Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Spey Bay Golf Club Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Moray > Fochabers > Spey Bay Golf Club Caravan Site Reviews

Spey Bay Golf Club Caravan Site
Spey Bay
Fochabers
Moray   (Browse area)
IV32 7PJ
Tel: 01343 820424
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 13 Reviews
                9/10 from 13 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Shelagh12354 1 review from this member

Very friendly site with a relaxed atmosphere, very dog friendly. Lovely walk along the road to the Dolphin Centre, watch for Dolphins, visit the shop and cafe then walk along the river and back to the site.
via mobile

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nightowl06 6 reviews from this member

Lovely caravan site right at Spey Bay Golf Course.

Stayed here 5 nights, lovely facilities at clubhouse good showers what more can you ask for.

Restaurant we didn't try but heard from others it's amazing.

Right on stoney beach as well and Dolphin Centre along road.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jolly_camper 34 reviews from this member

This site located not far from the Spey Bay dolphin centre has around 25 pitches and has had layout improvements over the past couple of years located on a links golf course. Some pitches overlook the 1st tee of the golf course (you are almost at the tee!) and reduced price golf fees encourage campers to use it. Not well advertised in camping magazines and not really suitable for children as no facilities for them. The recently extended club house has the usual amenities shared between golfers and campers, showers are OK and free but could do with some TLC in places (sink plugs missing/lights inop and plumbing a bit leaky at times). Also available at the friendly club house are good quality/value meals often provided by a Malaysian chef whose meals are popular and reasonable value, and also a selection of drinks during club hours are available. Various noodle dishes are recommended by the locals and for us the food was great.

WiFi is provided free with limited site coverage (mainly in and around the club house), which is a nice touch.

Pitch pricing seems reasonable at £15 a night but the electric HU is a bit steep at an additional £5.

There appears to be quite a few 'front' seasonal pitches used, so for our stay we had a choice of the pitches further back from the course which are adequate.

Lovely location, plenty of sea air and good views, cycle routes and walking. We will be back.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: GMST 8 reviews from this member

Nice clean and level site. Water, grey & black waste disposal available. Electric and fresh water by pitches.

Clean toilet bock. However showers unusable due to drains not able to cope and flooding the whole of the toilet area. Time consuming and annoying to clear up all the water with the threadbare mop provided.

Helpful friendly site manager who promised to pass on problems to site owners.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Capt Lightning 41 reviews from this member

This area must seem like paradise for the keen golfer with most coastal villages having a golf course. Spey Bay golf course has the added benefit of a small camp site which, along with the clubhouse, is run as a separate enterprise. Being primarily a golf club, there are no facilities for children and would not be suitable for families.

However, if you are not there for the golf, your stay might be disappointing. Spey Bay is little more than a collection of houses with no ameanities or public transport. The nearest shops are some 5 miles away. The clubhouse is open to non members. It is comfortable and a selection of 'pub grub' is available, but nothing fancy. Sorry to say that the beer was tasteless and frozen to within an inch of its life.

Even the view from the clublouse is being ruined by the building of pre-fabricated 'executive' houses, virtually on the beach.

On the plus side, Spey bay is on the Speyside way and is home to the Scottish Dolphin centre. We didn't see any dolphins, but at least you can get an appetising snack lunch. There is a pleasant walk over the old Spey railway bridge to the neighbouring villages of Garmouth & Kingston. Here you will find the excellent Garmouth hotel where you can get a good local beer and good food. Please note that the opening hours in all these places are seasonal and very limited from September onwards.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fifimac 1 review from this member

THis site is a hidden gem. A quiet setting on the coast beside a long beautiful pebble beach. It is part of Spey bay golf club and the facilities are in the golf club. Very clean and good hot showers. The pitches are well spaced out and level and. Mainly hard standing. The bar is open for drinks and food every day till 11pm Thursday to Sunday and till 7pm Monday's &Tuesday.

If you play golf then the course is lovely and in good condition. You can play for £10 per round if staying on the site. Plenty to do in the area - there isn't a local shop but it is only 3 miles to Fochabers for the coop and 6miles to Buckie for a big Tescos. I would definitely recommend this site.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paulcongo 1 review from this member

We stayed on site for a total of 18 days over 2 visits having previously visited the site several times in the past few years (but not to stay).

The site pitches and facilities have improved immeasurably over the years and is now a site I would term 'a hidden gem'. The hard standings are clean, flat and generous with service points close at hand. The toilet and shower facilities are more than adequate for the site and are kept immaculate by the manager and his friendly staff.

The site is attached to and is virtually on the fist tee of a well established 18 hole 'Links' Golf Course that is a delight to play with stunning views up to the Grampians and across the Moray Firth. Residents can obtain a substantial discount to play (I had 10 rounds at £10 per round - a bargain). The Clubhouse is available to residents, if you so wish, with a well stocked bar and a menu of freshly cooked food

Just a short walk along the beach brings you to the Dolphin Centre with opportunity to spot loads of wildlife, including obviously the local Dolphins and Osprey fishing off the mouth of the Spey.

A site highly recommended for those with an interest in peace and tranquillity, a hankering for wildlife and perhaps a bit of golf to fill in the few blank bits in between. We will certainly be returning next year.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kaye Leggett 5 reviews from this member

Parking facilities have been upgraded as have electric hoop ups. Didn't use any other facilities as they were locked an no-one around when we arrived at 6pm on a Monday evening. A lone golfer who was a member assured us it was OK to park up and see the Golf Club Secretary in the morning - and indeed it was.

Greta location for Osprey spotting as they fly over from the near by woods - we didn't see them though ! Also great for the Scottish Dolphin watch.

It is possible to park up outside the site for free, but we feel this is unfair to the locals and the golf club who need tourist business - so please do use the site. We're told the food at the club is good when it's open which is more to the weekend.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Friends of carlotta 2 reviews from this member

This is our third visit to this site in a wonderful corner of Scotland. We have enjoyed our previous visits but not so much this one. Great sunny weekend marred by being woke up at 5 am on a Sunday morning by a grounds man on his lawnmower, dare say there was a reason for it but we found this totally unacceptable.

I had initially had trouble getting hold of anyone to make a booking, their website email doesn't work, I emailed from this site but got no reply, I rang them in the end but that took a couple of attempts.

The toilets were dirty, mud tracked in by the golfer from the previous day. 3 stalls, 1 had a broken seat, 1 no toilet paper.

We wont be back as there are lots of good sites along the Moray coast and if I wanted to stay at Spey Bay specifically, think I might chance the carpark at the visitors centre.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Harry Bongo 12 reviews from this member

We came here for the dolphins and ospreys and were not disappointed. Great close up views of both. We stayed 3 nights but that was probably enough. Site very exposed so were unable to sit outside due to the constant cold wind. The facilities were great but water had to be hauled as all the taps were way out of hose reach. We didn't use the clubhouse but were told that the food there was excellent. No shops for miles so take what you need.

Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Moray

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5238 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019