Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Les Rivages

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Midi - Pyrenees > Aveyron > Camping Les Rivages Reviews

Camping Les Rivages
Avenue De Laigoual
Millau
Aveyron
Midi - Pyrenees   (Browse area)
12100
Tel: 0033 565 610107
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 292
Open: May To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 17 Reviews
                8/10 from 17 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 11 to 17                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Aitch69 24 reviews from this member

Here for three nights in early July on our way north going home. Approaching Millau from he south was spectacular. Hot sunny weather, car windows open and Queen's Bohemian Rhapsody on the radio as the road steeply descended and twisted round a number of bends. As each bend was rounded a new spectacular sight appeared each with a wow factor and then - Brian May's guitar solo - memorable. Now the campsite.

This site has an attractive riverside location very conveniently situated near the town and has a couple of supermarkets nearby. Access to the site is straightforward.

The pitches are grassy and spacious some shaded and some sunny. Toilets/showers etc are good and clean with plenty of hot water.

Exploring the gorges is a must with wonderful and exhilarating views from the high ground and of course, the magnificent viaduct.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Milesredhead 4 reviews from this member

Les Rivages is a medium sized site and as all other reviews state it is an excellent base for touring the areas towns and gourges

It is easy to find and well located approximately 20min walk from Millau town centre

Millau itself is a fantastic town with a good range of supermarkets, shops and the night market is really worth a visit. Lots of canoe hire places which take you varying distances up the river, drop you off, and let you paddle back

The staff at the site are friendly and reception was good

Our pitch was a good size and on the edge of the river which is nice for swimming although a little cold

There is a very small shop which sells the basics, but runs out quickly and was shut on Sunday when we arrived. We didn’t rely on it at all and did all shopping in town

We ate at the restaurant once which was reasonable and we stayed for the ‘entertainment ‘ after our meal. Maybe we picked a poor night but it was laughably aweful

The toilet / shower blocks were average but in a poor state of repair and needed refurbishing

An average site for touring the area, in need of some TLC, and we both agreed we would not use it again

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Aidan Thackray 13 reviews from this member

Large pitches. They probably thought they were doing us a favour when we were allocated a pitch near the river, but it was just dust and when it rained this turned to mud and was a real mess ! Pools were nice but no footwear allowed and the ground around one pool was too hot to walk on. Nowhere near enough sunbeds even though there was room for them. I was told off for wearing swimshrts by a staff member, a bit wierd as the lifeguards wore swimshorts, and he never said a word to a gang of lads with swimshorts on. In fact the pool area was not people friendly at all. Pizzas in restaurant really good and huge. Drinks expensive - my wife ordered a glass of wine and got less than half a small glass ! Great location for walking into Millau. Good restaurants & bars in town. Monday night in town there's a food festival, which is really good.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Albourneboy 13 reviews from this member

Stayed at this site for 18 nights up to the night of 16th July. We loved almost every minute of our holiday here and though we have stayed in the area before, it was many years ago (in the late 80s) and it was amazing how little we saw of the area during that last visit. Made up for it this time though and even visited the old walled city of Carcassonne which, though it was a long journey, was well worth it. What a place!

The Gorges du Tarn (and the adjacent Gorges) are absolutely stunning and spectacular and words cannot do it justice. You have to go see the place for yourself. If you like scenery, you won't be disappointed. My partner, Susan, really enjoyed our outings up and down the many narrow winding roads with their unguarded sheer drops - NOT!. A head for heights is an advantage in this region that's for sure.

Millau itself is well worth several easy walks from the site and a visit to the glove factory Guibert Freres on Av. Gambetta is fascinating. There are also some very good restuarants in the town (try la Mangeoire on Boulevard la Capelle) and an excellent market.

There is a small and somewhat tired-looking SuperU 5 mins drive from the site but take the D992 toward Saint-Affrique and you will find a much larger, well stocked LeClerc within sight of the now famous Millau Viaduc.

The Viaduc is well worth seeing, as is the 'Viaduc Espace Info' situated below it - follow the road from LeClerc to the roundabout at the top of the hill. The crossing costs a very expensive 8 Euros and we were quite disappointed as you don't really get to see much from it - you are on a motorway after all and the views from either side are obstructed by the huge wind deflectors. From below though, it is one impressive construction!

The campsite itself wasn't at all bad, though we were glad we weren't there at the height of the season as it looked as though it could be very busy. We had a very large, shady pitch which was great as the weather for most of our stay was very hot (30°C+) and sunny. There are unshaded pitches for the sun-loving brigade but we are glad we didn't have one. We did get some rain and yes, it did turn the dust a bit sticky but once the sun reappeared, it soon turned to dust again. Entertainment was provided for children and adults alike - mostly at the adjacent sports complex that included a pool and a bar/restaurant. Can't comment too much on these facilities as we only went to the restaurant once (and weren't very impressed) and didn't bother with the pool at all, preferring to splash about in the river. We found the night-time entertainment a little intrusive at times as it could be clearly heard pretty much all over the site. To be fair though, it wasn't every night and didn't start until we were into our 2nd week so we didn't have to put up with it for long! The quality of the toilet/shower facilities was a little mixed. The main block near reception has seen better days and is in need of an overhaul. Several showers and loos were broken and stayed that way all the time we were there. Another nearby block was being renovated and finally opened 3 days before we left. Needless to say, we used that one as soon as it was ready! The small shop stocked a few basics and, after the bread ordering system stopped in our 2nd week, frequently ran out of bread in the mornings. Best time to get there was as soon as it opened!

In summary, this is a fantastically beautiful area of France to visit and well worth the long haul from Calais with a caravan in tow. Would I use the site again? Yes, but not in the high season (mid July through August) as it would be too busy and noisy for our tastes but it is a great site for kids and if we had been there with my partners girls when they were 10 (10 years ago!) I'm sure they would have loved it.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lizzie 42 reviews from this member

Well located campsite on the river where it is possible to swim and a 15 minute walk into town. Easy to access the Tarn area from here.

The shower and toilet facilities were very good - clean and plentiful, no loo paper but a little soap dispenser for washing hands after loo was a nice touch. The pitches were all of a good size and extra large pitches available near the river. The shop was fine for bread and milk etc but was expensive and lacking in many basics. However, there are several supermarkets in the town so this was no problem.

The shop sold bottles of ice while the reception area had a freezer for campers to freeze own ice blocks (no charge). The restaurant was good and fairly busy the night we used it. The pool was a very good size and kept very clean, however there were too few loungers and only two umbrellas which was a pity.

I really enjoyed the town of Millau, good market and a selection of bars etc.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wooden 2 reviews from this member

This medium sized site is easy to find just outside the town of Millau. Good reception facilities and friendly staff greet you. The central reception area also has plenty of information about things to do and events in the area.

In mid June we had plenty of choice of pitch and were able to select one overlooking the Dourbie River. There is pebble beach and you can paddle in the river. Braver souls may swim, but the current looked quite strong following a period of wet weather. There are bench seats alongside the river and we spent some pleasant evenings just sitting and watching the birdlife.

From our pitch we could also see the Millau motorway bridge. Most of the pitches appear to be of good size even if they had not received a cut because of the inclement weather before we arrived.

On site there is a pool and eating facilities and a small shop for all essential bread, milk etc. The toilet facilities were of a reasonable standard, but could be stretched in high season.

Walking into Millau is easy via a tarmacadam footpath. Millau has a wide variety of shops and eating places that cater for all tastes. There are local supermarkets on the outskirts of Millau.

The walking opportunities and the scenery attracted us to the area and did not disappoint with many available walks and trips in the Dourbie and Tarn gorges. There are plenty of water sports activities available in the area.

Overall a pleasant site and one that we will hopefully revisit.

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Val A 29 reviews from this member

Les Rivages is a medium sized site, alongside the Dourbie river as it flows into Millau. The site entrance is easy to find, and there is plenty of room to park when 'booking in'. Reception staff were efficient, and friendly.

The site is flat, and pitches of a good size, hedged between, and quite grassy even at the end of season. The riverside pitches are allocated for tents only. There are some excellent views from the pitches, across to the Millau viaduct. There's a cycle route directly outside the site - up the Dourbie but it doesn't go far before it peters out.

There are several sanitary blocks spread around the site, we were nearest to the one at the side of the reception building. Facilities were clean, and showers hot. There are washing machines and dryers available in this block.

The pool area is lovely - very sunny and open, and stays open until quite late (great for new arrivals when it's hot). The restaurant and bar are adjacent to the pool. The restaurant does a great 'menu du jour' at a very reasonable price (9 euros when we were there for three courses). There's also an 'a la carte' menu and the restaurant was quite popular, even towards the end of season. The chef was a very friendly young man - and his family were eating there when we met him - he was so proud.

The site is within walking distance of Millau centre, which has a good twice-weekly market, and a night market in summer. You have the attractions of the Tarn Gorges, the Jonte Gorges (with the vultures at the Belvedere), and the Dourbie. Mont Aiguoal is worth a visit - you can see the med on a clear day. There are some spectacular rides from the site, up on to the Causses in various directions (try the narrow road up from the Belvedere du Vautours) to St Pierre les Tripiers. You're within an hour and a half of the coast, and the Templar Villages are all around - La Couvertoirade, St Eulalie de Cernon, St Jean de Alcas, and La Cavalarie which is being improved. Do have a look at the visitor centre for the Millau viaduct, and drive across! Come back into town on the old road, for a spectacular view. Watch the paragliders as they descent from the Puncho d'agast and see them land just along the Tarn from the site.

All in all can highly recommend this site!

Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 17     Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Midi - Pyrenees

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


796 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019