Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Moss Side Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Broughton In Furness > Moss Side Farm Campsite Reviews

Moss Side Farm Campsite
Woodland
Lake District
Broughton In Furness
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA20 6DJ
Tel: 07812591151  or  01229 716947
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 21 Reviews
                9/10 from 21 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  21 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Addy01 8 reviews from this member

 On arrival friendly greeting, showed use where we could pitch, nobody else there, pitched a fantastic spot looking out over the countryside with a fire pit (could buy logs from farmer), nice peaceful, ducks roaming, horses in next field, sun shining, nice. Basic camping no hook ups.

Then the rain came down on second night/third day our pitch got water logged (hard ground)we ended up packing away & homeward bound.

Showers & toilets could make do only there for 3 nights, could do with some attention, shower had a shower curtain that didn't close well, nowhere to hang clothes, sink with nowhere to dry hands, water red hot, could do with mopping regularly.

Apparently there's an old railway track to go into the village, we were told we cant use this due to other farmer next door put his bull in field & is a bit grumpy, we were given an other route, but that didn't work out too well an ocean of cow poo prevented us from linking on to the track further down had to come back.  


Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: JesustheWerewolf 1 review from this member

 What else can be said beyond an enchanting little place? Well, allow me to try!

We started off by arriving in the nearby town of Broughton in Furness. (Side note, for ale lovers I advise venturing into the Mannor and for anyone looking for a fantastic all day breakfast, find your way to the Square Cafe. I honestly didn't eat anything else for the rest of the day and I'm a big guy!)

But I digress.

The walk to the site was lovely, down an old rail line where dog walkers and people out and about were happy to say a friendly hello, something sorely missing in some places. The site, not hard at all to find if you're capable of listening to even the simplest of directions or (as we did) have a map, is wonderfully simple. We got there in February and were the only ones there which meant the only thing to interrupt the peace and quiet was the sound of the birds in the trees and the occasional moo from a cow. (Not a bad point since it is to be expected from a working farm, though it must be noted that the ladies were, for the most part, quite polite in keeping their mooing volume down :) )

The camping pods are actually converted railway trams that are surprisingly roomy boasting a double bed AND bunk beds. As noted earlier, I'm a big guy coming in at a little over 6ft4' and I had plenty of head and leg room. Plus. BUNKBEDS! What better way to indulge your inner child? I'd have spent the entirety of my time up there if my wife hadn't given me 'the look'. But I digress again.

The rail pods come equipped with a log burner and Oh my word how lovely an addition they are! Logs can be purchased from the nearby petrol station though we actually brought our own. A good number was certainly enough to see us through the night and kept us warm throughout the evening. The lack of lighting within the pods is also something that contributes to the wonderfully rustic feel of the place. We have our own L. E. D lantern but candles might have been a better choice if we'd thought on or had room in our packs. We'll certainly know for next time! The scenery is also wonderful with sunrise revealing a glorious landscape over hill and dell since the previous day had been spent in freezing fog typical of the time of year.

The facilities are basic but all intrepid adventurers really need with toilets, showers and hot (and I do mean HOT) water.

All in all it made for a cosy place to sit and unwind.

In fact, the only negative thing I can think to say is simply if you've never been camping before or are simply an armchair explorer, you might want to build up to somewhere like this. (While leaving it available for the rest of us, ha ha!)

Special note must be made to the lady of the farm who was absolutely lovely. Thank you so much for providing such a great place. We will look forward to returning! 


Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Tea Ladt 08 2 reviews from this member

 We received a very friendly welcome at the site and it was excellent value for money

The toilet and shower block were spotless.

The walk to the village of Broughton took 25 minutes along a disused railway line which was a pleasant after dinner stroll to a dog friendly pub

We will definitely return in the future 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gerbenvg 1 review from this member

 Good basic campsite. 2 ad 2 ch for 18 pound per night.

Beautiful view over the valley, all the way to the Irish Sea.

Tranquil

Fireplaces provided.

Arrive and pitch, pay later.

Nice barn to do the washing up and use when it is raining,

One shower was not working, sanitary is very small and there is a direct view from outside into the shower area.

The one chair to hang your clothes on when showering was shared by the two showers and cuvet. So you felt very intrusive to use it together with someone else.

My girls loved the horses and other animals.

We visited The old man of consiston, the sea, the mosses, a stone circle, the nice town Broughton in Furness, the lake. Al within reach, which makes for a good mixed holiday. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Skanky and stinky 5 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely relaxed site within easy reach of the general hubbub of the east side of Windermere but nestled in the tranquility of the western lakes. We spent a week here in mixed weather but still managed to have campfires and BBQs.

The owners were very friendly and helpful albeit busy as this is a working farm. Fellow campers had very happy children who enjoyed all of the freedom and fresh air. The amenities appeared newly refurbished, the showers were free and always good and hot as was the water in the washing up area.

We walked down the old train line into Broughton and discovered an amazing little group of shops; bakers, grocers and butchers selling delicious produce, no need to try to find a supermarket! We did all of the usual, Motor Museum, Boat rip to Ambleside, fell walking, the Railway at Ravenglass and Grizedale plus other off the beaten track activities and the Segways at Graythwaite.

The weather could have been better but for a warm welcome and back to basics camping this site fits the bill. If you are in a tent you will definitely need rock pegs though 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Jac1102 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for three nights in one of the old railway trucks which was really comfortable and warm once we got the stove going which was fantastic as we had two children with us

There are ducks and chickens wandering about and two small dogs which the children loved

It is a working farm so there are cars and tractors about but it is still really safe for the children

The shower blocks are small with only two toilets and one shower but very clean with hot water

There is a washing up area but it only has cold water

Great views and very quiet

Had to drive to most places but there is a track that goes into broughton that is about a 20min walk

Will definitely be back hopefully in the summer 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andytaz 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed hear 4 times

Brilliant

Clean facilities

Great views

The cockerel can crow at the side of your tent at dawn but throw a stone at it and it clears off

Has the friendliest muscovey duck I have ever come across

Great base camp as the duddon vally is brilliant and quiet

Lots of open access land

Give it a try  


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Colinhavard 2 reviews from this member

 We had a lovely 6 nights here over a wet half term.

The site is small but that makes it friendly and quiet, apart from the odd early morning wake up call from the farm animals.

The welcome is warm and friendly, despite the amount of work that goes on running campsite, farm, dog grooming and horse riding!

The ground is a little hard for pegs if you stay on the old railway track, but on the plus side you can walk the track into Broughton in 20 minutes.

It is great to find a site where you are actively encouraged to have fires, with fire drums provided and wood for sale. We had a fire most nights despite the rain.

The facilities are fine. Showers are hot and clean enough and the washing up area is refreshingly simple.

We found we needed to drive a lot to get to Lakes and attractions but we soon got the hang of that and it was nice to be able to escape the crowds. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RapidBadger 1 review from this member

 All I can say is, it was brilliant! It's a tiny site (about 10 pitches), but the bathroom facilities are simple and clean and actually look like they are just finishing off a refit.

The little field looks out over a spectacular view of a valley and you can see all the way to the sea. The owners seemed very relaxed and friendly and suggested some nice pubs in the village to try.

There is a great walk along an old railway track at the back of the site that takes you all the way in to the village (Broughton in Furness), which is a proper lake district kind of place.

We tried one of the pubs and the food and service was excellent. They have a little converted railway carriage (I think), which is done out with a stove and a couple of beds, which looked very nice.

There are chickens and geese that wander around the site too - we even found an egg in the grass! Best of all you are allowed fires.

We will definitely be using this one again. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Little indian 1 review from this member

 This place was spectacular, the views were lovely, the owners where so helpful and friendly. This was a girly getaway and it was glamptastic, we shared the trailer which was so comfortable and had a stove which kept us toasty warm all through the night. Gas burner hobs, lanterns and ice box all provided in the price and barrow of wood at an added charge. Moss Side Farm was certainly value for money I'm going back 2012 and taking the children I think it's a magical place with the wandering chickens meeting you in the mornings for breakfast.

The shower and toilet facilities were great, separate sex rooms each with two toilets and a shower with hot water. We also booked a bell tent in case we needed more room as there where 5 of us so we had 1 night in the trailer and 1 in the tent, both where more than enough room for all of us. The walk into Broughton was lovely and gave us the appetite for a meal in The Kings Head which we all enjoyed and the hospitality of the owners made it all the more pleasurable. I couldn't possibly fault this camping experience and am looking forward to my next visit. See you all soon! 


Previous     21 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Moss Side Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Moss Side Farm Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Moss Side Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Broughton In Furness      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5486 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement