Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Badgells Wood

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Meopham > Badgells Wood Reviews

Badgells Wood
Whitehorse Road
Harvel
Meopham
Kent   (Browse area)
DA13 0UF
Tel: 07528 609324
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 39 Reviews
                9/10 from 39 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  39 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hat70n 1 review from this member

 We spent a lovely week at badgells wood August 2015. It was peaceful and relaxing and a chance to get away from everything. As previous reviews have said the pitches are well spread out in the woods so you aren't really disturbed by many people. We had a pitch quite far into the bluebell wood and at first the idea of carrying all our stuff in wheelbarrows all the way to our pitch was a bit daunting it was definitely worth the effort. The weekends do get quite busy but during the week there aren't many people there. The weekend we where there they where fully booked but it didn't ruin our camping experience at all. When it is busier it also makes the alone night time trips to the toilets a lot less scary too. The compost toilets where fine. They did smell like compost toilets but they where a lot nicer than portaloos and the toilet paper and hand soap was provided. The showers where a pleasant surprise even though I had already read other nice reviews about them. They where lovely and hot- some a bit too hot even, and each shower had its own private changing area and eco friendly shower gel is provided. There are washing up sinks near the showers which also have hot water and Eco friendly washing up liquid is provided. There was a rope swing for the children near the showers too but unfortunately it had to be removed due to people misusing it. There was apparently another one in the woods but we didn't come across it.

We spent most of our week sitting around the campfire playing cards. The wood was £10 a bag which did seem quite expensive. We went for some nice walks as we took our dog and walked to the local pub, the villager in Vigo and holly hill where there was a nice view point with distant views of west London. There was a lot more walking to be done but six year olds don't really like walking up steep hills and sadly we ran out of time. The museum of Kent life was a good day out and dogs where welcome too. We also went for a meal in the Freemasons arms in snodland which welcomed dogs and children and served vegetarian food.

We had a lovely stay at badgells wood. It was quite expensive compared to more usual campsites especially as there aren't really many facilities there but you really are paying for the space you get and the privacy and it is similar in price to other comparable campsites. I don't think this campsite will appeal to everyone, you are camping among the trees- you can't see much of the sky but I feel it really is a gem and we will definitely be returning. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: George10000 1 review from this member

 We visit Badgells' about 7 or 8 times a year.

It is awesome for camping in anything from a tarp to a family tent.

Mike and Karina have a wonderful way of making you feel welcome.

The kids enjoy playing in the trenches, on the swing and having a go with Daddy's hatchet.

You can have a proper campfire.

The bluebells are lovely in spring and the woods cool in summer. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Justdoitviv 3 reviews from this member

 The best campsite I have been to. The toilets, showers, and washing up facilities are spotless. I was mostly impressed with the showers. The showers cubicles are very large, with hot water available all the time. Adjacent to the shower cubicle, is a large change area, with plenty of hooks to hang your clothes on and a bench to sit on. This area remains dry after a shower. So no getting dressed in puddles of water. Just outside the shower units, are hand basins with proper mirrors. Outside the toilets are hand basins with antibacterial hand wash.

The staff are relaxed, friendly, helpful and very chilled out. So immediately on arrival, their calmness makes you feel stress free.

They will extend themselves to ensure that your needs are met. All you need do is ASK.

I am slightly disabled, so cant walk too far, and wasnít sure I could sleep in a tent because of the mattress problem. They allowed me to park my small campervan nearby the facilities just in case I needed to abandon the tenting (i was with a group, tenting elsewhere on site), and use the campervan.

They also deliver logs and water and your belongings, to your campsite if you decide to camp in more remote areas.

There is an adults only section and a family section. Individual camp units are far apart from each other, so you have privacy, and cant see your neighbour, because of all the trees.

Very unusual for campsites, you are allowed to have a fire.

Safe for solo female campers, as the staff do their rounds throughout the night to check up on your safety.

I donít know much about the surrounding areas, as I cant walk far, and donít know much about facilities for children, as I went with adults. But I did see swings from trees for the children, and bush craft lessons. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andy Sissons 1 review from this member

 If I give a fantastic review, more people are going to come here and there is a possibility it will become spoilt. If I say it's bad, we risk losing an amazing camp area.

4 families with 10 kids between the ages of 4 and 14.

5 of the kids slept in hammocks, it's that sort of place. Brilliant.

The kids just enjoyed the space, the adults enjoyed the freedom the kids had. And the flavoured vodka we brought :)

DO NOT EXPECT LUXURY OR FLUSHING TOILETS.

^ that is why this place is so amazing. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: MrsCamper 6 reviews from this member

 If you like your camping to be down and dirty then this is for you. If you have kids from 6 and up and you don't mind them getting filthy it's also for you. If you drive a campervan and value your suspension then avoid like the plague. The woodland setting is very pretty, the compost toilets smell but that's not a problem but the lack of drinking water on site is a pain. Our pitch was full of craters and the shards of shot clay pigeons and was also used as a thoroughfare by the large group of campers nearby.

However, the wardens are lovely and nothing was too much trouble. If you live in a city and want to get back to nature you will love it. However it is overpriced for the facilities. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ajbailey 7 reviews from this member

 Just back from a 2 night stay, site busy but not noisy, as before great welcome, love the new thunder boxes way better than the old porta loo's, great location for anyone in South London. Plenty of space between pitches to maintain privacy & to cap it all great weather, looking forward to more visits in 2015. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RatboyBarnett 1 review from this member

 My six year old son and I have just returned from a fantastic stay at Badgells Wood. This is camping for those who want to enjoy sleeping in the woods, cooking over a real fire, but still want a hot, warm shower in the morning!

The way they have set the camping areas in the woods is superb. You can get your car to the edge of the woods and carry your stuff into the thick of the trees very easily. (They will help you with a quad bike if you wish to go very deep. ) Cheap hire of various rustic forms of cooking equipment is available, as well as fresh laid eggs from their chickens.

Toilets are placed at regular intervals through the site, and the showers are Swiss Family Robinson style, but work perfectly. There are rope swings for the kids to enjoy, but mostly its the setting; Miles of woods, or surrounding countryside, for young explorers. We shall certainly be going back. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ajbailey 7 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 2 night mid week stay, really good value as I was on my own with 2 dogs so only cost £25.

Very easy to find, had a really informative welcome & bought a huge sack of fire wood for £7. 50 + returnable deposit of £2. 50 as it comes in a easy to carry recycled bag which was more than adequate for 2 nights & 2 mornings. I am a bit biased as I had the whole site all 300 acres to myself ! but even if it was busy the pitches are spread all over the woods with proper roads and parking close to all pitches, pitches vary in size some for 3-5 tents others are smaller for single occupancy, very quiet considering its only a few miles from M20, just the rustling of the trees in the breeze & the birds ! the tree cover is not dense so the sun shines through but its enough to give protection from harsh sun, facilities very good numerous portaloo's around site & good showers/ washing up area & recycling facilities, plenty of on site entertainment & adventure for those with children & an adults only area which I didn't need to use as only visitor mid week, would imagine its bustling with families over summer weekends but plenty of walks and open spaces and they run bush craft courses to entertain the kids, not an issue bringing own drinking water as tap water on site not for human consumption & there is a small shop for basics at reception. The dogs & I had a brilliant stay its only a short walk down a foot path to join the North Downs Way but be warned its a very steep climb back up! some pubs nearby but its a long hard walk back up! Very impressed with whole site & planning a further visit with a group of friends later in summer. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rach83 2 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic place! We went as a group of 4 (two couples in our 20s-30s), and received a warm greeting, given a map and told to find ourselves a pitch wherever we felt happiest. A short wander into the woods and we found a pitch big enough for both our tents and with a ready fire pit. We felt just like we were off in the middle of the forest but were actually just a very short walk from the showers and toilets (which were new and fantastic). No-one around, no-one bothered us. We bought some logs from the owners and they offered us some firelighters but we didn't need them as the wood was lovely and dry. A great evening was had round the fire with a few drinks and cooking our food in the flames. In the morning we got some freshly laid eggs from their chickens but had run out of oil- they didn't sell it in the shop but the owner kindly gave us a bit of her own which was really lovely. It's surrounded by beautiful countryside and we went for a lively long walk the next day.

Gorgeous place with endless fun to be had with kids or as a group of friends. We'll be back! 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Flutterbybaby 1 review from this member

 Just back from a magical weekend camping amongst the bluebells. Wonderful woodland campsite. The owners couldn't have been more helpful and friendly, made us feel so welcome. New showers were great and spacious. Portaloos are not ideal but if it puts other off coming then I'm happy :) Just hope it doesn't get spoilt and manages to keep it's charm. 


Previous     39 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Badgells Wood child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Badgells Wood?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Badgells Wood dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Meopham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3562 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement