Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - St Day Tourist Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Redruth > St Day Tourist Park Reviews

St Day Tourist Park
Church Hill
St Day
Redruth
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR165LE
Tel: 01209 820459
    Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 20 Reviews
                9/10 from 20 Reviews

Photos (5)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kim n Tom 4 reviews from this member

Absolutely fabulous site - please go and see for yourselves an absolute gem which was only half full and cannot see why. The site is perfectly situated for exploring Cornwall, Truro and Falmouth can be visited using the local bus service in the village of St Day 3 mins away. During our visit we also went to St. Ives, rained most of the day but so much to see so didn't spoil our visit, St Anges, Penzance, Mevagissey, Charleston and Redruth.

The village of St Day is a few minutes walk away with couple of shops and two pubs. Had a juicy steak in The Star and the Bailys Meringue was delicious!

The site also has a static field where the reception and laundry room is kept with book swapping facility.

The facilities are very clean and requires a key code to enter which was no bother. Also for campers with tents, a microwave and electric sockets for charging was handy.

Fees are very inexpensive especially to store caravan for a few weeks as we did.

We visited a nearby campsite which was nearly full but was not a patch on St Day Holiday Park!

We will definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tomsauntie 3 reviews from this member

Lovely small campsite very handy for visiting West Cornwall. The pitches are well marked out and large enough to park next to the tents. The toilet block is spotlessly clean with ample facilities for the number of campers - we didn't have to wait for showers etc at all during a week long stay.

There is a big freezer and a microwave for all to use and WiFi - both free of charge. There are convenience stores, a brilliant butcher and a fish & chip shop in the village - about a 5 minute walk. There is a school next door that runs an after school club so there is a little noise of children playing for an hour after school, but we didn't find this a problem.

We will be back next year - this was our 3rd stay!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JacquelineJawa 1 review from this member

We loved our time on this very peaceful and quiet campsite. We were on the small camping field in a trailer tent. Pitches were a good size, well marked out and fairly level. The site is well draining, as it rained heavily on the August bank holiday but our pitch didnít flood. Electric hook up charges were very good value using the pre-payment cards.

The toilet & shower block was nearby, modern, very clean, plenty of loo roll and we didnít have to queue. In the Ladies section there were 2 free push button showers; the cubicles were large with hooks for keeping clothes/towels off the floor and a fold-down seat. There were also 4 washbasins, 4 toilets and a free hair-dryer. There was a problem one night accessing the toilet block as the lock had broken, but this was quickly sorted once reported to the site owners.

I hadnít realised that the campsite doesnít have the facility to accept card payments, so after paying for our pitch we needed to access cash. Luckily one of the shops is St Days offers free Cash Back if you purchase over £5 worth of goods, otherwise there is a nominal charge of approx 50p. I believe the other shop has a cash machine and so does the Star Inn, but Iím not sure if they charge.

We ate in the Star Inn, lovely warm welcome from the landlord and nice meal, itís also dog friendly in the bar area.

The site is centrally located for visiting North & South Cornwall and we would definitely stay here when in the area again.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ellie1964 4 reviews from this member

We stayed at this lovely site in June and have just realised we didn't leave a review. A great little site, very clean and toilets spotless. There is a chest freezer and microwave for general use. Electric on a meter and works out cheaper than the usual £2. 00 per night charge at most other campsites we've visited.

Perfectly positioned, we visited The Eden Project (28 miles 50 mins drive), St Michaels Mount (about an hours drive), Healers Cyder Farm (7. 5 miles), Lands End (about an hours drive). We walked around St Day Church - it has no roof! We went banger racing at the local track - which was a brilliant day out. There are shops and a laundrette in St Day villiage which is a short walk away.

We had a great time here and will be going back next time we are in the area - loved this part of Cornwall too everyone was so friendly.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Adg147 4 reviews from this member

This is a brilliant campsite, the owners are very friendly and helpful, and the toilets are very clean with nice and hot showers. The free freezer and microwave are very useful, and you can buy an electric card for £1. 00 or £5. 00 on arrival for your electric hook-up. We only used £1. 00 in four days.

This campsite is close to truro and redruth etc, and a good base for exploring everything that cornwall has to offer. We will be definitely going back there sometime. Very good value for money only £12 per night

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Geoleen 35 reviews from this member

Have just spent a great 2 weeks here on this wonderful site, it is slightly sloping but with fantastic views over the countryside. It is adults only and very peaceful.

The amenity block, which is accessed by a security code pad, has 4 toilets, 4 washbasins, 2 showers and free hairdryer in the female and the same in the male side. In the entrance to the amenity block there is a huge chest freezer and microwave oven for use by visitors and also a washing up area just off to one side. At the rear of the block is an elsan point. There is a laundry on site which also has books to swap and lovely fresh eggs for sale. Each pitch has electricity accessed by card which cost either £1 or £5, we spent £10 which with the cost of the pitch (£130) for 2 weeks came to the grand total of £140! Amazing value. While we were there we had a fair bit of rain one night but the ground is very well drained and was not muddy at all. The owners live on site and are very friendly and helpful.

The village of St. Day, which is only 5 minutes walk from the site, is basic but has 2 minimarket type shops, 2 butchers, a laundrette and a chippy. There is a pub in the village but we never ate there, we walked a further 10 minutes to the Star Inn at Vogue which was very friendly and served good food and drinks at reasonable prices. There is also a bus service from the village which takes you to Truro a pleasant place to visit and walk around. All in all this is a great place to relax and unwind and ideally placed for visiting most places in Cornwall.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sianrosser 4 reviews from this member

Just returned from the most wonderful site. The owners were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. Its an adult only site with a lovely toilet block which is central to both fields. The site is well looked after.

There are many walks from the site and a bus that leaves every hour to Truro and Falmouth. Well worth the ride, it takes you through the picturesque villages.

There are two village shops which cater for almost everything. They also have a chippy but it shuts about 8. 00 pm weekday and 9. 00pm Saturday. They serve freshly cooked cod which I recommend.

The village also hosts 2 pubs, one is a restaurant I do advise to book if you want a meal, lovely food and not too expensive. St Day is central for touring,

I cannot fault it in any way. I loved it there total relaxation. Electric is by a meter and we used about £1. 00 a day. This is a value for money site and definitely worth a visit.

We will be going back next year, just wish is was nearer our home, then we would be there every month.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Madge1948 1 review from this member

We visited this site the last two weeks of August and found it to be one of the nicest and friendliest campsites we have been to.

We have a campervan and used an electric hook-up. We found the electric payment cards a much fairer way of paying for your electricity. We only used a kettle and toaster ( as obviously we didn't need any heating in August) and only used about £3 worth in the entire fortnight. We are also members of the Camping and Caravanning Club and to use an electric hook-up on their sites, it is £3. 55 a night! On a two week holiday that is £49.70!

Yes, the showers are a push button type. But that's true of most sites nowadays. It really isn't too much bother to keep pressing them. It's much better than showers being left running.

The laundry facilities were, as said in the previous review, extremely good. Very reasonable and quick. It made a nice change not to have to spend all day doing the washing!

The campsite is in a very central location. So easy to get to either coast. The bus stop is just around the corner and the buses seemed to be very frequent - even though we didn't use them. The Park and Ride at both Truro and Falmouth were excellent. Both places were worth a trip as was Penzance, St Ives and The Lizard. In fact a fortnight wasn't long enough visit all the beautiful places around!

St Day is literally a stroll away. Very handy for most things. The Star Inn (the furthest pub from the site) was excellent. Very friendly and served good food at very reasonable prices.

To sum up:- A lovely site. Very friendly and a site I will certainly go back to if in this area of Cornwall again.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: June Evans 9 reviews from this member

Have to say this is one of the best adults only sites we have visited for a long time. We were a party of 3 touring caravans staying for 2 weeks.

The extremely generous sized pitches are all separated by small clematis and miniature conifers a nice touch.

The site itself is well maintained by the owners Craig and Jo who made us feel very welcome. The eggs and home made jams were something else.

Rates were very reasonable for a site of this standard, electricity is by way of a pre payment card. We used less than £10 over the 2 weeks. Good washing up facilities indoors.

Only 2 showers in the ladies but never had to wait at any time. We certainly hope to revisit in the not too distant future.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: 2alsatians 4 reviews from this member

This is the first non-C&CC/CC or certificated site at which I've stayed, and I must say, I love it here. It's adults-only, so the site is very quiet, but it is situated next to a school, so it can get noisy during recess or lunch hour. Otherwise, it's absolutely peaceful.

The not-so-good:

--electric meters for electricity (charged extra), so if you run your electric heater or microwave often, the charges add up quickly. However, they have large gas tanks at what seems to be a good price that they can sell you to use for heating/cooking instead.

--push-button showers. The temperature is fine and the pressure is very good, but the time between pushes is very short. There is also no rack or other such on which to put your shampoo, etc.

--wastewater drain. There are 2, and the one on the toilet block is raised several inches, which can make it difficult as you have to lift the wastewater carrier up into it.

Those are the only bad points!

The good:

--the walking from this site is tremendous. You can walk off the site and spend hours and days walking along footpaths, bridleways, byways, mining trails, and quiet country lanes through spectacular mining country!

--the town of St. Day is a 4-minute walk from the site, complete with post office, general store, 2 pubs, and 2 butchers.

--while I haven't yet tried it, bus service from the town to Redruth seems to be frequent. From Redruth, trains can easily take you to the rest of Cornwall.

--the site owners, Craig and Jo, are super-friendly and helpful.

--women's bathroom has 2 showers, 4 toilets, and 3 sinks, which are more than enough for such a small site. (Can't speak about the men's bathroom. )

--the pitches are large and slightly sloped, but not badly.

--there's a large freezer available for camper use.

--laundry facilities are very good (if in need of a general tidy-up) - cheaper than I've ever seen, and the dryers actually dry (which is unusual, in my experience).

--for avid readers, there are lots of books in the laundry room, free to take or exchange.

Would I return to St. Day? Absolutely, no questions. This is a great site, particularly for dog owners, walkers, runners, and mountain bikers who want to get out and enjoy the area.

Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20     Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3474 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019