Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Moss Side Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Broughton In Furness > Moss Side Farm Campsite Reviews

Moss Side Farm Campsite
Woodland
Lake District
Broughton In Furness
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA20 6DJ
Tel: 07812591151  or  01229 716947
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 21 Reviews
                9/10 from 21 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  21 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Sophie 1 review from this member

 Lovey location and owner seemed very accommodating and helpful. Laid back site that allowed for campfires.

It was a pitch where you like site which can have its ups and downs. A lot of campers taking up a lot of space making it difficult to pitch, especially as lots of campervans parked all over and didn’t want to block them in.

Ground was extremely rocky and hard making it difficult for tents.

Probably would have a lovely spot for campervans but not so great for tents.

Facilities extremely basic, not v clean and for the site and facilities were not adequate for the volume of people on the site. No running drinking water on 2 of the mornings and water wasn’t hot enough for the shower.

Lovely spot but wouldn’t go again with a tent and young family 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Nolan2 1 review from this member

 Had a fab time at Moss Side Farm. Warm welcome from Louise on arrival and relaxed atmosphere for whole weekend.

Stunning views from the top field “ adults only area”

The 6pm log delivery to your tent is a great idea. Would definitely return 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Cryan 13 reviews from this member

 Wow! What a find. This is pretty much my perfect site.

Views are astounding, pitches rough and ready, peaceful, natural, basic but clean facilities, farm feel but chilled out campsite.

Sadly there were large groups of families in our field every night that we were there and so evenings were noisy. On arrival we were told we 'had' to go in one of two specific fields because we had children (even though we wanted peace and quiet away from others. ) That is my only complaint and I have found groups to be an issue everywhere this year. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Marta9 1 review from this member

 Great campsite on the farm with dogs, sheep, pigs.

Beautiful views, lots of space, stream on the site, nice walk to town.

Louise and other staff are very friendly and laid back. Fire pits and wood supply available each night.

Hot showers and space in fridge if needed. Toilet facilities are very basic but cleaned regularly. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: George 1 review from this member

 Beautiful site with great views. A nice walk into Broughton along the railway line.

Louise was really friendly and welcoming, we loved the laidback atmosphere.

Showers were hot, fridges/washing up room was very useful.

Fire pits were a great addition.

We will definitely be back! 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Janine 1 review from this member

 Lovely little site with great views. Quirky little train carriages dotted around which were all occupied by families.

Useful fridges for guests to use in a communal area.

I wish we had time to explore the walks advertised in camp but our stay was a short one.

Toilets and showers were basic but clean.

A little pricey for the facilities offered.

Hard ground, so take good tent pegs and be aware the ground becomes very boggy after a rain shower.

The major negative point for me - its advertised as a dog friendly site but the 3 dogs that live on the farm were never supervised by the owners, they mooched around families receiving titbits and scraps.

Unfortunately the farm dogs took a dislike to my cocker spaniel Luna and terrorised her whenever they saw her.

I get they were probably being territorial but for this reason we will not be returning unless the owners took a more responsible approach to supervising their pets. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Siryn1975 1 review from this member

 We had a brilliant time and would recommend this to anyone. Beautiful and everyone was so friendly.

There was a soft play area inside, a park outside and we were right next to a river to go dip our toes into.

We will definitely be back again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Avidpsyche 6 reviews from this member

 This is the type of place myself and my partner look for. It's a working farm tucked away up in the hills but still relatively quiet as it's for families only and couples. Louise the host is wonderful and made us feel extremely welcome on arrival.

There are maximum pitches on this site. We stayed for 4 nights, tuesday to friday, camping in a tent and virtually had the whole field we were in to ourselves bar one family at the other end. Very peaceful.

Although friday evening the site started to fill for the weekend. Moss Side offers yurts to rent in one field and 4 wooden railway trucks with stoves, beds and bunk beds in another.

There is also a 'Bunk House' available to rent. So if you don't want to pitch a tent these are a great idea for couples and families. Each came with a fire pit, wooden table and a bench. Extra Fire pits are available around the campsite.

The facilities are good. The Lounge as I'd call it is a communal place, you have the use of 2 fridges and a freezer. Washing sink in the corner for your pots and pans. You can plug your gear in to charge and recycle bins are along the wall.

A cabinet displays everything you can buy up at the farmhouse in case you forget anything. Notices on the wall give you info about the walks/hikes you can do from the farm.

I highly suggest the Railway Walk which takes you into the town of Broughton in Furness. An easy going trek with a number of pubs to quench your thirst.

One tip tho, jeans or long shorts would be an idea as we had a number of bites along the way. There are 2 showers and toilets for men and women.

At peak occupancy you could wait a while but we never had to. And the showers aren't temp controllable, so the water is always HOT, but the shower is turned on by a push button which lasts for about 10 seconds, simple and effective.

All in all a great site. I'd recommend it and will stay again. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Daverich 1 review from this member

 What a lovely campsite made even better by the friendly welcome. After cycling all day we were welcomed to the site by the offer of a free burger, freshly cooked on the barbecue, and a space to pitch despite not having booked.

Despite being full we were given a pitch in the 'Wild camping' field. Although this was a short walk up a gravel track from the main site facilities (more later), it offered the best views of the local area and beyond.

The toilet facilities were basic but more than functional, very clean and the showers lovely and warm, perfect after the long day in the saddle.

We did not use most of the facilities available as we went into town to eat, despite the complementary burger, but there was a communal area that could be used for eating and preparing food, great for those rainy days when under a small canvas.

I recommend highly recommend this site, well done Moss Side Farm. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Rhendriks 1 review from this member

 We stayed in the two rail cabins for two nights. They were spacious with plenty of space for two adults. The beds were comfortable and the cabins kept their warmth well. Be sure to bring your own lights or lamps as there are no lights in the cabin/camping area.

The campsite was kept well and tidy, something we really appreciated. In the washing up area, there were some electric kettles. The showers were clean and really hot, maybe a little too hot for June weather.

The owners were very friendly and their dogs were well behaved. Our children loved seeing the ducks and horses walking around. A lovely basic campsite. 


Previous     21 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Moss Side Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Moss Side Farm Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Moss Side Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Broughton In Furness      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5121 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement