Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Stone Family Farm

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Dorset > Three Legged Cross > Stone Family Farm > Reviews

CLOSED: Stone Family Farm
Karamoor
Verwood Road
Three Legged Cross
Dorset   (Browse area)



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 25 Reviews
                10/10 from 25 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  25 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JAL123 3 reviews from this member

 What an amazing holiday we have just arrived home from. Farmers Kevin and Sue were amazing hosts and have a lovely small site. Our girls 6 and 12 were able to look after the rabbits, feed the pigs, collect eggs and play with the goats. The site is very close to Potterne Park a large open area with a play park and walks to Moors Valley. You are able to purchase homemade burgers, sausages from the farm which are delightful. I would definitely recommend and can't wait to come back. Thank you again 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Elkinl 2 reviews from this member

 Well, what can I say?? We have stayed at the Stone Family Farm twice in the past week. Need I say more???

When we first pulled up in the car with two children, I really did question my sanity and wondered what on earth I had done. I asked my husband where the camping field was, surely it wasn't on the grass verge!

It turned out we have the best weekend EVER! Farmers did everything they could to ensure we have a great time. In 2 days we. We riding (twice), shooting, pig feeding, goat walking, egg collecting, bunny cuddling etc. Etc. As I said, we went there again the following week (albeit to collect some bunnies) but we shall be visiting again in 3 weeks.

We have stayed on many campsites but this one really does stand out. The hospitality is superb with the owners becoming friends, not just hosts. Can't wait to return. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: GazSteevo 4 reviews from this member

 The bank holiday weekend was already our 2nd stay of the year at Stone Family Farm, we stayed for 4 nights and as always are already looking forward to the next trip!

The site was almost full but the beauty is it never feels crowded, 10/10 again to the owners for accommodating all campers, children and adults, really making everyone feel welcome!

As previous trips we met some great fellow campers and enjoyed a good beer or two round the campfire and even made it to the nearby car banger racing with a lovely family also staying there!

As stated so many times the facilities are basic but very clean, running water, toilet, toilet disposal point & elec hook up. All the facilities you need for a truly enjoyable working farm campsite experience.

This really is a hidden gem which I can only see becoming more & more popular! 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tymauk 5 reviews from this member

 Well, where to start! I am not usually the person to leave reviews but in this case I feel that I must.

We stayed for 3 nights over the Bank Holiday and from the moment that Sue answered the phone when I made the booking I just knew this was going to be a great weekend.

Both farmers are the best & most accommodating hosts you'll come across, they are fantastic and will go out of there way to help. It was funny as the Farmer looked like the Pied Piper walking up and down the farm with all the kids in tow!

As for the campsite, what a lovely little gem! Totally relaxing. It has:

*One single CLEAN toilet and sink (no hot water or shower, but not a problem for us as we have a caravan)

*Chemical disposal point

*Two electric hook up points

*Open communal firepit

*Loads of farm animals

*Nice big field to let dogs off lead and have a run

*Peace and tranquillity

*Excellent location

*Great, no, fantastic hosts

If you want luxury's then this site is not for you. If you want good old back to basic camping then this site is an absolute must, especially for children. I have a 14 year old and he loved every minute of it, from collecting eggs & feeding the pigs to riding horses.

They are also very good in the fact the price they give you is an all in price, no extra for dogs, awnings or children.

The only problem I have is writing this review as there are just not enough stars to give them!

I would also like to take this opportunity to say thank you very very much to them for a wonderful weekend and am very much looking forward to coming back very soon.

PS as mentioned before in other reviews the sausage, bacon & eggs are a must for fry-up! 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Colegade 5 reviews from this member

 Camping with a difference! What a fabulous authentic working farm experience perfect for families with young children.

I stayed here over the August bank holiday week with my two daughters (9, 11) in a big tent. Pitch was a good size and even drained quickly after a torrential downpour.

Facilities are adequate for a campsite of this size and provided everything you need. We did not need electric hook-up although a feed was available.

My girls got to ride the shire horse Georgia, feed and hold chickens, feed the pigs and generally get involved in farm life for a week. Farmer Kev and his wife Sue are the perfect hosts and their hospitality made all the difference over other 'working farm' sites I've visited previously.

In terms of location, Stone Family farm is perfectly placed to make the most of Moors Valley Park (walking distance), a short drive (and ferry) to Brownsea island. We also spent a day in the sun on Sandbanks sandy beach as well as crabbing at Mudeford Quay.

I never write reviews but felt I wanted to share our amazing week with others. 10/10 for a great and relaxing family week off. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: DADLAM 3 reviews from this member

 This site is superb, old school camping at it's best!

We have recently returned from a memorable 5 day stay at Stone Family Farm where our hosts Farmer Kev & Sue could not of made us any more welcome. My 3 girls just loved being involved with the animals on the farm, especially the ride on Sue's horse Georgia (Even the adults in our party had a ride!)

The most memorable part was the camp fire, sitting with fellow campers, sharing stories, toasting marshmallows and sharing a drink or two!

Ideally located for Moors Park, Bournemouth, The New Forest, Mudeford etc.

The site is basic. A clean toilet, a sink with a cold tap and smallish pitches with EHU are on offer but you will love this place!

Access with a large touring van could be difficult as the entrance is tight and on a busy road, but our unit is a fair size and the only issue we had was leaving the site on our departure day as getting out onto the road would have been difficult had it not been for our fellow campers stopping the traffic to allow us out!

We will definitely be back next year! 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Araluen 7 reviews from this member

 Yet again a truly wonderful stay at Stone Family Farm. Our 4 kids just loved it, the oldest 3 just adore being mini farmers. In fact we heard our 5 year old in bed telling our 3 year old how he wants to be like Farmer Kev when he grows up even down to the name of his horse. Bless was even negotiating with Farmer Kev how much he could buy the farm for.

The kids got to do all the fantastic chores ie feeding the pigs, horses and the chickens.

This time we took our bikes with us, we went on a superb bike ride from the farm into Moors Valley Farm which is such a delight to ride around very, very child friendly. Then we came across Moors Valley Railway where we were able to enjoy a rain on a steam train, also there is a excellent sandpit park which you could spend hours at.

The campsite was once again very friendly, clean, tidy and the owners are very helpful with regards on what to do in the local area.

We enjoyed toasting marshmallows around the communal firepit and sharing experiences with the fellow campers.

Kids were very sad to leave and we are going to try and make one more stay before the camping seasons is over.

Once again thank you for making our weekend truly magical, just hope that not too many people find out how wonderful Stone Family Farm is as we would be terribly sad not to be able to stay due to you being full! 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pythondave 1 review from this member

 About us: We like to tour with a car, a 2-man tent and a tarp. We like clear site information (pricing, rules, maps), clean and functional facilities, to be close to nature (animals, countryside, views), to be away from people (space, quiet), the car next to the tent, a campfire, information about the local area (walks, places of interest), to book on the day or just turn up, to stay for 1 or 2 nights, to explore. Reviews are from this perspective.

We've been touring the West Country for the past few weeks and this site was one of the best and probably the most memorable. The owners were wonderfully welcoming without being overbearing. We had a great time here.

* Site information - Small site so not much needed. Delivered in person. Clear signs around the site.

* Facilities - Hut with toilet and sink (no shower, no hot water). Clean and well-presented.

* Nature - Horses, pigs, friendly farm dog. View over surrounding fields.

* People - We had the place to ourselves on both nights. Warm and friendly hosts.

* Car - Short driveway. Parked near tent.

* Campfire - Free logs, nice fire. One spot for a fire only.

* Local information - No leaflets or handouts, but lots of opportunities to speak to the owners who were happy to answer any questions.

* Booking - Booked on day by phone.

* Length of stay - 2 nights.

* Exploring - Close to Knowlton Church and Badbury Rings (which we wanted to visit). We didn't explore on foot.

* Bonus - There was one picnic table, which we had to ourselves.

* Bonus - Fresh and tasty farm produce on sale (sausages, bacon, eggs).

* Costs - We paid 15 per night. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Araluen 7 reviews from this member

 Fantastic, fab, brill, cool are some of the words our kids used to describe their stay. Have a large tent as 6 of us (7, 5, 3 & 8 months) we were able to pitch in the small paddock.

Kids loved feeding the pigs & chickens, playing at being farmers and watching the horses.

To top it of they got to ride on the horse which was the highlight. Our son really enjoyed following Farmer Kev everywhere and being allowed to do so many things.

Couldn't ask for a safer place for the kids to roam about without you worrying where they are.

There is a park a short walk away which has to be one of the best we have been too in a long time.

We brought eggs which our kids helped to collect and ate lots of sausages, plus brought some home which is a great reminder of our stay.

Kev & Sue are brill & sure made the trip enjoyable, can't wait to return.

Site & toilet are extremely well maintained. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stockbert 3 reviews from this member

 Wow what a weekend and what a lovely place to stay, considering the awful weather we have had, the pitches pitches were solid. The toilet was kept lovely and clean and perfectly situated for all campers.

Farmers/owners Kevin and sue were brilliant allowing our children to muck in and help around the farm and to top it all allowing them to ride the horses.

The camp fire is great and couldn't think of anything better to end the day sat round the fire having a drink.

Also on day of departure it was so nice not being rushed off your pitch Kevin and sue allowed us to stay on and pack up at our pace. Can I just take this opportunity and say thank you very much to you both and can't wait to visit again very soon.

P. S the sausages and bacon are a must if staying here 


Previous     25 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!


All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5039 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement