Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Dartmoor Westford Farm Touring And Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Exeter > Dartmoor Westford Farm Touring And Camping Reviews

Dartmoor Westford Farm Touring And Camping
Drewsteignton
Dartmoor
Exeter
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX6 6RD
Tel: 01647 281138  or  07802 294562
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 21
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 19 Reviews
                8/10 from 19 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <10 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Bongowight 5 reviews from this member

 Had a lovely couple of days here, just us and one tent on site! Weather had been really bad and the camping field was somewhat bogged out, but the polite young lad who greeted us steered us onto a pitch near the top of the field which wasn't too bad. The site has a river running through it, a trout lake, another small lake and its own gaggle of geese that roam around greeting everyone. Some great walks, the nearby village has a lovely little pub in it and another mile down the road is a stunning pub at fingle bridge where we had a lovely meal and a couple of pints watching the nature. Only let down was the showers which were pretty grotty whilst we were there in fact the same bucket full of smelly water was sat in the same place unused the whole time we were there, that said with only a few of us on site perhaps the owners felt we should be able to clean up after ourselves. Would imagine that with good weather this site would be packed and real fun, for small kids it would be a real adventure staying there. All in all a really nice campsite, if you enjoy proper camping and have kids you will love it here! 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lyns 26 reviews from this member

 We were met by the owner who was particularly unfriendly and unhelpful and whose sole concern was securing payment from us. Having been told we were not permitted to take our car onto the camp field to protect the grass we carried our kit to our pitch. Sadly this instruction was not enforced with the young lads allowed to skid their quad bike amongst the tents and children the following day.

The muddy stream bears little resemblance to the enticing pictures on the website and the course fishing is little more than a small, square pond. There is a nice, but small, trout lake to fish but at £5 per session and a further £5. 50 charged per fish caught we gave this a miss.

There is space for the kids to play and rope swings around the site, but the play room advertised was ‘Out of Order’ for the duration of our stay. There is a small play area with swings (one broken) and tyres to play on. An abandoned caravan sits in the corner of the field apparently left by a customer who never returned?

Some of the pitches have stone fire circles available and there was one fire pit available to hire. Fire wood is available at £4 per bag which is about the going rate and the owner requests that this is purchased rather than providing your own.

The camp shop sells very little and never appears to be open. There is however a small Post Office within a 5 minute drive for basics. Within a 10 minute drive is Fingle Bridge and the Fingle Bridge Inn. Well worth a visit for food and drinks on the banks of the river. It is also a great spot to start a walk, with plenty of parking available.

The toilets and showers look relatively new and were well stocked with soap and paper, but remained dirty throughout our stay.

We love the area and will be back, but we won’t be using this site again. Our experience was a remarkable contrast to previous reviews, overpriced for the facilities on offer and a real disappointment. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ian n anne 2 reviews from this member

 We found this gem of a place in peaceful Dartmoor with a small river running though quiet small campsite very friendly and helpful owners we loved being here in the heart of the country and a visit from the chickens and the owners dog to say hello in the mornings. A family came with children to live in the tipi and cook on the outside campfire next to the river its back to nature if you like that sort of thing we did.

The new shower block is the best we found you can run a shower without having to keep pressing the button, if you go you must visit Fingle bridge about 10mins its a lovely pub hot meals over looking the stream and good dog walks. We are returning this year on our way back from Cornwall 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jester-Jamie 1 review from this member

 Meaning to get round to reviewing this site as we had a lovely time here in the summer.

Cracking little site. Owners (forgot names) were really friendly. I do not go to sites that do not allow fires (whole point of camping!) This site allows them so a definite tick from me. Lovely laid back feel and the rivers and lakes are very pleasant indeed.

I stayed here because of the walking near by and there are really nice dog walks on the doorstep.

Its a bit of a trek but we took a trip to Princetown to go to the prison museum. Tiny little museum but very interesting, the inventiveness of the prisoners is astounding! Who knew you could make a tattoo gun out of match sticks and cigarette lighters, very inventive (but I suppose they have a lot of time on their hands to get creative)

Toilets etc surprisingly luxurious for a campsite and clean.

With the play area its quite geared up for children so can get noisy but I don't like to be a Grinch moaning about kids having fun so I wont complain!

I checked their website to see when they were open for next year and I couldn't find their opening months(pretty vital) so would suggest a little more info for their website or make it clearer if it is there.

Quite a small site as well so I imagine it could get busy but it wasn't too bad when we went.

Any way, cracking, relaxed campsite in a great setting - Oh also good pubs nearby! 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Instantsquid 4 reviews from this member

 Westford Farm has the potential to be one of the best campsites in the area. The location is fantastic and the layout of the site is so picturesque. There is a little play area which our children thoroughly enjoyed, with a small stream running alongside the site which provided much entertainment.

Unfortunately the facilities were really not up to scratch. We stayed for 6 nights and did not manage to have a single hot shower - and I hasten to add we did try! No matter what time of day we went to the toilet block, the water was never hot. We had to wash the children in a bucket in the tent, while my wife and I endured cold showers. The women's toilet was frequently out of loo paper and handtowels. On the final day, there was practically no cold water either!

We were expecting to be able to get basic foods (bread, milk, etc. ) on site as the website claims that there is a shop. However the shop is part of the reception office which was closed nearly the whole time we were there. The nearest shop is at Drewsteignton which is about 2 miles away.

My only other complaint is regarding noise levels in the evenings. We have 2 young children who were ready for bed at 9pm (way past their normal bedtime!) Even though we were about as far away from the toilet block as possible, we could still clearly hear people shouting, clapping, cheering, singing, etc. After 10pm. To be fair, this only happened on 2 evenings out of 6, but for a small, child-friendly site I would have expected better. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Twinspired 11 reviews from this member

 I seldom write reviews but felt compelled to do so having had quite the most wonderful time at Westford Farm. This is a small charming site set in a small valley on the edge of Dartmoor with possibly 30-40 pitches, some with EHU, some not.

The whole ethos with this site is to relax, unwind and enjoy the sense of togetherness in some of the most beautiful scenery. Let your children paddle in the stream and listen to their laughter, Mark will set them to task to build a dam! Or go and give the resident pig a scratch behind his ear or admire the hard work that Karen invests into rescuing horses who are on the brink of life or marvel at the chicken who will come and lay eggs for your breakfast (in our case, right next to our tipi). The geese made my boys giggle with their chitter chatter and they often sat and just listened to all the wildlife or gazed at the stars.

If that isn’t enough, catch a trout from their little lake (rod hire £5 each) and then get back to basics and cook it over an open campfire, followed by toasting marshmellows or stuff banana’s with chocolate drops, wrap them in foil and let the fire work its magic whilst sharing adventurous fireside stories with your little folk.

If you need a cosy pint then head to Fingle Bridge for a little tipple! If you need a tasty butcher for all that campfire cooking then head towards Okehampton for one of the best I have ever been to. Mark will direct you.

I have never ever in all my years of camping/caravanning spent an entire day on site but yesterday we did just that. We relaxed whilst our children hooted in the stream, we bought some boules from mark and played cricket, kicked a ball and cooked lots and lots over the firepits.

The owners are a breath of fresh air who are relaxed as long as you care for the environment around you. They work tirelessly and will do all they can to make your stay as carefree as possible, what they have created is a wonderful hideaway with the essence of life really at the fore of their thinking when developing this inviting site.

The only down side is, at some point you have to leave and head for home. Go and enjoy, maybe even leave all the mod cons and enjoy just being. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jonford 19 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 1 night when touring Cornwall and Devon. Honestly, bit of a mayhem site with loads of ducks/swans roaming around. We had the 1 hardstanding pitch (which was more of a concreted area rather than a pitch) But we were happy as due to heavy rain, would have sunk in the grass. The fields were very well designed with lakes and rivers running along side it. Fishing is available. Showers and toilet block are lovely and no probs with queues out of season. The site is a bit tricky to find (you need to get on the old A30 off the new A30) Sat Nav got us lost a couple of junctions but only delayed us 10mins. Site is down a long thin lane so hopefully you don't pass other large caravans on the way to/from the site. A visit to Fingle Bridge is recommended if staying there but again, its down the long think lane (lovely location though) 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Listlady 3 reviews from this member

 This site is in a very pretty valley and was quiet with no traffic noise, and I heard only cockerels and pheasants at night. It was easy to get to, and find using the directions provided. However due to booking after reading their website we were left disappointed.

The kids enjoyed the 2 swings and paddling in the stream at the bottom of the field while we pitched, then as the website says the facilities include “35 acres of open country side to enjoy” we were looking forward to exploring. However, it quickly became clear that there was no access from the camp site to the surrounding countryside as advertised and when we asked the Owner, we were directed to walk to Drewsteignton along the road.

The main camping field was very soft ground, despite no rain for well over a week, as it appears the small fishing ponds drain across the site road and into the bottom meadow. So while the pitch was fairly flat, there were deep ruts across the pitch from where cars has been driven and everything was damp under foot. It is also worth knowing that although you can drive onto the meadow to unload your car, you are not permitted to leave it there. This may well be a positive point for some campers but as we usually use the car as a bit of a storage area it proved to be a bit inconvenient.

The showers/toilets while not too bad on arrival did not appear to be cleaned even once a day, and both toilets in the ladies had run out of loo paper by the Sunday morning. There was some queueing for the showers but it moved quickly due to the lack of the hot water! There were multiple signs asking people to only take showers of 4-5 minutes during peek times to allow the tanks to refill, but perhaps the owners would be better off providing a better hot-water system to meet the demand. This wasn't a cheap site, and was over £30 a night for our family. The bins were overflowing by Sunday and there were no recycling facilities other than for glass bottles.

There was only 1 washing up sink, which was not cleaned except by the next person who wanted to use it, the kids play house was overgrown with weeds, and there was a feel of things being not really cared about, for instance there was a draining ditch behind our tent that was full of stagnant smelly water, which by summer will provide lots of insect life which will not be pleasant!

We will not be returning to this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: FreddieBear 3 reviews from this member

 We thoroughly enjoyed our time here - to the point that we stayed an extra three nights when our pre-booked time ran out. The fact there was a lovely little play area right next to where we pitched meant that we could have entertained children when we were pitching and decamping.

Our sat nav decided to take us off on a journey of discovery on the day we got there which resulted in us having a near miss with a tractor so we definitely suggest following the signs rather than trusting sat navs.

The campsite itself is lovely and secluded and small which meant we weren't over-run with visitors. There was a lovely, clean toilet block with showers ad there was a games room attached which was used by some of the older children on the site.

The location is ideal for travelling all around Devon and some parts of Cornwall - especially as the A30 is about 5 minutes away.

The management were very friendly and very approachable.

Fishing is available but I don't know much about that side of it as I'm a vegetarian! :D

You are able to have open fires on the site - on an altar fire if at the tent or there are designated camp fire circles. The management got, not surprisingly, very upset when someone tried to start their own little campfire so it is worth checking with them first before lighting up - they are easy enough to talk to. You can also buy wood on site - I believe it is about a tenner for a wheelbarrowful - so please don't do what our neighbours did and go hacking at the trees with a bow-saw!

There is a washing machine and drier on site but it woks out at £7 a load for washing and drying which felt a little on the high side but I do appreciate that we can always bring our washing home with us!

Will definitely consider going back again in the future but please can you put a light near the toilet block? It is very dark in the middle of the night when the movement sensors have gone to sleep. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pamedav38 11 reviews from this member

 Pretty little site, close enough to the A30 to reach other attractions but deep in the valley away from road noise. Follow the instructions on the site for the best access as narrow and steep roads surround the site, but that's what Devon's all about. Facilities housed in New building which are modern, very clean and include table tennis, DVD hire, (take your satellite dish if you want TV reception), washing machine. A very warm and friendly welcome from the owners. Small PO in village for provisions and 2 pubs with good food within short drive at Widdon Down and Fingal Bridge. Supermarket in Okehampton. Small play area and stream runs through site. Lots of space to walk dog (ps must get on with chickens). Two very small fishing lakes, one for trout the other for carp. There is a choice of areas where you can set up camp. Overall we would recommend this site for both families with small children and adults. 


Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Dartmoor Westford Farm Touring And Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Dartmoor Westford Farm Touring And Camping?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Dartmoor Westford Farm Touring And Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Exeter      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Campervan Show, Peterborough 11/06 to 13/06
Browse new and used motorhomes for sale from a huge range of local and national dealers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4986 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement