Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Dartmoor Westford Farm Touring And Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Exeter > Dartmoor Westford Farm Touring And Camping Reviews

Dartmoor Westford Farm Touring And Camping
Drewsteignton
Dartmoor
Exeter
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX6 6RD
Tel: 01647 281138  or  07802 294562
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 21
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 19 Reviews
                8/10 from 19 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <10 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 11 to 19                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Bessacarr 10 reviews from this member

 We spent a lovely 2 nights at this site.

The owners are friendly and helpful and the site is in a lovely setting with generous pitches.

There are ducks, chickens, cats and kittens roaming freely which adds to its charm.

The toilets and showers are first rate and spotlessly clean.

There is fishing available on site too.

The site is easy to find and the surrounding countryside is beautiful. We were blessed with perfect weather which always helps and we came away feeling relaxed and refreshed.

We would definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dopey Dave 1 review from this member

 I have just returned home to work and absolutely miss my lovely weeks holiday at West Ford Farm in Drewsteignton. WE had a superbly sunny week at the farm. I pitched down by the stream and the sound of the water certainly helped me sleep. The log fire at night chilled me out no end. Can't believe I am back at work. Just longing to go back to West Ford in 2 weeks time for another long weekend.

The walks in the ara are superb. I took off at Fingle bridge and walked up to the top of the George over the River Teign. Unbelievable views. Great Sunday roast right on the river in the Fingle Pub.

The trout lakes on the West Ford farm are amazing.

We caught several Trout. They have just re stocked with Rainbow Trout. I BBQ'd ours on Marks BBQ. Superb with local Cider.

Longing to get back.

10 out of 10 for everything. Great facilities etc etc

Its where to go for a full relaxing a dream holiday. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Smiffster 4 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from a 4 night stay here, have left the in-laws there for another few nights.

Several positives and negatives to the site. Let's start with the positives.

It is a very quiet location, only a few pitches that have plenty of space between them. The don't allow cars parked on the pitches which also adds to the space and means the kids can play in the areas between all of the pitches. They also have a little house, a tyre swing, a little tykes car and a trike for the children to play with. My little one did love the car and spent quite a while just sitting in it.

There are also free roaming geese (which were as friendly as geese can get) a cat who is very open to cuddles, a small dog, that does like to poke his nose through an awning, free roaming chickens as well as pigs and horses that are in the barn.

There were 2 showers and 2 toilets for each gender, that were kept immaculately clean, as well as the games room at the back, a room for laundry and a disabled toilet/family changing room. The general area was lovely, quite a few local villages which had some nice pubs. We visited a miniature pony centre and the Devon railway while we were there and had a lovely time.

Now the negatives.

We booked this site as a family, we have a little one aged 14 months, so a lot of the family aspects appealed to us. The games room had no electrical games working, only the pool, darts and ping pong were available. When we tried to give the little one a wash as a family, the shower had two settings. Hot and hotter. There was no cold. A sign saying out of order was put on the shower for the rest of the stay. We ended up showering her in the main ladies and I had to pass her out to my waiting mother in law to get her dressed. It was here that I discovered that if you aren't careful and you put the shower up to max power, it actually pushes the curtain out of the bottom of the shower, enabling water to go everywhere. I mean everywhere! It was close to resembling a bath. Some serious mopping was needed. We also discovered the washing machine was broken, meaning we couldn't wash messy baby clothes. It was rather difficult to speak to anyone as they isn't anyone who is on reception all day. It was a case where we would just have to wait till we saw someone going to the office.

The owners did seem friendly enough, however I think that as this is a new site, they are still getting to grips with dealing with customers. In the reception area, there is a shop, but they only sell a few items. It would be better for you to go to a local shop and pick up supplies there. There is no sign for where you are to put your waste water, but so you know, it goes with the chemical waste. It also wasn't stated on the website that you have to pay an extra 3.50 for hook up.

Overall, we did enjoy our time here. The washing machine was fixed (was 3 a load) so we could get that sorted, the family room however wasn't. With us being in a trailer tent, we required the amenities a lot more, whilst the in laws in a caravan are rather more self sufficient, so it was very noticeable to us when things weren't working which did put a dampener on things. At least these things are things that can be fixed and hopefully will be if you choose to stay here.

If you do go, don't follow the sat nav. It tells you to turn right, don't! Go straight ahead and then look right and you will see it. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Willi82 1 review from this member

 This site is well located very close to the A30, the traffic noise was not noticeable at all, A very nice site right on the edge of Dartmoor lot's to do here and the areas around

The shower and toilet facilities are some of the best I have seen for a campsite. They have just been refurbished, The grass pitches I think must be reinforced as the caravans had no trouble pitching up. Also if you fancy something different they have some tepee's which you can rent out 'they look fab'

If you like fishing there is 2 main lakes the smaller with carp in and the larger with Trout both well stocked and there are lots of other animal as well horses. Pigs, ducks, geese, chickens no cockrel (so no wake up call) all in all this is a great all rounder for families, groups or just couples We will be returning we loved it 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: GonzoTroll 5 reviews from this member

 We visited at the end of September so I guess things were winding down on site, and the owners were probably ready for close-down. The situation is in a lovely valley and there is a lot to visit locally.

The loos and showers are very good but could use some convenience touches like more hangers and a chair or stool. Its a shame that the A30 traffic is audible as a hum, but pitching by the stream would babble that out! Duck ponds and wandering geese and chickens are nice. This was the first year as a site and I think with some touches like maturing trees and and some foliage to cover up the farm sheds etc the site could become beautiful.

I would recommend clearer directions for future visitors especially for access from the Cornwall direction off the A30 and be very careful with caravans on the local lanes! The local pub in Drewstaighten is about 0. 75 miles - ok by bike. Food is interesting (nicely so!) but don't expect genuine locals, they all seemed to be media-types who have moved out of London! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Clarkieboy112 1 review from this member

 Me my wife and children had a lovely time playing in the streams and children's playground. They also had a fantastic arcade with some great games.

It was lovely to have a open camp fire and toasted marshmallows.

I also enjoyed fishing with my children and caught a 4 pound rainbow trout which we later eat on our barbecue later.

Shower block was five star.

Very friendly owners

This has recently opened and I hope I can book again for next year as its such a small site.

Would recommend this to anyone looking for a delightful camping trip. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dcjm 1 review from this member

 We found this site online after looking for a site which allows fires.

Set in lovely country side between Exeter and Plymouth this is going to be the place to go and stay.

A nice friendly welcome greets you.

There is a newly built toilet/shower block, which is very clean and tidy. In the same block is a games room with pool table, arcade machines and table tennis.

There is a play area and two fishing ponds (one carp and one trout).

I think the memory we will take away from this site is sitting around a camp fire with the kids having marshmallows.

If the children say that they want to go again then I know its a good site. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: C hole 1 review from this member

 Lovely small campsite on the edge of Dartmoor. The newly built facilities were clean and tidy and tastefully decorated. The owners were friendly and helpful.

The site is dog friendly and you can have a fire, they even provided the logs. There is an area with swings etc for children.

There is a small lake for fishing, or just sitting by and relaxing, and a nice walk around the farm to enjoy. We enjoyed our stay. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: A Hull 1 review from this member

 I found this site by chance this is their first year.

I found ease of access to the site.

With all facilities clean, tidy, and friendly.

Will be looking to go again this year but as this site is known, the likely it will be fully booked.

What I like, was clean very good facilities and more to the site than was on offer.

From this site there is ease of access to all parts of Devon of interest, and road links to Exter and Oakhampton for all shopping needs and local shops for what you forget to bring or brought. 


Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 19     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Dartmoor Westford Farm Touring And Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Dartmoor Westford Farm Touring And Camping?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Dartmoor Westford Farm Touring And Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Exeter      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5899 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement