Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Les Rivages

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Midi - Pyrenees > Aveyron > Camping Les Rivages Reviews

Camping Les Rivages
Avenue De Laigoual
Millau
Aveyron
Midi - Pyrenees   (Browse area)
12100
Tel: 0033 565 610107
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 292
Open: May To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 17 Reviews
                8/10 from 17 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gailbonney 26 reviews from this member

My review of this site started the moment we arrived. After a long drive, I went to check in with our son leaving OH with car and van. A quite surly (and remained so during holiday) young lady commenced check in, despite me giving her all our documentation in English which we received from them on booking, not once did she ask if I understood her and carried on explaining site rules etc in French. Fortunately I got most of it! I really didn't feel that I could ask her if she spoke English or even slower! Only thing she said to me in English was. 'it's the end of the season!' Went for dinner that night in campsite restaurant. Told sit anywhere 'it's the end of the season. '

By the end of our stay, if anyone else had said 'it's the end of the season, ' I would have screamed.

We always go to France for the last 2 weeks of the school hols (last 2 weeks in Aug) and have done so for more than 8 yrs. Never had this problem before.

When I booked I asked to for a riverside pitch but fairly close to the loos and we were for the first 5 days before they were boarded up because its the end of the season! Riverside pitch was lovely, ehu posts seemed a little sparce and there was cables acroos your pitch, around your van and across the road!

Pool was cool as usual in France, but nice enough to sit round. Shop was okay for essentials too. Chemical and waste disposal odd and not easy. Probably why I saw people emptying both down the washing up sinks ewww! Although, when the staff were cleaning the loos prior to closure, they put all the loo brushes in the washing up sink too!

Area was okay but it really felt as if everyone had gone home and that most locals wanted you to go too!We have never experienced this before, not sure if its the area?

Never stayed that close to a large town before either, and probably wouldn't choose to do so again. Areas of Millau quite intimidating with drunks and people having taken Spice.

We decided to leave 3 days early and headed for a wonderful, friendly charming site near Paris to do Paris and Eurodisney (about to do review of that one next!)

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lidds0 34 reviews from this member

We chose this site on the basis that it had better access (when towing) and looked less waterlogged than others in the area. It was also quite busy (in low season) so indicative that it's popular for a reason.

At first glance, pitches appear very large. That's until you realise most are 2 deep. When we were there, during a prolonged period of heavy rainfall, there was a lot of water standing on the pitches.

The adjacent river was running high, fast and brown, so we chose to pitch away from it. There's a pebble area which is optimistically referred to as a 'beach', with a sign stating no dogs are allowed on (not great when accompanied by a pooch).

3 sanitary blocks (one central, behind reception, the others to each side of the campsite. One was closed during our stay. All three blocks leave a lot to be desired, in terms of both quality and cleanliness (question: what kind of person would leave a used sanitary towel on the shower floor?! Not the site's fault, I realise, but it was still there the following day. )

Loads of shops and eateries nearby (can recommend Boulangerie Victoire for excellent pizzas and great service at a very reasonable price).

The reception staff were pleasant but did charge extra for our dog (despite one dog being included in the ACSI rate). They were happy to refund when I pointed this out and apologetic that they hadn't known about this.

Would we return to this particular site? Not in a hurry.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kittiwake 13 reviews from this member

We had a week booked at this site although stayed a bit longer, towards the end of August.

We were surprised how quiet it was during our stay with half the pitches being empty as many I think of the Dutch campers had returned home.

We booked a riverside pitch which was lovely. Average size with lots of shade. It's a fairly big site with a variety of pitches - some looked quite cramped and not very private.

Reasonable number of English families but not overrun. Perfect for us as we like very French sites but the kids like to make friends.

3 wash blocks. Male & female toilets and showers. Spotlessly clean. Soap provided but not loo roll.

River beach was fab and kids spent hours going down mini Rapids on lilos. Very safe and my 8 year old could do unassisted.

There are lots of facilities - good park with jumping pillow (a big hit!), tennis courts, multi-sports pitch and boules pitches. Lovely big pool with paddling pool and jacuzzi pool. Pools were not too cold but still refreshing in the 30 degree heat. Next to the pool was the bar & restaurant. Standard campsite fare reasonably priced. Entertainment was here each night - low key and all finished by 11pm.

There was a site run kids club we didn't use, efficient reception and site shop with croissants etc in the morning although one of us generally rode in to Millau for breakfast in the mornings as Millau only 5 mins cycle.

There's a cycle path that separates the pitches from all the sports facilities and takes you straight in to Millau. We liked the town. Lovely old centre, plenty of shops and places to eat.

Huge number of local activities you can book. We just did a canoe trip down the Dourbie (the river that passes the campsite and flows in to the Tarn), on to the Tarn and under the viaduct which was stunning. There are canoe companies everywhere and they all seem to do similar trips.

Not sure if we would like the site as much when it was packed full but will happily go back as it was extremely well managed and those there when it had been busy said it was still lovely.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cheeseandwine 2 reviews from this member

We stayed for two weeks on this site and loved every minute. Fantastic river beach, which didn't get too crowded, with 'rapids' which the children loved going down in their dinghy. The pool was quite small, although again it never seemed to be too busy, with area for tots and a Jacuzzi. Our pitch was large and flat, as seemd most of them, and separated by hedges. The toilet blocks were kept spotlessly clean and the showers were always hot. Didn't eat at the restaurant or take part in any of the entertainment so can't comment on these. The shop didn't stock much but there was fresh bread every morning (big supermarkets nearby). Fantastic area to stay in: beautiful gorges (with all the usual watersports activities around), lovely villages, near to Roquefort and great weather. My only grumble was that dogs aren't allowed on the beach although when we questioned this we were told it was okay morning and evening when the beach wasn't busy. We would stay there again.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: 664DaveS 30 reviews from this member

We spent fourteen nights here, with ACSI it worked out at a very good €14 per night. We last visited about 25 years ago.

This is a big site, the very pleasant lady on reception gave us a map and said to choose a pitch. Pitches are big with plenty of shade from trees and 10A electric.

There is a pool complex with large main pool kiddies pool and spa pool. It has sunloungers and umbrellas too.

The site has a shop where you can order bread for next day, and a reasonable restaurant and bar

The staff were friendly and helpful.

There is a small beach on the riverside for swimming etc.

It is a short walk to Millau town where there are plenty of shops bars and restaurants to suit all.

Canoing paragliding and other sports are available.

The local area is lovely with drives through the gorges or to the high moors.

Good for long or short stays especially in ACSI season!

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lbarkas 78 reviews from this member

Used for two nights on our slow journey south into Spain. ACSI rate made the pitch fees very reasonable but I refused to pay the extortionate rate of €4. 50 for 12 hours of wifi connection. Limited facilities open during our stay but the toilet block was very modern and kept clean. The Friday market in Millau was good. Given the number of sites in the town, this area would be too busy for us in peak season.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: 1942 tony 6 reviews from this member

Along with another large motorhome we arrived without booking, informed by staff please find a pitch which you like them when office opens (pm) call and book in.

After looking around we decided to stay for a week we found the site well run by the staff, toilets in a block if the wind blows could be cold but clean etc on this visit sun was shining and warm, nice swimming pool and leisure complex.

Lots to do and see around millau area its possible to see the millau viaduct from the campsite also this time of the year the sites not crowded, would we ever return to this site yes we found money well spent at les rivages campsite.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mrs. Bonce 247 reviews from this member

We liked nearly everything about this site, but I would describe it as large, not medium sized. We generally prefer smaller sites but it wasn't all that busy in June (but busy enough). We were lucky enough to have a pitch right by the river with a great view of the viaduct and mountain backdrop. We saw beavers at twilight on several occasions, a magical experience.

The whole area is wonderful, the gorges are terrific. It's just a pity that France isn't upside down as it would be great to get to this part quickly. We went everywhere within about a 40 mile radius. Montpellier le Vieux is great, an area of fantastic rocks, a bit like Brimham Rocks writ large, with amazing flowers. You have to pay €6 odd to get in, but it's well worth it. Just before here is another lovely rocky / flowery area, opposite the restaurant and farmhouse. You don't realise that you are over 3, 000 feet up until you approach the gorges. The roads up the sides of them are something to behold!

Another thing to do, if you are not into canoeing, is to take a boat trip from La Malene (up the Tarn Gorge) 8km down river. €22 each and a great experience. If you don't want to go far, there is a lovely beach up the Dourbie (which is the river by the site), lovely butterflies, good for a picnic or barbeque.

Local amenities - supermarkets as described, Simply is the nearest, left from the site, right at the roundabout just over the bridge. The best one though is Geant Casino in the out of town shopping area on the way to the autoroute. There is also a cheap shoe shop and a Gifi (a bit like a large version of the Original Factory Shop) here, which sells everything from frying pans ro sunglasses to crocs look a likes at very good prices (bought all 3).

The only slight gripe with the site is the large rock in the corner of the track ro the river pitches on which you could easily catch your caravan.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mstanton2330 2 reviews from this member

Lovely location next to river, mountains backdrop.

English spoken at reception.

Beautiful river beach great for kids.

2 minute walk from reception to get to 2 swimming pools, 1 with wide shallow steps great for little ones. Restaurant/bar and indoor sports hall with 4 large inflatables. Stage area for evening entertainment.

Next to reception was a playground, trampoline and small shop.

Pitch was large enough and shady.

Brilliant shower blocks, even a separate one with parent and child showers, small loos and sinks for kids.

Walked into Millau town, about 15-20 mins along cycle path which is great as you don't have to go on the road.

Very pretty town.

Stayed 3 nights, and would loved to have stayed longer.

Only down side was the evening entertainment music was quite loud up til 11pm and my 6 year old son did have trouble getting to sleep until it finished. It was very hot though, which also didn't help.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: A 2 B 4 reviews from this member

Our first visit to this site. Pleasant reception staff, English spoken, (reception closes at lunch time ) Plenty of large pitches some by riverside. 2 swimming pools, bar / restaurant. Plenty of water points and EHUs. Good toilet/shower block, clean and well kept. Close to Millau town centre ( 2 Km ) Good for visiting Millau viaduct. Market in Millau Wednesday a. M. Our visit was in early June, some facilities only just opening. We would certainly recommend this site.

Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Midi - Pyrenees

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2463 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019