Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of White Horse Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Weymouth > White Horse Campsite Reviews

White Horse Campsite
Whitehorse Farm
Osmington
Weymouth
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT3 6ED
Tel: 01305 834314
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: 26th Jul - 27st Aug

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 13 Reviews
                9/10 from 13 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   Outdoor Pool 1 mile 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Bristol camper 2 reviews from this member

We needed somewhere to stay on the bank holiday at the last minute, sent an email on the Saturday and had a quick response to say there were places on the Sunday - called to check although this took a while but Jan was very helpful and called back to check the booking was OK.

The site was really lovely, accessible from the main road but there was no noise from it due to being in a valley overlooked by the white horse, it got misty in the evening but was more lovely for it, plenty of space and a quite site in the evening (usual children noise in the morning but not too bad if you were travelling without them, we were two middle aged adults).

Facilities good if all you need is showers and toilets (we didn't need anything else). You could have a fire too. We would have stayed longer but the site was closing for the season.

Would definitely go back.

Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Thetro9647pw 1 review from this member

Great campsite, basic facilities but kept

Very clean and well stocked with decent loo roll.

It's perfect for simple camping. Lots of space with a lovely view of the white horse.

Owners are really helpful and friendly. Gets busy for the bank holiday.

Definitely planning to visit again.
via mobile

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: PeriPeri 6 reviews from this member

This campsite is just a couple of fields on a farm that becomes a campsite for the month of August. The facilities are a few sheds on the edge of the fields.

But they're really good!

The interiors are coated in formica, with nice white toilets. It is clear they've had a carpenter work on the fittings with a bit of love and care. Nice showers. Hot water for washing up. And all really clean.

The site is easy to find, as they have a white horse on the hill above the site that you can see from the road. But the field is far enough from the road that it's quiet.

We enjoyed campfires with logs bought at reception.

They froze our ice blocks.

As they don't charge extra for children, the site is full of families.

In all it's a great cheap campsite that did all we needed.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: XplosiveCandy 1 review from this member

Lovely campsite, friendly hosts who are always willing to help.

Everyone was spaced out as we could pitch up where we wanted, wasn't noisy at all.

Nice facilities and well looked after.

Nothing negative to say!

Lovely area and lots to do around the campsite

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ian cobden 8 reviews from this member

We have just returned from this lovely, peaceful campsite set in beautiful surroundings with the amazing backdrop of the historical whitehorse. There are lots of positives about this site. We were allowed to choose a pitch which we prefer as we can pitch where suits us rather than as on other sites we have been on have it given to us. The scenery is beautiful. The toilets are clean and tidy and there are washing up facilities. There is so much space so you are not crammed in. The owner is lovely and very helpful. The children can play safely and there was a lovely wooded area for them to play in. The only improvements I would suggest would be for the showers to be slightly warmer or adjustable. I understand that the temperature is set for children but adults like showers a little bit warmer and a degree or so turning up would have been fine for children and adults. They were ok though not too cold just slightly warmer would have been great. The other improvement I would suggest would be a signpost to the walk to the whitehorse and for the owners to ensure the gate to the walk is unbolted. We could see the horse on the hill but tried several gates to reach the pathway to it but all were padlocked. We asked the owner and she said the gate to it should have been open but it wasn't and remained locked for all the time we were there. We climbed over it in the end but it was difficult. On the whole though these are only small niggles and we loved our stay and will be returning when we visit Weymouth again.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Emste76 8 reviews from this member

Our third visit this lovely basic campsite. Toilets, showers and washing up facilities are clean, well maintained. Each time we visit we don't want to leave. The children and a group of friends we camp with all love this campsite. Love the little touches, selling logs and being able to order your breakfast the day before from the campsite. We have always had friendly welcome on arrival. It is well positioned and an easy drive into Weymouth. There are loads if great walks from the campsite and footpaths that criss-cross around the farm/campsite. We walked to the top of the White Horse from the campsite to the Smugglers Inn pub in Osmington and to The Springfield Pub in the nearby village. We loved being able to have a campfire every night and the logs we purchased from the campsite burnt really well and were reasonably priced. Loads of space for everyone and lovely to see children enjoying themselves. We ill be back again next year, thank you.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: F1shl1ps 1 review from this member

We have been to this site for two years running. We feel very lucky to have found it, they are very accommodating to large family groups. Its is perfect for children as they are free to roam in the safety of the site.

The facilities are clean and well maintained. We love how they leave you to do your own thing, but still making sure people are respectful of the site.

Looking forward to staying again next year! ☺☺

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wibbers 5 reviews from this member

A lovely campsite in two enormous fields; certainly the most room we've ever had on a campsite. The facilities are basic (two toilet blocks and washing up facility) but kept very clean. The only criticism we had was that the showers had run out of hot water by late afternoon.

There is a footpath across the fields to the nearby village of Sutton Poyntz where we were fed and watered at The Springfield, and from the road overlooking the campsite it is a short bus ride into Weymouth. The coastal path is also very close.

The owner was very pleasant and helpful - bags of logs and basic food provisions can be bought from reception.

This would be a good place to choose for those wanting some peace and quiet and lots of space on their holiday; we would be happy to return.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Helen Small 8 reviews from this member

We were welcomed warmly and the stay just got better from there. This is a lovely campsite and quite enormous! There was loads of space between tents when we pitched up. Never before have I bemoaned this and it was fabulous except that the kids had to roam far and wide to make friends.

There are limited facilities but these are clean and well functioning.

This is one of the best sites I have ever used and we will certainly return in the future. Good location, stunning setting and campfires too. Superb.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Potter 1 review from this member

Very friendly, accommodating and flexible management.

Huge amount of space, in lovely fields, with great views of the sunset. We stayed here with friends over the bank holiday, and still had loads of room.

Clean, new and well maintained toilets, shower, sinks.

Very convenient service for breakfast - croissants and bacon breakfast!

They sell firewood in bags, and are happy for you to have campfires. Bags were well sized to have a nice fire and roasted marshmallows!

Overall, a fantastic campsite.

Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Weymouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan Motorhome and Holiday Home Show 06/02 to 09/02
In Glasgow - Over 200 companies will be showcasing their products and offering visitors show only discounts and offers. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3484 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020