Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Castle Camping Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Staffordshire > Mow Cop > Castle Camping Certificated Site Reviews

Castle Camping Certificated Site
Congleton Road
Mow Cop
Staffordshire   (Browse area)
ST7 3PL
Tel: 01782 522604  or  07539 682202
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 5 Vans +10 Tents
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 24 Reviews
                9/10 from 24 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  24 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Geegee46 8 reviews from this member

A great little stopover with stunning views. Follow the directions from their website rather than your sat nav. Sloping in places but some level pitches and some hardstanding.

The toilet and shower facilities are fantastic and very clean. Harry the owner is very friendly and welcoming and its great to see how they have developed the site. Great value at £15 including ehu.

A nice walk to the castle ruins about 15 mins away although the path a little overgrown but definitely worth going on a good day for the 360 degrees views for miles.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Hecate105 7 reviews from this member

Superb views in every direction! It really is an impressive place. The Gritstone Trail is adjacent and only a short walk to the Old Man of Mow and the Castle. Level pitches with electric. The best shower/loo facilities I've ever seen. Friendly staff.

Biddulph Gardens are nearby - and are excellent! We also visited Stoke-On-Trent from here, which meant a bracing 3 mile walk to the train station, but also a longer, gorgeous walk along the canal and back up the famous 'killer mile' which hardy locals run each year. !

A site with a difference!

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Wibplus 1 review from this member

We stayed at this lovely site, with our folding camper, in April. The staff were friendly and very helpful and the site is fairly easy to access and has hard standings and grass pitches with EHU available. The toilet and washing facilities are absolutely superb (probably built by Carlsberg, if Carlsberg built facilities) and possibly the best we have seen.

It is a bit windy, due to being on a hilltop but easily compensated by the superb views of the surrounding area. Two pubs are within walking distance and very welcoming too.

All in all, a highly recommended site and we will certainly visit there again.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mrs. Bonce 247 reviews from this member

A very nice site with excellent facilities for a CS (won best facilities 2016). Easy enough to get to, but DON'T rely on satnav which will take you via the A34 and then along narrow steep roads up to Mow Cop. Use the instructions on their website.

The site is quite sloping, with great views, but the caravan/motorhome hardstandings are terraced into the slope and are flat.

There are plenty of footpaths/tracks all around Mow Cop, one directly from the site (near the loos), for dog walking and plenty more such as around Knypersley reservoir (don't miss the waterfall on the headwaters of the Trent) and along the Macclesfield canal.

There is a good Sainsburys in Biddulph, which is otherwise an uninspiring town, Morrisons in Congleton and Tesco in Kidsgrove, so you won't starve. There is a Texaco garage on the A527 near the junction of the road up to Mow Cop. One small shop in the village about a mile from the site.

The only problem we had was the wind, but the site owners can't help that, it is about 1, 000 feet up after all.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paul Cornforth 3 reviews from this member

The owner was very helpful on arrival explaining the facilities and taking payment. As other reviewers have stated the toilet and shower block have been newly built and are of a high standard, however the rest of the facilities would benefit from some attention including the removal of the old building machinery and materials etc that are adjacent to the toilet block. The roads accessing the camp site are quite narrow and would be a problem if meeting another caravan coming from the opposite direction.

The site has spectacular panoramic views of the surrounding county side that also look impressive in the evening.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ZIZAG 26 reviews from this member

Stayed her whilst walking the Gritstone trail. Which Is right nearby.

This Is a very friendly site. Staff are very welcoming.

The Amenities are one of the best I've seen and used. Toilets and showers.

Immaculate and kept lovely and clean.

Even towels provided, And a tray for lost Items Lots of leaflets for places to visit. All well thought out, for good camping Ideas.

The tent Pitches are not marked out.

But Its obvious where the designated areas are for caravans and motorhomes.

There is a slope to the site and It rises to a terraced area with a dry wall backing onto to It.

This I used as a wind break for my tent, with extra guy ropes. As It was very windy.

As Its up on the high points of the Staffordshire moorland with great views

There are lots of walks and Hiking areas close by.

The Staffordshire moorland walk crosses the North Cheshire way, and The Gritstone trail Also.

This Is an Ideal Base to stay to explore.

As well for Cyclists touring.

All in all a lovely Campsite. I would Highly Recommend.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: The mitchells 10 reviews from this member

Not a lot can be added to the reviews. If you have a caravan some of the pitches might be tight with a full awning, although they are level. Views are stunning on a good day, especially at Mow Cop castle, site could be a bit exposed on a bad day in a tent. Facilities are as good as they could get for a CS/CL. Make sure you follow the sites directions not the sat nav. I kept ignoring my sat nav to turn right, coming from Congleton. Went into Biddulph, not a great deal there whether that's because there is a big Sainsburys taking all the trade. Biddulph Gardens close by (National Trust), and just a bit further up the road is the Biddulph grange country park which has several good walks for all abilities. Plenty of places to walk the dog of a lead within a couple of minutes walk from the site. Would I go again Yes even the 2 hour delay was quickly forgotten once we arrived.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Paul+kate s-o-t 17 reviews from this member

Had a great weekend here

First time on a ccc cs and it felt really nice to be back on a proper friendly campsite

The facilities are amazing some of the best we've seen and used.

The tent area is on a bit of a slope but that didn't seem to bother the campers they pitched where was best for them.

5 hardstanding and 2 level grass pitches at the top of the field

Are we returning.

We're back the following weekend and will make it a regular for quick getaways as it's only 3 miles from home

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Neil camper piper 20 reviews from this member

Stayed here for a last chance camping trip before the weather says no to camping until next year.

This site has a lovely setting with amazing views of the local area. The view from the castle which is about a fifteen minute walk away are truly breathe taking with 360 panoramic views.

The site itself is a small site on a crest of a hill so it is on a slope which is quite steep in places. There are some hard standing pitches for caravans and motor homes. Electric hook ups are available and the lovely owner of the site is working to make more level pitches.

The site is next to a road which does have a fair bit of traffic so beware if you have children. There is no play area either.

The site isn't the quietest as its in the flight path for Manchester airport, you also have light pollution from the local town so star gazing isn't as great as it could be. However the light show from the surrounding area is spectacular. If you are going to this site bring a good camera!

Now the facilities on this site are the best I've seen on any site I've been too. They put a lot of larger sites to shame. The facilities are more than ample for a site of this size. The showers are large, free and built to a great standard, There's four showers and six toilets. Three wash up sinks (two outside under cover, one inside) The toilet block is heated and also has a fridge freezer. After talking to owner about the facilities he said his daughters go camping a lot and they designed the block to what they would like to see on a site.

This site also lets you has fires in a fire pit that you can hire from the site, They also provide wood at a reasonable price.

This site is definitely a fair weather site if you are in a tent. With having great views comes a down side of being very exposed.

There is a pub a few minutes walk away that is open just at weekends. There are great walks in the local area and its close to the local town for shops.

We might go again if we are looking to visit the area in the future, if I do I'm bring a much better camera!

Date of Visit: February 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bigedyant 5 reviews from this member

I stayed here with my daughter just for one night, which I do several times a year as this site is only a 5 minute drive from home. The views from this site across the Staffordshire Moorlands and Cheshire Plain have to be seen to be believed.

I found a lovely little plateau to put my tent on with a view over the twinkling lights of Biddulph and Stoke from my bed.

The facilities have always been clean, warm and well maintained, but the new block is fantastic. This little CL has an amenities block that would put 99% of large sites to shame, and in 35 years of camping, I've seen a few.

Will definitely be returning soon.

Previous     24 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Staffordshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3465 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019