Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Aberford Certified Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Aberford Certified Site Reviews

Aberford Certified Site
Bunkers Hill
Hook Moor
Aberford
Leeds
West Yorkshire   (Browse area)
LS25 3DN
Tel: 01132 812966  or  07710 323875
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 Vans + Tents
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 18 Reviews
                9/10 from 18 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 11 to 18                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: December 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Coxn Ken 3 reviews from this member

 A great CS/CL close to A1M and M1 situated on the Old Great North Road on the outskirts of Aberford.

There is very slight noise from A1M but just a hum really that did not disturb our sleep.

The couple who run the place are lovely. Nothing is too much trouble. Our motorhome got stuck in a small muddy area at the lowest point of the site, within minutes of telling the owner, he got his little tractor out and pulled us to a dry area. He refused any payment for his efforts.

The site has a children's play area and a mini farm Zoo with Alpacca, Goats, Pigs, Donkeys chickens and Ducks plus a large aviary with Budgies/Small parrots and Guinea Pigs. A brilliant idea.

The shower is 50p to use plus there are 2 toilets. All a bonus for a CS/CL site.

The charge is 14 a night which is very fair with all the facilities.

Highly recommended, wish we lived closer 


Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Elainekirk 1 review from this member

 We have just spent three nights at Aberford cs and I only wish we could have stayed longer. Over the past 18months we have stayed on so many sites in the UK and this site really does stand out.

We used all the facilities and they were all clean and in excellent condition.

Over the weekend family visited and my disabled grandson really enjoyed the animals and playground.

We are not c&cc members but the owner allowed one visit and I will now be joining the c&cc club simply to use this site which we found very easy to access from the M1. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bestyman 46 reviews from this member

 This is a C and CC site situated in Aberford which is just of the A1 near the A64. It is 10 miles to Leeds city centre. There is a bus stop in the village.

The pubs and shops in Aberford are about a mile away and its a nice easy walk. There are 3 pubs but one (The Swan) is presently closed. The other two pubs which are dog friendly are the Arabian Horse and the Royal Oak. The Arabian Horse was our favourite, but they stop serving food at 2 on a lunchtime. They do however serve breakfast from 9 AM if campfire cooking is not your thing.

We did initially set off to a pub called the Crooked Billet near Tadcaster, but the road didn't have a path which is not ideal when your dog is scared of traffic.

As the other reviewers have already said the site itself is amazing. Its like camping in a Zoo, but despite all the animals there are no smells or loud animal noises. Apart from the very faint traffic noise from the A1 which was not a problem it really is a lovely quiet site.

The owners are really friendly and there is an information book just near the washing up area. Farm produce is available from a cart and you put your money in an honesty box. I bought 6 delicious eggs for 1.

The site is dog friendly with a small walking area. Mains hook up is available and a shower has recently been installed. The shower works well and there is a small charge of 50 pence(remember to take a 50p coin with you). Considering the low price of 12 to stay at the site I didn't mind paying at all. All facilities are well maintained and clean.

This is one of, if not the best CS that we have ever stayed at and will certainly return. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Outwood13 8 reviews from this member

 We recently stayed at Aberford Campsite for two nights.

It definitely has a lovely feel to it which is evident from the moment you pull into the driveway down to the site.

It is a wonderful place for children to visit, with a variety of animals on site, from pygmy goats to ducks to guinea pigs to potbelly (?)pigs. There is a brilliant play area for the little ones, wooden with a 'curly wurly' slide and a full-sized trampoline and safety net. 'Feeding balls' are available to feed the goats and fish (in the lovely fishpond) for a 50p put in the slot on an 'honesty' basis. You can even get into the goats area and feed them by hand.

There is also a sandpit, swings and swingball available to play with, so lots to keep the kids entertained. Not forgetting the aviary and poly-tunnel which keeps is worth popping into and worth considering if you're in a leaky tent :)

There is a built-in communal barbecue facility near the play area which looked inviting had the weather been a little better. And the owner also pointed out the fire-pit which was available to borrow should anyone want to have a fire. This is worth knowing as sites that allow fires are in demand!

The actual field for pitching is between the donkey field and the three alpacas! It is gently sloped but well-drained. It is clearly marked where pitches are by green posts that you are asked to pitch between. Very organised. More organised than most of the bigger sites we have been to in that respect.

The toilets (2) and shower (1) were new and obviously very clean. Nice homely touches inside. A wooden purpose built building instead of a portacabin which was nice. The shower was 50p for about 5 minutes which was enough.

The owner was brilliant. She was extremely friendly and pleasant. She was available and friendly, and had such a lovely manner about her. She popped out from time to time with her dogs and puppy which our kids loved.

We popped into Garforth to the local camping shop for a browse around and to the local Tesco to stock up on a few items. Both of which were only about 10-15 mins drive away. Lotherton Hall is only a stones throw away too, although we didn't visit on this occasion, it is worth a visit if you are in the area.

For atmosphere, facilities, entertainment value and kid-satisfaction I would give this place full marks. I have to note though that the noise from the nearby roads was a little frustrating. It was perfectly ok during the day (you could pretend it was the sea), but at night, since I'm a light sleeper, it was a bit of a struggle. On a good side, it wasn't too bad on the second night as the rain drowned out the noise :)

The owners have clearly put a lot of careful thought, time and attention into this new site. It has a lovely comfortable home-away-from home feel and I really do hope that it takes off for them.

For the price, the nearness, the lovely owners, the trampoline and the kids area, if pushed by my daughter (who is 4), I would return. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: EnglishLissy 2 reviews from this member

 We arrived at this site in the first week of the summer holidays and found it empty - we had our pick of the pitches! I chose to camp next to the hook up to the right on approach, as it looked flattest. The owners plan to flatten all pitches in time, at the moment some to the left would have sloped a little for my taste.

The sound of the A1m is constant (about 3 fields away) but serves as white noise;for those with young children this can be helpful! We found we could chat at a normal level in the evening too, and we were not concerned about how loud our children chatted in the morning. We actually quite liked it, though it's not for you if you like the muffling sound of silence. It's no worse than camping near a river for noise level.

The animals, play area and facilities were excellent. My children were occupied and happy all of the time. The loos were great and it is east to strip wash there if you can't get innthe shower - the shower was being installed while we stayed and I got a free one before the 50p machine went in!

Aberford is a short walk, there are footpaths about too, try the old trainline from aberford to garforth that took a horse in the dandy cart from one end! We went to the tiny local shop but shopped at Garforth for groceries. We enjoyed Lotherton Hall too which would be walk or cycle-able but was too far for us in the heatwave. Access to all over is great due to the A1M and the road to Garforth & beyond.

The owners were completely lovely and go above and beyond. They will do very well with this site and I recommend booking a while in advance - I plan to in future. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: CatAndNett 7 reviews from this member

 Found this gem of a site while looking for somewhere close to where our son has football training on Saturday mornings. Dead easy to find by the postcode, we arrived Friday teatime and were instantly impressed- it looks so lovely! The owner welcomed us and told us where to pitch, we offered to settle up before pitching, but she said there was no rush and we'd sort it later, which was lovely.

The field is slightly sloping on 2 sides, but we managed to find a lovely flat pitch for our tent on the back hedgerow. We did notice the noise from the road as soon as we got there, BUT it wasn't intrusive to us at all (although The owner apologised for it as though it were their fault lol)

We pitched up and went for a wander, and this is where the site became a 10/10 for us. There was a lovely little play area for our son, and animals to look at and interact with. Goat babies who think they're puppies and will come up on your lap for fussing, micro pigs who come running up and like to be stroked, donkeys who like attention, chickens casually wandering wherever they like, a parrot who calls for your attention and then shuts up as soon as you get to him (although we were reliably informed that he DOES talk, including some swear words and the theme from Corrie! haha)

And the dogs, Jess and Trixie, who are lovely, and Pippin, the new puppy, who is just the cutest little thing at the moment! We spent a lot of our weekend with the animals :)

The toilet block is a little wooden building, 2 toilets at the moment, and plans to turn the middle room into a single shower, which will be welcome, as that's the only negative I could pick out. Plenty, really, for such a small, relaxed site.

Can't speak much for surrounding attractions, as we didn't go to any, but the drive from the site to where we needed to be on Saturday morning was beautiful! We went through some lovely picturesque villages, and then we were there- 10-15 minutes tops. Brilliant!

We did go for lunch on Sunday, to the Fox & Grapes, about 5-10 mins drive away. The food was fine, at usual prices for that kind of establishment.

All in all, we had a fantastic weekend, and are so pleased that we found this little gem. It's so good, in fact, that we're going back again this weekend, and are joining the C&CC specifically to go to this site as often as we can- it truly is an amazing little place, with friendly owners and a lovely atmosphere.

Reluctantly leaving a review, as we do believe they deserve it, but are dreading the day we try to book to be told they're full! Lovely, lovely site, totally our cup of tea. Can't wait to go back! 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: White Rose 24 reviews from this member

 This site is lovely! It only opened in January this year, and has only really started to get visitors in the last two months so the owners are still getting used to running a site, but they are extremely friendly and helpful and it really does deserve to do well.

The location is good, it's just off the A1 so it will be an excellent stop over for those doing the North/South journey, but it's well worth staying more than just one night. There's loads to do in the local area - it's handy for Lotherton Hall and Temple Newsom, it's about six or seven miles to Roundhay Park, The Royal Armories, Thackray Medical Museum, Middleton Railway, and a couple of miles further to Harewood House, the fab Abbey House Museum and Kirkstall Abbey, and a nip up the road would take you to Harrogate and the excellent Valley Gardens (and Betty's Tea Rooms).

It's a C&CC site, and was having its busiest weekend so far when we were there - with six tents and five caravans on site, the two toilets were well used and the owners were working hard to keep them clean. The single shower is not yet in action, and the price of 12 per night probably reflects that. The site is sloping, but chocks sorted that out. Access is easy, down a short drive with gates operated by a push button on a post which is reachable from the driver's window and far enough down the drive to get the back end of the caravan off the road. You can hear the hum of traffic from the A1, but the site is sheltered by trees and we found the noise to be far from intrusive and we had no problem sleeping.

The highlight is the children's play facilities, there's a couple of swings, a couple of slides, a sandpit, a trampoline, the goats, the rabbits, the donkeys, the fish, the birds, Peppa and Cassy-roll the pigs, the hens. Oh, and Pippin -possibly the cutest puppy ever :-) Our daughter was in heaven!

There's a big Tesco a couple of miles up the road in Garforth (and the excellent Aagrah for a curry takeaway), and I'm told that Aberford has a couple of nice pubs though I've never been - we'll definitely check them out on our next visit, which really won't be too long! I really recommend this site - and hope that there'll still be room for us when we next want to book! 


Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tanss 1 review from this member

 Just got home from a very pleasant stay at this site. The owners provided us with a very warm welcome on arrival. They were always around the site following our arrival, but never 'in your face' which is exactly what you want when camping/caravanning, perfect hosts!

We had just bought ourselves a new caravan and used this site as a 'stop off'' point halfway home to test out our new purchase. We ended up staying for 2 nights as we enjoyed the site so much. We had a great pitch overlooking all the animals which was lovely. We sat in our van viewing the ducks swimming in their pond, the little goats jumping and running and the donkeys wandering around in their enclosure, loved it!

There is a fab play area which kids will love. This is a new site but well worth a visit. Very good value for money. Good Luck Guys, we're sure your venture will work really well. 


Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 18     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Aberford Certified Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Aberford Certified Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Aberford Certified Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Leeds      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5342 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement