Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Moss Side Farm Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Moss Side Farm Campsite
Woodland
Lake District
Broughton In Furness
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA20 6DJ
Tel: 07812591151  or  01229 716947
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 14 Reviews
                9/10 from 14 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Avidpsyche 6 reviews from this member

This is the type of place myself and my partner look for. It's a working farm tucked away up in the hills but still relatively quiet as it's for families only and couples. Louise the host is wonderful and made us feel extremely welcome on arrival. There are maximum pitches on this site. We stayed for 4 nights, tuesday to friday, camping in a tent and virtually had the whole field we were in to ourselves bar one family at the other end. Very peaceful. Although friday evening the site started to fill for the weekend. Moss Side offers yurts to rent in one field and 4 wooden railway trucks with stoves, beds and bunk beds in another. There is also a 'Bunk House' available to rent. So if you don't want to pitch a tent these are a great idea for couples and families. Each came with a fire pit, wooden table and a bench. Extra Fire pits are available around the campsite. The facilities are good. The Lounge as I'd call it is a communal place, you have the use of 2 fridges and a freezer. Washing sink in the corner for your pots and pans. You can plug your gear in to charge and recycle bins are along the wall. A cabinet displays everything you can buy up at the farmhouse in case you forget anything. Notices on the wall give you info about the walks/hikes you can do from the farm. I highly suggest the Railway Walk which takes you into the town of Broughton in Furness. An easy going trek with a number of pubs to quench your thirst. One tip tho, jeans or long shorts would be an idea as we had a number of bites along the way. There are 2 showers and toilets for men and women. At peak occupancy you could wait a while but we never had to. And the showers aren't temp controllable, so the water is always HOT, but the shower is turned on by a push button which lasts for about 10 seconds, simple and effective. All in all a great site. I'd recommend it and will stay again.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Daverich 1 review from this member

What a lovely campsite made even better by the friendly welcome. After cycling all day we were welcomed to the site by the offer of a free burger, freshly cooked on the barbecue, and a space to pitch despite not having booked.

Despite being full we were given a pitch in the 'Wild camping' field. Although this was a short walk up a gravel track from the main site facilities (more later), it offered the best views of the local area and beyond.

The toilet facilities were basic but more than functional, very clean and the showers lovely and warm, perfect after the long day in the saddle.

We did not use most of the facilities available as we went into town to eat, despite the complementary burger, but there was a communal area that could be used for eating and preparing food, great for those rainy days when under a small canvas.

I recommend highly recommend this site, well done Moss Side Farm.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Rhendriks 1 review from this member

We stayed in the two rail cabins for two nights. They were spacious with plenty of space for two adults. The beds were comfortable and the cabins kept their warmth well. Be sure to bring your own lights or lamps as there are no lights in the cabin/camping area. The campsite was kept well and tidy, something we really appreciated. In the washing up area, there were some electric kettles. The showers were clean and really hot, maybe a little too hot for June weather.

The owners were very friendly and their dogs were well behaved. Our children loved seeing the ducks and horses walking around. A lovely basic campsite.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Addy01 7 reviews from this member

On arrival friendly greeting, showed use where we could pitch, nobody else there, pitched a fantastic spot looking out over the countryside with a fire pit (could buy logs from farmer), nice peaceful, ducks roaming, horses in next field, sun shining, nice. Basic camping no hook ups.

Then the rain came down on second night/third day our pitch got water logged (hard ground)we ended up packing away & homeward bound.

Showers & toilets could make do only there for 3 nights, could do with some attention, shower had a shower curtain that didn't close well, nowhere to hang clothes, sink with nowhere to dry hands, water red hot, could do with mopping regularly.

Apparently there's an old railway track to go into the village, we were told we cant use this due to other farmer next door put his bull in field & is a bit grumpy, we were given an other route, but that didn't work out too well an ocean of cow poo prevented us from linking on to the track further down had to come back.

Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: JesustheWerewolf 1 review from this member

What else can be said beyond an enchanting little place? Well, allow me to try!

We started off by arriving in the nearby town of Broughton in Furness. (Side note, for ale lovers I advise venturing into the Mannor and for anyone looking for a fantastic all day breakfast, find your way to the Square Cafe. I honestly didn't eat anything else for the rest of the day and I'm a big guy!)

But I digress.

The walk to the site was lovely, down an old rail line where dog walkers and people out and about were happy to say a friendly hello, something sorely missing in some places. The site, not hard at all to find if you're capable of listening to even the simplest of directions or (as we did) have a map, is wonderfully simple. We got there in February and were the only ones there which meant the only thing to interrupt the peace and quiet was the sound of the birds in the trees and the occasional moo from a cow. (Not a bad point since it is to be expected from a working farm, though it must be noted that the ladies were, for the most part, quite polite in keeping their mooing volume down :) )

The camping pods are actually converted railway trams that are surprisingly roomy boasting a double bed AND bunk beds. As noted earlier, I'm a big guy coming in at a little over 6ft4' and I had plenty of head and leg room. Plus. BUNKBEDS! What better way to indulge your inner child? I'd have spent the entirety of my time up there if my wife hadn't given me 'the look'. But I digress again.

The rail pods come equipped with a log burner and Oh my word how lovely an addition they are! Logs can be purchased from the nearby petrol station though we actually brought our own. A good number was certainly enough to see us through the night and kept us warm throughout the evening. The lack of lighting within the pods is also something that contributes to the wonderfully rustic feel of the place. We have our own L. E. D lantern but candles might have been a better choice if we'd thought on or had room in our packs. We'll certainly know for next time! The scenery is also wonderful with sunrise revealing a glorious landscape over hill and dell since the previous day had been spent in freezing fog typical of the time of year.

The facilities are basic but all intrepid adventurers really need with toilets, showers and hot (and I do mean HOT) water.

All in all it made for a cosy place to sit and unwind.

In fact, the only negative thing I can think to say is simply if you've never been camping before or are simply an armchair explorer, you might want to build up to somewhere like this. (While leaving it available for the rest of us, ha ha!)

Special note must be made to the lady of the farm who was absolutely lovely. Thank you so much for providing such a great place. We will look forward to returning!

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Tea Ladt 08 2 reviews from this member

We received a very friendly welcome at the site and it was excellent value for money

The toilet and shower block were spotless.

The walk to the village of Broughton took 25 minutes along a disused railway line which was a pleasant after dinner stroll to a dog friendly pub

We will definitely return in the future

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gerbenvg 1 review from this member

Good basic campsite. 2 ad 2 ch for 18 pound per night.

Beautiful view over the valley, all the way to the Irish Sea.

Tranquil

Fireplaces provided.

Arrive and pitch, pay later.

Nice barn to do the washing up and use when it is raining,

One shower was not working, sanitary is very small and there is a direct view from outside into the shower area.

The one chair to hang your clothes on when showering was shared by the two showers and cuvet. So you felt very intrusive to use it together with someone else.

My girls loved the horses and other animals.

We visited The old man of consiston, the sea, the mosses, a stone circle, the nice town Broughton in Furness, the lake. Al within reach, which makes for a good mixed holiday.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Skanky and stinky 5 reviews from this member

This is a lovely relaxed site within easy reach of the general hubbub of the east side of Windermere but nestled in the tranquility of the western lakes. We spent a week here in mixed weather but still managed to have campfires and BBQs.

The owners were very friendly and helpful albeit busy as this is a working farm. Fellow campers had very happy children who enjoyed all of the freedom and fresh air. The amenities appeared newly refurbished, the showers were free and always good and hot as was the water in the washing up area.

We walked down the old train line into Broughton and discovered an amazing little group of shops; bakers, grocers and butchers selling delicious produce, no need to try to find a supermarket! We did all of the usual, Motor Museum, Boat rip to Ambleside, fell walking, the Railway at Ravenglass and Grizedale plus other off the beaten track activities and the Segways at Graythwaite.

The weather could have been better but for a warm welcome and back to basics camping this site fits the bill. If you are in a tent you will definitely need rock pegs though

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Jac1102 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here for three nights in one of the old railway trucks which was really comfortable and warm once we got the stove going which was fantastic as we had two children with us

There are ducks and chickens wandering about and two small dogs which the children loved

It is a working farm so there are cars and tractors about but it is still really safe for the children

The shower blocks are small with only two toilets and one shower but very clean with hot water

There is a washing up area but it only has cold water

Great views and very quiet

Had to drive to most places but there is a track that goes into broughton that is about a 20min walk

Will definitely be back hopefully in the summer

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Andytaz 2 reviews from this member

Stayed hear 4 times

Brilliant

Clean facilities

Great views

The cockerel can crow at the side of your tent at dawn but throw a stone at it and it clears off

Has the friendliest muscovey duck I have ever come across

Great base camp as the duddon vally is brilliant and quiet

Lots of open access land

Give it a try

Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3105 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.0977