Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Springslade Lodge Certificated Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Staffordshire > Site Reviews

Springslade Lodge Certificated Site
Camp Road
Broadhurst Green
Cannock
Staffordshire   (Browse area)
WS12 4PT
Tel: 01785 715091
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 5 Vans + tents
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 14 Reviews
                7/10 from 14 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lovage 1 review from this member

We stayed three nights. Alas, the field we were put in was waterlogged to start with and we had difficulty getting to our grass pitch for the first night. Further rain the following day meant that when we tried to return to the pitch after an afternoon/early evening out, we got stuck. We phoned the site owners and they came to assist and offered us parking on the café forecourt for the second night. The third night we were offered one of the two small hardstanding pitches which had become vacant. Basically, if you have a campervan or motorhome, and there has been or likely to be heavy rain, ask for one of the hardstanding pitches rather than having to go on the poorly draining field. We were glad there weren't too many people on site - wouldn't like to be there when it was full (there appear to be about 20 pitches) as only one women's and one men's shower, plus two loos each. These facilities are basic but clean. A track runs along the side of the site down from the café and is right next to the two hardstanding pitches. The track was busy on Saturday and Sunday with walkers, horses and cyclists, and a few cars although the track is no-through, so not as 'Hideaway' as we would have liked. We paid £22 a night which we thought was expensive. The thing we didn't like was the long list of rules on big notices, at the entrance by the café and on the field. You expect to be given a list of dos and don'ts when you book, which we were, so we couldn't understand the need for these notices and they give too much of a regimented feel to the site. We didn't try out the café but it also seemed quite expensive.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Piebald pickles 9 reviews from this member

Another lovely few days spent at Springslade lodge.

The site was quiet during our stay only 3 units on the site, so was lovely. A real gem of a place, in the middle of the forest

Basic but more than adequate toilets and shower, lovely hot water

The tea room was busy most days, where we had lunch a couple of times

Easy access to Cannock chase, for mountain biking and walking

Weather was stunning, a very relaxing few days, thank you

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Rhi+Gav 11 reviews from this member

We were attending an event at Cannock chase and needed a last minute pitch! I emailed and called several sites in the area and Springslade responded promptly to advise that they could accommodate us. A great site at the rear of the owners lovely tea rooms. Pitches are sizeable so you're not too close to your neighbours! Basic but very clean and sufficient toilet and shower facilities and such a quiet spot. Pretty surroundings and plenty of walking and cycle routes just off the site. Owners were very welcoming and had organised shuttle transport to the concert venue, very handy! A great stay!

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Angelah1970 3 reviews from this member

Stayed for 2 nights, lovely area only us on site. Saturday we biked on the trails at Cannock chase, in the evening the site owner had recommended an Italian in the nearby town of rugeley. We had booked a table and she drove us there! It was fantastic food. On Sunday morning we had a full English breakfast in the cafe, also lovely.

We didn't need to use any facilities as used our own. Will definitely go back, lovely owners! Beautiful scenery.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Cypsygal 5 reviews from this member

I can't comment on child friendliness as we had no children with us. Phoned late on the day to book - very polite on telephone. Ate at tea room -good basic food, but quite expensive -probably reflects the lack of other facilities in the area though. With hook up for one night on a weekend £30 - seems very expensive to me. Chose not to have electric and was only £23 (with a £1 fee for the dog). Later owners strolled down the site and walked around our van - we guessed they were checking we actually didn't use their electric. We booked through the C&C club CL system, and so as a CL we were impressed they had both toilets and showers, although we didn't use the showers, so can't comment on their effectiveness. Toilets are heated and had automatic lighting. I used a head torch - like I do on most campsites - so getting there was fine. The toilets appear to be a sea container, cleverly covered in wood, and nicely fitted out, 2 loos one shower in the ladies. Lovely woodland setting on Cannock Chase. There seems to be no other site on Cannock Chase, so perhaps this also reflects the pricing structure. We hope to return to explore the chase, as it was very rainy when we were there. Nice site

Management response: The prices of £23 and £30 are only set when a one night stay is made on a weekend, we lose revenue on the second night.

£23 is for a Friday or Saturday evening for a non hook up and £30 for electrical pitch.

I would like to say we do not walk around checking whether people are using a hook up or not, we usually stroll around to be polite, answer any questions and to conduct a health and safety and toilet cleaning check.

Thank you.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Banoffi pie 1 review from this member

The location is stunning, just off the beaten track so safe for children and animals. Very difficult for small children on unlit stony uphill paths and NO changing facilities for babies. It is in a woodland clearing so relatively protected but feels, 'in the forest'.

The toilet and shower facilities are, at best ok, they are housed in an old container so cramped. This is fine for a CL but the prices are what you would pay for a super site.

Management response: We have baby changing facilities in the disabled toilet at The Tearooms up the lane. The toilets and showers are small but we have provided them for ease of all which prevents the walk up to the tearoom garden. We are trying hard to please all and make our site more comfortable, please bear with us as it is costly updating and pleasing everyone's needs.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Piebald pickles 9 reviews from this member

What a lovely site, situated right in Cannoch Chase. Site small, uneven field, but we were given a fab flat pitch for our large motorhome. Showers and toilets on site were fine, hot water, good flow, not the ritz but perfectly good.

Great place as a base for cycling

Cafe was good.

We were lucky enough to see wild dear from the site.

The site wasn't busy. If full it would be a tight squeeze.

Hook up was good, no issues.

A hinge on the chemical water lid would be a bonus, plus a longer hosepipe

Management response: We repaired the hinge that someone broke the weekend you stayed. The hose pipe is the specified length after a site inspection from the Caravan and Camping Club rules and regulations.

Thank you.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Terry3184 1 review from this member

Just got home after a memorable long weekend at Springslade. Beautiful surroundings, smallish, intimate site in a wooded area, perfect.

We wanted somewhere close to home for the last bank holiday and fancied doing some cycling around Cannock Chase. This campsite was in the perfect location.

OK, the current showers aren't the Ritz, but as we're camping and at the lower end of the budget, I have seen worse, much worse. Kaye has good plans for the future and I hope these keep the site 'intimate ' rather than 'commercial'

Some have complained about the small size of the pitches, really? We found everyone had plenty of room though I will take stronger tent pegs next time if we are in the same plot, but there will definitely be a next time. 3/4 hour from home, lovely site, why spend 3-4 hours on the M5 when we can be exploring The Chase.

Will have to try breakfast at the lodge next time instead of cooking our own.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Atg1 3 reviews from this member

Beautiful setting on Cannock Chase. Small site, the downside is the toilet and shower facilities, only 1 shower for the ladies and 1 for the men. Alright for a night or 2, no longer. Lukewarm water and it dribbles out. The tearoom is expensive. I understood from previous reviews that there was going to be new showers and toilets, about time they were installed.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LenaA 1 review from this member

We travelled from Essex this weekend to stay at Springslade in hope of a lovely dog walk and a good day at the Midland Show. The owners were absolutely fine about us arriving very late and it was easy to quickly sign in regardless of them hosting a 50th birthday party at the lodge. They were kind and everything was straightforward, it's a shame no card payments could be made but we were made aware of this on numerous occasions and a little trip to the cash point isn't a big deal.

We headed down to the site and it was beautiful. The grass was lovely and freshly cut. I felt our pitch was perfectly placed between the others and although the site wasn't full to the brim, there was space everywhere. Children were playing happily and it was lovely to see dogs so welcome and well behaved.

The toilets were a very short distance across the site and did the job and were clean. The shower was a shower and it was hot, what more do you need when camping? We took our dog for a lovely walk in the forest and spotted numerous deer all over the place, plus a lot of foxes skulking around. It was brilliant.

Many people were having bbqs with no problems, arriving late and staying only one night we popped into cannock town, 5 mins away and grabbed a takeaway, took it back to the camp and relaxed in the sunset. Not sure where the nearest shops were but there were many in cannock. Just go prepared.

We packed up and left, no need to sign out. It was all smooth and so easy. Thanks Springslade.

Management response: We now have a card payment facility which we run through satellite internet.

Thank you.

Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Staffordshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1357 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019