Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Wharf Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Worcestershire > Ombersley > The Wharf Caravan Park Reviews

The Wharf Caravan Park
Holt Heath
Holt Fleet
Ombersley
Worcestershire   (Browse area)
WR6 6NN
Tel: 07891614333
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 12/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 23 Reviews
                8/10 from 23 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (19)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  23 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 28 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Merrin 1 review from this member

 The wharf is a very nice place to say we have a seasonal pitch on here as we really enjoy it people are very friendly.

The wardens Tim and Maddie are a lovely couple who are always always around if you need them the site in general is very well maintained.

The toilets and shower was very clean there is nothing to complain about here

We are very happy

There is a shop around the corner and there is also a pub on site for a bite to eat while looking over the river 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Lisama 1 review from this member

 The site was lovely and clean though easily accessible from the river on foot.

Dog walkers a plenty were passing through.

As it was the opening season after the covid lockdown the toilets were 1 in 1 out which was fair enough but really difficult when desperate for the loo.

The children enjoyed the little park available and the plenty of space to play ball.

Would have been more pleasant if there were more portaloos around the site

Would be so much better if you could pay for fishing along with your camping not just separately. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: K3zz4 1 review from this member

 What a find and it's on our door step too. We had only just brought our caravan and wanted to go away but not too far from home when we stumbled upon this little gem!

The site is not very big in size yet has everything that you could need. There is a pub on site which sits beside the river or you could walk across the bridge to another pub which serves food all day, everyday.

There is a shop and off licence on the road outside of the site which stocks most items plus gas if need. Toilets and showers are clean and tidy. There is a well stock fishing pool too.

Staff are very helpful and are always around to help out. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: ChristineBrazier 1 review from this member

 So glad I found this little gem of a site. Just returned from 9 very relaxing days. We were 2 parties. Us in our tourer with electric hook up and friends in a tent, no ehu, but the manager was ok with us running an extension lead over, just for a light and phone chargers.

The men folk fished as and when they wanted, and at only 5 a day, why not!. 2 good pools and the River Severn all on site. Toilets were clean and shower was lovely and hot. The staff were very friendly, as too were many of the other visitors. Decent kids play area. Didn't try the pub at the bottom of the site as it does look a bit tired and dingey, but apparently its owned by a third party and is up for sale (possibly a good investment for the site owner?).

Only real negative I have is that they could do with a dish washing area.

Only 45 mins drive from home so we will most definitely be going back. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lyns 26 reviews from this member

 Nice enough site, but not quite the peace and tranquillity it described on the website. The site is situated on a busy road. At best you are 100m away, but some pitches are only separated by a hedge, so there is a constant drone of traffic. Also, the pub/hotel on the opposite side of the river is a busy wedding venue so you do get discos until late into the night and you can hear every track and every announcement, although we were treated to fireworks during our stay!

That aside, the pitches are generous in size and the fishing lakes provided a good days fishing, which at 5 is reasonable. I pulled out a number of good Carp, one at 15lb and others reported fish up to 18lb during the weekend we were there.

Toilets were clean and accessed with a number code which was unusual. There are no washing up facilities which is a shame. Staff were very helpful, both prior to our stay and on arrival and good to see them walking the site in the evening to check all was well.

There is a small shop and off licence approx. 100m from the entrance selling the basics and some lovely Indian food. The Holt Fleet Pub opposite is very nice, but a little pricey if you are eating.

You can walk along the river from site in either direction and the walk to Stourport is lovely, but allow a couple of hours each way.

Lots of litter evident around the site and as is often the case it is the other campers that make or break a good stay. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Bmansell123 2 reviews from this member

 We have been going here for years and up to now we haven't been on a better more relaxed site. Everyone's very friendly and always there to help. 2 fishing pools and handy shop next door that sells hot and cold food. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: NicciMac 52 reviews from this member

 Just back from one night at this site which is only half an hour from home. I enjoy wild swimming and this is really handy for a dip in the Severn. There are 3 different fields for tourers/ tents, and we were able to pick the one we wanted.

Note that the website is wrong - we paid 15 for a pitch (there were no EHUs left when we arrived), rather than the 12 stated on the website.

Toilet/shower block fine, regularly cleaned and accessed with a door code. Drinking water point but no washing-up point that I could see - drives me mad! Didn't use the pub but it looked nice enough, and there's a decent looking playground and loads of space for children.

Everyone was fine with our dog being off the lead yet well behaved, which was a relief.

There are two fishing pools on site, and most of the people camping seemed to be there for the fishing. This is not the place to come if you want peace and quiet - children were running wild and everyone seemed to be arguing and/or swearing loudly at each other! We enjoy a few drinks when camping but some of these guys were taking the mick.

Needs a proper marked recycling bin area - I put our rubbish in a public litter bin in the car park which isn't ideal.

Probably won't be back because of the price and the clientele, but the location is really nice. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lau1965 4 reviews from this member

 This is a really lovely site. We only live in Kidderminster so only 20 minutes away and had passed it quite a lot on our travels. We were at a 50th birthday party that was held there for the weekend and it was really great. The site is really well maintained and neat - grass kept nice and short for camping so you don't get wet feet every morning! The toilet facilities were clean and tidy. Added bonus was the pub attached to the site - fantastic location right by the river. Good sized village shop just around the corner which covers most of the things you could require. Very good value too at a special rate for our weekend of 10 per pitch. I appreciate this is not the normal rate which I believe is only 12 anyway. We would definitely come and stay again even though it's close to home - a nice quick getaway in a smashing location. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Liamandkatie 7 reviews from this member

 Just arrived back from a one night stay here, for the Bank Holiday. I rang on Friday and left a message and they rang back on Saturday and said they could fit us in without electric hook up for the following day. I asked if we could stay later on the Bank Holiday Monday and that was no problem. We arrived there mid afternoon on Sunday and were told to pitch in the first field wherever we wanted. We pitched below the top hedge with the main road behind. Site was fairly busy, toilets and shower were clean and never had to wait. Main road was busy and some of our neighbours were still outside talking until after midnight! Bar from that we had a good night, staff were very friendly, got what we expected for 12 a night! 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Shakesm 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for a few days in April which was our first visit. Enjoyed it so much we are coming back for ten days in June! Lovely clean toilet and shower block, park very well kept and Dave loved the fishing pool. Julie was very friendly & helpful. Shop and pub only couple of minutes walk away. Nice relaxing break was very much enjoyed. 


Previous     23 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Wharf Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Wharf Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Wharf Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ombersley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Worcestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Campervan Show, Peterborough 11/06 to 13/06
Browse new and used motorhomes for sale from a huge range of local and national dealers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4518 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement