Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Wharf Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Worcestershire > Ombersley > The Wharf Caravan Park Reviews

The Wharf Caravan Park
Holt Heath
Holt Fleet
Ombersley
Worcestershire   (Browse area)
WR6 6NN
Tel: 01905622289
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 12/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 24 Reviews
                8/10 from 24 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (19)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  24 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Shakesm 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for a few days in April which was our first visit. Enjoyed it so much we are coming back for ten days in June! Lovely clean toilet and shower block, park very well kept and Dave loved the fishing pool. Julie was very friendly & helpful. Shop and pub only couple of minutes walk away. Nice relaxing break was very much enjoyed. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: George99 1 review from this member

 I came to stay at the wharf for an initial period of 5 nights A week later & still here the site is so well kept friendly peaceful also the fishing in both pools are excellent friendly I have health issues staying here knowing that myself and caravan are safe is so reassuring

Thank you Julie & staff

George 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rolly-polly 1 review from this member

 Nice clean park plenty of areas for fishing in the two lakes also along the river banks which had many points to fish from also good pub on site which sold good food also a small shop quite close

Points against noise late at night which appeared to be the managers of the site drinking and singing into the early hours

Toilet block was small for such a large site 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fiona Louise 1 review from this member

 After buying our very first caravan we didn't want to travel far to experience and try out our new Caravan, we travelled a whole 9 mins in all to the Wharf Caravan Park! The camp site was lovely situated in a beautiful setting on the bank of the river Severn, edged by tranquil fishing pools. The site manager and his wife couldn't have been more welcoming or supportive - knowing I was a novice, he gently supported us and even gave us missing brackets for our second hand owning. The toilet blocks were basic but clean. Thank you we had a wonderful couple if nights and you gave us great confidence. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vedge 2 reviews from this member

 Arrived to very friendly helpful staff and was impressed with this clean beautiful site, plenty of room for the kids to run around in and play with the other children on site (not worried about having to be too quiet)

Was surprised to find a very small toilet block for the size of camp which is accessed via a coded door - a little frustrating every time one of the younger children need the toilet in a hurry! Also a water pipe continuously running into one of the sinks was not a great look.

Inside the toilet block was one shower cubicle for the whole site (I presume one in the gents too)

Thankfully it was large enough for me to take children in also but I dread to think what this would be like in the height of season, the shower was modern, hot, clean and very welcome.

There were four or five wash basins in toilet blocks but no space to place washbags or toiletries and despite the usual reminders not to place nappies or sanitary products down toilets there were no sanitary disposal bins in any of the toilets just a general waste bin in the main block area - not the sort of waste you want to be carrying outside of the toilet cubicle for all to possibly see!

The fishing pools on the site were beautiful and we enjoyed a walk around these and the surrounding area, there is a local shop and off licence within a few minutes walk away which is very handy, the shop also does hot food after 5pm although we did not try any so cannot review that.

There is a small playground area that my children really enjoyed using, unfortunately on one occasion 2 other children started climbing on top of the equipment (dangerously) and started calling them names, not the campsites fault obviously but thought it was worth mentioning, after some encouragement they returned to the playground with no further incidents.

Next to the playground was the wharf inn which despite looking run down from the outside due to renovation was a billboard encouraging us to go in, I'm glad we did - wow! What beautiful quirky decor and menu! Definitely worth a look, loved the pool room and enjoyed a couple of games along with a beer and bowl of chips!

We enjoyed a fantastic afternoon shopping in Worcester, beautiful city and plenty of shops and cafés for us to enjoy, on return to the site we prepared a barbecue and my husband and dad who had come with us were excited for the first England game of the World Cup, not starting until 11pm I was well prepared for there to be late noise/excitement and banter on this occasion - completely understandable with such a big sporting competition, what I was definitely not prepared for was (no exaggeration) music still BLASTING out at 3. 30am! Along with loud conversation/laughter/arguing! After being up at 6am with young children I am writing this review very drained right now! Such a shame, it really did ruin what was a fantastic first day at this site and I am sorry to say (maybe because I am writing this review with matchsticks propping open my eyes) that I really do not think we will be returning to this site, so disappointing after a good start. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Sylvia01 1 review from this member

 We stumbled upon this lovely site last september and stayed for 2 nights. We only live 20 miles away so is very convenient for us. We loved the view over george's pool and the riverside walks, the close proximity of the well stocked shop, pub and off license. The toilet block and shower was clean and private. My sister and sister in law live in durham and we get together for touring and camping holidays 3 times a year. We loved this site so much that we persuaded them to travel down to join us in may this year. They loved it too. We have stayed on many sites over the years and this is definitely one of our favourites. We would like to say a big thankyou to the site manager for his enormous help and for making us so welcome. He was an absolute star. Nothing was too much trouble. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Awallaceuk 1 review from this member

 The Pro's -

Great host and very helpful.

Location next to river and overlooking 'ponds'

Proximity to my mates pub The Holt Fleet

The Cons -

Ground gets saturated and there is no hardstanding

EHU is dubious, 10amp and is based on extension cables laid alongside hedges

Shower block, only one shower, very small cubicle

Site generally looks run down, litter lying around, generally untidiness around some seasonal pitches

Recycle point and elsan point needs work 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Teffy1 1 review from this member

 What a fab place, great to escape to for a chillaxing few days, been using this site now 3 years. 1st year was our first year of camping complete novices and tried out quite a few places of which this was one which then became our favourite and we have returned back a dozen times plus. This is due the friendliness of the people on site, both campers and the regular static caravan people. Site manager is always helpful and is lovely chap to talk too, never see him have time to himself, always busy helping someone, but always has time to stop and ask if we are ok, even though we are regulars.

The site has 3 fields & two fishing pools of which we can pitch the tent right on the side (ideal for me to watch hubby fishing while I relax :). River Severn runs at the side of the back field, fantastic scenery and walking through the fields at the side of the river with the dog is great.

Toilet block with two toilets & 1 shower (hot water too, now new boiler installed)in both mens & womens and always kept immaculate, with keycode to keep passersby out. Pub on site, but I think its ran separately & this has a small park (slide & swing/climbing frame. Small shop just two mins off site sells fair bit of stock, papers, cigs, beers & farm shop 5 mins walk up road.

For a cheap weekend away what more can you ask for :). Maybe somewhere to wash up, but hey ho I aint complaining, hubby has mastered this outside of tent! You gotta love the back to basics haha 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: DaisyV 1 review from this member

 We came to this site for the first time in May as it is only 20 miles from home and being virgin caravanners we did not want to go too far from home.

We set up the caravan, or so we thought. The site manager put us straight, literally! Getting a caravan level when you don't know what your doing can be interesting, but he showed us how.

We were in the top field which was perfect for children as they could run about and you could see them all of the time, also there isnt the danger of them going into the water. The showers where very clean, proper loo roll in the toilets, yeah! and a small (but a little tired) play area on the site for children. The pub is going through renovation, with the main rooms already done and look and feel lovely. A few years back I saw this pub and it was a major state, very brave people took it on. There is a shop and off license only meters away from the top field through some trees, which also sells fish and chips up to 9pm.

The site manager is always out and about keeping an eye on things and he seems to be very hot on anti social behaviour which is very reassuring, especially if you have children with you.

We loved it so much the first time (May) we stopped an extra night and then we have been again this weekend, feels miles away.

Thank you and we will be back again. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nugget75 1 review from this member

 Just had a lovely weekend camping in our tent with our two young daughters (3 and 6). The manager was very friendly upon arrival & suggested the quieter field to the left as you go in, next to a pretty fishing pond as he had a two groups in the other field that he thought may be quite rowdy that evening. When he enquired the following morning if we had been disturbed the answer was no.

There is a pub on-site which is fresh & modern inside, except the toilets which they are waiting for planning permission to re-build. The pub didn't serve food but the landlady told me that they will start serving food in 3weeks time. I assume this is a new take over which seems to be shaping up nicely.

There is a small playground on site with things to climb on & a slide, could do with a bit spent on it but it serves a purpose. There is a shop & off licence right next to the site ( it may as well be on site) where the staff are very friendly and you can get everything you need.

So, all in all everyone was very friendly & the site is very well looked after and pretty. Kids loved feeding the ducks too, we did have to make sure they were safe at the pond as it's bigger than the camping field but as long as you're careful it's an enjoyable experience for everyone.

Another bonus is that dogs are accepted and there are fields to walk them in.

Will definitely visit again. 


Previous     24 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Wharf Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Wharf Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Wharf Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ombersley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Worcestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5853 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement