Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Spey Bay Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Moray > Fochabers > Spey Bay Caravan Site Reviews

Spey Bay Caravan Site
Spey Bay
Fochabers
Moray   (Browse area)
IV32 7PJ
Tel: 01343 820424
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 16
Open: 16/07/2020 to 31/10/2020
           01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 17 Reviews
                9/10 from 17 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 11 to 17                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Paulcongo 1 review from this member

 We stayed on site for a total of 18 days over 2 visits having previously visited the site several times in the past few years (but not to stay).

The site pitches and facilities have improved immeasurably over the years and is now a site I would term 'a hidden gem'. The hard standings are clean, flat and generous with service points close at hand. The toilet and shower facilities are more than adequate for the site and are kept immaculate by the manager and his friendly staff.

The site is attached to and is virtually on the fist tee of a well established 18 hole 'Links' Golf Course that is a delight to play with stunning views up to the Grampians and across the Moray Firth. Residents can obtain a substantial discount to play (I had 10 rounds at 10 per round - a bargain). The Clubhouse is available to residents, if you so wish, with a well stocked bar and a menu of freshly cooked food

Just a short walk along the beach brings you to the Dolphin Centre with opportunity to spot loads of wildlife, including obviously the local Dolphins and Osprey fishing off the mouth of the Spey.

A site highly recommended for those with an interest in peace and tranquillity, a hankering for wildlife and perhaps a bit of golf to fill in the few blank bits in between. We will certainly be returning next year. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kaye Leggett 5 reviews from this member

 Parking facilities have been upgraded as have electric hoop ups. Didn't use any other facilities as they were locked an no-one around when we arrived at 6pm on a Monday evening. A lone golfer who was a member assured us it was OK to park up and see the Golf Club Secretary in the morning - and indeed it was.

Greta location for Osprey spotting as they fly over from the near by woods - we didn't see them though ! Also great for the Scottish Dolphin watch.

It is possible to park up outside the site for free, but we feel this is unfair to the locals and the golf club who need tourist business - so please do use the site. We're told the food at the club is good when it's open which is more to the weekend. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Friends of carlotta 2 reviews from this member

 This is our third visit to this site in a wonderful corner of Scotland. We have enjoyed our previous visits but not so much this one. Great sunny weekend marred by being woke up at 5 am on a Sunday morning by a grounds man on his lawnmower, dare say there was a reason for it but we found this totally unacceptable.

I had initially had trouble getting hold of anyone to make a booking, their website email doesn't work, I emailed from this site but got no reply, I rang them in the end but that took a couple of attempts.

The toilets were dirty, mud tracked in by the golfer from the previous day. 3 stalls, 1 had a broken seat, 1 no toilet paper.

We wont be back as there are lots of good sites along the Moray coast and if I wanted to stay at Spey Bay specifically, think I might chance the carpark at the visitors centre. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Harry Bongo 12 reviews from this member

 We came here for the dolphins and ospreys and were not disappointed. Great close up views of both. We stayed 3 nights but that was probably enough. Site very exposed so were unable to sit outside due to the constant cold wind. The facilities were great but water had to be hauled as all the taps were way out of hose reach. We didn't use the clubhouse but were told that the food there was excellent. No shops for miles so take what you need. 


Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lofty007 9 reviews from this member

 We have just stayed over for 1 night and found this little site a gem, nice showers/toilets which were very clean, with the golf clubhouse on your door step for your use could not be better. One or two little things need addressing by the owners though, the shower doors need 2 sets of extra pegs on the back of them for hanging your clothes on and also they need to supply toilet brushes in each cubical and also mop and bucket to dry the floor after your shower, also need take out and fit deeper shower trays to stop the water over flowing when showering as that is a big problem. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Happysunshine1912 3 reviews from this member

 Had a lovely weekend in Spey Bay. Camping facilities are based around the car park of the former Hotel and the golf club. Owners were very welcoming as was the bar/restaurant at the golf club which those camping can use. The toilet facilities and showers were clean and tidy, although the shower leaks all over the floor into the toilet area but there is a mop to wipe up after your shower.

There is a beautiful pebble beach just a stroll from the site which the dogs loved. We would definitely go back. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ryanyoung 4 reviews from this member

 Fantastic plenty of space, great views, dolphins, osprey and loads of other wild life. Friendly staff and great amenities, bar, restaurant, clean toilets and good showers.

Very reasonable for costs and flexible with times to leave. We camp every year and this is probably the all round best place we have stayed so far. Well done Spey bay camp site.

As this is bye the sea take plenty of pegs of different types as the wind can get up. 


Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 17     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Spey Bay Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Spey Bay Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Spey Bay Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Fochabers      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Moray

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...







Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2388 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 865

Get an email reminder on 1st December