Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - St Day Tourist Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Site Reviews

St Day Tourist Park
Church Hill
St Day
Redruth
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR165LE
Tel: 01209 820459
    Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 20 Reviews
                9/10 from 20 Reviews

Photos (5)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lovetheoutdoors 7 reviews from this member

Beautiful and clean site. The owners were so helpful. Lots to do and see. Great for the outdoor lovers. Made to feel very welcome.

Well be back - can't wait for my next visit and will look to stay longer.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Flickthechemist 9 reviews from this member

We booked 5 nights at this site because we were attending a wedding locally. On arrival, there was a note pinned to the door telling us where to pitch, and reception wasn't open at all that day.

The pitch was a good size and grassy, with pleasant clematis covered boarders from adjacent sites. It's a small site with three areas - one for tents only, one for tents, caravans and motorhomes, and an area (quite hidden away) with statics and lodges. There are essentially good facilities for such a small site, including a laundry, an indoor washing up area, freezer and microwave.

However, from the posted reviews we were expecting more attention to detail. The cleanliness of the toilets was adequate at best. The loo roll was the type with the end poking through a small hole and it kept disappearing, so everyone ended up having to use the one loo with loo roll. The mop provided and clearly used for the cleaning was the type with a shaggy mophead which simply moved the hairs and grass around rather then actually cleaning the floor and the water in the bucket was permanently a muddy mess. There was plenty of hot water but the showers were a fixed temperature which was often much too hot to stand under. No bin was provided in the washrooms other than the sanitary bins inside the toilet cubicles.

We were given no information at reception so had to hunt around for the disposal area and to see what could be recycled. The area was full with many binbags covering the floor. One young mum was busy washing her baby's clothes by hand till I pointed out to her that there was a laundry hidden away on the static field! The pub in Vogue, a short walk away, did very good pub meals, which were also available for takeaway, but again we had to find this out for ourselves, there was no information at the site. The larger of the two village shops had a good range of produce including fresh croissants and rolls. A notice said you could order rolls from reception for the following day but as reception was closed a lot of the time this wasn't very practical.

All together I got the feeling that the owners were doing this as a part time hobby rather than a serious enterprise.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pcrowly 4 reviews from this member

Lovely quiet site. Didn't even notice playtime at the adjacent primary school. The song birds spoke to us as we dropped into bed and again in the mornings. We bought 1 lb bird seed at the local shop and the sparrows visited us each day. The facilities are clean and in good condition. The new owners are spending a lot of money trying to make the site different. They have a number of ongoing developments including a hot bath tub installation. The clothes washing area needs a sink. There is a small microwave and deep freezer for general use.

The tent field is on a slight slope. The electric is on a metre so you pay for what you use. We used £10 over the 2 weeks which is a lot cheaper than £3 a night which many other sites charge.

The showers were always hot.

We booked this site when it was advertised as an adult only site. If you stay during school term time you are unlikely to have any children on site and the only child on site was the owners son.

The family were all very friendly and encouraged us to make suggestions as to what they could do to improve our stay.

Excellent location for visiting all areas of Cornwall.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: T4 CAMPER 1 review from this member

Spent a week on this campsite and have to say was impressed from the start. Was greeted by the owners who were friendly and accommodating. Picked this site as didn't want to be surrounded by children (|not that I have anything against them we have some ourselves ) so this site was perfect. The toilets and showers were kept clean as was the washing up area. It was great to have access to a freezer for the ice packs as we were only camping and didn't want electric hook up as didn't need it so all in all would highly recommend. The village of St Day was very quaint and really handy for the local shop for any emergencies and the old church I found very fascinating and a joy to look round. All in all I would recommend this site to anyone who just wants a quiet relaxing holiday away from all the stresses of life. If your going for a fun filled campsite then you'll be sadly disappointed as it doesn't have any fancy club or outside pool but then that's not what we wanted. Will surely be returning

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Amulliss 1 review from this member

Excellent value for money site in a nice village setting especially when you book for 7 nights. Well placed for exploring all south cornwall. With clean toilet block and free showers. Very tidy and quiet well kept pitches and friendly staff. Will definitely be going there again.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Moggy61 7 reviews from this member

Stayed here for a week in June, and very nice too, large hedged pitches and no tall trees blocking out the sun, toilet block adequate, but the light timers need to stay on longer. The atmosphere is laid back, the owners are around if needed, the electric card system is a pain, but you get used to keeping an eye on it, with a modern electric van its surprising how fast it goes. St Day village is only a 5 minute walk, , 2 shops, pub and bus stop, no tight lanes to site with very easy access, , Would I book this site again to visit south Cornwall, , Most definitely

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mistrelyn 12 reviews from this member

We arrived at St Day after staying at Chew Valley and Start Bay CC site. On arrival we were dismayed at the appearance of the reception and house and its run down appearance but not one to be put off we booked in for our 5 night stay.

When we pulled on to the actual camping area we were, to say the least, disappointed and christened it 'Sad Bay'. There were 5 other van's on site, all seasonal or long stay, on grass pitches where the weeds and grass were up around the van's. Only one was occupied. One of the van's pulled off that day and the next day the owner cut the grass and weeds but didn't collect it so like several of the other pitches there was a lot of grass cuttings to be walked into your unit.

The hard standing pitches were well out of level and full of weeds growing through the gravel.

The toilet block was only used by the 2 occupied van's, ourselves and a guy who we thought was working in the area. During the 5 days we were there it wasn't cleaned once. There was toothpaste splashes around the sinks, the foil top of a toothpaste tube stayed on the vanity top for the whole time we were there and might still be there and the centre basin was very dirty around the taps. The lighting was a joke. There is a cubicle in the mens with a shower, WC and basin in it but no light! The lights come on when you enter but 3 minutes later go off! and no amount of waving at the PIR will bring them on.

It is very sad to see a site going down hill like this with the owners not caring or unable to maintain the site but it will only get worse.

Having said all that we made the most of our stay and actually enjoyed ourselves. We were joined on Sunday by another tourer and on Monday by another who had specifically booked pitch 2.

There is no dog walk on site but a 5 minute drive takes you to United Downs where you can let the dog off with no worries. The fish and chip shop has closed down but the van that comes around on Mondays is well worth a shot and the village, sorry town, has everything you need with a great butcher 100 yards after the first shop.

Will we return? No!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paul Allen 1 review from this member

What a gem! Lovely quiet adults only site with mixed tents and tourers. Facilities never busy and spotless day and night. Big pitches and although not included in the daily rate, electric card work well. Everything you need for a relaxing break. Our hosts couldn't be more helpful or friendly.

We phoned regarding availability a few weeks before our visit, booking taken over phone and told to turn up, wouldn't take deposit and paid on arrival, cash or cheques no card facility, which isn't a problem. Lovely site, Lovely people, will revisit next time I'm in Cornwall WELL DONE. VALUE FOR MOEY SHOULD BE 11 out of 10 GREAT.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mcclays 1 review from this member

We have just got back from a 5 night break to St Day Holiday Park. The location is perfect for visiting west Cornwall with Falmouth only 15-20 min drive and try to even less. The site was well maintained and the owners were extremely friendly and welcoming on arrival. The facilities were clean and maintained throughout the day with plenty of toilets and 2 showers for men and 2 for women. No queuing :-) also pot washing facilities and a large chest freezer for storing icepacks or in hot weather possibly ice pops. Love that it is adults only. It was really quiet just want you want for a relaxing holiday. We will definitely be booking again for next year :-D

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Percy on tour 49 reviews from this member

We stayed at St Day during early July, during which time the weather at the first part of the week was indifferent, but progressively improved as the week wore on.

The campsite bears the name of the small Cornish village in which it is located, which is itself set amidst the rugged landscape wrought from Cornwall’s erstwhile tin-mining industry. The tariff is quite reasonable, and we were able to stay on a special deal rate of £70 per week. Electric hook-up meter cards are available for £5. 00 each and if you wash and shower using the camp’s facilities and are otherwise frugal with your power use then one meter card will probably suffice for a week’s stay.

The site itself is divided into a mobile home plot, a touring caravan plot and a tent field. There is a laundry block located on the former part of the site, whilst the main facilities block is located in the divide between the latter two and hosts sinks for crock-washing, a chest freezer for the use of patrons, a male toilet and shower area, a female toilet and shower area and a disabled toilet. The elsan disposal point is outside around the rear of the block. Entry to the block is accessed by using a keypad lock – an interesting concept which may have been justified at some point, but which can be a bit of a pain if you have your hands full with washing up, or need to bodge the keys in the dark; or even if (like my wife) you can never quite memorise the number.

The showers themselves are push-button operated and work well. However, the toilet area is hampered by poor lighting (and no sign of any switch to actually work what lights there are), which can make it difficult to see what you’re doing (and consequently if and where the toilet bowl needs brushing after you’ve finished!). Whilst not a desperate problem during the long hours of midsummer daylight, when there is plenty of natural illumination streaming through the skylights, one might take a less charitable view of this omission at other times of the year. My wife (who has more of an eye for such things) remarked that the floor of the ladies toilet block didn’t appear to have been mopped throughout our stay. I myself noticed that when the soap dispenser for the hand basins ran empty midway through the week it was not refilled.

The caravan plots themselves are available with either gravel hard-standing or grass pitches and are divided from each other by hedges of shrubs and dwarf conifers – something which, whilst being a nice touch aesthetically, has the unfortunate effect of lopping two or three feet off the space available on each pitch. This means that accommodating awning and car on the pitch whilst still leaving space free for sunbathing requires the caravan to be sidled right up to the hedge, making accessing its right-hand side compartments awkward (especially if the hedge is dripping wet because of dew or rain).

Out and about, there are plenty of country walks around St Day, including some that traverse the country park that incorporates the old Wheal Maid mine and the wooded hills above at United Downs. Having been deterred from loading it by the dense contour lines on the OS map, I confess I subsequently regretted not bringing my mountain bike along because the old mine workings actually provide a rich source of tracks for cyclists to enjoy – including (if you dare) breathtaking BMX-style ski-jumps that local youngsters have constructed by shovelling up the mine tailings to form humps and ramps. All the authorities ask is that ramblers, dog-walkers and cyclists who frequent the park steer clear of the man-made lakes and settling ponds, which their signs announce “contain toxic concentrations of arsenic and cadmium”!

The village of St Day has two small convenience stores, a pub or two, and an ancient derelict church – the tall spire of which is a local landmark. Inside its shell are wall plaques detailing the interesting history of both church and village. The nearest main towns are Truro (the county’s capital), Redruth, Camborne, Penryn and Falmouth, all of which boast large food superstores for a more comprehensive stocking up a camper’s larder. Regular bus services operating right outside the campsite’s front gates link St Day with all of these places. In addition, on Sunday afternoons there is a large car boot sale at Mabe Burnthouse, just outside Penryn.

As an aside, a useful point to remember if you are unfortunate enough to require medical attention during your stay is that car parking at the Royal Cornwall Hospital in Truro is punitively expensive. Better to park at the Park-and-Ride site just off the A390 and board the PR1 bus, which serves the Hospital at frequent intervals and only costs £1. 80 for an all-day return ticket.

One prime selling point of the St Day site is that it is situated centrally for exploring all West Cornwall’s many beaches, coves and coastal paths, with Lands End and the Lizard Peninsula themselves being no more than forty minutes away by car along the main A30 spine road. Porthtowan – the nearest beach – is only just over ten minutes drive away and its beautiful expanse of west-facing sands and cliff-top bar/restaurant make for an enthralling place to watch the sun go down on a warm summer’s evening. Meanwhile, Newquay, Perranporth and Holywell Bay offer the temptation of hours of play and relaxation for surfers and sun-worshippers alike.

In summary, though personally we wouldn’t claim that St Day is the best site we have ever stayed on, it does appears to have a loyal fan base. Furthermore, its convenient location and the fact that it boasts (often significantly) lower tariffs than Cornwall’s sea view campsites may enable campers to overlook some of the minor niggles that we discovered during our stay.

Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over £399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3636 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth £399!