Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping La Licorne

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Dunkerque > Camping La Licorne Reviews

Camping La Licorne
1005 Boulevard De L Europe
Dunkerque
Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais   (Browse area)
59240
Tel: +33 03 28 69 26 68
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 247
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 18 Reviews
                8/10 from 18 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 11 to 18                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cheryl.mark 91 reviews from this member

 I have to disagree with the previous reviews of this site. We used it as a one night stop over on the way back to the uk and to be quite honest we should have just parked up on the Port car park as it would have felt safer! This site is rougher than rough, from the entrance it looks quite pleasing, when you get inside the site you realise that this site is used for people living on it! There is security on the site and it looks like you need it! A barrier code to access the beach with signs saying 'do not let anyone enter the site' the site is surrounded by what looks like The Berlin Wall! full of graffiti, sawdust on the toilet floors. We paid for elec hook up and the pitch they put us on was miles away from the hook up point and would not reach, we couldn't find the water and realised we had to go to the shower block, it was full of gangs of kids messing with the taps so we struggled to fill the aquaroll. We felt intimidated on this site and we stuck out like a sore thumb. It cost us 32 euros for 2 adults and 2 young kids and we got nothing for it. Take my adivce and look at other sites in Dunkerque before you go here. I don't know where the other people were staying that wrote the previous reviews?

There is access to a sandy beach and promenade but it looked scruffy and unkempt, it wasn't our sort of place and next year we wll just park on the Port carpark as there's security on there. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Lydia1 9 reviews from this member

 I'd highly recommend this site, particularly for a short stopover.

It's about a 40 min drive from Eurotunnel and easy to get to from the motorway. It is well run, with informative staff, and the toilets/wash block were very clean.

The pitches weren't perhaps the largest but perfectly adequate. At 22 Euros a night this was one of the better value sites we stayed at.

However, it's the location of the site which is really great. There's a gate that takes you directly onto the beach and beachside path. A 15 min walk takes you to a range of restaurants and bars (keep going - there are some which are reasonably priced!). Moules et frites are the local speciality.

Dunkerque is a really clean and safe place with a good atmosphere and attractive buildings. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: P.quinn27@ntlworld. 2 reviews from this member

 Arrive here after a long drive from Glasgow to Dunkerque - and were very relieved to get there to be honest! we had booked it as part of a tour of France, and we stayed on the first night we arrived off the boat, and the last night before the boat - would recommend this, although dunkerque is quite far north, (which is perfect if you are going to belgium or germany) the fare was cheaper.

The security guy was really helpful, as we arrived at about 830pm. Pitch was a bit rough, but the hook up was reachable with one 10 metre cable - had to use the european connection adapter I think. The shower/toilet block was really good.

When we stayed the second night at the end of our holiday we discovered the dunkerque beach front. This consisted mainly of quite posh restaurants - but we managed to find a good wee bar and a good wee snack place which didn't stretch our budget and also had friendly staff - you will find them if you look hard enough!

Check out the local supermarket! we had bikes and cycled (turn right out of the campsite and go for about 1k and you will find a supermarket/fruit shop/bistro with internet access! 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Noosner 6 reviews from this member

 This is an efficient site with great access to miles of sandy beach at Dunkirk. It has a bar, where you can buy bread in the mornings, or breakfast (for just under 4 Euros), the showers are excellent, and there is privacy: the pitches are spacious and have little hedges (in varying states of growth) around them. It is an easy walk into Dunkirk, 3km along the promenade. The staff are friendly. Dunkirk is an interesting town.

On the negative side, it is a very big site and some of the pitches are therefore quite a long way from any of the 3 toilet blocks. The beach, incidentally, is quite bleak and windy (not the campsite's fault, obviously!)

The site feels very safe, and I think is probably great for children. When we were there, a young man with learning difficulties was cycling round and round and we felt it was a great environment for him. However, for us (2 adults in our fifties) it would be fair to say we found the site a little lacking in charm and as such it was our least favourite out of the four sites we stayed on during our trip. At 22 Euros a night it was also by far the most expensive. 


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Pamcel 9 reviews from this member

 Our first time abroad in our van, and we took everyone's advice and headed off to Eperleques. But, being the end of the season, the bar, restaurant and pool were shut, and, having heard of a spate of thefts on the site, we didn't feel very secure at night, so we decided to head off to Dunkirk. We went to the municipal site, La Licorne, and had a wonderful time. The site is very clean, with large pitches, and is protected by a barrier, and a security guard (not sure why this was necessary, as the site is bordered by a nice residential area, and the beach), and also a coded gate leading to the beach. We never worried once about security at night. The toilets were spacious, and the showers, especially in the newer block, powerful and spotless.

We chose a pitch right beside the gate to the beach, and spent 5 days there. The beach was wonderful, albeit atmospheric, with a wide promenade and very good restaurants along it. There is a bus stop right outside the main gate, with a very reasonable fare into the town for further exploring.

There are goats and geese in roomy enclosures at the entrance, a bar, children's playground, and the site is next to a leisure centre, so plenty to do on site.

The security guards and the site wardens were lovely, going out of their way to help when needed. We especially liked the mix of people on the site, with relatively few British folk, unlike Eperleques, which was a bit too 'Little England' for us, although everyone we met there were very nice, but when in France.  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wendy52 2 reviews from this member

 First time to France with the caravan, booked site for 2 caravans (my brothers 1st time also)and what a find this site was, lovely large pitches, good clean toilet/shower block, plenty of hot water and very friendly staff. The site was quiet all week, weekends a few French families arrived for the week-end but still very peaceful. Will definitely use again.

Thanks to UKcampsite.Co.Uk for helping us to find this gem.

Found Belgium a lovely and easy trip from the site and visited all the local war memorials from here. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Netters 1 review from this member

 Four of us each aged sixty; 2 males and 2 females from England went camping for the very first time as adults in September 2010. We stayed in a basic tent at La Licorne campsite in Dunkerque for 5 nights.

We were all very apprehensive as it had been so long since we had been in a tent; but the challenge made it a very different break from the norm.

We reached the site by car which is a 24 mile journey from Calais; although it is possible to arrive directly at Dunkerque via the ferry from Dover. We arrived at the site after many requests for directions; the fact that none of us spoke even basic French did not help.

It was after 7 p.M.; the time when the barrier comes down at the entrance to the site. However the owners house is there and they quickly made us feel welcome and told us to select any pitch we desired and call back the next morning to discuss fees etc.

Our first very big mistake was not erecting the tent back at home after we recently purchased it. The next four hours were were proverbial murder; but by a little moonlight and a lot of headlights we got there in the end and earned our tent pitching badges. We enjoyed snacks and wine before surprising ourselves and enjoying a thoroughly good nights sleep.

Next morning we discovered there was 2 large shower blocks with endless hot water,plus lots of toilets and wash basins. They were all very clean and we were certainly impressed; although you do have to take your own toilet paper which luckily we had.

We went to meet the owner who is instantly likeable and she explained about the rates and security gates. The cost to each camper was only 6 Euros per night. It is a simple 4 number code and single letter for the both the front and rear entrances. While the front gives you access to the open road the rear entrance is accessible by foot only.

The rear entrance is a real delight as it leads along a pleasant path surrounded by bushes and plants directly to the seafront. There are no cars running along the front; but there is a bicycle path which is well used by families. The beach is very large at low tide and stretches as far as the eye could see probably to Belgium.

There are a few cafes along the front and quite a lot of flats overlooking the sea though not high rise. Although it was September it was still very mild and we were all in short sleeves and shorts even though we were by the sea.

Dunkerque itself seems a very friendly town with a very busy large market on Saturday. Selling all types of food and goods it spreads from street to street throughout the town. There are no drinking bars as such; in fact the only one we seen and went in to is on the campsite itself.

There are lots of supermarkets however selling good quality cheap priced wine and lager which was ideal for us. They are within easy distance of the front entrance and you can buy almost anything else also.

Belgium is within reasonable driving distance and we travelled the 27 mile to Ostend. Ostend is a very clean busy coastal resort with lots of shops and outdoor cafes and bars. The seafront is a very pleasant walk with stalls selling lots of instantly eatable sea food very cheap.

I would say the campsite played a huge part in the enjoyment of our trip to Dunkerque which incidentally is twinned with our home town of Middlesbrough North East England. It certainly allayed our fears about camping and we are certainly going back. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Susie69 12 reviews from this member

 We booked this as an over nighter to catch the ferry early morning.

What a find!

The pitches are not huge admittedly but the site was in a fantastic location on the beach with a gate leading to the beach which had a security password to prevent unauthorised access to the site, therefore very safe.

It is a lovely stroll along the prom or beach to the center of Dunkerque where lovely restaurants and bars are situated.

There is security on the site and my son went for a walk, on his return he was asked his name and pitch number to ensure security before they would allow him entrance to the site. They couldn't be more helpful as we wanted an early get away before the barrier was opened, that was no problem and they gave us a security number to lift the barrier up.

There is on site entertainment in a 'club house' which was ever so cheesy (wedding type disco)Fantastic - we really enjoyed it, and an excellent way to wind down the kids prior to going to bed.

There was on site tennis courts which we didn't use but they looked nice!

Shower/toilet block very clean with lovely hot water.

Not the cheapest site but I will certainly visit again 


Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 18     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping La Licorne child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping La Licorne?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Camping La Licorne dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Dunkerque      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3324 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement