Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Badgells Wood

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Meopham > Badgells Wood Reviews

Badgells Wood
Whitehorse Road
Harvel
Meopham
Kent   (Browse area)
DA13 0UF
Tel: 07528 609324
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 39 Reviews
                9/10 from 39 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  39 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mallaghmoo 1 review from this member

 This was our first ever camping trip - a taster and boy were we pleasantly surprised!

This site is awesome! Truly back to nature, well catered and exceptionally well run.

It is clean, quiet and the owners are lovely and friendly and very thoughtful about the whole experience.

The pitches are well spaced out amongst beautiful woodland and we have already booked 3 more stays here for 2021! Cannot wait - donít miss out! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: The HURLEYS 4 reviews from this member

 Well we have looked at this site since we started camping in 2016 but always said No we canít do wild camping

We love it

We have just got a bongo so first time using it with a awning so took is a while to sort out how to fit it in the pitch

The kids love it and we enjoyed it

Greet site for social distancing due to covid lots of washing hand stations around the campsite

Staff very friendly and helpful

We will be back 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Rollsfamily 1 review from this member

 Excellent side beautiful woodland with refreshing fresh air. Large pitch with fire pit and lovely clean warm showers. Lots of woodland to explore.

Site covers 30 acres of a 250 acre site. Good service and friendly staff. Very eco minded with sawdust loos and preservation areas.

Surrounding area is classic English countryside with pretty hamlets and villages. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Hobbitrsa 4 reviews from this member

 What a great time in Badgels Wood, Meopham, Kent. Steeped in military history. Highly recommended for the WW1/2 training trenches, the WW2 barracks (ruins), and spitfire crash site (couldn't find it).

The facilities are great, and clean, the campsites offer great privacy and the staff are friendly. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Suzy e 1 review from this member

 Follow the winding road into the woods,

Just bring your car laden with camping goods,

Turn left into the site and check in with lovely Karina,

A well stocked shop from logs to Ribena!

Next to our pitch for adventures in the wild,

This place is paradise for all ages, from adult to child.

Set up your tent and prepare your camp fire,

Washing machine drums and grills are available for hire.

The facilities are just right for authentic camping,

With composting loos this is definitely not glamping!

But the lure of nature and the beauty of the fauna.

Beats living it up with a TV and sauna!?

We go every year and would go more if we could.

To that magical campsite in old Badgells Wood. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: NiniWini 1 review from this member

 Karina and Mike we have had the most amazing weekend with our friends and children camping here this Easter. Thank you so much for not only the most amazing camping experience (so nice to not have lights at all!) but also putting on a most generous Easter egg hunt. We will definitely be back! Wine and toasting marshmallows by the campfire on an evening as well as showering with birdsong on a morning. Amazing! Thanks for taking the time out of your day to chat to us and making us feel most welcome.

Anyone looking for proper camping (compost loos and shed showers) and a safe place for children to explore; this campsite is a must. Highly recommend. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bongo208 2 reviews from this member

 Excellent hidden away gem of a campsite. Local village of Harvel has a decent farm shop. Did not try any other local amenities though.

I was part of a group of about a dozen and we chilled out by the campfire. Toilets are good. Washing facilities and showers warm. (Ethos is low waste so short showers are encouraged). Free range eggs and basic camp shop on site.

Cheers

Simon. (& the XT660 crowd) 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tom n Joshua1 1 review from this member

 This is what campings all about, rope swings, open fires and loads of woodland to get lost in. Awesome campsite, toilets and showers bang on. Craig the bushtucker man was great, taught my son to make fire with a bow and drill method. No lighter or matches needed! Couldn't recommend it enough, if you want real outdoor camping. My 12 year old son loved it. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ajbailey 7 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 2 nights last weekend, as per previous visits a warm friendly welcome, I arrived nice & early so got a choice of pitches, site not full but like previous visits all campers polite & observed noise rules making it a really relaxing visit, it's so good to have such a pretty woodland site within easy reach of London, site is tidy with perfectly adequate 'facilities' which were checked/cleaned daily, loads of places to visit for days out & this time chose Chartwell a 30 minute drive away & very easy to walk dogs on site, really like the updates on their website charting the woodlands history! will certainly be visiting again next year. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ben Young 2 reviews from this member

 My Wife and I spent last week here (no kids around, as they're all back in school).

It was quite easily the most enjoyable camping experience we've ever had.

A warm welcome from Mike and Karina, left alone to our own devices in beautiful surroundings with no intrusions or anything to upset our peace and solitude.

We started our fire every morning with our first coffee, and didn't put it out until we went to bed each night. We both slept like babies, with only the sound of an Owl to keep us company. Absolute bliss.

This is a unique place, that may not suit everyone, but will be like heaven for those that appreciate what camping is MEANT to be like.

Minimal facilities (exactly what we wanted!) but the ones they do have are absolutely immaculate, and suit the place perfectly. Clean toilets, good showers, spotless washing facilities.

We originally booked for two nights, immediately extended it to four, and then added an extra one at the end. We enjoyed it THAT much.

We're also members of the C&CC, who have some lovely sites too, but nothing that even comes close to this place.

We'll be back again as soon as they open next season, and we're heartbroken that we'll have to wait that long even.

We made one brief trip to the nearest shop, just to get a few supplies, and went straight back to our peaceful, heavily wooded pitch, as we couldn't stand to be away from it.

After a lifetime of camping, finding this place has been the end of a long journey. We could keep coming back here for the rest of our lives.

In summary, it's the sort of place that clears your mind, soothes your soul, and makes you reflect on your priorities in life. If this place doesn't impress you, then you may be missing the very essence of what camping is meant to be. Ben & Jo Young. 


Previous     39 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Badgells Wood child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Badgells Wood?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Badgells Wood dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Meopham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3103 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement