Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of White Horse Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Dorset > Weymouth > White Horse Campsite > Reviews

White Horse Campsite
Whitehorse Farm
Osmington
Weymouth
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT3 6ED
Tel: 01305 834314
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 240
Open: 22/07/2022 to 29/08/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 19 Reviews
                9/10 from 19 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Pop Up Campsite 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 11 to 19                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ian cobden 8 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from this lovely, peaceful campsite set in beautiful surroundings with the amazing backdrop of the historical whitehorse. There are lots of positives about this site. We were allowed to choose a pitch which we prefer as we can pitch where suits us rather than as on other sites we have been on have it given to us. The scenery is beautiful. The toilets are clean and tidy and there are washing up facilities. There is so much space so you are not crammed in. The owner is lovely and very helpful. The children can play safely and there was a lovely wooded area for them to play in. The only improvements I would suggest would be for the showers to be slightly warmer or adjustable. I understand that the temperature is set for children but adults like showers a little bit warmer and a degree or so turning up would have been fine for children and adults. They were ok though not too cold just slightly warmer would have been great. The other improvement I would suggest would be a signpost to the walk to the whitehorse and for the owners to ensure the gate to the walk is unbolted. We could see the horse on the hill but tried several gates to reach the pathway to it but all were padlocked. We asked the owner and she said the gate to it should have been open but it wasn't and remained locked for all the time we were there. We climbed over it in the end but it was difficult. On the whole though these are only small niggles and we loved our stay and will be returning when we visit Weymouth again. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Emste76 8 reviews from this member

 Our third visit this lovely basic campsite. Toilets, showers and washing up facilities are clean, well maintained. Each time we visit we don't want to leave. The children and a group of friends we camp with all love this campsite. Love the little touches, selling logs and being able to order your breakfast the day before from the campsite. We have always had friendly welcome on arrival. It is well positioned and an easy drive into Weymouth. There are loads if great walks from the campsite and footpaths that criss-cross around the farm/campsite. We walked to the top of the White Horse from the campsite to the Smugglers Inn pub in Osmington and to The Springfield Pub in the nearby village. We loved being able to have a campfire every night and the logs we purchased from the campsite burnt really well and were reasonably priced. Loads of space for everyone and lovely to see children enjoying themselves. We ill be back again next year, thank you. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: F1shl1ps 1 review from this member

 We have been to this site for two years running. We feel very lucky to have found it, they are very accommodating to large family groups. Its is perfect for children as they are free to roam in the safety of the site.

The facilities are clean and well maintained. We love how they leave you to do your own thing, but still making sure people are respectful of the site.

Looking forward to staying again next year! ☺☺ 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wibbers 5 reviews from this member

 A lovely campsite in two enormous fields; certainly the most room we've ever had on a campsite. The facilities are basic (two toilet blocks and washing up facility) but kept very clean. The only criticism we had was that the showers had run out of hot water by late afternoon.

There is a footpath across the fields to the nearby village of Sutton Poyntz where we were fed and watered at The Springfield, and from the road overlooking the campsite it is a short bus ride into Weymouth. The coastal path is also very close.

The owner was very pleasant and helpful - bags of logs and basic food provisions can be bought from reception.

This would be a good place to choose for those wanting some peace and quiet and lots of space on their holiday; we would be happy to return. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Helen Small 8 reviews from this member

 We were welcomed warmly and the stay just got better from there. This is a lovely campsite and quite enormous! There was loads of space between tents when we pitched up. Never before have I bemoaned this and it was fabulous except that the kids had to roam far and wide to make friends.

There are limited facilities but these are clean and well functioning.

This is one of the best sites I have ever used and we will certainly return in the future. Good location, stunning setting and campfires too. Superb. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Potter 1 review from this member

 Very friendly, accommodating and flexible management.

Huge amount of space, in lovely fields, with great views of the sunset. We stayed here with friends over the bank holiday, and still had loads of room.

Clean, new and well maintained toilets, shower, sinks.

Very convenient service for breakfast - croissants and bacon breakfast!

They sell firewood in bags, and are happy for you to have campfires. Bags were well sized to have a nice fire and roasted marshmallows!

Overall, a fantastic campsite. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Reverend 2 reviews from this member

 This is an excellent site if you want the simple pleasures of camping. The two fields are big. Even if there were thirty tents in each there would still be masses of space between each camp. We were warmly welcomed and the owners were friendly throughout our three night stay. The facilities of four toilets and four showers plus washing up area are basic but kept very clean and in good order.

The farm is in a lovely setting although quite open so if you are looking for a woodland type setting this would not be for you. However you are allowed to have camp fires. Logs are sold but you will need to source your own kindling etc. Some basic provisions can be ordered and are of decent quality.

There is a coop supermarket about five mins away by car with a couple of local shops close by.

A great location for Weymouth and amazing value for money. No hesitation in recommending this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AERAER 1 review from this member

 We stayed at Whitehorse Farm last weekend and had a wonderful stay. When booking we received prompt replies by e-mail and we received a friendly welcome on arrival. As their website says they do not allow too many tents at one time so there was a real feeling of space around us. The showers were lovely and hot at all times and the toilets were really clean.

You could order bread, milk etc to collect each morning but we did not do this. The site is literally on the approach into Weymouth so is in a great location.

We would definitely go back again.

Ali 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ashleyd 1 review from this member

 I have just returned from a perfect break with my wife and two daughters staying at the White Horse Farm camp site in Weymouth, watching the Olympic sailing.

Firstly the Critchell family made our stay very welcoming, nothing was too much trouble, including arranging for fresh bread in the morning

The location is great, set in beautiful countryside with amazing views of the white horse, with footpaths all around. The closest beach is 1. 5 miles and only 4 miles into Weymouth. The farm is also near a bus route.

The field is flat for pitching your tent and Jan and Paul are flexible regarding where you pitch. We had a private area and didnít suffer from overcrowding like we have experienced on some other sites.

The toilets were very clean with modern flush systems; the showers supplied constant hot water with room to undress/dress.

Open fires are allowed, logs can be purchased on site. As there isnít a shop on site Jan and Paul offer a collection service, where they will obtain groceries, fresh bread and eggs for the morning provided orders are received before 4pm.

We had a great stay and would thoroughly recommend this campsite to anybody wanting to experience the Jurassic coast.

We loved the site and will definitely go back 


Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 19     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is White Horse Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to White Horse Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is White Horse Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Weymouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2965 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement