Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hopyard Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Worcestershire > Worcester > Hopyard Farm Campsite Reviews

Hopyard Farm Campsite
Bourne Road
Defford
Worcester
Worcestershire   (Browse area)
WR8 9BS
Tel: 01386 750902
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 35
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 26 Reviews
                9/10 from 26 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  26 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Grahamandsharon 3 reviews from this member

 Visited this campsite twice now, once in the summer and again in march. Its location is perfect for visiting the towns of cheltenham, worcester, tewkesbury and the malverns. The site it self is very nice, with clean shower and toilets. There's loads of room for kids and walking dogs. The owners are really nice and friendly. There's a nice well stocked fishing lake in the middle. Grass kept nice and short, no bad points at all. Already booked up for the summer. Sharon and graham 


Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jon Powell 7 reviews from this member

 Used this site as a just-finished-work-weather-is-good-lets-go-away last minute plan. It is very local to us and easily within 15 minutes of home.

As it was last minute we brought no food with us but popped in to Pershore to get what we needed. I do visit Pershore occasionally from home to visit the fishmonger in the market so knew what to expect. There is also a decent butchers if you want it and a supermarket for the rest.

The site was great. There are a few notices of the simple rules that everyone likes others to stick by and the owners are quite vociferous in keeping this a family friendly site.

The high-light for my (nearly 10 year old) daughter was spotting the deer when we took the dog for a walk. Highlight for me was sitting outside, in the sun, relaxing with a beer and listening to the bird-song.

The only, very slight, negative is, as listed below, having to pay for the shower. I don't think it was an issue with time, all signs say that it is 20p per minute, just that I am tight and like the shower thrown in.

The owners are great and easy to talk with.

We are quite sure that we will be going back when we can, hopefully for more than one night, so that we can play the tourist in our own back-yard and enjoy some of the delights of our local countryside.

Doesn't have a kids playground but with the natural environment the camp site is one big kids playground. My two went off 'to explore' on a few occasions with strict instructions not to go down to the river and to stay a safe distance from the lake.

The only things stopping this site from getting 10/10 is that I have stayed at similar sites for less and I had to pay for a shower. I should point out that it is still great value for money at £17 per night for a family of 4 with a dog a big caravan and awning, and that if I could have given 9 3/4 I would have done. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Twicknix 3 reviews from this member

 A very quiet site with basic amenities. The owners are very friendly and offer eggs and honey in the reception area. We asked for a site close to the toilets and were given a huge plot with space for the kids to play. It was also roped off which was very helpful in showing my kids where they could play.

Things we liked:

Large enough area of kids to play and not disturb anyone.

Friendly owners and ideas of what to do while there.

Great walk along river and a small pond to walk around.

10% off the local farm shop.

Clean toilets and amenities.

Low cost at £15. 00 a night.

Close to electricity and water points.

Gray water (washing water) was disposed off by feeding the trees.

Things we didn't like so much:

The shower cost £1. 00 for 5 minutes which is quite expensive.

Only one shower, which was ok when we first arrived as not many people on site, but as more people arrived this was not very good.

No local information sheet which would have been useful.

We missed the sign for the farm (its quite small) and had to drive quite some distance in order to turn around. A bigger sign would be good.

No child play area, but lots of space for children to play.

Overall we had a fabulous time and would definitely stay there again. Pershore is not far and a lovely shopping area. We visited Evesham Country Park which has shops, a train and some walks. We picked some apples and blackberries which was good fun. We had lunch at the local farm shop which, although expensive, was lovely and they took our kids needs into account. We walked by the river which was good and the dog enjoyed himself! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MandB 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed for 4 nights. A very nice site and Sue and Phil, the owners, were extremely helpful. Toilet/shower block was basic but very clean.

The site has a main area around the lake, ideal for anyone who likes fishing and a smaller quieter area at the back which is by the dog walk. The dog walk is great and if you follow it all the way down and around it will lead to the River Avon and the Farm Shop where they sell lots of really good local produce and you even get 10% off if you’re stopping at Hopyard!

There are 3 pubs, The Railway – which doesn’t seem to be open very often. The DEFFord Arms – this certainly has the right name! I have never met such a rude landlady and the Oak (which is the nearest), a friendly welcome, good food and you can take the dog into the bar area! 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: RachelandChris 1 review from this member

 We booked in here last minute as a stop over on the way to Cardiff.

The owners were lovely and friendly, The site was very basic but that's exactly how we like caravan /camping.

Electric hook ups and water were situated in close proximity to the pitch.

The only criticism we had was that there was only 1 shower and the £1 cost didn't last long enough. But If you use your caravan shower this isnt a problem.

The site was peaceful and the views were beautiful.

The site is dog friendly and there's a beautiful walk round the lake, which is a joy to wake up to.

This site didn't seem to have a children's play area( not a problem for us ) but there is plenty of space to run about and explore the natural environment.

We dined at the Old Oak Defford which is approx a mile away from the site, ( a nice walk ) The food, service and atmosphere were excellent,

We loved this site and will definitely stay there again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Percy on tour 49 reviews from this member

 With welcoming and obliging owners, Hopyard Farm is a well-maintained site close to the River Avon as it meanders its way through rural Worcestershire. There is hard-standing for a caravan or two, as well as plots on spacious, well-trimmed grassed areas for tents and additional caravans - most with hook-up - at a nightly rate of £15. We stayed for two nights of glorious weather in early June.

Hopyard Farm is located (as its name suggests) on a working farm with chickens pottering about and bee hives producing honey for sale. The central feature of the campsite is a man-made lake that offers idyllic facilities for anglers, as well as a pleasant circular walk with benches strategically placed from which to feed the ducks, spot for grass snakes (don't worry - they're harmless) hunting in the reeds for frogs, or just admire the views. And those views are pretty impressive - whether across lush, sheep-dotted meadows to nearby Strensham church; or further afield to the dominant landmark of Bredon Hill.

Although the site is just over a mile from Strensham Services on the M5 motorway, traffic noise (whilst present) is not unduly intrusive. Indeed, I suppose the flip side is that if, in the depths of the night, you fancy a burger with fries you don't have far to travel to find one! Interestingly, the more intrusive noise can originate from small planes circling nearby Defford airfield, although if we did feel like extras in 'Aces High' it was purely because there was an air display - complete with glorious old World War I biplanes - taking place on the weekend we stayed.

In terms of facilities, Hopyard Farm's are modern, if basic. They are housed in a block with two male and two female toilets, and a shower room that works on a 20p-per-minute coin meter (although the shower is at least big enough for the whole family to dive under in one dunking). An elsan unit, rubbish receptacles and a washing-up point are next door. Aside from the old canard about shower coin meters, the only downside with the facilities block is that it is located next to the entrance reception and so is a fair walk from where most of the tents and caravans are likely to be camped. Fortunately, water taps are more plentiful and well located around the site.

Although the River Avon is just a short walk from the site through its own woodland trail, it is unfortunate that the main footpath along the river is located on the opposite bank, with crossing points a considerable distance away at either Eckington Bridge or Strensham Weir (and the public footpath to the latter is not particularly well-marked). However, a circular walk taking in these points is possible if you have about three hours to spare. Otherwise, there is a clearing on the Hopyard Farm side of the river from which campers can launch canoes if they have brought them - just remember to paddle off upstream away from the weir!

Shopping and sightseeing opportunities include the nearby towns of Pershore, Evesham, Upton-upon-Severn and Tewkesbury - as well as the historic cathedral town of Worcester. The Malvern Hills are also to hand for walkers eager to savour impressive vistas across three of England's most beautiful counties. In addition, Gloucester, Cheltenham and Stratford-upon-Avon are also within an afternoon's drive of the site. There are plenty of country pubs for eating-out too - including the friendly, enchanted and reasonably priced 'Upton Muggery' in the main street of Upton-upon-Severn.

All told, Hopyard Farm is a great place for West Midlanders looking for a weekend away that doesn't involve too much driving (especially if you enjoy your fishing!), as well as for those from further afield who want to experience the rustic charms of Worcestershire.  


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mybride 1 review from this member

 The owners of Hopyard Farm must be the friendliest site owners we have come across, they are very willing to help when needed but melt into the background when not needed. The site is very quiet with lovely woodland walks, a result of the owners on going conservation work, the river Avon is close by for fishing, canoeing or just walking. The lake offers great fishing on peaceful pegs with a very nice bailiff for advice.

The facilities are fine except when users don't leave them clean and include several hook ups on different areas, general site, rally site or cl site. We have stayed here three times and will be back next year, we have also introduced family and friends to the site. Nearby The Oak inn is the place to go for meals and in Persure there is a fishing tackle shop with everything you could need. The eggs and honey are highly recommended.

This site is perfectly placed for visiting the Malverns, Gloucester, Worcester and many other places, it also makes a great stop over for long journeys being within reach of the M5. 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cara4562 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here overnight to break up journey back to Cornwall. We found it easily following owners directions and were greeted upon arrival and welcomed warmly, we were then situated with careful consideration considering ground conditions and our requirements. Toilet block and shower were very handy and well kept. We had a lovely peaceful sleep (no noise at all). The site is lovely, large and very well kept with lovely walks and scenery, although we didn't get to see all as darkness fell, but what we saw was lovely. The other caravanners seemed well spaced on level ground with all amenities required. We again easily found our way back to motorway following owners helpful directions. A very nice site, with lovely owners, we would highly recommend staying here and we will definitely use it again. Great value for money. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Alijns 9 reviews from this member

 We stopped at hopyard farm as a overnight stopover on the way back from cornwall.

The site is lovely & very peaceful even though there was a rally & a birthday party going on we didn't hear a thing.

Had a walk round the fishing lake & surrounding grounds which are really nice & very nicely kept.

The toilets were very basic but clean & could do with updating but the family shower room was really nicely done.

£15 per night for the motorhome 2 kids, 2 adults & ehu.

Would definitely return again 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jostyles-elms 5 reviews from this member

 This site is one that we have now used many times for weekends and short breaks. The owners are very welcoming and always happy to help if you have forgotten something. It now has a new shower (cost £1 for 5 mins) and this is kept very clean. It also has a new reception area selling local produce, eggs, honey and bees related products and even handmade cards for those forgotten birthdays etc. Very nice quite site with a lovely lake and wildlife, great place to spend time with the kid's the fishing is good both on the lake and the river. Nice walks and cycle rides we will be back next weekend. 


Previous     26 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hopyard Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hopyard Farm Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Hopyard Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Worcester      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Worcestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3014 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement