Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Castle Camping Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Staffordshire > Mow Cop > Castle Camping Certificated Site Reviews

Castle Camping Certificated Site
Congleton Road
Mow Cop
Staffordshire   (Browse area)
ST7 3PL
Tel: 01782 522604  or  07539 682202
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 Vans +10 Tents
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 27 Reviews
                9/10 from 27 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Paul+kate s-o-t 17 reviews from this member

 Had a great weekend here

First time on a ccc cs and it felt really nice to be back on a proper friendly campsite

The facilities are amazing some of the best we've seen and used.

The tent area is on a bit of a slope but that didn't seem to bother the campers they pitched where was best for them.

5 hardstanding and 2 level grass pitches at the top of the field

Are we returning.

We're back the following weekend and will make it a regular for quick getaways as it's only 3 miles from home 


Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Neil camper piper 22 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a last chance camping trip before the weather says no to camping until next year.

This site has a lovely setting with amazing views of the local area. The view from the castle which is about a fifteen minute walk away are truly breathe taking with 360 panoramic views.

The site itself is a small site on a crest of a hill so it is on a slope which is quite steep in places. There are some hard standing pitches for caravans and motor homes. Electric hook ups are available and the lovely owner of the site is working to make more level pitches.

The site is next to a road which does have a fair bit of traffic so beware if you have children. There is no play area either.

The site isn't the quietest as its in the flight path for Manchester airport, you also have light pollution from the local town so star gazing isn't as great as it could be. However the light show from the surrounding area is spectacular. If you are going to this site bring a good camera!

Now the facilities on this site are the best I've seen on any site I've been too. They put a lot of larger sites to shame. The facilities are more than ample for a site of this size. The showers are large, free and built to a great standard, There's four showers and six toilets. Three wash up sinks (two outside under cover, one inside) The toilet block is heated and also has a fridge freezer. After talking to owner about the facilities he said his daughters go camping a lot and they designed the block to what they would like to see on a site.

This site also lets you has fires in a fire pit that you can hire from the site, They also provide wood at a reasonable price.

This site is definitely a fair weather site if you are in a tent. With having great views comes a down side of being very exposed.

There is a pub a few minutes walk away that is open just at weekends. There are great walks in the local area and its close to the local town for shops.

We might go again if we are looking to visit the area in the future, if I do I'm bring a much better camera! 


Date of Visit: February 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bigedyant 5 reviews from this member

 I stayed here with my daughter just for one night, which I do several times a year as this site is only a 5 minute drive from home. The views from this site across the Staffordshire Moorlands and Cheshire Plain have to be seen to be believed.

I found a lovely little plateau to put my tent on with a view over the twinkling lights of Biddulph and Stoke from my bed.

The facilities have always been clean, warm and well maintained, but the new block is fantastic. This little CL has an amenities block that would put 99% of large sites to shame, and in 35 years of camping, I've seen a few.

Will definitely be returning soon. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: W99lly 9 reviews from this member

 A great little site with wonderful views and friendly owners. There are 5 medium to large hard standings each with a large grassed area although one probably has too much slope to easily set up a motorhome. The other are fine. Currently there is a small toilet block which is clean and warm with dishwashing facilities but a new block is half built and will have 4 showers and toilets.

It is a great site for serious cyclist as there are good climbs up to the site. Every day you will see many cyclists pass the entrance. Also a very good base for walking.

Pub is just along the road but only open weekends.

Would definitely return 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: CamperStoke 2 reviews from this member

 I will keep this brief as I have reviewed this site before. This was my second visit in the last few months to Castle Camping, this time it was supposed to be for 2 nights but had to abandon due to the wind and some tent damage.

However, we had a great nights stay again. The views are amazing and the facilities again lovely and clean (and warm!).

The owners are probably the friendliest we have ever come across on any site, always happy to help and nothing is too much trouble.

Ground has now been broken on the new shower block which will give the site 4 extra showers and toilets.

We will definitely return. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: CamperStoke 2 reviews from this member

 I stayed here for 1 night with my 3 year old daughter for her first camping experience, as it's only around 20 minutes from our house but feels a world away.

This is a lovely little site with very friendly owners who were really helpful when booking as I wasn't sure exactly which day we would arrive as I wanted the weather to be OK for my daughters first camping trip! It has great views over the Cheshire Plains from the top of the site where we pitched and the Staffordshire Moorlands in the other direction. The site is on a slight slope, but we pitched our small tent on a plateau at the top, the site must drain well as it was really dry underfoot considering the time of year.

It was nice to have a shower without having to put coins in a meter! The shower, toilet and pot washing area was clean and tidy and the toilet had fresh towels provided for hand drying. They have permission to build a new amenities block which should be even better!

I guess all reviews are subjective, but me and my daughter really enjoyed our brief stay at Castle Camping. We would definitely return, my daughter loved going up to Mow Cop to see the castle ruins and playing with two boys she made friends with who were in the only other tent on site when we visited during the Easter school holidays. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: HelenandClo 1 review from this member

 We stayed for 2 nights over the Bank Holiday weekend in one of the pre-erected trailer tents and had a great time. There were 5 of us, but there was plenty of room as it could have slept 8 in there and the living area was a really good size. We have been camping in a tent before but found this so much easier to arrive and find that all the hard work is already done, and you can get on with your holiday straight away! We received a friendly welcome from the owners who are also happy to lend additional camping equipment if you are stuck for anything. We had an electric hook up (a must for the straighteners) and the cooker unit had 2 gas rings and a grill and a small sink. The site is small but that was part of the attraction for us and it was mainly families whilst we were there. It has spectacular views over cheshire during the day and looks equally pretty at night when everywhere is lit up. The shower and toilet are kept very clean, there is only one of each but as the site is small we didn't find that a problem. Our trailer tent was very cosy and we all slept very well even on the second night when it became windy and rainy it was very sturdy and we didn't particarly notice how bad the weather had become till we got up. On our first evening we had a walk out to the nearest pub which is The Mow Cop and had a lovely evening meal which was well priced and had a good choice. Menus for here and a couple of the other nearby pubs are displayed in the utility room, and there are some local takeways who will also deliver to your tent! We also went to the Horse Shoe but we went by car as its probably just a bit too far to walk, we only had drinks so cant comment on the food but the beer garden was lovely and there was a good play area for the kids. The campsite was a good base for exploring the area, and we had a trip out to Monkey forest which is at Trentham Gardens, a great day out both for adults and kids. We will definitely be returning to Castle Camping in the future and would recommend staying in one of the trailer tents if you enjoy camping but don't want the hassle of pitching the tent. It is also great value for a couple of nights away. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: LSHAW32 1 review from this member

 Just a quick note to say thank you to you and your family. We had a great time in the trailer tent at weekend (a much easier way of camping - you are definitely on to something there!) Your site is lovely and the views - wow!

e will definitely be back in the future.

This was the email we sent to the owner. I would certainly stay at this site again, it was lovely and like we said the views are amazing.  


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Linzt 1 review from this member

 Just returned after a fab weekend here! It really is a beautiful place.

We were warmly welcomed onto the campsite by sam and her family, the campsite is great, the toilet and shower were spotlessly clean.

You couldn't have asked for more, everything you need in a campsite. The children loved the sprinkler (was put on to cool the kids down) when we join the caravan and camping club we will most definitely be back. :) 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Babycake 10 reviews from this member

 Found this site via the campsite search on Uk campsite. What a find! What a bargain! Views to take your breath away.

Having been accused of being a glass half full person I will try and give you a non biased view.

Excellent value for money.

The site is family run. Simon and his family have worked really hard at bringing this site together. The pitches are well placed to take in in the scenery. The pitches are on a little slope but loads of blocks available and lots of help to get level if you need it. There is a road and eventually when the newly planted hedges are fully grown there will be a noise buffer but in fairness the road isn't busy and didn't bother us at all. Entrance to the site is tight from one direction so make sure you follow the directions on the website. If like us you forget don't panic there is a pub car park about 20 yrds down the road (on the left) that you can drive in and out of to get yourself facing the right direction.

Toilet and shower unit is spotless and roomy. Electric shower (free). Indoor washing up area, again spotless. Loads of up to date information leaflets about local attractions. I only gave a 9 for facilities as I know that when more people discover this little peaceful paradise they will need another toilet and shower.

Local Curry takeaway is lush, and delivers to site, portion sizes are huge. We ordered a set meal for 2 with an extra portion of chips and samosas. It served 5 of us and had left overs! excellent value and did I say lush!

We used the site as a base of operation for a wedding locally but were so happy with the site we booked to go back next month before we left.

We have 3 boys ages ranging from 3-14 and they all had fun, from waking up and watching the wildlife, cows, chickens, horses to exploring up to the castle. They even managed to fit in a few hours of lego in the sun! 


Previous     27 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Castle Camping Certificated Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Castle Camping Certificated Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Castle Camping Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Mow Cop      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Staffordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4587 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement