Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Stone Family Farm

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Dorset > Three Legged Cross > Stone Family Farm > Reviews

CLOSED: Stone Family Farm
Karamoor
Verwood Road
Three Legged Cross
Dorset   (Browse area)



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 25 Reviews
                10/10 from 25 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  25 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site is now permanently closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ajlong 1 review from this member

 One of the best camping experiences I've had!

10 of us came to camp at the Stone Family Farm and 10 of us left as very happy customers. In the lead up to the camping Kevin was very quick with replies and was very helpful when discussing facilities and local attractions. The plot for camping is quite small but is surrounded by horses, ducks, pigs, rabbits and more pigs.

Kevin himself was very friendly and helped us sort out a BBQ and supplied the meat from his own butchers which was delicious! A pub was in walking distance, Kevin suggested a great Indian for our first night which was 5 min away and we drove to the new forest water park in under 15 mins.

Toilet and sink were basic but good, we had a fresh water tap and no shower but for a short stay this was fine.

We also had a campfire on the night which again Kevin helped us sort out and supplied the wood for. Overall we had a great time which was made all the better by the amazing host Kevin! 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Chorky 1 review from this member

 Kevin and Sue make this the friendliest farm on the planet. They actively include the children in feeding the animals and willingly answer their questions they make everyone feel welcome. Stone family farm is a small holding with a big heart. 100% recommended for everyone especially families with children. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Barry and Rosie 1 review from this member

 Well, what can we say? We were looking for somewhere to take our two grandsons (aged 9 & 5) and having liked what we'd read about The Stone Family Farm, we decided to give it a go!

Right from the very first day they were involved with the daily routine of feeding horses, pigs, chickens, geese and rabbits - I'm sure we've missed some more! Both Kev and Sue are fantastic with the children and it certainly makes our holiday that much more relaxed if the kids are happy. They were made to feel very important and our hosts became our friends, too.

On day 2 out of 10, the children were already asking if they could come back next year and I'm sure that it'll be at the top of our list when the time comes.

We spent some great days out at the Tank Museum, Monkey World and Moors Valley Country Park, to name a few and the site's location is ideal for visiting the New Forest, too.

The outdoor reared pigs provide a great source for their farm shop and anyone who goes there must try some of their bacon, sausages and burgers!

The comments by other campers and caravanners are all true and we can only thank Kev and Sue for a really fantastic holiday, which unfortunately came to an end too soon (and not just because Daisy the pig was due to farrow!)

We wish The Stone Family Farm every success and look forward to seeing you all again. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Amey 1 review from this member

 Just returned form a three night stay at the stone family farm. Fabulous time and wonderful hosts, Kevin and Sue are very welcoming and make you feel like you are visiting friends! So much more than just a campsite. Children were off with farmer Kevin and Sue whenever possible walking a goat, feeding pigs, riding horses, grooming horses, feeding bunnies and putting goslings to bed! Truly a wonderful place to stay. Facilities are basic but very clean and should not be a stumbling block for anyone who wants a relaxing, fun, farm experience. Farmer also sells amazing produce which I would highly recommend. We will be going back! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sarah Norcliffe 1 review from this member

 Well what can I say about Kevin and Sue at Stone Family Farm, they were brilliant. They made our stay so relaxing and great fun. My daughter would quite happily pack up her tent and move there. There is so much for the children to do, they absolutely loved all the animals, goats (especially Elvis), chickens, (including 3 day old chicks), ponies, pigs. None of the children in our party asked for ipads or phones, it was just good old fashioned outdoors fun, tree climbing, games of rounders, feeding the animals, picnics and toasting marshmallows on the campfire. (Kev provided us with some wood, ). And the icing on the cake was the homemade sauasages and bacon which were delicious. Ive told all my friends about this place, and might just have to go back in the summer. Walking distance to Moors Valley Country Park, Great local pub about 1 ish miles away, recreation ground with a park etc about 20 mins walk away. No shower block, but flushing toilet and sink, which was clean. Kevin is easy to reach via email or phone if you have any questions. Great customer service. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Loopy Loo 1975 1 review from this member

 Don't think I have enough words to express how fabulous my stay at Stone Family Farm was. Farmers are so friendly and will do anything for you to make sure you enjoy your stay. My Son(8) was in his element, climbing trees, making dens, feeding and riding the Horses, walking Elvis the Goat. He has not stopped talking about his weekend, and wants to stay there the whole of the Summer Holidays! The atmosphere is so friendly and laid back, you feel like you are part of the Family. Nothing is too much trouble, and the cost is so reasonable. I cannot wait to go back, and am booking the next trip as we speak! 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vix770 5 reviews from this member

 This site is absolutely fantastic! Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable. The kids loved it and are desperate to come back! The site is very small and has one toilet & sink in a shed (which is heated) and initially we were concerned that it was possibly a little too basic and 'rustic'. We couldn't have been more wrong! With 6 kids in our group aged between 8 and 13 it's not always that easy to entertain them all but the owners and their menagerie of farm animals managed it! The kids were able and encouraged to help care for the rabbits, pigs, goat, chicks & ponies. The owners even took the kids riding whilst we were there. They had the patience of saints. Absolutely nothing was too much trouble. We had delicious homemade sausages & bacon and the owner's homemade beef burgers (really good too!). The owner was happy to supply firewood so that we could have an open fire & toast marshmallows (very important!). There were very few campsite rules and we were told we could pack up & go when we were ready which made our de-camp very relaxed. The site itself is near Verwood, Ringwood, The New Forest and Bournemouth so lots to do locally. We walked to Potterne Park which has a good play park. There is also Moors Valley Country Park which is within walking distance and that is fantastic too.

We had a lovely, lovely time at Stone Family Farm- thank you so much - keep up the good work- you've given my kids some magical memories and we will be back! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LewisCrew 1 review from this member

 There is so much to say about Stone Family Farm that it is difficult to know where to begin. Kevin and Sue ensure a very warm and friendly service from beginning to end.

The site itself is full of character and charm and the pitches are laid out in a manner which gives as much personal space as possible and allows you to take in the surroundings.

The whole site inc. Toilet is kept faultlessly clean and tidy. I'm certain if there ever was a problem then they would jump to sort it straight away.

Our two children (13 and 15) both thoroughly enjoyed the time there and were kept busy and entertained by both Kevin and Sue with various aspects of the site and farm, from collecting eggs to pony riding. I could write much more about how friendly and welcoming they are, and how they go much further than just providing a camp site, but I would be here all day!

As a working farm they were also able to provide some of their own sausages, bacon and freshly collected eggs which were outstanding and very welcomed.

They have a communal fire which provides an atmosphere you would pay for. Great entertainment and several great evenings were spent relaxing around the fire - suitable for adults and children (big and small!). They did also allow us to have a small fire by our tent as long as it was off the floor, bricks were provided to stop the grass from scorching.

We did have a problem with our two dogs settling in their new surrounding but both Kevin and Sue were very helpful and took the stress out of it all.

Whether you would like relaxation, socialisation, to be around animals, to be alone, etc the Family Farm will make sure you get what you want.

All in all we had a great time and would love to return sooner than we probably can. Everything was perfect and homely, from Kev remembering and wishing our son a happy birthday, to our daughter being able to immerse herself in all things farm. At the same time we could sit back and enjoy a cup of tea whilst absorbing nature with the extra little touches like being able to watch in the distance Sue gracefully ride around the arena on one of her beautiful horses.

Thanks to you both for a fantastic week, we look forward to seeing you again soon! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dorsetsi 1 review from this member

 Again, just to echo the other great reviews of this site, I cant say enough positive things about this site and the owners.

If you like a family friendly site, off the beaten track with that personal touch, this place is for you. The facilities are basic, but have everything you need.

This is a magical place for young kids, with the owners really taking time out to encourage them to feed and interact with the animals, collecting eggs. There really is no place like it.

As stated, site is very well located for Moors alley and the New Forest.

We will definitely be back. Thanks ! 


Previous     25 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!


All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2000 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement