Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Warmwell Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Dorset > Dorchester > Warmwell Caravan Park > Reviews

Warmwell Caravan Park
Warmwell
Dorchester
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT2 8JD
Tel: 01305 852313
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: Seasonal and Statics Only
Open: 01/03/2022 to 02/01/2023
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 19 Reviews
                9/10 from 19 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 11 to 19                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Reviewer: Mrs sutton 7 reviews from this member

 August 2005
We have just returned from a week's break at this site.

After checking in at reception we were shown to our pitch (no 161) - we have a large diablo 600 tent. Apparently this is a popular pitch, why I do not know, the ground was uneven, covered in fir cones and at the end of a grassed terraced area overlooking woodland.

After initial inspection of the pitch we decided to go and speak with the reception staff to see if they had any other pitches free. We got the impression, through the conversation that tents were not really as welcome on the site as caravans. They could only offer us one other pitch (no 31) as all the others were booked, even though there were empty spaces as we walked around the site. During the week we were there, these empty pitches stayed empty!!!

We were shown our new pitch and found that, although it was at the end of the site, it was level and only a short walk to the amenities block, shop and bar.

I would say that the site is more a seasonal site, even though this is not explained in their brochure, there seemed to be lots of caravans but no people with them.

The site itself is quite centrally located for Weymouth, Swanage, Lulworth Cove, Poole, Bournmouth and not too far from the Tank Museum and Monkey World.

There are 2 amenities blocks on the site, very clean and tidy. The amenity block nearest the shop/bar consisted of approx 10 sinks, 10 toilets and only 3 showers. The showers were spacious and hot, however I could see that this would be a problem during a busy period.

Lastly, re the hard ground, we had no problem with our steel tent pegs when pitching our tent. 


Reviewer: Suebrun 2 reviews from this member

 17th July 2004
Just spent the weekend at Warmwell.
Lovely woodland setting. The ground is hard but nothing a good mallet can't sort out. Peaceful site excellent shower block etc.
Staff very friendly and helpful, kids loved it!
Excellent base for Swanage, Weymouth, Ringstead etc,
We hope to return in Aug.
A lovely site and very well managed.
 


Reviewer: DaveF 2 reviews from this member

 July 2004
Very nice site. Highly recommended, would use again. As others have said the ground is very hard, but I found that solid plastic pegs and a DIY claw hammer soon sorted things out!!

Toilets and shower blocks are very clean. 


Reviewer: Petra McGuire

 August 2003
We turned up at 11pm at night after driving for hours all over Weymouth trying to find a place to pitch for the night. It was a last minute trip and we hadn't booked (which was silly as Weymouth is one of the most popular holiday resorts for campers in August)
This park was a few miles out of Weymouth and was full but I couldn't drive any further and also had two kids with me. We explained our predicament to the site owner & he was brilliant. Really helpful & nice and gave us a last minute pitch.
The site is really great, has a little bar and serves hot coffee & breakfast in the mornings. The camping area is surrounded by trees and it is good value for money. Definitely a site to visit! We would certainly go back. 


Reviewer: Samantha Holman

 31st July 2003
Lovely woodland site but can only reiterate what all the other reviews say: VERY stony ground. Toilet and shower facilities clean and little used since most visitors to the site are in caravans. Site inhabited by hundreds of rabbits which come out at night mainly. 

Advertisement

Reviewer: blem

 July 2003
First impressions lovely area. We were advised to take steel tent pegs which was a complete waste of time the ground was very stony and 90% of them buckled. Some friends joined us the following day and so we decided to eat in the Haven Park just down the road which we were told that we could use their facilities but what they failed to tell us is that it would cost us to use them and if you go there after 6pm there is an additional charge of 5 per adult and 2.50 per child so an evening there could work out very expensive before you've done anything. Another evening we chose a different place to eat then went to the club house which was on site for a couple of games of darts which was ok. The next day we were informed that we were not welcome there anymore due to the childrens ages which completely defeats the object of the term club house.

We generally tried to venture out and about which the site itself was very central and Monkey World was only about 15min drive away.

Showers and toilets were clean and water was average temperature.

Our main complaint would be the hospitality of the staff and would only do for short stays. 


Reviewer: S Stockham

 July 2003
This was a nice camp site. We were in a small field which apprantly is kept for weekend campers. Shower block were very clean.

The shop had most things but there is a much larger shop on the Haven site if you need anything else.

There is a small bar on site and the meals they serve were nice (first come first serve basis upon opening).

Haven site across the road has simming pool etc which you can pay to use, you can also pay for a days membership and use the bar and other entertainment.

NB
The ground there is very hard and we struggled with normal tent pegs even though it had rained for a few days beforehand. 


Reviewer: Deborah

 August 2002
A twenty minute drive from Weymouth, Warmwell Country Touring Park has to be one of my favourite campsites that I have visited so far.

It is located in woodland although there are pitches available in a clearing. As tenters we were placed in a grassy area in the centre, ideally situated between the two shower / toilet blocks. You really must have good steel tent pegs as the ground is very hard. There is a gravel service road around the site which we found beneficial as it had been raining before our arrival and the gravel seemed to absorb most of the rain. Other sites we drove around locally were very muddy.

There are 190 pitches but its layout means it feels quieter than this. It is used by more tourers than tenters which is great because it means the toilets and showers are never crammed with people and as far as those facilities go, there are six showers and around 16 loos for each gender split over two blocks. There are two washing up sinks, a hand washing area and washing machines / dryers etc. Incidentally, there are points to plug in your own hairdryer in both of the ladies loos. There is a small site shop for newspapers, milk etc and they will freeze your own ice packs for 20p a go.

You pay a 5 deposit for a key when you arrive which lets you into the toilets which are usually on the latch anyway. This also has a device that unlocks the barrier so you can drive in when you need to. Not sure if this means they are security conscious or there is crime in the area. You make you own mind up. We certainly felt safe, though.

There is a Haven site across the road which many families went to for the pool facilities etc. Not really what I want in a holiday but may suit you. Great for kids I guess.

Not sure if it was the canopy of trees to keep you warm, but the nights were perfect to sit out and enjoy a quiet drink and for me the best bit of this was the rabbits that live on the site, many of whom will quite happily come right up to your tent. Of course, the problem with this is that if you wake in the night you catch yourself listening out for them nibbling the grass just outside your tent.

A great site and I would love to go back there again!
 


Reviewer: Fiona

 July 2000
Loved this campsite, mainly because we were pitched in the bushy bit with lots of trees rather than the open part near the park. Ground was pretty hard though, facilities were good. Across the road is a Haven holiday park and so you are able to use their swimming pool, ball ponds etc, at a cost. Not far to Weymouth
Wouldn't hesitate to go back here. 


Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 19     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Warmwell Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Warmwell Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Warmwell Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Dorchester      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2841 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement