Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Camping La Licorne

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Dunkerque > Camping La Licorne Reviews

Camping La Licorne
1005 Boulevard De L Europe
Dunkerque
Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais   (Browse area)
59240
Tel: +33 03 28 69 26 68
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 247
Open: 01/04 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 18 Reviews
                8/10 from 18 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Supersooty 16 reviews from this member

On entering the site you need to park in the bay on the right before the barrier and go into reception. The staff are very friendly and speak good English. This is a large site with a mix of static (residential) and touring pitches.

The pitches are generally level but some toward the beach fence are sloping, a pair of levelling ramps would be useful to take with you. Our pitch, 229, was next to the beach wall and access path. It was a busy thoroughfare but not noisy, it gave a chance to people watch over a drink.

The EHU tower powering four pitches was on our pitch, the water point was on the adjacent pitch. To get to the beach, there is an electronic-lock security gate, through there, over the dunes, about 100 metres, the path opens onto the beach and it is enormous; very wide and about 15km long. There is a wide promenade which runs parallel with the beach. A kite surfing school is just to the right of the path.

The toilet/shower/ washing up/laundry

block was 100 metres away. They were clean and well-maintained. A point to note; there is a green side and a purple/pink side, not male and female, they are unisex ablutions. Additionally, there are no toilet seats and you need to supply your own loo roll! Although the camp was full and busy, we never had to queue for ablutions, pick your time of day carefully!

There is a petting farm and big play-park for children. The bar/restaurant on site serves basic meals and drinks at competitive local prices. It opens as a shop in the morning to sell bread and milk.

Just outside the camp gates is a bus stop (C3). The bus is FREE and runs from 07:00 to 19:00 everyday into Dunkerque. There is a Carrefour supermarket about 1km away for all your comestibles.

Malo les Bains is on the route to Dunkerque and is ‘the seaside resort’; consequently it has the food and drink prices to match, some bars will charge you €8 for a large (50cl)beer! ‘Caveat Empor’!

As it is only about 20km from the DFDS ferry terminal it tends to be used as a ‘transit camp’ before crossing the Channel.

We enjoyed our stay here and would certainly stay there again. It is worth a few days stopover at the end of your continental adventures just to wind down and take in the local area.
via mobile

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jane Paul 7 reviews from this member

Great location on the beach promenade from where you can walk to bars and restaurants within 10 minutes. Site is enclosed with a secure gate access onto the dunes. Pitches adequate - a bit lumpy and bumpy and hedging intermittent - reflects dune location. Facilities all good and clean. Looks like there would be a lot going on here in the Summer. It was ideal for us as a transit site in mid October. We would recommend and will stay again!

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: RoughyedApples 3 reviews from this member

Lovely site. Reasonably flat. Toilets fine though one block closed for winter. Usual continental lack of seats and paper. Plenty of hot water. Play area looked fine and we were opposite the hens, geese and goats which was nice. There is a park and ride right outside the gate and the bus ride is free. My favourite word. The back of the site has a keypad operated gate leading onto the beach. Turn left here towards Malo les Bains and there are several seafront restaurants.

Super site and we will stop there again next year as it is just over half an hour from the Tunnel

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fiftysomething 18 reviews from this member

Just one night here and to begin with it didn't look very promising but actually.

All the motorhomes are packed into one corner, unless you ask to spread out - and then moving away a bit is no problem.

The gate through to the dunes and the beach are super convenient for the walk into Dunkirk.

The snack bar did excellent steak and chips with a glass of red (which was a bit rough but perhaps we made a bad choice) and then we had orange sorbet in orange skins! Remember them? Don't suppose I've had one since the late 70s!

The downsides? Well there was STILL dog poo on one of the empty pitches, central Dunkirk is probably 2 miles away along the beach and it was so windy it made out ears hurt. The loos were good enough but the showers were draughty.

Would we go back? Probably not because we've walked into Dunkirk and done the Museum (the next day, we even did the Fort des Dunes) but nor would I tell others to avoid it at all costs. It wasn't expensive and it did the job that we wanted!

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jacxxx 4 reviews from this member

Chose this site as it has a good value for an overnight stay prior to returning to the UK.

Very helpful staff on reception.

Lovely clean toilets and showers.

Great playgrounds for kids.

The site has a restaurant/Cafe but this was very expensive for the food available.

When we got to our pitch we were disappointed to find dog mess over it. We went for a walk on the beach (adjacent to the site) but again the walkway was full of dog mess.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Farside1 17 reviews from this member

Second visit - both just one night - and although it isn't the most aesthetically pleasing place in the world it is a great stopover with good clean sanitary facilities, a nice enough bar, and a fabulous sandy beach.

The grass and surrounding hedges may not be manicured and they may be generous enough to encourage old units so it isn't all posh and lah-di-dah but it is stunning value ( €10. 60 for the night in May when the site is much less used than in high summer). Anyone visiting the motorhome parking nearby will know why we choose the campsite instead!

Recommended and will be staying here again.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Vfour 7 reviews from this member

Used this site for 2 nights prior to getting ferry home. Site seemed to be just waking up after winter, looked a bit unruly, but nothing a grass cut wouldn't put right. Newish shower/toilet blocks, wash up areas and disposal points within easy reach. Coded gate for vehicle access and also to beach/prom. Walk out onto prom and turn left for restaurants, or turn right and walk 20 mins to German fortifications collapsing onto beach. Smallish Carrfour 30 minute walk/5 min drive. E33. 26 for 2 nights without ehu. Use again? Yes

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Judas_hill 37 reviews from this member

We stopped on this site for 2 nights only because the other sites had nearly all closed for the winter. We would not have picked this site if we did not have to. The pitches were very tied the grass was long the electric was had to find, but the water tap was even harder walked round the site with the map trying to find a tap. We did find one in the end, but a long walk from the van. Also think that for a municipal was expensive at 41 euros for 2nights. Not sure we would use again.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: BOYOBAKER 9 reviews from this member

Toilet block, cleaned regularly and free plentiful hot water at showers. Water and waste disposal 25m. 16A hookup was about 10m. Pitch looked very tired after a busy summer - although was of a good size. Sparse grass beaten down. Hedge around pitch about 4 ft high. Bar was closed in early September. Supermarket about 1 to 2 miles away. We walked out every day for drinks and meals. Restaurant along Dunkirk Promenade quite dear. Very good location for DFDS ferry - 15/20 minutes away. Weather was dry and windy. Overall we would recommend this as a good DFDS ferry stopover.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bartle 1 review from this member

I have to disagree with the comments from the previous review. We arrived at La Licorne for six nights after spending 3 weeks in Holland at first sight we were dubious and apprehensive about the site but that soon changed. They cut the grass the next day and it did look a lot better for it. Very clean toilet/shower block private washrooms with hairdrier socket great, the cleaners must work round the clock to keep them as clean. The pitch was large plenty of room for caravan, awning, car and still lots of space for sitting out. Our electric and water were next to the pitch. Very quite in the evening everyone was considerate about other people and keeping the noise down. Our dog loved it - sands dunes and beach so close and easy to get too. We never felt uneasy everyone very friendly French, German, Dutch a few English - mixed age groups everyone said hello met some really nice people. Lots of bars/restaurants on prom waiters/waitresses all very friendly. Cannot fault this site other than maybe a little shop would be an advantage, we are intending to go back there next year before and after we have been to Holland.

Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Dunkerque      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans – plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3868 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019