always friendly and paper orders taken. Will return. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nyala69 22 reviews from this member

 We stayed on this site for 4 nights, it looked ok from what we saw of it, was confined to the caravan (rained non stop). Toilets were a strange setup but was kept nice and clean. There was a very good games room on site for the kids. The walk from the top of the site would have been a nice stroll in the woods, but woods have now been felled leaving it very barren. When you leave the site remember to take your barrier key back on foot (as there is no where to stop on exit of site with your car and caravan).  


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Scarletsfan 91 reviews from this member

 Site 1 of 5 on our North of England and Scotland Tour.

Access is easy off the M6 J40 and good A road to within a mile of the site. Site entrance is well sign posted and provided no access problems.

The site is set in a bowl high above the lakes and can be quite exposed, so storm straps for awnings are a must.

The site is mostly given over to large hard standing pitches (rock pegs are required) with some grass pitches in the centre, though these have limited use as the ground was quite boggy even in July. TV reception is poor but the EHU bollards have TV hook up.

There are 2 large toilet blocks and cleaning times are staggered. All the amenities were spotlessly clean at all times and coped admirably with a full site. The site has a useful games room with a few gaming machines, pool tables and a table tennis table.

Reception sold a few odds and ends but for any shop a 10 mile trip into Penrith is needed and the nearest Caravan spares shop is a 50 mile round trip.

Good dog walks on site and very friendly and helpful wardens. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kargus 36 reviews from this member

 Well we stayed for a week here and loved every minute, and we were on the serviced pitches which were at the better end of the site as there is only around 30 ish and you wouldn't know that the site had over 100 pitches. It was so quiet. Dog walk was fab, up our end, you can walk all the way into Matterdale woods. The dog walk outside of reception out the gate is ok, but not big. You have Rookin Hall Farm next door, which provides Archery, Quad Biking, Horse Riding, Clay Pidgeon shooting, and its just outside the entrance to the caravan site.

Toilets and showers marvellous, always clean, and plenty of room, only had to queue once for about 10 mins in the morning b4 they closed for cleaning. The other shower block closes for cleaning at a different time so always one available. The staff were all pleasant and friendly, no problems at all. Listening to the babbling brook was lovely, the dogs have had a ball.

Some statics up near our end, but only about 10 pitches and too were vacant without statics at all, and only 3 families visited the others whilst we were there, but all very quiet and peaceful. You can get some great photos from the dog walk of stunning scenery. Visited Keswick, Ullswater, all thru the little villages, had a pint in Ambleside, weather was absolutely great, only one wet day, and even that was stunning. Will defo be back to this site, and the area itself. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tigs+MagsMum 1 review from this member

 Just returned from our 12 night stay at the site. The site is very clean and well maintained by the wardens who are all very pleasant.

There were two toilet/shower blocks that were always very clean although along way to walk for those at the top of the site.

The dog walk is a large grass verge that runs along the entrance lane to the site, ok for morning and night time visits. At the other end of the site there is a little walk that will take you on a loop, through a gate to the edge of the forest, along a little lane, back down the main road to the front entrance of the site. About a 20 minute steady walk.

We stayed on a serviced pitch and found those pitches a little on top of each other and not really with any views. We struggled with the drainage so ended up using the wastemaster anyway. Standard pitches however seemed better laid out, most of which had great views.

There was a playroom for children and play area outside with climbing frame. Information room is located in the children's playroom, there is a little map on the wall showing locations of places to eat and there are menus in the book in there.

The site is well positioned off the A66 for trips out and not far from Penrith and the supermarkets.

We had a mouthwatering meal at The Troutbeck Inn, well worth a visit. I would stay at this site again but on a standard pitch and only for a short break or as a stop off if travelling to Scotland. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: M+M Tours 32 reviews from this member

 First visit to this site, & this part of the Lakes, & have to say very impressed. We were lucky to come during the heatwave & had a fantastic week. We found the site to be ok,nice drive down from the A66,but far enough not to hear any road noise, very quiet at night. Middle pitching area did seem a little cramped, but lower down we pitched by a stream & it felt more relaxed & a little more spread out.

Facilities seemed ok so no complaints. Nice view to Blencathra, but didn't seem to be too many walks direct from the site.S pent every day out & about visiting all the Lakes, a couple of cruises, plenty of walks & a morning climbing Great Gable. Buttermere has to be one of the nicest places to spend a day.

It has taken a while for us to discover the Lakes, & felt this a better site than Park Coppice at Coniston which is strangled by too many trees & not enough open space to enjoy the sun. So nice to sit out until 10 at night.

Can highly recommend a meal at the Troutbeck Inn just up the road, fantastic food ( when we were there ), if a tad pricey. As good a holiday as we have had, & we will return to this site again. 


Previous     73 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Troutbeck Head Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Troutbeck Head Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Troutbeck Head Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Penrith      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3406 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement