Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Springslade Lodge Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Staffordshire > Cannock > Springslade Lodge Certificated Site Reviews

Springslade Lodge Certificated Site
Camp Road
Broadhurst Green
Staffordshire   (Browse area)
WS12 4PT
Tel: 01785 715091
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 5 Vans + tents
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 14 Reviews
                7/10 from 14 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 11 to 14                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lemonjelly89 1 review from this member

We visited Springslade Lodge last week and enjoyed the surrounding area, Cannock Chase. However the campsite was a disappointment.

As other reviews state, the pitches were small and cramped with no privacy between campers.

As also stated by other reviews, the management was very abrupt with us and unpleasant about her husband cutting the grass, making us feel like an inconvenience rather than a paying customer.

The smaller toilet door handle was also broken and the showers were dirty, covered in grass and mud and were very weak. From previous reviews management said this was temporary.

Quote from Management July 2012 '3- The toilet and shower block have only just been installed, it is temporary, it is a porta cabin, we did have a few teething probs with the water due to our business being on a bore hole'. Temporary for two years. Too much time spent cutting that grass?

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Clarese 1 review from this member

The location of the site is great. Set in a 2 lovely fields with a forest back drop. Great place to go for walks or cycle. We visited nearby Beeches Valley visitors centre, great for children.

The main drawback is the toilets/showers. By the time we left these had not been checked for 2 days according to the chart on the wall. The bin was over-flowing and there was an unpleasant smell. The showers were nearly unusable due to the poor water flow, which was cold/barely warm. We were there for 4 nights and it was very difficult to wash. I think it would have been okay for a night or 2, but 4 was pushing it. The path up to the toilet/shower block is also quite steep and muddy, which made it tricky after heavy rain.

There is no shop particularly nearby and the tea room doesn't open until 10, so be prepared!

We were there over a bank holiday and it was crowded for the first night. There wasn't much space at all for children to play when the site was full.

This could be an amazing site if these issues were sorted out.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bettyblade 1 review from this member

The weekend was lovely. The location Devine but the pitches for our vans were very small. We only have a 2 Berth and a small awning and we were encroaching on the next pitches. They are very snuggled together.

The entrance is a nightmare to get the caravan into as its such a tight entrance.

There is a free dribble (shower) to use. When I used it, it was full of grass from the previous children the was in there.

Apparently there is a nice tea room which we were going to visit on the Sunday but got told we had to be off the pitch at 12 or pay an extra 3 per hour but the owner said that the latest we could stay was 1 pm so her husband could cut the grass before Wimbledon. Which I thought was a bit rude as she is running a business.

Would I go back there again. I think not

Management response: 1- No- one has ever complained about the sizes of the pitches, we only have 21 on 1. 5 acres of land.

2- We ask all at 12 pm if they are staying over as we have other clients that may be booked on the pitch. We have grass to cut, bins to empty and jobs on the land, we are running a business. We have to be fair and have a change over time.

3- The toilet and shower block have only just been installed, it is temporary, it is a porta cabin, we did have a few teething probs with the water due to our business being on a bore hole.

4- As for grass in the showers we have a checking system twice daily, we cannot be expected to check showers after every person has been in there.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Eleek89 2 reviews from this member

Nice site in Cannock Chase.

We were looking for a site for a couple of nights over the weekend and came across Springslade Lodge. It was within 10miles of our home town of Stafford so off we went.

We were surprised at what we found having driven past many times.

There is a lovely tea room which seems to be popular and has a nice menu, we had already taken enough food with us on this occasion so didn't get to try it.

The site has good sized pitches, the only downfall is that the toilets are a few hundred yards up the track, so you will need your torches, but toilets are better than no toilets! They were also clean and regularly checked upon. There are no showers at present but it says on their website that they will be coming soon.

Other good points are that there are recycling boxes which you can take to your pitch. We don't usually have much and take ours home, but good idea especially for people drinking to put their cans and bottles in!

We went for a walk down the track and around Cannock Chase. The site is near to a pony trek centre which passed us on our walk, would like to investigate more into that.

Overall a nice site, 20 per night with electric. Quiet and peaceful. Good for walks, bike riding and exploring Cannock Chase.

Near to Stafford and Cannock. Nearest shops probably at Festival Court, Pye Green Road. There is a Nisa and a butchers shop amongst other things, worth a short ride.

Would visit again, thanks Springslade Lodge

Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 14     Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Staffordshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

1741 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019